We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of eggplants on the menu”
Review of Merhaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merhaba Hotel
Ranked #316 of 374 Hotels in Alanya
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel Merhaba is really cheap and on a good location. It has a BEAUTIFUL garden and rooms are quite nice, with terraces overlooking the garden and the sea. The beach is right across the sea. The only problem is the food. Very low quality, with very little meat and a lot of eggplant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vladana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Don't skip this review please I travel to budget hotels alot and will tell you the truth..!!! Hotel mainly caters for the Europeon clients so food is Not to English taste......uncooked scramble egg for breakfast (the only hot choice) the rest is cold salad, cheeses and meat. Lunch and Evening buffet......soup, chicken hearts?, mainly chicken in tomatoe sauce, salad and pasta (no kids selection) No snacks or ice creams at the pool, so if you do have children then this is NOT the hotel for you.
Bar staff (Rudd and Sumally) little english but nice guys, Ali at the pool bar is deceiving, all smiles when ya get there but don't say yes to his Fish Night (which was boney and over priced) and he will turn on you....Be warned ..They do run out of beer and soft drinks blaming the weather but helpfull ol' Ali will sell you bottled Efes for 6 TL Bar shuts at 11pm and is plunged into darkness.Take a trip up the road to the right to Istanbul Bar and get it for 4 TL or Caspers for a welcome night out, or walk up to the Harbour (20 min walk) but shop around for meals out.
Rooms are dated and basic but clean enough for a budget holiday, check that your maid does actually clean though and the rooms, despite the write ups DO NOT have sea views due to the so called beautifull gardens (Which is a very large tree stuck right in the way) .The smell of cats urine is evident.
All in all if you book this hotel on the cheap DON'T expect 5* it's what you make it .

Room Tip: All rooms the same 2nd floor not bad for noise. No room has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoJo69_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

It was one week in Turkey in July and it was hot! AC in our room was crazy - during the night it was turning off by itself and than it was on again with default settings which were very very wrong. I have to say nights were for us terrible - we didn't sleep a whole night thrue even once..each time the same story with AC. You have to get up and set it again at 3 or 4 am. Again AC wasn't adjustable enough if you didn't want it to blow into your eare while you sleep. You can get sick if it is so. To avoid that we moved our bed towards the other wall.. It's not what you want to do in your holiday.
The food was good and you could have as much as you wanted.
It was all inclusive stay but if I could I would avoid this option. Don't count on any influance of their drinks on you. They're just softer than soft.
The beach was just across the street what was fantastic. The most of all I liked the noisy animals it the trees - terrific to hear something like that. Amazing little jungle in Turkey!
Staff was friendly and helpful but the heat had some influance on the bartender by the pool - they work 2 shifts and I think it's not good for their patience towards their clients.

Room Tip: Just seen mine..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sendmeasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I've been to Turkey many times before, also to Alanya, but this is definetly below all standards i've seen elsewhere in Turkey.

First i'd like to point out the positive things:
- staff is generally quite friendly, both waiters and receptionists
- the location is superb, lots of vegetation, trees, flowers etc. (beach just across the road, city center about 20-30minute walk away),
- the pool and pool-bar were both beautiful and very clean.

Now the negative parts:
- rooms were...(how to put it mildly...)...unwelcomming (need cleaning and refurbishing)
- food was...just awful. Buffet style but most of it was cold, and when finished if you'd ask for renewal they would just say "sorry...no no...finish", so this basically meant that even if you had all you can eat buffet, you'd have to get up early and hurry to breakfast in hope of still finding some food left (wich was tasteless anyway)...and at launchtime if you take a bit longer to get back from the beach and shower you have the same problem(eatable dishes are "sorry, finish"). Apart from this, all meals consist mainly of salad, tomatoes (and more salad and more tomatoes) and kofte-meat (lamb, lamb+beef)...oh, and soups that are awful(starch and flour+water+aroma). During my 7 day stay only a single time did we get something really great to eat(chicken kebab made on the spot) , and a few times there was some fairly good pasta, but other than that there was nothing else reasonable. OF COURSE this is not such a big problem if you enjoy eating only vegetables all day long
- as someone else already said, the supervising waiter is arrogant and unfriendly
- i've been to alanya before(to the west from the city center - towards antalya), and i have to say the beach on this side of alanya(east of city center) is extremly dirty, noisy, rocky. The beach (Cleopatra beach) that i had been to 2 years earlier is cleaner, more civilised, better sand, cleaner water etc...like a completely different world. I would suggest finding a hotel on the other side of town, i know i'd definetly do that now, after seing both.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel is a dump with a nice garden. The first room we got was horrible, the cleaning lady came and started to speak Turkish, being very bothered when I showed her the dirty toilet and greyish towels and crumbles on the bed.
The receptionist tried to offer us some other room, the 4th we saw was the best we found, but on the bed we found pubic hair!!! It’s disgusting and dirty, have no idea how low somebody’s standard can be to be happy with this hotel. See photos! PS: cold water only to the shower.

Room Tip: If you must stay, try to get a room with garden/beach view. Take your own towels.bedsheeds from home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cristina_duminica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

It was quite ok. I didn't expect something incredible, because it was the cheapest hotel i've found in travel agency which is really close to city center. If you want to party and spend unforgettable time in Alanya, not in the hotel is good choice for good price. The service was very nice and helpful, but only few of them speak english fluently. The only one objection i've got is food. It was simply tastless.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annja_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The hotel is away from the center 3-4 km, there is no safe passage to the beach. The rooms are small, with folding bed for third person. In our room hygiene was satisfactory. Dining room is small, the food is really bad and insufficient (not enough renewed). Cats walk in dining room during meals! The low-level staff is fair and discreet, the head waiter was extremely arrogant, and generally the staff is not attentive. They grow ducks near hotel rooms!!! For AI guests they don't give water in bottles and don't allow to bring it in rooms! If you didn't finish your meal until limited time they will snatch it from your hands!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jaca9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alanya hotels
0.7 mi away
Pera Inn Hotel
Pera Inn Hotel
#231 of 374 in Alanya
74 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kleopatra Hermes Beach Hotel
7.6 mi away
Blue Night Hotel
Blue Night Hotel
#30 of 64 in Konakli
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maren Beach
Maren Beach
#198 of 374 in Alanya
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Primera Hotel & Apart
Primera Hotel & Apart
#240 of 374 in Alanya
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Karat Hotel
Karat Hotel
#286 of 374 in Alanya
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merhaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merhaba Hotel

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Ahmet Tokus Bulvari No:163, Alanya 07400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 374 Hotels in Alanya
Price Range: £12 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merhaba Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merhaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing