We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this hotel great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SENTIDO Gold Island
Ranked #67 of 372 Hotels in Alanya
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The staff make this hotel great!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

After visiting this hotel from 11th October - 26th October, I can honestly say that I would definitely visit again! We arrived early Friday morning at about 3am and we were greeted by very friendly staff at reception who sat us down and surprised us with a glass of champagne before taking us to our room for the night. At first we were put into the island rooms, we were loaded onto the golf cart and quickly taken down to our room. When we arrived in our room there were only 2 beds, but there was 3 of us, the man that had bought us to our room automatically noticed that there was a problem and told us to visit reception first thing the next morning to see if we could be moved into the main hotel. He called somebody who then bought us a make-do bed for the night. In the morning we visited reception with our cases and before we even explained they told us that they already had the room ready! The weather during our stay was lovely except for the last 4 days where we experienced really bad thunder and lightning but the 10 days of sun before that definitely made up for it. The hotel itself is beautiful and modern and very clean, but the thing that really made it great were the people that work there. They make you feel so welcome and have a good laugh with you. The ones that really stood out for us were Sahan, Osman, Ali, Arif, Eyup, Fikret and many more! There isn't really anything that I can complain about and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: If possible before you go, ask to be put into the hotel instead of being put into the island rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlexTatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    181
    76
    35
    44
See reviews for
261
345
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the resort at the end of September. We loved Turkey last year and enjoyed our stay at sister hotel Sentido Perissia so decided to stay at another Sentido hotel.

At first i was disappointed as i wanted to to stay in the actual hotel itself but we were shown to one of the beach houses at the front. We got there around midnight and was offered something to eat and drink as we had a long plane journey, my wife received a rose on our arrival. I didnt get anything however, an ipad would of been nice as it was my birthday week or something to wipe away again having to watch French and Saunders which every holiday company seem to think everyone likes.

As i woke up however my disappointed attitude of not staying in the hotel itself went away. The beach houses have a lovely patch of land with two sun loungers to look out onto a wide open sea, its quite a site. The difference you will notice with the beach houses to the rooms inside is the size of the showers. We had a large walk in shower which got me thinking my shower at home was powered by a retired mouse on a rusty bike because these were amazing. The hairdryers are good too and towels are plentiful. Just remember to leave these on the floor to indicate to the cleaner to replace them. There wasnt a particular pattern to when the cleaners arrive, sometimes in the afternoon but usually time it pretty well with when i walked out of the shower. Unlucky for them more than me.

If you searched every review prior to your holiday to check if pancakes are on the breakfast list, you will be pleased to know there are, mixtures of cereal, fruit and the usual fry ups are always available, only sometimes less so towards the end of breakfast but that's your own fault for spending your holiday in bed. Lunchtimes consist of pizzas, breads and salads with a good selection of meals such as spaghetti. Evening meals are very good with a wide variety of choice including a bbq section outside which is amazing. You can always tell how good the food is by how small your clothes are at the end of the holiday and mine were certainly smaller.

The resort itself is immaculate, gardeners are constantly maintaining the area. Staff were all very friendly. The beach is very nice we preferred the smaller beach located in the corner although there is a shared one further on which is also nice and a bit bigger. If you have been to fish feet in the uk or any other fish spa's, you will have a similar feeling in the beaches. The fish in these spa's are the same fish located here as they are located in Southern Turkey. Be prepared you will see a few people running out onto the sand now and again thinking they are being hunted by underwater Somalian pirates when they feel a pinch on their feet. They swim around you all the time and the sea is so clear for you to see them.

The hotel has a shop to buy goods such as chocolate and drinks, but they charge you around 2 turkish lira more on drinks etc for being too lazy to walk 5 mins down the road to the other shops who sell things alot cheaper. There is also a jewellers and a leather jacket store which has some interesting designs straight from the catwalk in outer space. You will know what i mean if you have been.

Outside there is also a nice pool with a drinks bar where you can order food such as burgers, chips and pizzas. There is also a pancake lady who serves fantastic Turkish pancakes who always had a smile on her face, she deserves the tips she got and never once took her eye off the ball, she is so accurate.

The only issue i had with the resort was the entertainment. Most days were disappointing as it just consisted with kareoki nights, bingo nights basically events nobody wanted to do or get involved in. There could of been better shows for you to watch but these may have been cancelled due to storm reports which never materialised except for one night.

If you are with Thomas Cook and manage to survive not falling into a coma with the hour and a bit conversation from the rep on excursions. Go and do the cheap boat ride which is around £35 each. It tours the whole of Alanya all day where the serve lunch and unlimited drinks and you can get off and swim in the ocean. We saw turtles and a dolphin too, dolphin no gaurentees we were very lucky and rare to see in those areas. Alanya itself is very nice around the harbour and the castle is very scenic. There are plenty of shops with the usual array of replica bags and 200 mens boxers for 10 euros. It is a main city so it is very expensive compared to going to the likes of Manavgat market where you can haggle more. Everything is priced in Euro's so if you take lira, get familiar with the rate as they do try and swindle the exchange rate for an added bonus. Fortunately with us both working in banking we could read their pokerfaces like a book when they did try it on. It is a very volitile market however as what one store has to sell, the next 20 stores next to it are selling the exact same stuff.

Overall we were very satisfied with our second stay in Turkey. The service and quality of the hotel warrants its number status on trip advisor. We would very happily go back in the future and hope the hotel can maintain its level for years to come.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cgatecliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Ok so overall we had a nice relaxing break and was very comfortable and ideal for what we wanted. However the weather on our visit was very poor, thunder storms and lightening strikes for the majority of our visit so this was a massive downside. Although this had nothing to do with the hotel it still put a damper on our holiday so I would say not to visit in the 'out of season' months.

There were a lot of facilities available for bad weather i.e. cards, games room, indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi, tennis, play area (for adults too :-)), massage palour, Turkish bath and some shops too. The beach was not fab but you could get in the sea an lie on a sun bed at least.

The food and drink; as the hotel is all inclusive only, was not for fussy eaters and you need to have quite a broad appetite to find an appropriate meal I struggled for a week so a fortnight I can imagine to particularly difficult, especially for children. The drink was all local brands so not top branded spirits such as jack Daniels and Smirnoff etc they were available but at a considerable extra cost. You could however have genuine coca cola and all other soft drinks.

The room was very clean and modern and was very well equipped with a wonderful shower room, large tv, sunbeds for the balcony, air conditioning and a safe box. They were also very well kept, room service everyday inc. fresh towels, water and general cleaning and up keep. Keep note though that there are two types of rooms available; ones within the hotel itself and sea view rooms that are like small little beach huts a little way from the hotel (1 minute walk). I mention this because of the bad weather we experienced, we had to run from the complex to our room in the thunder storm afraid of being struck by lightening. Plus side is its a beautiful view, quieter and you have a garden area opposed to a balcony. Downside is that you may have to run from room to complex in the bad weather, it's a pain if you forget something whilst at the complex i.e. camera etc and its slightly annoying for wanting a drink or some food whilst relaxing in your room (you can take food and drinks back to your room with you though if you wanted too)

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a cheap couples getaway (not ideal for children but you could manage for a week) just keep an update on the weather before you go and don't end up like me, wearing shorts and flip flops in the thunder and lightening!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugdoglangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I was fortunate to stay at this hotel resort from 9th-21st October 2012. What immeadiately strikes you on arrival, is not the plush surroundings, but the warm wellcome and service of the staff. It is all credit to the staff, who are always, polite, courteous and efficient, that this hotel has become a success. Nothing is to much trouble for them even at the end of a 10hr shift.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped.The facillities are more than adequate. The food is plentiful but would have liked to have seen an evening roast meal. Evening entertainment could be of a far better standard, as i had expected to see an animation team, dancing and singing most evenings.
Overall a good solid 4* resort that could achieve a 5 * review with a few tweeks here and there.
A big thank to all staff, in particular, Ali - Michael - Osman - Mujde-Fatima and the Disco man for making my stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good standard so no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maidstonetony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We arrived in the early hours of Sunday morning after a long journey to be wowed by this fantastic hotel!

We have been fortunate enough to stay in many nice hotels in various Countries but this has to be the best we have ever stayed in!

Fantastic plush surroundings and plenty of choice of food, we could not ask for more.

Wouldnt normally want to go back to the same destination but, would love to go back there!!

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow is lovely but beware of a sewerage smell when returning to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank andsmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

When we arrived in the very early hours of Sunday morning we didn't want to wake the guests, but with the amount of space and sound proofing you are able to carry on your celebrations till silly o'clock in the morning without disturbing the other guests! So we decided to sit at the bar and admire the interior of the reception and many lounge rooms available. We shot a few holes on the pool table before we decided to call it a night, far to eager to sleep to have our first adventure the following morning. Waking up to the sound of crashing waves was such a treat, made me feel like I was in paradise. The room is so spacious with a large enough bed to fidget as much as you want without waking up your partner! The bathroom was divided by a frosted glass piece which was rather romantic to watch the other as they showered, but of course leaving the room whilst the other did their business! We had our own private sun loungers outside the room giving us a chance to sunbathe together, playing a bit of music whilst enjoying reading our books with a glass of vino. I can not rate the food any better than what was provided, hats off to the chefs! Not only do they have a huge variety of food they take time to come around and speak to guests and make sure we are all happy! I ate for England and was 100% satisfied with our all inclusive food servings, and was never unsatisfied. I have never stayed in a resort which offer; pool side, beach, and pier to choose from to sit, lounge and socialize. We took turns as to where to camp up to catch the sun and couldn't resist the amazing waterside action they have which people from all ages seemed to enjoy! The entertainment they have on offer was very funny and I even joined in when they did the pool side dance, something I would never see myself doing in a million years but I was in such a crazy happy mood I thought - why not?! Spa treatments were fantastic and all resort staff were as friendly as can be, I was sad to say goodbye. I met some great people from all over the world whilst enjoying my stay at Sentido, and for the first time we have unchanged contact details with a fantastic couple we met and look forward to staying in touch. Thank you for the best holiday I have ever had and I will be booking myself in to see you next year for another adventure.

Room Tip: I stayed among the Honeymooner's which were the apartments that opened up to an ocean view. Beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rylumonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My fiance and I arrived after a long day travelling and went straight to the main bar at 4am to take in our fanatastic surroundings. We were quickly transported to a beautiful room at the front of the resort Where many honeymooners were staying. This meant that we woke to the sounds of the sea which was a few metres from our door. Food was great. We more than had our fair share of all inclusive alcohol. The resort itself is kept very clean all day and night and is something that is taken seriously. We met some great people our there and we both had such a great time spending a lot of time relaxing, reading, swimming, flying down the waterslides, eating and of course drinking. The staff on reception were always at hand to help and we very courteous. I'll be going back next year for more of the same.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alanya hotels
0.5 mi away
Sirius Deluxe Hotel
Sirius Deluxe Hotel
#1 of 26 in Avsallar
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
White City Resort Hotel
White City Resort Hotel
#5 of 372 in Alanya
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yalihan Una
Yalihan Una
#5 of 26 in Avsallar
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aska Just In Beach
Aska Just In Beach
#4 of 26 in Avsallar
110 reviews
21.9 mi away
Goldcity Tourism Complex
Goldcity Tourism Complex
#3 of 13 in Kargicak
979 reviews
16.3 mi away
Diamond Hill Resort & Spa
Diamond Hill Resort & Spa
#22 of 372 in Alanya
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Gold Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Gold Island

Property: SENTIDO Gold Island
Address: Fugla Mah. Golcuk Cad. No: 27, Alanya 07407, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 372 Hotels in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Gold Island 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in an eye-catching and unusual style, the SENTIDO Gold Island hotel lies on a small peninsula surrounded by exquisite scenery and the turquoise blue sea. The hotel offers an unforgettable holiday experience, not least due to the sparkling lights of the building's exterior at twilight and the nearly 360 degree panoramic view across the sea. This is the perfect location for a holiday that leaves no wishes open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENTIDO Gold Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing