We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better”
Review of Grand Kaptan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Kaptan Hotel
Ranked #45 of 372 Hotels in Alanya
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“could be better”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

we stayed here for a week in june 2013, i was traveling with my mother in law and my two children age 8 and 6.
first thing that you notice is how really clean everything is. from the entrance to your room, dining area, pool area... everything. the service is very good, but they don't speak a lot of english, except for the staff that has to interact with the guests directly.
the food was almost excellent, i only felt that even though we are in turkey they didn't really had to use so many spices cause on many occasions my kids couldn't eat the food since it was too spicy or sometimes even hot. but who doesn't mind that, there is a lot of varieties to choose from. and it is like that for every meal. also lots of fresh fruit, and deserts, at all times.
the towels were changed daily, bathroom and also pool ones.
pool area was also really nice, they have separate pool area for the kids if you want to go there, where the pool is not as deep, and has louder music on, and some slides which were on at certain times, also pool games and entertainment, and my kids really loved it there. pool water was at excellent temperature. the only thing that i do mind is the sunbeds and some german people. they used to leave their towels on sunbeds from the afternoon so even if you want to go down in the morning to get the place that you like those ones were already taken from the previous day, and like that for 7 days. the thing was that that was the only location around the pool that had the sunshine all day long, and is just next to the pool bar, so i ques that it was convenient for them, but why is management allowing it, i don't understand...
not too many kids, when we were there but we didn't mind, since it was not too busy and there were some young people also, and during the day when the older ones hide in the shade or go to their rooms we were jumping in the pool and having fun.
the beach area is something that i didn't like at all, quite small and like up the small hill from the sea... there is a restaurant, but we didn't spend much time there since the water was soooo cold at the beginning of june, and i only later found out that the sea in that area is always colder...
alanya centre is a buss ride away, which is ok, but if you want to walk around the hotel in the evening there isn't really a lot to see or do, but since we stayed only for 7 days and went to alanya for a few times, it was ok. the hotel has it's own bus to alanya centre which is free of charge but can be crowded and goes i think once an hour, but local buses can be used also, for a small fee and are ok.
all in all, did i like it? yes, beautiful, clean, big, great service... would i go again? no, because i think that it is way too expensive!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Starshine0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    108
    37
    26
    15
See reviews for
135
125
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Me and my girlfriend booked this hotel during the summer and were really looking forward. We arrived on Tuesday aroun 9 p.m. We were asked to go to the restaurant to eat a bite or two, which we gladly accepted after our long trip.

When we got back to the reception, the night manager told us, there was a little problem - the hotel was overbooked! He claimed there were some cancelled flights and they took a few new guests. I did not belive 1 word however. I found it just outrageous. We could wait till 4 A.M. at the reception or we could go to the hotel´s sister, the Kaptan Hotel next to the Alanya harbour. We were quite upset but we accpeted the other hotel for 1 night. The trasnsport was organized from the hotel and it was for free (I wouldn´t pay anyway). The next morning the taxi took us back to the correct hotel.

As an apology we got a sea view and a massage coupon. We were promissed a fruit bowl and a bottle of wine, but we never saw them.

The hotel itself is perfect for all ages:
Food is perfect, there is always something to choose. You really won´t be hungry. Just the desserts are really sweet. And you can get an ice cream every day. A dress code is applied for dinner, but not everybody of the guest does so, what a shame.
The rooms are nice and cosy, cleaned every day. The staff really deserves their tipps.
The location is at the end of Alanya. It´s around 10 minutes by bus to the center but at least you have no disco next to your room so you can sleep all night long.
The pool is nice, as well as the waterslides. The pool bar is alo used a lot.
The beach is not that large but it´s fine. If you want a sunbed, you have to be there early to book one. There´s a lot of rocks in the sea, even really big ones, so you have to buy shoes to go in the water. Or you have to used the pier. But that´s not the hotel´s fault.
The staff and the animators are friendly and polite. No arguments or anything similar.
The reception could be better. There was only 1 kind lady who always helped. Not like those 2 jokers who could only laugh and didn´t even know where the nearest bus stop is. The staff speaks English or German. And nobody´s waiting for a tip. If you like the staff, give them an Euro or Lira, they will be pleased.
The free hotel-bus is going a few times a day to the centre and back.
Every evening there is something to do, but we don´t really like the animator actions, so we passed on most of the things.
The hotel offers an ultra-all inclusive, so you can eat as much as you like. You cal also drink the local alcohol, soft drinks, wine and beer as much as you wish. You have to pay for imported liquors of course. And everytime you ask for something you have to show your room-card. Gets annoying after a while though.
You can hear the muezzin from the mosque about 5 times a day. So if you are a light sleeper - bring some earplugs.
All the information regarding the eating-times, the TV, the bars and the service are in the room in the booklet.
The check-out is at 12:00, as usual.

The hotel also offers a shop, a hairdreser, a game-zone for children, a jewelry store, a doctor or a laundry-service.

We had a great stay at this hotel and we would recommend it to everybody. The guest are mostly German, Dutch and from Scandinavia. There were a few people from Turkey, Poland, Czech republic or Austria. And just a few Russians.

However, we cannot give 5 points because of the first night. This really shouldn´t happen in a 5-star hotel,. But we would go back.

A small tipp: learn a few Turkish words, the staff will appreciate it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marek_Martina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have enjoyed very much that I have stayed not in a separate resort area, but in a lively town, you can reach the center easily with with the free shuttle service. The room is comfortable, the food is excellentr and various. On thing was different from other all inclusive hotels, you have to bring your room card with you to order the food and drink the bracelet is not enough. It was a
very pleasnt stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Hoborc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

my husband and i stayed here for 10 days and we cant wait to return, there were very few english people here mainly dutch and polish but that was ok as everyone we met were very friendly. rooms are comfortable and clean and spacious, the food was varied hot and plentiful, the staff were happy to help you, the whole hotel was spotlessly clean 24 hours a day love love loved it

Room Tip: we booked as a package deal and got a room on arrival if you book seperatly you may have to wait for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank annettestow50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esses
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed with my partner for a week in September, returning on the 13th.
Overall it was a very enjoyable holiday Our room was fine and available on arrival - a little after midnight. We were advised that there was some hot food and soup still available in the dining room which was very welcome. The room well appointed (No.129) and spotless. There is a free safe (deposit required to activate it initially).The minibar is free and stocked with a few items, beach towels are provided and changed regularly The Thomas Cook flight and transfer was fine though it is a long transfer (3 hours) and of course there was the obligatory 10 minute stop after 45 minutes for a quick break.
I was however made aware of another couple who arrived the day before to find the hotel overbooked, and still more reports of this during the week. The hotel caters for all ages and has guests predominately from Germany, Holland and Russia,
The hotel lacks a wow factor as it is a bit hemmed in but internally is bedecked in rich marble and fine wooden fittings. The staff were excellent and our waiter (Ishmail) superb. We sat in the area he served at lunch and dinner and he provided very attentive service. The food quality I thought was again excellent, and I really enjoyed the lamb kidneys which were served on two occasions. There was masses of different salads and superb fine pastries.
Drinks were available 24 hours a day Plenty of spirits in generous portions plus Schweppes tonic. I had to keep asking for ice and lemon however!
The animation team (9 of them!) were great, and encouraged participation in various activities, water polo, pool games, darts, volleyball and boules. However thankfully they moved on if you politely declined, which I thought was an excellent approach.
The evening entertainment was good, particularly the belly dancing and dance troupe, on other occasions the entertainment was provided by the animation team itself and very enjoyable. There is no disco which the hotel could I think introduce on the roof terrace bar which is enormous and would save people who like dancing travelling into town.
My partner and I cannot agree about the beach! The water was warm and clean, (it has blue flag status) but the gravelly grey sand was not to my liking. You can eat and drink there within the all inclusive package and there are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas.
Overall this is a good hotel, well run and we will probably return at some stage.
Overall this is a good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobski_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is my first review but had to write in regards to this hotel
The food was excellent
Service and staff are so welcoming
Felt so easy from the time I walked in
Would highly recommend it to any one
Thank you for a brilliant time guys

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A1MINIBUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have been to this hotel a total of five times over the last six years and having read the previous review I was rather surprised and sceptical about the comments made, but I can confirm this hotel has definitely lost its appeal for me.

After a four and half hour flight and the normal two hour transfer , we arrived at the hotel at 01.55 local time we were told our oom was not ready, strange as the rooms are normaly ready with it being a late flight. We were told the room would not take long less than one hour ! One hour came and went still no room , I enquired what the delay was the reply was we are waiting for the cleaners to come !

At 03.30 a couple with a young child appeared at the desk checking out , and amazingly Five minutes later our room was ready at 03.35 ok Alanya is two hours ahead so it was 01.35 UK time but still a very long day/night.

Now on to the clientele . We have always acknowledged that this was primarily a German hotel which usually means very high standards , as we have experienced in previous holidays here, but also what goes with that , people of a certain age seem to think they can control the hotel , while sat in the vitamin bar having a drink listening to the background music a patron came from the other end of the veranda and turned the music down saying it was to loud ! So now the guests control the volume of the music that other paying guests are listening to..

This year overbooking seems to be a major problem for this hotel in the first three days we are aware of twelve couples that have he to stay elsewhere for one night because of overbooking, cancelled flights out were one reason so no rooms available .

The food as always is very good , the staff that we dealt with attentive and pleasant as always , but they always seem under pressure , also the third manager in the last four years.

All I can say that in the popularity stakes the British are well down the table, this hotel is geared up German, Russian, Dutch, British, in that order.

This review is being written on our third day of a fourteen night holiday, so incensed am I , that I feel I have let people know what to expect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fedupspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alanya hotels
0.2 mi away
Diamond Hill Resort & Spa
Diamond Hill Resort & Spa
#22 of 372 in Alanya
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asia Beach Resort & Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Antique Roman Palace
Antique Roman Palace
#26 of 372 in Alanya
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
White City Resort Hotel
White City Resort Hotel
#5 of 372 in Alanya
562 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beach Club Doganay
Beach Club Doganay
#59 of 372 in Alanya
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taksim International Obakoy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kaptan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kaptan Hotel

Property: Grand Kaptan Hotel
Address: Obakoy Gol Mevkii, Alanya 07400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Alanya
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Alanya
#38 Luxury Hotel in Alanya
#42 Family Hotel in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Kaptan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few steps from the beautiful Mediterranean Sea, Hotel Grand Kaptan offers rooms with free internet and a balcony. Facilities include an outdoor pool with 3 water slides. The air-conditioned rooms at Grand Kaptan are decorated with wooden furniture, floor-to-ceiling windows, and carpeted floors. All rooms have satellite TV, a minibar, and tea and coffee making facilities. Grand Kaptan Hotel's buffet restaurant offers a wide range of authentic Turkish dishes and international cuisine. The hotel also offers 2 à la carte restaurants, serving fresh seafood and Italian cuisine. Hotel Grand Kaptan's entertainment team organises many activities during the day, including water games and aerobics. In the evening, guests can enjoy live shows and bingo. The spa centre of Grand Kaptan offers a fitness centre, a sauna, and a traditional Turkish bath. Guests can also relax on a sun lounger at the private beach area. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to Alanya's city centre 6 times a day. Alanya Castle is 8 km from Hotel Grand Kaptan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Kaptan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kaptan Alanya
Hotel Grand Kaptan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing