We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accomadation. Excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Okan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Okan
Ranked #16 of 369 Hotels in Alanya
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
1 review
“Great accomadation. Excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Clean,Comfrotable hotel in in good position forr bars and restaurants. Not too far to walk to main nightlife scene at the harbour. The main bizarre within easy walking distance. Excellent access to the beach. Lovely pool area. Friendly staff. Breakfast mainly aimed at German guests but it is possible to find something adequate. Did not travel half board so cant comment on evening meal. Could however purchase poolside snacks in the afternoon which were very nice and good value for money. Rooms cleaned everyday and bedding towels changed regularly. Shower room available for last day if you have a late flight. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJNYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    144
    50
    19
    13
See reviews for
132
225
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed in the Grand Okan from 12th may for 9 days. From arrival to departure Amanda and her team gave excellent service. So helpful and friendly.I have stayed in quite a few hotels in Turkey and also work in the hotel business so I am hard to please and expect a high standard. Food was beatiful and what a choice!! Entertainment was good & pool gorgeous. Our rooms were on 2nd floor overlooking the sea & room service was very good. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone! We will definitely be back, Thanks again Amanda.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laneyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

Stayed from 16-24 May with family. The hotel is very nice, pleasant lobby and friendly staff. Occupied rooms 427 and 428. Room 428 had a leaking air conditioner but it was working anyway. The food was great, a lot of fresh salads and lovely mains. The beach is at the doorstep (almost), you can rent a sunbed and an umbrella for only 2 TL each at the hotel reception. The room was cleaned daily - good level of cleaning. Weather was gorgeous, sandy beach. The town is about 20 min walk. Be prepared to a very pushy service and sales people in town. If you are looking for a relaxed time, I do deffinately recommend Grand Okan!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

we stayed at the okan in march and for the time of the year it was busy so that must mean its a good hotel.the staff were great and very very helpfull.the food was plentyfull and hot all the time.the rooms were very clean. not a long walk to the town ,there was a bus stop out side hotel that was very usefull.we bean to alanya 11 times n this was the best hotel so far and will be coming back.

so thak you amanda and all your staff
hacbaba

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sircuddlybuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from the Grand Okan after a weeks stay. On arival (2 hours from the airport) the staff were all friendly and the hotel was very clean etc..
The room was ok, just a nice size with a nice shower, the only dissapointment was the noise that came from the busy road infront..
Food - Food was ok most days, not really to everyones taste but plenty of salad's and bread. Breakfast was cold meats, Jams, and bread. The waiters were all friendly enough.
As its still early season everybody did seem to be about 2 decades older than us in the hotel (we are 22/23) Poolside was clean and nice.
All in all the hotel was nice as were the staff.

Location - 2 minutes from the beach with 2 Lira a day for the sunbeds - lovely beach.
20 minutes walk from the harbour, main nightlife etc..
Beware that you will be hastled as you walk past every single shop!! We went into one shop and a bloke tried to charge us 225 lira for 4 Tshirts, you must haggle! Although when i did on this occasion he got pretty angry when we said no and apparantly i'm a fat ars*ed dirty Bi*ch!!! Charming i thought!!

Another dissapointment was out rep, he didnt give us any information and owns a bar 2 mins away! so he obviously asks you to go in there if you need him...

Have a turkish bath they are lovely! Also the tip 'haggle and history' is nice, a visit to mosque, largest markets, waterfall and to side ruins..

Most things are exspensive now - cocktails 10 pounds English money! for 1 glass!! Beers ok though around 2pounds. Except in the James Dean bar which is 3.50 half a pint!!

We went into a little bar called the 'CHA CHA BAR' a few nights, its the 1st bar 2 mins from the hotel, all the staff are lovely and put on a good show.

Weather was about 25 eeryday so just nice and water is still freezing!! All in all a good holiday!
Have fun!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

I just got back from Turkey with my three friends. We loved it! The hotel itself was adequate. As we are all 22/23 years old the hotel was quite quiet for us, and there is no evening entertainment (except the waiter's humor). We were also told off for laughing at dinner times which annoyed us. We could not tell if it was their strange sense of humor or we were actually being told of for being happy?!

When we chose Turkey we wanted sun, sea, sand and a place with good value for money. Turkey ticked all those boxes. We were worried about the reputation that Turkish men are sleazy, however realised that the attention was that of what you get in all countries. We met some really nice Turkish locals and found Turkish people to be very hospitable.

In terms of the hotel, the food was good. We were on a half board basis. Two of my friends were vegetarian and there was some variety in salads and desserts. We even got fresh pancakes on a couple of days which we loved. At dinner they do not provide any drinks, even water which we thought was dissapointing as at breakfast they had a water cooler.

The pool was great as it was very clean and a nice size. As we did not go at peak season we always had sun loungers and the beach is a 2 minute walk.

The rooms were adequate and a decent size. Our toilet however every so often smelt of sewage (not ours!) which was not pleasant.

Overall I would say this hotel is good value for money.

Tips: I definately recommend a Turkish bath, do not pay over £23 for an exfoliating, foam massage and oil massage as well as using facilities such as the sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. We went to the biggest one in Turkey and they even provide a pick up and drop off service which is included in the price.

We also went on a boat trip, fresh food (fish and chicken). A trip to the market, waterfall and transport all included. It was a great day out for friends, couples and families.

Also when haggling in shops, always half the price they ask for and work your way up slowly. If they don't meet you half way then walk off and they will probably come after you.

Last but not least I recommend our favourite restaurant of the holiday - Bistro Havanna. It is a five minute walk from the Hotel and they were very welcoming. If you want a fun night out, its the place to go. The staff make it what it is.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shez86uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, Essex, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

We have just returned from Turkey, it was our first visit and we are expecting it to be a bit cheaper than it was. Although the country is not yet in the eurpean union everything is priced in euros. The shops accept both euros and the turkish lira, The hotel was good and always clean, we had a room with a sea view, The view was great and the balcony had 2 chairs and a table on it. The other useful thing on the balcaony was a place to hang wet towels rather than over the balcony rail. the room itself was very basic and lacked a chest of drawers and so for the 10 days we stayed many of our clothes remained in the cases. We stayed on a half board arrangement and found the food quite good. The hotel is centrally located for the town and the 1 lira it costs to get into the middle of town is well worth it to escape the constant pester of the shop owners on the walk to town. You also need to be careful as you wander around because locals will offer help but expect some payment. My husband visited the castle and on the walk to it a local gave him the impression he couldn't go the way he was and showed him another route, at the end he said it cost 25 lira for the guide, it was quite threatening and intimidating, so be warned. Finally please be aware the transfer journey from the airport is anything from 2-3 hours depending on drop offs. Having said that the hotel is great and Cleopatras beach is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alanya hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunprime Alanya Beach
Sunprime Alanya Beach
#9 of 369 in Alanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xperia Saray Beach Hotel
Xperia Saray Beach Hotel
#33 of 369 in Alanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 369 in Alanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kleopatra Dreams Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Xperia Kandelor Hotel
Xperia Kandelor Hotel
#87 of 369 in Alanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Zaman Beach Hotel
Grand Zaman Beach Hotel
#68 of 369 in Alanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Okan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Okan

Property: Grand Okan
Address: Saray Mah. Ataturk Cad., Alanya 07400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alanya
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alanya
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Alanya
#14 Luxury Hotel in Alanya
#19 Best Value Hotel in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Okan 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Okan is located on one of the most famous beaches in Turkey - Cleopatra Beach. If it's nightlife and shopping or peace and quiet, our high quality 4 * hotel offers something for everyone. The sandy beach is only 50 mtrs away , the town center with it's famous shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife is 1 Km away or 5 minutes with the local bus. Wireless internet access in Lobby, and by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Okan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Okan Hotel Alanya
Grand Okan Alanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing