We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deceiving pictures. Awful to stay at and rubbish hotel.”
Review of Buyuk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buyuk Hotel
Ranked #175 of 372 Hotels in Alanya
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deceiving pictures. Awful to stay at and rubbish hotel.”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The pictures lie. Far from the centre and Kleopatra beach. Hotel is on a very busy main road. We arrived at 8am and were greeted by a rude man who stunk of BO smoking in the door way who told us we had to wait till 4pm for our room. He sent us to have breakfast but this was a joke as it was not what i could even call breakfast. A few eggs and some awful jelly and the rest was salads which were quite obviously from the night before. No drinks as such except cold coffee and some stale juice in dirty mugs. We asked for the pool and sauna to freshen up and were told there is no pool, no gym and no sauna, no showers. When we finally got our room which we paid for a sea view, we were given a small dark corner room so we complained. The manager was rude and asked us what we expected to which we were shocked. Our new room was little better and the hotel does not have a sea view unless you are on the very top floor. The pictures are very deceiving. The hotel is old and dated and there are NO polite staff. Hotel stinks of cigarette smoke and is full of rude Germans. Food is rubbish. Go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms are small and dated and smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cristinejenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuh O, Front Office Manager at Buyuk Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Our hotel was completily renoveted at 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    17
    14
    3
    12
See reviews for
13
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Basil Fawlty is a mild and generous person compared to the man in charge of this awful place. It is the worst hotel I have ever have seen or heard about. The first day I went to the beach, someone (with a key) stole my heart medicine from my room. The street directly in front of the hotel is extremely noisy 24/7. I was told by a fellow Buyuk-prisoner that hey also run a scheme where the charge you for i imaginary items from the minibar. That was exactly what happened when I checked out as well. The breakfast is served on dirty plates and tastes like garbage.I honestly did not believe that an establishment like this could still exist in the year 2011. I hope they don't exist in 2012. Please never ever contemplate of staying at this hotel even if they pay You to do so. The only thing that actually works is the air conditioning.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonkanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuh O, Front Office Manager at Buyuk Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Our hotel was completily renoveted at 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alanya hotels

Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

food awful, supposed spa unclean and revolting. rude staff who refused me to eat in the restaurant on the day of check out while on an all inclusive plan when i was heavily pregnant at the time. no brittish people. 2 star at best

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura1985Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuh O, Front Office Manager at Buyuk Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Our hotel was completily renoveted at 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Awful hotel. Rude staff who stink of BO. Basic rooms and inedible food. Photos on the web are utterly decieving. Its a dump. DONT GO THERE. You will de severely disappointed. What a terrible terrible place.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joobyloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuh O, Front Office Manager at Buyuk Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Our hotel was completily renoveted at 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alanya hotels
1.5 mi away
Azak Hotel Alanya
Azak Hotel Alanya
#154 of 372 in Alanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kleopatra Melissa Hotel
Kleopatra Melissa Hotel
#189 of 372 in Alanya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ergun Hotel
Ergun Hotel
#131 of 372 in Alanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kleopatra Ada Beach Hotel
Kleopatra Ada Beach Hotel
#49 of 372 in Alanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palmiye Beach Hotel
Palmiye Beach Hotel
#134 of 372 in Alanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monte Carlo
Monte Carlo
#37 of 372 in Alanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buyuk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buyuk Hotel

Property: Buyuk Hotel
Address: Ahmet Tokus Bulvari No 43, Alanya 07400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Buyuk Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and stylish hotel, with a marvellous view of the sea, the castle and the harbour of Alanya, has a unique location at the city center and also it is 25 m. away from its beach.The hotel offers free Wİ-Fİ in all the rooms and the public areas and features SPA (with Turkish hamam, sauna, jakuzzi, massage), Fitness Center, Game Room (with Chess, dart, card games, backgammon etc.) and Wired İnternet.The basic principle of our service concept is to provide high-quality service offered by the friendly staff at the restaurants, cafe and the bars of "Alanya Büyük Hotel" where a menu with a choice of international & Turkish cuisine have been offered. All the rooms , well-furnished and modern decorated, have balconies and are equipped with air conditioning, minibar, safebox, satellite TV, Wİ-Fİ, telephone, bathroom with hairdryer and bathroom facilities.There are activities such as canoe, sea bicycle, water-skiing, banana, para-sailing along the beach , and also organizations like daily boat trips to nearby bays and safari-jeep trips to the mountains. The Hotel is away 120 km. from Antalya Airport and 35 km. from Gazipaşa Airport. And we wish you'll remember that memories are always with a smile... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Buyuk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buyuk Hotel Alanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing