We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but location lets it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Big Blue Suite Hotel
Ranked #57 of 371 Hotels in Alanya
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but location lets it down”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the big blue hotel from 30th August to 14th sept as a party of seven (2 adults and 5 children) the transfer was a long way (but we knew this when booking) When we arrived we felt a little worried as the hotel was down a side street and looked rather dim but when we got inside our opinion changed! We had booked two rooms and they were nice big rooms spotlessly clean one overlooking the pool and the other overlooking the service area and road. I wish we had asked to move as it was quite noisy and a few people who asked to be moved did get moved straight away.
Food was in my opinion excellent breakfast was pancakes,eggs, omelettes etc. straight after breakfast snacks were served followed by lunch, then snacks,then cake, then tea. We have 5 fussy children who never once struggled to find something to eat (a first for us) and the homemade pizzas were amazing!!!
Drink was fine but only a small selection of spirits available which was fine for us as we don't really drink them but a lot of guests struggled to find a choice they liked! The 11pm cut off for drinks was a bit disappointing and from approximate 9pm it was a little harder to get a drink.
Entertainment wasn't great and a lot of this was down to the location, the hotel is set in the middle of a lot of residential buildings so at 11pm on the dot the music was off and we were told to be quiet. The management encouraged everyone to go to bed and actually told a lot of people off for talking!! The pool was great the kids loved the slides that came on for 40 mins 3 times a day (more than enough)
The service in this hotel really was fantastic! The hotel is immaculately clean and the maids can be seen constantly cleaning everywhere! The waiters worked incredibly hard they were a credit to the hotel and fantastic with the guests, especially Ahmet who was just brilliant!!!
Overall we had a great holiday and for the money we paid have to say we were impressed! Such a shame about the entertainment as that would be the only thing that stopped us from returning but saying that if we got it at a bargain price we may just be tempted :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinnybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    130
    64
    32
    24
See reviews for
219
105
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had 2 weeks at Big Blue in September. Yes, the transfer is quite a drag (approx 2 hours) but that's just the distance from the airport - that can't be helped lol! We arrived about 1.30am and they kindly gave us some food upon arrival. It was our wedding anniversary and we had booked a double room (not many in the Hotel apparently) which we got, and upon entering found petals on the floor and bed and some lovely 'towel' creations' on the bed...a lovely surprise!! We were on the 7th floor at the back of the Hotel. At first we were a little disappointed at not being at the front overlooking the pool, but we actually grew to like the mountain view (and the shade!!). The rooms aren't the most luxurious but are spotlessly clean (which is the most important for me!). There is a hairdryer in the bathroom and a safe in the wardrobe (which we didn't actually use). The aircon was a godsend too! The food was great. There was always plenty of choice for hot meals along with lots of lovely salads. They also have an area outside where they cook fresh pizzas (my hubbie said they were some of the best he's tasted!) along with a barbecue. It was always waiter service for drinks at meal times and the staff were fantastic...great sense of humour and so hard working!! The pool area is kept spotlessly clean too and we always managed to find a sun lounger when we stayed at the Hotel for the day. There was always a kiddies disco in the evening and Pinocchio got adults up too for various things. Whilst we were there there was a Belly Dancer (I got roped into this too lol!) and a Turkish Dance evening. There were also a few fun type games for the adults. For me, I would have liked some live music but who knows, perhaps that may come one day? We hired a scooter for a total of 5 days so got about a bit...Sapadere Canyon, Dim Cay, Kleopatra Beach, The Castle and a lovely ride through the mountains (where we ended up I'm not sure lol!). There is still plenty to see around that area so we have decided to return next year for 17 nights. This Hotel, in my opinion, is best suited to couples and families who don't want to be partying all night (the free drinks finish at 11pm but the bar remains open, and the music stops) but are close enough to Alanya town if they want to have a night out. It's about an hour's leisurely walk. To summarise: Spotlessly clean Hotel, very friendly staff (though I do agree with previous reviews that the lady behind reception is very miserable & quite ignorant and really could do with a lesson or 2 in customer service!), great food choice...all in all fantastic value for money and I would definitely recommend and am looking forward to returning next year!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the Hotel don't get any sunshine on the balconies at all throughout the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Think it's about time that I review the big blue, we turned up about 3.00am and had the most welcome from Mehmet Emin and Sezai from reception , Omer was the one who showed us to our room . We was on 7th floor but that didn't bother us but I did ask if we cld be moved so that we cld have a balcony .
There was a lot off foreign ppl there but I found the hotel catered for everyone , the food was amazing constantly thru out the day , entertainment wise was amazing as Pinocchio alway had us on our feet , the waiters Sezai, Ismail, Omer, Ismet, Ahmed, Navset and everyone else worked very hard, if they see my glass was empty I surely had mine replaced . Mustafa I believe he was the head of waiter made my two weeks off being there , even the chefs behind the kitchen had time for us and were very friendly . Bar staff Uglas I found very friendly always had time to speak to me . Everyday without fail we always seemed to have a laugh with staff even if its around the pool, eating dinner, or even stood up at the bar .what I loved about being there was listening to the mosque five times a day was so relaxing to hear . We are definitely coming back to the big blue next year xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keeley12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have been back from our holiday just over a week from here and I would recommend it. The transfer time is a little long, but the hotel and staff make up for it. I can say if people did there homework on trip advisor and on the hotels website before they went they wouldn't moan, as I seem to see a lot of negative comments. The hotel is so clean, the staff are welcoming and friendly. If you have any problems the staff are willing to sort it for you. The location of the hotel itself is good for all inclusive, as usually there in the middle of nowhere. We hope to return to the hotel again .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyleremz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Be warned the shuttle from Antalya airport to this hotel was a nightmare very unorganized the driver was so slow and did not know the location of one hotel however once we arrived at Club big blue it was 11.30pm my self and partner along with another couple were so tired we were greeted at reception then taken to our rooms we were on the second floor once we steeped foot in the room we were not impressed with the 2 single beds as we booked a double we were told it would be sorted in the morning we were then taken down stairs to the dinning area for a snack and a beer then greeted by the manager who introduced him self by stating the breakfast times, on the 3nd day we were moved to the seventh floor and had a double bed minus the suite facilities though, be warned the lifts are so small only room for 3 people and they can take up to 5 minutes, the hotel itself is spotless every one pulls there weight the food was ok some times a bit cold the best food was at the bbq area near the main pool in the evening we found one or two staff seemed to ignore us when placing drinks orders so I went to the bar myself and ordered the hotel seems to cater more for the German tourist we found the English tourist seemed to be ignored the hotel is sited in a residential area so its very quite in the evenings OBA is a small town about ten minutes walk away with plenty of shops and bars the beach is also about a ten minute walk away Antalya is a bus ride 10 Minute away allanum shopping centre 5 minute walk Cleopatra beach 10 minutes away the hotel says free bus to beach its not though think it was 10 lera i would not go back to this hotel only due to its location. If looking to book excursions there is a ministers tour agent near ali barbers bar 5 minutes walk on the way to beach we booked all of our trips boat trip 50 lera spa and massage 50 lera safari 60 lera and Alanya tour 30 lera recommend them all.

Room Tip: Top floor double bed or facing pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Big blue is a lovely clean hotel but for me that was it . Arrived middle of night and was offered food which we declined as really tired. A two and a half hour transfer from the airport wasn't good . During the day pinnochio and kitty had things going water sports darts and games by the pool they always had a smile. No music around the pool which we would have liked . Water slides on three or four times a day . Most of the staff were ok but the guy behind the bar was the most arrogant miserable rude person I have ever met in my life. If you got a drink which was difficult enough as if you had a drink you couldn't order another one even when your glass was nearly empty he would shove it across the bar at you or send you away like a child if you ordered for everyone in your party and told us the waiters would bring them. During the day it wasn't too bad but at night it was a nightmare . It wasn't the waiters fault they were only doing what they were told but they were the ones in the firing line when people got annoyed with the terrible service . The food wasn't bad the salads were lovely but apart from the soup everything was Luke warm but not too bad . Everywhere kept clean and we found a lovely restaurant in alanya called big Ben where the food was lovely and the owner would come to the hotel and collect you. At eleven every night big blue totally shuts down and you are all told to be quiet. Laughing and joking not allowed. For god sake we were on holiday . Wouldn't go back. The drinks are limited and only brandy gin vodka wine and beer are free if you want white rum its fifteen lira a glass. Everything is tailored for the Germans and they tend to be favoured by the staff on matter how rude they were and never said please or thankyou. The woman on reception is miserable and never smiles and was quite rude but the head waiter and the waiters were really polite and pleasant and when they did tell up to keep the noise down it was because the idiot behind the bar was giving them the bullets to fire . Most of the British people we spoke to felt the same . Glad to be home and won't be going back .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxjuliaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The location of this hotel leaves a lot to be desired. 2hour + transfer to a residential / edge of an industrial area with broken pavements and very poor street lighting. Arrived at 1am and given a room over the service area, with machinery and other loud noises going for the rest of the night. Didn't bother unpacking and asked for another room which after a wait we got. This room was slightly better except it faced the extremely busy and very noisy main road. Traffic went ALL night and could still hear machines from kitchen area which switched off at 3am. This was followed by mosque noise an hour later ( which we did expect & respected ) then main traffic again at 5am!!!!!!!! Have earplugs at the ready. Let down badly by Thomas Cook who upon arrival at the airport told us we were not with them & directed to another company ( booked online with Thomas Cook ). As a result we had no further contact or info except for a bloke who turned up at our hotel to flog us trips. He told us if any problems don't call TCook as he would get into trouble but to call him on a mobile number which we found out cost £14 to make!!! No local info given out from him or hotel leaving us feeling like we had been abandoned. Guests we met and talked to at hotel made a bid diff as we all shared bits of info which helped. Hotel itself was clean & rooms OK but no double beds which we had booked. Waiting staff hard working and friendly but bar staff and woman receptionist would ignore you to the point of being rude. Food OK if you like salads which we do but cooked dishes not particularly hot and repetative. No entertainment for adults to speak of although Pinocchio worked hard and kept you informed etc, kids songs for 45mins every eve and not much else after that. Signs warning you of no towels to be put on beds as they would be removed were only in English and stuck to walls of lifts which was a joke as mostly Germans there. In fact this hotel caters for mainly German people who seem to be able to do as they please with no agro from staff!!! Trip to Kleopatra beach with free bus from hotel was great and only cost 9tl for 2 beds & umbrella although one day the driver wanted us to show tickets or pay !! No local rum or whiskey to speak of so ended up with weak beer or fanta, great. No where to go except your room when it rained as the hotel used the pool area for EVERYTHING, rearranging furniture for sunbathing then dining etc. Would try Turkey again but would give Thomas CROOK & The Club Big Blue a very wide berth!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view, double bed if needed but don't hold your breath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alanya
0.3 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Suites
Blue Sky Hotel & Suites
#112 of 371 in Alanya
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elysee Hotel
Elysee Hotel
#224 of 371 in Alanya
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Artemis Princess
Artemis Princess
#53 of 371 in Alanya
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Wave Suite
Blue Wave Suite
#131 of 371 in Alanya
106 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sun Star Beach Hotel
Sun Star Beach Hotel
#1 of 4 in Mahmutlar
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monart City Hotel
Monart City Hotel
#47 of 371 in Alanya
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Big Blue Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Big Blue Suite Hotel

Property: Club Big Blue Suite Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Karasaz Sok. No: 27, Alanya 07490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Alanya
#40 Spa Hotel in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Big Blue Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 101 rooms in CLUB BIGBLUE SUITE HOTEL, 86 suites+15 standart rooms all with wide balcony, Air Conditioning (split), satellite TV, Hairdryer, Minibar, telephone and safe. 3 independently pools (Main Pool, Aqua Pool, Kids Pool) where you will have the whole day fun with your family. Inside the Hotel offers Spa&Hamam, Market, Mini boutique their services to our guests. We also have a Shuttle Service at certain times to the famous and unique beaches of Alanya for free. Our hotel is 500m far away from the Beach. We are inviting you to our CLUB Big Blue Suite Hotel to enjoy our hospitality and different Shows with different themes 5 days of the week, to have fun with your family at our Mini Club and with our daytime activities. Club Big Blue Hotel is situated in the City and nearby Shops, Mall, Restaurants, Bars, Airport, Beach, Hospital, ATMs. It promises you with its renewed face a beautiful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Big Blue Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Big Blue Hotel Alanya
Hotel Big Blue Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing