We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaucuk Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaucuk Residence
Ranked #3 of 206 Antalya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really lovely aesthetically and just what we were looking for in a Kaleici hotel. The owner is very kind and looked after us well. She arranged airport transfer for us (which left slightly later than we'd have liked for our departure and we were thus scrambling to the gate) as well as an excellent tour of ancient roman sites.

Pros: Beautifully and tastefully decorated. Nice courtyard with small pool and vegetation. Attentive owner, very comfortable beds, nice modern bathrooms. TVs in the rooms with lots of channels. Excellent breakfast.

Cons: As others have said, the noise is pretty awful but nothing we haven't encountered in several other Turkish hotels. Sounds of conversations on the street as if they were in the room, motorbikes etc. Breakfast starts at 9am which is a bit late. Internet doesn't work (wifi, but none of our devices would connect).

Biggest complaint: On the morning of our tour, the owner said she'd have coffee and breakfast"sandwiches" for us for the journey as it left very early. Coffee wasn't ready before we had to leave, and the "sandwiches" were two pieces of plain brown bread with one small half slice of a tomato and one tiny triangle of cheese. We ended up buying something on the way. If you're planning an early morning excursion, you'll need to get your own breakfast as you won't have an opportunity to eat until lunchtime.



Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rengin E, Sahibi at Kaucuk Residence, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our Resident.

We are glad that you were relaxed and enjoyed your stay and satisfied with our tour service.
I am very sorry that your early morning sanwiches were not prepared up to our standards. We will make sure that our future guests will be provided with larger food package.
Relating to our wifi and internet; we have made a very expensive investment during March 2014 in order our guest would have full internet service in each room. Since then we have had no complaints at all and when you observe our page on booking.com you would read that our guests high recommend our internet service.
I wish you would ask me when you could not join internet when you were here at Kauçuk so I could help you on the spot here and then.
Hope to see you again @ Kauçuk, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    30
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
75
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

It's a beautiful hotel in two Ottoman-style houses in the very hard of the old city. In the cozy patio dining tables surround the swimming pool. You can hardly find better place to relax while travel in Mediterranean Turkey. Don't miss the breakfast by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dmitry_Stg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rengin E, Sahibi at Kaucuk Residence, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Dmitry,

Thank you for your kind comments about Kauçuk Residence.
We hope to see you and your family in near future again.
Best regards,
Rengin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was a pleasant and positive experience. Behind a rather anonymous entrance, it was a small and very nice hotel. The rooms was spacious ,in good condition and very well cleaned. The service could not be better. Thanks to Rengin,Erol and the whole staff.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TottoAkershus_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rengin E, Sahibi at Kaucuk Residence, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you it is very kind of you. Hope to see you again. Rengin & Erol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I visited this hotel 12th-18th of may 2014
A different type of hotel compared to most of the other hotels in old town ,charming ,unique , excelent. is the best Words to use this time ,

Rengin ;, a very welcoming owner , thank you for a relaxing week .
Erol - an Complete staffmember , Thank you for making a Perfect week.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The world
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Antalya old town is notoriously difficult to navigate so take a taxi rather than driving- it's not expensive and so much easier! However once you find the Kaucuk Residence you can relax. This is a beautiful small boutique style hotel in the heart of the old town, close to historic sights, to the harbour and to shopping and loads and loads of places to eat and drink!
The rooms are very comfortable with great beds and very nice bathrooms set around a charming central courtyard with a small pool and tables and chairs. The conversion from the original houses has been very well done and there's an intimate atmosphere here that instantly makes you feel at home. The staff are very welcoming and pleasant, the breakfasts are large - mainly traditional Turkish style with added touches such as home made jams and fresh fruit. We hope to return later this year.

The only criticism we had was the lack of advice on where to eat. The owner wasn't prepared to recommend local venues which is always so useful, particularly for first time visitors. Maybe we understand why - we tried several venues and weren't bowled over by any of them!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the courtyard rather than the street so that you can open the windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rengin E, Sahibi at Kaucuk Residence, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about Kauçuk Residence. We try very nature about surraunding restaurants. But keeping in mind your remarks we will definately provide a list of places to eat.

Best regards, Rengin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed a Kaucuk Hotel about three years ago and had such a wonderful stay that I decided to stay there again when I returned to Antalya during Easter Week this year. I really did not expect the hotel to be different or better than it had been, but, to my surprise, it was! The beautiful courtyard area had been modified to include an amazing dining room. It's built over ancient foundations, and the floor of the dining room is partially made of glass to allow us to see the illuminated foundations below us. It brings the idea of staying in the historic district to a new level! The owner continues to be a warm and gracious hostess, the epitome of Turkish hospitality. On this stay, I mentioned that I had seen beautiful strawberries in the market, and the next morning, they were served at breakfast! I felt very welcomed and well cared for. I really recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Antalya!

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms have lovely terraces. Worth inquiring about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAtraveler297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel 18th – 23rd of April and apart from one minor problem we could not fault the facilities, staff or the breakfast.
Rengin, the owner was very welcoming as was Erol a member of staff at the hotel, even when Rengin made a trip to Istanbul Erol took over the running of the hotel and did an excellent job in doing so.
The food at breakfast was plentiful and typical Turkish in nature.
The room was very well designed and of a good size (we stayed in the room called Cara) and the same high standard was applied to the bedroom and ensuite shower and toilet area.
The only minor issue was the noise, the room we were in faced onto a narrow road and traffic and pedestrian noise did not permit a restful night’s sleep as the noise usually did not cease until around 3 or 4 am in the morning. We were not sure if anything could be done about this but perhaps double glazing or very thick curtains would have reduced the noise.
It was our 3rd trip to Antalya staying in a different hotel each time, Kaucuk Otel is well worth a stay as it is also ideally located near the town and bazar, near the marina and also within the old town of Antalya (Kaleci).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.2 mi away
Mediterra Art Hotel
Mediterra Art Hotel
#48 of 230 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puding Marina Residence
Puding Marina Residence
#35 of 230 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tuvana Hotel
Tuvana Hotel
#34 of 230 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eski Masal Hotel
Eski Masal Hotel
#52 of 230 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Tulipan
Villa Tulipan
#1 of 206 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sabah Pansiyon
Sabah Pansiyon
#8 of 206 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaucuk Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaucuk Residence

Property: Kaucuk Residence
Address: Tuzcular Mah. Pasa Cami Sok. No: 22 | Kaleici, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaucuk Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaucuk Residence, The Oasis House Hotel The Kaucuk Residence is located in the heart of Antalya, Old town; Kaleici and consists of two historical mansions. The ancient buildings offer an oasis, which invites you for a romantic and meditative comfort. Besides a lot of cultural and physical pleasure in the next vicinity, you can find the historical Mermerli Beach only 250 meters far away from the Kaucuk Residence. Our spacious rooms with garden or monument view have a unique design oc Ottoman style. Every single air conditioned room is decorated with antique Anatolian carpets and painting of contemporary Turkish artists. Our guests have the possibility to use in house pool besides historical Mermerli beach to enjoy the sun and swim. Beach towels and sun loungers are of course free of charge. Smoking in our rooms or closed areas is not permitted due to state regulation. Pets are not allowed. Room/ Accommodation Every room has an own bathroom with shower, bathrobe, hairdryer, toilet articles and slippers. A comfortable sitting area gives the possibility for relaxing. All rooms have a mini bar, air condition and safe. Additional every room has a flat screen TV. We would like to notice, that we attach great importance to hygiene and sleep comfort, so our certified bed mattresses are antibacterial, anti allergic and fully orthopedic. Bed linen and covers are made of pure cotton. Gastronomy in the Hotel Every morning delicious breakfast table awaits for you, with fresh baked bread, brewed coffee or tea. Enjoy homemade cakes or cookies, cheese platters, jam and honey, egg specialties, cereal, cold cuts, and plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. "Healthy-Food" & "Slow-Food" is offered at the Kaucuk Residence; meat, chicken, fish or vegan, a variety offer of culinary delights from healthy ingredients. The use of regional products and seasonal ingredients is always the focus of our menus. More than 80% of our products are from the region, paying particular attention to fresh and seasonal ingredients. If desired, we can organize your party and group dinner with four course menu. We are happy to serve your dinner at the pool or in our air-conditioned dining room, which is equipped with works of art by contemporary Turkish artists. The dining room is located above the 2300 years old ancient monuments from Hellenistic era. In order to have a sight on these works, the floor is made of thick glass panels. For a stylish musical (baroque, classical) framing of your dinners, a small violin orchestra is provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaucuk Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing