We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melas Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melas Lara Hotel
Ranked #3 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday ”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We have just reutnred from a two week holiday at melas lara it was an enjoyable stay in which we may hopefully return in the future.

Entertainment team:
Excellent animation team they made the holiday. They made you feel very welcome. We made good friends with ezgi and antonio they are both extremly enthusiastic towards the guests. They made it an enjoyable holiday. Water gym/step aerobics/ football/water polo are just some of the activies that go on throughout the day. They speak in many differnet languages so that all of the guests are involved.

Entertainment/disco:
There was a variety of shows on including bingo, beach/pool/garden parties which were enjoyable. The disco which is located within the hotel is good as it cardies on the entertainment after the show.

Pool/beach:
Overall they were both lovely areas of the hotel although around the pool there little sunbeds for a large capacity of sunbeds. The activies on the beach such as parasailing are a must do.

Restaurant/waiters:
There was a large choice of food but not much option for english at breakfast. There was a little range at breakfast. The waiters were always happy to help and made you feel extremely welcome.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    124
    38
    9
    8
See reviews for
218
178
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed along with my brother and his girlfriend.we had a lovely week,infact it wasnt long enough.the rooms and hotel were spotless all of the staff from animmation team to waiting staff were amazing nothing was to much trouble.we ate at the turkish restraunt that was lovely.always lots to eat and drink overall the best holiday ive had in a long time

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clairedaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My Husband, Son (aged 8) and I stayed at the Melas Lara for 7 nights (17th to 24th July)

The hotel is immaculate and very comfortable.

There were alot of German and Belgian guests who we found to be quite rude and the staff were generally more accomodating to them. Entertainment was average, we were glad of visual entertainment as ALL SHOWS were in German and we didn't understand a word of it.

There were 2 members of the animation team that we found particulary welcoming: Taz and Oscar. Taz always came over to us each day for a chat and involved us in activities, as did Oscar although his english was limited. If it hadn't been for them then I'm sure our stay wouldn't have been quite so enjoyable.

The food was really good, the restaurant was great the only downside was queuing and the other guests inability to do this simple task!

Our room (1414) was clean, comfortable and very quiet. Air Con was brilliant!

The cleaning staff were very good, but we were somewhat shocked on the last day when she asked us for a tip, which we thought was quite rude!

On the whole we had a lovely holiday.

TIP: do not buy the animation CD from the animation staff it does not play!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wardy185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Came here at the start of July for 2 weeks and had a great time!
Arrived in the evening and had our luggage taken to our room as we were given a drink of fresh juice after our transfers which was a nice touch
Our room was a decent size and immaculately clean!
Only complaint was that our 13 year old son had to sleep on a fold down bed even though we paid a full adult price for him!
Our beds however were well comfy!
Rooms have good sized balcony and the bathroom has a jacuzzi bath!
There is also a safe in the room!
The food at melas was also great and there's plenty of choice! Although if your British don't expect any fry up food the grub appears to be aimed at the German guests mostly!
The hotel grounds are lovely and very clean and we'll kept!
There's plenty of sun lounges but get up early if you want a good one round the pool!
The animation team are very hard working and keep you entertained throughout the day and evening!
Got to give a special mention to the only British member of the team Taz who makes an effort to get to know all the British guests on a personal level!
Lovely girl who was very helpful with information regarding things going on in and around the hotel!
She is a real credit to hotel and should be recognised for this!
The entertainment in the evening was of a good standard and varied each evening!
There was always plenty to do during the day around the pool such as water polo, aqua gym, darts, shooting and various pool games!
The waiters also provide a great service and bring your drinks over to you regularly throughout the evening! Top service!
Cocktails in the lobby bar are also a must: )
All in all a fantastic holiday and will definitely be back soon, possibly 2015 cos it was that good!
It wiz fandabydozy

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just back from Melas and what a great hotel it is. We traveled as a family of four , 2 adults and 2 children (ages 15 and 12).
Our apartment had 2 bedrooms which was ideal for the kids to have their own space and good for them to have a proper bed as opposed to sofa beds.
Food was very good but not at all English , so do not go there expecting a full english breakfast or similar.
Entertainment was really varied led by Oscar , who was fantastic with all ages and nationalities.
Airport is about a 25min journey . You will travel past some huge,exotic hotels which are 3 or 4 times as big as Melas . In our opinion , the smaller hotel of Melas made it more a more friendly atmosphere and the place never seemed too busy.
Sun beds mostly available but get down there by 8am if you want one close to poolside.
Otherwise there are plenty available after 9am on the grass area behind the pool bar.
Have to pay for wifi . Euro10 per week but it is excellent quality.
Would go back for sure and highly recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CWW196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at Melas Lara from 17th-24th July 2014

Location

Via Coach it was approx 40 minutes dropping at other hotels, however if you were to get a taxi, it would be 20 minutes, and only cost you 20 Euro’s – (So would be worth not having transfers on your holiday booking)
Hotel is near the end of the stretch on Lara Beach, nearest shops are 5 minute’s walk, plus more shops are a 25 minute walk away which is nice of an evening, we didn’t manage to get to these shops though

Antalya is 30-40 minutes in taxi which can cost between 15-20 Euro’s each way, although I negotiated a rate of 35 Euro’s for a return trip, we had to travel there for a couple of days, as one of our party had a fall outside the hotel on the second day and we had to go to Yasmin Hospital, she ended up having to stay in for 2 nights and have an operation, luckily there was an Interpreter Habbi who was fantastic, my friend booked her travel insurance with Tesco (Would Highly recommend them, service was fantastic) The surgeon who performed the operation spoke excellent English too which was great, and he was lovely, and really put my friend at ease, only 2 negatives about the hospital, one being the food, she said was awful, and 2 at night when she was on her own, no-one came into see her, and none of the nurses could speak English, so when she needed pain relief, it was difficult to explain what she needed.

Hotel

Lovely Hotel, the nice thing about it is that it’s not too big, sleeps 244 people I think, hotel very clean and tidy and modern, Safe is provided free of charge in the room, and towels for sunbeds too, although am yet to visit a hotel that charges you to change your beach towel (which Melas does 1 Euro for each towel change!!) The baths in the bedrooms are very high, so would recommend asking reception for a step, we did and was brought up straight away, nothing was too much trouble

Plenty of sunbeds around the pool, grass area and beach, although if you wanting a good spot by the pool, best get there before 8am, as majority of those beds will have been taken!! The grass area behind the snack bar is nice, as its relaxing and quiet and still not far to come back to go for a dip in the pool!

Activities are on daily around the pool from 10am and into the night, only downside here is that they are mainly aimed at the German guests as it is all in German at night, apparently 85% of guests in Lara are German, I got on well with them during my visit, some were rude, but them some English were too!! You just have to go with the flow

I met a German family and a family from Belgium and they were lovely, and there English speaking was great too

The hotel has a selection of shops on the ground floor; we went to the bag shop in there, which is very cheap and good quality, cheaper than the shops out of the hotel, definitely worth a visit!

There is Photo Company in the hotel that come round the pool all day and will take photo’s I didn’t have any taken, but a friend did, and they were amazing, I thought they were expensive, but the quality is excellent, and what they can do with them is fantastic

Food

There is a lot of choice to cater for everyone, I am a very fussy eater, and even I found a selection of things that I really enjoyed, for example the Beach Snack bar at lunch from 12.00-16.00, they do homemade pizza’s they were lovely, you could choose what you wanted on it, and the kebabs were delicious too. The puddings looked amazing, but must say tasted very bland, they looked a lot nicer than they tasted! The Crepes in a morning were amazing I had then most mornings with the homemade Strawberry Jam – YUMMY (Having withdrawals from them as we speak!!)

If you’re a Malibu drinker – Wait for it….. they don’t have it, I was gutted :(( ended up drinking Baileys and Martini Bianco instead

Pool

Has gradual incline steps to get into which is good for those that struggle getting into water, there is a few dotted around the pool

Beach

Is very pebbly and has quite a drop to get into the water so be careful, also its very windy on the beach, so make sure you have high factor on, I burnt after 3 hours!


On a personal note, would like to thank all the staff at Melas Lara reception/guest relations for being so helpful to us during our stay with my friends fall, they couldn’t have done enough to help on the evening that it happened and afterwards. Thank you very much *****

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1509, side sea room, and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HelenT_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Wot a fab hotel. Really lovely. We had a 2 room family room. Ab fantastic. Lovely ppl great staff. Taz from the entertainments team was fanrastic. An absolute credit to the hotel and the english holidaymakers and also all of the other hokidaymakers. Would defo go back. Fabulous. Xx

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
2.0 mi away
Barut Lara
Barut Lara
#1 of 231 in Antalya
3,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#10 of 231 in Antalya
1,968 reviews
0.6 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
0.2 mi away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#2 of 231 in Antalya
2,248 reviews
9.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#6 of 231 in Antalya
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Lara Hotel

Property: Melas Lara Hotel
Address: Kemeragzi Mevkii Lara-Kundu, Antalya 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Lara Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening date April 2009 Languages spoken Turkish, English, German, French, Russian Pension Ultra All Inclusive Operation period 12 Months Number of floors 12 Number of lifts 4 Growth of the complex Approximately 15.000 m2 General atmosphere: Elegant, silent, suitable for couples and families Distance to the airport:12 km. ( Antalya International Airport) Nearest city center: 15 km. ( Antalya ) Beach: 0 m. Nearest busstop: 100 m. Nearest historical places: Side Antique City, Aspendos theatre,Perge Antique City, Sillyon,Termessos,Olympos Sightseeing: Hadrianus Gate, Clock Tower, Republican Square, Duden Waterfall,Kursunlu Waterfall,Antalya Archaeological Museum, Kaleici ancient city and yacht harbour, Koprulu river national park-rafting centre Transportation: Minibus, taxi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melas Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing