We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what i expected”
Review of Melas Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melas Lara Hotel
Ranked #9 of 228 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not what i expected”
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I have just returned from the Melas Lara Resort in company of my wife and 8 year old daughter. Upon arrival the hotel reception looked good and was very clean and plush as we expected after reading previous reviews. Unfortunately that is where the similarity ends.
Last year we stayed at the Melas holiday village in Side and had a fantastic time and were fully aware of what the Melas hotels offered. The food is very similar to our previous experience at the holiday village and is of a good standard with plenty of choice though the Germans are far better catered for.
The rooms were of a good size and are modern and clean with air conditioning and a small balcony to retire for the evenings. Our first day we explored the hotel and beach then relaxed in the sun. We were warned by Thomas Cook with regards to possible noise nuisance from the hotel nearby which was being built which is absolutely massive and dwarfs the Melas. Nearby is possibly an understatement as it nearly encroaches on the Melas land and at its closest point is about 6 foot away. The noise was not bad at all on the Melas side however according to the rep complaints had come from the Lara beach hotel on the opposite side including dust, noise etc as work was continuing on that side during the first week of our stay. I find it absolutely ridiculous that the neighbouring hotel was allowed to be built so closely. If you are looking at booking this hotel then you will also be advised with regards to the noise. During our second week the noise had moved towards the Melas and I would suggest that anyone who has booked to stay in the next couple of months will be annoyed by the ongoing work as concrete lorry’s etc had started to roll in and work the side nearest the Melas. I would suggest if you are offered as we were to book an alternative hotel, do it.
The beach is average with the usual water sports as offered by most resorts and obviously chargeable. The beach has a bar which also offers meals from midday which are again of a good standard. The pools are good with 3 water slides which keep the kids interested throughout the holiday. I didn’t see anyone in the indoor pool during our stay.
The pool bar offers similar food to the Beach bar also but the waiters are rude and if you can get served you’re lucky. The weird thing about this resort is that if you go to the bar they ask you to sit down and they will come to the table to serve you. Yes they do but they don’t say when. On numerous occasions we waited and waited then went to the bar and ordered as we had no service. If you’re English you are treated as second class to the Germans and Russians.
The entertainment is shocking by any standard. If you take the worst of Britain’s got talent and stick them in the Melas you are somewhere near the mark. To be honest I felt embarrassed for them and my daughter wanted to go back to our room most nights which is unheard of.The hotel to the left of the Melas has some awesome entertainment and we watched their firework display most nights.
The resort has a gym with running machines and some machines and free weights. I like to us the gym but the equipment was similar to that you buy from argos and was near to dangerous for a so called 5 star hotel. The lounge bar again is very plush but service is very poor again. If you have stayed at other 5 star hotels before you would score this a 3 to 4 star. I have included pictures of the Nearby hotel so you are fully aware. I could go on and on with different things but my fingers would be sore. In a nut shell it looks good from the outside but I would book the Meals holiday village or Hotel as this lot couldn’t organise a drinking session in a brewery.Oh yeah and its in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADYNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    128
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
223
187
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

suprised by the 'raving' reviews about this hotel , to look at hotel is fabulous, beautiful inside but the service and staff were very rude and unfriendly, made me and my partner very uncomfortable. Hotel manager actually stated infront of thomas cook rep that he did not want english back in hotel as they are a problem. we have filled in complaint forms and had the backing from rep also. this was not just noted by us, 3 other english families had same problem, whilst one family with 4 young children one of whom where disabled where told they should not have children and they where bad parents, staff had a serious attitude problem and did not want to help.
Activities at poolside did not happen nor was there music at all.... if you are german or russian you will be treated amazingly as we seen for ourselves, they had preferential treatment.
food wasnt amazing, not much choice and same everyday.
entertainment in night was very poor,
we transfered hotels after 3 days as we were looking on flying home, new hotel was amazing , 'atlantis hotel in belleck' i did not find lara beach to be a good location felt isolated , bellek is much better place to stay .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I was a bit dubious after reading some of the reviews on here but do not listen to any of them. This hotel is indeed a 5 star without a doubt. rooms were clean and mini fridge was well stocked everyday. Bed linen and towels changed everyday, a first for us and we have travelled to quite a few hotels all over the world. The food was superb, well cooked and many choices to choose from. The staff were very friendly and always at hand if you wanted something. There is a shopping area about 15 mins walk away from the hotel with some bars, clubs and restaurants. the bus which is called a 'Dolmus' can be flagged down across the road from the hotel and takes you into Antalya City which is a lovely place to visit, cost is only 2 lira which is about a £1. There are Tea & Coffee facilities in your room but no iron, however there is a ironing service with a charge. There is also a hotel being built next door but did not disturb us in any way. As this is a smaller hotel to some on Lara Beach the only thing I would say is that it could get very busy in the high season but would still go, as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. You must visit the A la carte Turkish and Fish restautants, they were fantastic but you will have to book as soon as you arrive as they get booked up very quickly !! Also please try the Turkish bath, came out of there floating on air. Hope you have as nice a holiday as we did.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dee040602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We travelled with our 2 year on our Honeymoon, we where originally staying in the Royal Wings which is 3 doors down, due to the volcanic ash, but the week difference priced us out by a whopping £800 extra.

Anyway, we stayed for 2 weeks, so I'll start on the hotel itself.
Cleanliness wise, it is immaculate, you couldn't fault it at all, there was constantly someone cleaning in all areas of the hotel, the rooms where great, cleaned every day, mini bar was free which was stocked every morning, (you get 2 cans of efes, 2 big bottles of coke, 2 big bottles of water, and 2 small sparkling waters), which was sufficient.
A 32 inch TV which only had BBC world News and sometimes MTV, every other channel was aimed towards Germans, Russians, & Turks.
Bathroom was faultless, very clean, towels where a bit stiff but that’s just me being picky. Bath was a Jacuzzi style, with a very powerful shower.
You also get a safe which pin number you decide each time you close it, bedding was always clean & fresh.
Now the food, all of which was delicious with a good variety, breakfast consist of cheese selection, cold meats, pancakes, made to order, fried eggs & omelettes, poached eggs, a great range of breads, and pastries, the coffee was excellent, this consisted of a coffee machine which was Americano, or latte style, (powder milk), lots of different cereals for the kids, sausages, yoghurts, local fresh fruit, nothing exotic.
Lunch, I'd recommend the tortellini at the beach bar, or one of the many pizzas, both lunch & dinner consisted of lots of different meals in big trays, soups, salads, the desert could have been better, very nice to look at, but not very tasty, lots of cold semolina/angel delight dishes, which varied in shape & colour each night, no ice cream, apart from what they serve you at the outside bars.
There are 2 a la carte restaurants, you can do 1 per week stay, we done both, Turkish & Seafood, Turkish was nice, but everything on the set menu was available downstairs at the buffet, but still very nice, I'd recommending booking the Seafood on arrival, it was fully booked for 5 days when we enquired, and the hotel wasn't even that busy, this is at the top of the hotel and the view was amazing, after starters, the staff call you outside for sunset and help take pictures ect, we left 20 lira tips in both restaurants.
Resort, there isn't much to do at all outside, there are some bazaars, (shopping arcades), within 20 min walking distance, but this consists mostly of fake clothes shops, some very good copies of watches, from £70 to £200, Turks are very hands on & pushy but be firm & polite and they leave you alone.
Despite not being in the EU, they insist of Euro as first currency, then Turkish Lira for some reason??
Entertainment, this was ok, lots to do during the day, darts, water polo, beach volleyball, beach boules, air rifle shooting, football, mini disco was a must every night, only last for 20 mins but the baby loved it, nightly shows was cheesy at best, consisting of mainly dance shows, lovely people to talk too but poor dancers.
Staff, we couldn't speak highly enough of the staff, nothing was never too much, you never felt like they where just after a tip, they are touchy feely but that it just how they our, so expect it.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone, we wished the ash cloud would delay by a few days because we loved it so much, there are better hotels for kids near by, but this done the job, good size pool, ok slides, good beach.

(I'd also recommend a Turkish bath upon arrival, helps you tan better apparently, that was £25)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meliat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool. Merseyside. England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2010

went for a rest & got it. staff were attentive & friendly but not over the top. Food was excellent & plenty of variety. place was spotless. staff work hard. nothing to do in resort as newly built therefore unspoilt. would return again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svaughan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

i first went to this hotel with a freind to get out of the deep snow we were having at home. the food here is probaly the best ive ever had at an all inclusive resort, the entire hotel is spotless being a new built , all the staff were helpfull and smiling. I was so impressed with the hotel that i re-booked to go back with my girlfreind on the same day i got home , we flew back with freinds and had another great enjoyable stay, the thomas cook rep Stephany knows her job well is a very charming lady, we went to see the dolphin show and it was worth every penny but we chose not to swim with them. I will return to this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justsomeguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

I travelled with my friend on a last minute booking. The hotel was just perfect, staff very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. The place was spotlessly clean and the reception area is delightful. Food could not be faulted both in the buffet restaurant and the fish restaurant, we didn't try the turkish restaurant but other guests gave it good reviews. If we could have picked the hotel up and moved it the holiday would have been ideal. My friend has limited mobility, and, after a few days staying in the hotel it was becoming a little claustrophobic. the hotel is set back from the road where we needed to get a bus into Antalya, a good half hour journey away I'm afraid she was worn out just getting to the bus stop. The view from the balcony was of swampland and on the other side you have construction work. If you are mobile and like walking I'm sure you will have a wonderful holiday at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
2.0 mi away
Barut Lara
Barut Lara
#1 of 228 in Antalya
3,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#16 of 228 in Antalya
2,104 reviews
9.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#6 of 228 in Antalya
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
1.1 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
0.2 mi away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#2 of 228 in Antalya
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Lara Hotel

Property: Melas Lara Hotel
Address: Kemeragzi Mevkii Lara-Kundu, Antalya 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 228 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Lara Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening date April 2009 Languages spoken Turkish, English, German, French, Russian Pension Ultra All Inclusive Operation period 12 Months Number of floors 12 Number of lifts 4 Growth of the complex Approximately 15.000 m2 General atmosphere: Elegant, silent, suitable for couples and families Distance to the airport:12 km. ( Antalya International Airport) Nearest city center: 15 km. ( Antalya ) Beach: 0 m. Nearest busstop: 100 m. Nearest historical places: Side Antique City, Aspendos theatre,Perge Antique City, Sillyon,Termessos,Olympos Sightseeing: Hadrianus Gate, Clock Tower, Republican Square, Duden Waterfall,Kursunlu Waterfall,Antalya Archaeological Museum, Kaleici ancient city and yacht harbour, Koprulu river national park-rafting centre Transportation: Minibus, taxi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melas Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing