We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Baia Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baia Lara Hotel
Ranked #3 of 234 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Arrived on the 3rd June at about 11pm, no champagne reception but if you arrive in the day time you do get this. Check in was quick and was able to grab something to eat and drink before bed. The room size was really good, we booked a sea view and this was worth the additional cost as some rooms do look over a building site, having said that there was no noise during our stay. The pools are great, there is a main pool, over 16's pool (this is quite small), and two additional pools also, there are plenty of sunbeds but people do get up at a stupid hour of the day (6am) to put towels down???? There were still beds available at 10am and plenty on the beach also, there is also a jetty which leads out to a sun deck (this has a bar on too).

There are plenty of places to eat and the variety of food is excellent. The main restaurant is open at lunchtime but by the main pool is a food court with 5-6 different food huts, pizza, fried chicken, salad bar, pasta, kebabs, pancakes, waffles, ice cream. The white bar is also open and this is waiter service, pasta, burgers, fish and chips, sandwiches etc... At 4pm (ish) there is a BBQ on the beach :)

The main restaurant has a different theme each night and at certain times is does get busy and the staff are hard pushed to get the tables cleaned for the next people, we tended to go down about 8.15pm and it was more clam at this time, we ate outside every night. The variety of food is vast, however as a vegetarian I did struggle at times and ended up eating a huge amount of salad (not a bad thing), there is something for everyone. The white and rose wines were drinkable, not fantastic but I manage to drink a few bottles. The cocktails in the bars were really good, the mojitos were great and I drank plenty of them :) the bar service is good, the staff friendly and chatty.

We ate in the Italian restaurant one night, I did tell guest relations that I was a veggie but on arrival they hadn't been told, however they quickly gave me alternate choices, be warned this is a six course meal, I was so stuffed afterwards I could barely walk! We were really well looked after in the Italian and service was fantastic.

You can hire a lodge on the beach (Canbana) for 40 euros a day, this was amazing, you arrive and have a bowl of fruit, pastries and a variety of cold drinks in a big ice bucket, the ice is changed a number of times during the day and drinks replenished, you also have a waiter that brings you drinks throughout the day, ice creams and champagne! we enjoyed it so much we did it two days on the trot.

At the pools during the day they do come round with various things, fresh fruit juice, sweetcorn (?), fresh fruit and ice cream. The entertainment team work really hard but are not in your face, there is water polo, darts, water aerobics, pool games and much more.

overall me and my mum had a relaxing week, the weather was great (25-32 degrees), the evenings warm, plenty of food and drink. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nursekaz2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very clean hotel and friendly courteous staff.
Lovely room, good size. Mini bar and cleaning every day. About 7 Uk tv channels including films. DVD player did not work.
Bar service friendly and efficient, decent size measures on shorts.
beach and pier area fantastic, plenty of sunbeds and often managed to get on the much coveted pier sunbeds despite not getting to them until 10am.
Gym - if you're into that on your hols - decent size. Also indoor pool, sauna and steam room good.
Food - Brilliant. Loads of choice, very good quality. A la carte italian is wonderful:). make sure you book early for these restaurants!
Hotel entertainment team - very friendly, lovely people - especially Riffan who likes a good chat!

Little niggles
Entertainment - only one bar having any music on, and frequently too busy to find a seat. Would be great if they extended this bar or had alternative entertainment in the other bars. The hotel wasn't quite full when we were here in May, and i can imagine this getting worse as it gets busier.
Air con - aircon is switched on during the day until around 1am then is off until around 7am. Difficulty sleeping in this heat.
Restaurant - Frequently, tables in the restaurant weren't set up and ready for us, and the restaurant staff have little time for chat and banter which we're used to when we're away- think they're under staffed possibly.

All in all would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to get the sun at some point in the day, we were at the front of the hotel facing awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnandMakela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Baia Lara in early May for 11nights, travelling with my family and 4month old baby!!
Had a fabulous time and will certainly return in the future! Will be when our little one is a bit older and can enjoy the very organised and friendly children's club!!
The hotel is immaculately clean and cared for! Rooms are a good size and feel luxurious with classy decor and lovely bathroom!! I'd hope for a sea view as the alternative isn't quite so magical overlooking as the Mediterranean Sea!!
Hotel has huge pool area and although pool was little cold for our lil baby was adequate for older children and adults! Only negative is that there is no shallow area for walking into or paddling ones feet!! Sure the temperature would be warmer later in season as the sun beats down on resort !! Plenty of sunbeds for all both on the beach and by the pool!!
All inclusive is what it is unless you try the a la carte restaurants where we heard you may get a drinks bill for wine, but can't confirm this myself!!!
The main restaurant, white's pool bar and lunch bar (inc homemade pizza to orders) support all tastes and was thoroughly satisfied catered for all!! Only recommendation was some slightly better labelling on the premade mixed salads in restaurant so guests know what sauces,yoghurt and creams are in them otherwise a fantastic selection for all!!
The staff were hard to begin with but once we made the effort with them a few personalities began to shine through!!
Having been all inclusive several times believe a few smiles and the good service they give no doubt will improve the tips coming in!!!
There is a water park or hotel being developed next to the resort but we heard nothing from there!!!
Great holiday and other than 2days of rain which was not anyone's fault we had a ball and very likely to return!!!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Yorkieheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Baia Lara hotel for 2 weeks in May and in overall we had a great holiday. There are some real positives and a few negatives, but for the price this is great value for money.

First the positives, of which there are many:
• The Hotel is spotlessly clean, with gardeners, cleaners etc working tirelessly to keep to a high standard.
• We hired a Cabana on the beach for a few days and the service provided is spot on, with pastries, ice cream and endless drinks being served throughout the day.
• The sun lounger situation is much better than other hotels we have stayed at, and there are always free loungers on the beach. Around the pool when the hotel is at full capacity the loungers are fully taken by around 9-ish, but that's still good, compared to some hotels where you see people laying out towels at 6:30
• The snack bar is great for salads, pasta, kebabs and Pizza, but at peak times can get really busy and it becomes hard to grab a table.
• The quality of the food is absolutely great
• The main restaurant provides a vast array of food, especially the salads.
• The ice creams served at lunch and dinner are of stunning quality and there are great flavours to choose from. My family ate far too many!
• The room is a good size and the free mini bar was a bonus, topped up daily.
• Although I found the service to be under par (as detailed below) two people stood out from the rest. Both Omur and Selda were brilliant. They got to know what drinks we liked and were so attentive and chatty. A total credit to the hotel!! Maybe some of the others should take notice of what good service looks like.
• Pool Bar provided branded drinks and great service.
• The Italian A’la Carte was lovely and great quality food.
• Guest relations staff were brilliant.

Then onto the negatives:
• When the hotel is full, finding a seat in the main restaurant is a total nightmare. I noticed many tables set and reserved for others (none seemed to be reserved for Brits as far as I could see), which makes me agree with previous comments that there seems to be a priority given to people from other Countries such as Germans etc. What is missing is someone to show people to a table, as opposed to the current free for all.
• The waiter service in the restaurant and lobby bars is very hit and miss. Sometimes the waiter just totally ignores you and it can take an age to get a drink. Tipping which we did very regularly only works if you sit in the same area every day with the same waiter, however bearing in mind it is so hard to actually get a table at all when the hotel is full, this is almost impossible.
• The White bar food was stone cold and meant we never went back
• The bed is absolutely huge, but very uncomfortable and the duvet is much smaller than the bed itself, so you end up with only half of your body covered… totally odd!!
• The air con was absolutely useless. It was actually cooler outside than it was in the room. Maybe the reason for the small duvet.
• Bathroom was a little small for a family of 4.
• The Turkish restaurant only offers a set menu, which for a family of fussy eaters such as ours was like a bush tucker trial.. with some really unusual dishes.

All in all this is a great hotel, which with a few tweaks could be the perfect holiday destination.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Baia Lara. On the whole we had a great holiday, but it didn't meet all our expectations and let itself down in some areas.

The hotel itself was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Our room was a good size for a family of 4 and the cleaners were very friendly and offered a great daily service. However, we found our bed extremely hard and uncomfortable and the air conditioning was pretty pointless and noisy.

The pool areas are lovely, very spacious and with plenty of beds. In our first week you could get beds easily, however by the end of our holiday when the hotel was full, I went down at 8am and couldn't believe how many beds had already been reserved!!

We didn't really sit on the beach as the kids preferred the pool area apart from when we hired beach kabanas. These are great and the service provided by Shamus was fantastic and he made the effort to be friendly, sadly he was in the minority of staff to do so.

The kids enjoyed the slides, however I thought the stairs were rickety and the gaps in the railings were big and only some of the gaps were covered with mesh. If our kids were any younger I probably wouldn't have let them use the slides because of this.

The wifi in the hotel is very hit and miss which is frustrating.

We used the main restaurant for breakfast and evening dinner. the choice is good and in the evening they do different theme nights, I have to say though that we have had much better food at other 5 star hotels in Turkey. The service in the restaurant at night was appalling. On occasion tables were only half laid, the staff were disinterested, miserable and verging on rude. They took ages to acknowledge you and take the drinks order, were very slow at clearing plates so the table became very cluttered, and we always avoided the busy times! The only staff member to smile and show any interest was the lovely girl serving ice cream - she always waved and smiled at the children.

The lunchtime snack bars were very good, as was the food at the White Bar, although it would be better if their choice was not so limited.

The children visited the kids club but didn't really take part - I didn't like the attitude of one of the girls there, think she was the leader, certainly didn't seem to like children much.

We didn't take part in any activities although we did build up a great rapport with Emel, one of the entertainment team, who took the time and trouble to talk to us as we often sat by the area where she does the morning gym/step aerobics. She always had a cuddle for the kids and they did participate in one of her classes at the end of the holiday!

Guest Relations were very good, and the lady in there was lovely and helpful, as was our rep, Hannah.

Would we return to the hotel? Probably not, - the staff really let it down and left it feeling very impersonal. We are a friendly easygoing family and like interacting with people, and sadly in the main, this was not to be the case.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

the place is faultless, most of the staff are friendly helpful and a good laugh. unbelievable service all round from cleaners and maids to the bar staff. food is plentiful and good quality with good variety. al a carte well worth the visit.
the effort baia lara make to make your stay enjoyable is second to none.
loads of room and space for everyone. our 4 year old daughter loved it, kids club even though some in german and frence all kids enjoyed it.
cant speak highly enough of this place, all i can say is believe all the positive things people are saying, as i could go on and on.
looking forward to one day coming back thats for sure.

Room Tip: rear rooms can be noisy , mainly due to the noisy neighbours music. (not every night) worth the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niglowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

So our holiday was a 7 night all inclusive to Antalya Turkey and out of the 44 hotels on the strip we decided to choose Baia Lara. Unfortunately for them First Choice don't put an overly page jumping photo thumbnail on their hotel selections when searching for holiday. For me when choosing a holiday I always look at the pictures whilst scrolling down and then pick the hotel to have a look at, if anyone else does this then First Choice might be under advertising this hotel.

Now that this useless bit of information is done, I can review the hotel.

Arrival, firstly what a beautiful hotel. The outside of the building really stands out as a modern day hotel with a large glass front reception. We arrived early hours 0100hrs turkey time (2300hrs UK time). On arrival we have to fill out some paperwork as is the norm when arriving at a hotel, collect our keys and find our rooms. The reception area is very large, a fantastic area to welcome you to the start of your holiday. The staff were very pleasant and took the time to inform everyone where food and refreshments were, as most of these people were ravenous. We were also given the WiFi password at reception, there are boosters scattered all over the hotel, however the WiFi at this place is sometimes hit and miss with the speed but mostly good.

Rooms - We had a family room with balcony view and limited sea view. A perfectly sized room for me and my partner with a double bed and a single (to make up the family). The bathroom was a nice size and the whole room was spotlessly clean. (the cleaners were very thorough everyday) Nice bath and powerful shower as well with a whole weeks supply of body shampoo and hair products. All the drinks in the minibar are included within the price (yes that's right....they are free!!) This gets topped up daily and include 2 glass bottles of coke, 2 Fanta, 1 can of EFES beer and 4 bottles of water. The television was rather small for our room, but we were not there to watch telly, so who cares!!.

After dropping off bags we went straight to the Baia Brasserie, which is a food restaurant that is open when all other restaurants are closed (24hrs). This is perfect if you have caught a late flight or fancy a cheeky plate of food at 3am :). Food was warm and plenty of it considering its a left over of the food served hours before.

Food eaten we headed to bed for some well deserved rest, this was one of my bad points, the beds are like sleeping on stone, couldn't get comfortable. But we are used to a very soft tempur mattress at home, and in all fairness you cannot expect this from a hotel, not unbearable just not right for me.

All rooms work on card key technology so if you leave your phone on charge when you go to the pool, remember to leave a key in the door and take the spare with you, otherwise yes you guessed it, no charge.

The grounds were impeccably clean, the gardeners always maintained the gardens whilst we were there, no dirt or grime anywhere, totally spotless. There are three main pools, the quiet pool that follows on from the outside bistro area to the right as you leave the lobby to go outside. The main pool directly in front of you as you leave the lobby and the white bar pool to the right of the exit lobby and in front of the quiet pool. All pools have there beds with cushions and there were more than enough for our stay with all the people there. There is one other pool which is a pay for pool, I think this is the one that was heated.

The white bar is a restaurant and only opens from 12:00hrs, this was a pain as it meant if you wanted to sit by that pool but need a drink you would have to use the bar in the lobby of the reception or walk to the kids club area bar for a drink.

The food in general was fantastic, plenty of choice and perfect quality. On one side of the complex they have dedicated areas for fried chicken, burgers, pancakes all with signs above the serving hatches like mini burger king stalls you find in shopping centres. Behind that was a built in stone baked oven for your own personalised pizza choice, this is a fantastic area for lunch. All restaurants on the complex provided great food, all the same choice you would expect from most all inclusive hotels, however if you can use 1 of the 3 al a carte I would recommend the Italian, it was amazing. The service in all restaurants is second to none, regardless if you want to tip them or not, the service with wine is so good I couldn't finish a glass without it being topped back up.

The beach area is very large as it covers the whole strip of 44 hotels, however our section was great with plenty of luxury beds at reasonable prices, and obviously the generic free beds that are scattered throughout the hotel. There is also a nice platform area with beds and a bar that sits on top of the water level.

My only real criticism for this hotel is size, it is large but its not as big as I had hoped. However it was still a fantastic size and we really enjoyed the holiday.

During our stay it was my partners birthday and on that day we went to the Italian restaurant where they surprised her with a birthday cake and song as well as balloons from the cleaners in the morning.

They really have nailed the service at this place.

The spa and wellness area is one of the best I have been to before, very clean, not pushy and lots of free activities and facilities to use.

There is also a 24hr pub which you can go in which included some international drinks at no cost. Bacardi breezer and some Smirnoff vodka as well.

There are many other things that I can write, but I would say that the reviews on here speak for themselves. They have various awards at this hotel and I can see why.

Overall this hotel is very modern with fantastic views, great staff and superb food choice.

The entertainment is good as well however we didn't experience much of this.

An all round winner in most cases, however I would have preferred the bigger complex and better beds, again just a personal point, this should detract from the brilliant services this hotel provides.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.8 mi away
Barut Lara
Barut Lara
#1 of 234 in Antalya
3,709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Wings Hotel
Royal Wings Hotel
#2 of 234 in Antalya
2,160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#18 of 234 in Antalya
2,625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#17 of 234 in Antalya
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Lara Hotel

Address: Site Mevki Kemeralti Mah. Kundu Bolgesi Tesisler Cad. Kundu Turizm Yolu No:384 Lara, Muratpasa, Antalya 07000, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 234 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range: £103 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baia Lara Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baia Lara is located on the beautiful shore of the Mediterranean Sea in the Lara region. Baia Lara hotel stands out for its minimalism design and privileged high quality service…. After you saw Baia Lara, you will have only one wish on your mind – to stay in Antalya forever and to forget about the existence of rest of the world… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baia Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing