We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Hidden Gem”
Review of Baia Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baia Lara Hotel
Ranked #3 of 234 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Have just got back from a wonderful week in the Baia Hotel on Lara Beach, and We could not have wished for more,as the hotel is so clean and tidy, and the staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you, I am not surprised that Thomson are making this hotel a 5 star in their winter brochure we wished we could have stayed longer as a week was not long enough !!
we couldn't fault the hotel on anything it was absolutely wonderful.

Just a few comments about Lara beach this was a little bit disappointing as we were expecting it to be golden sands as advertised in the brochure, but it is dark grit and very stony, I could not go into the water due to all the shingle as you sink down to your knees, you have to be quite strong so be careful this would not be good for an elderly person, it did not spoil things as I just sat by the many pools and listen to all the entertainment.

we are thinking of going back again next year ! and hope the upgrade doesn't affect the price too much !!!!!

need any more information please feel free to contact me

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genegenieDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2010

Just returned from a weeks stay with a friend and her 10 month old twins and a 12 year old. Really modern luxurious hotel with stunning architecture, big rooms and good facilities. Their website does not do it justice!! Fantastic food, maybe a little repetative but no need to use the restaurants that you pay for and the majority of the staff were very helpful, although some didnt speak English too well. Really clean and the pools and beach are stunning. Lots of little touches like robes, slippers, tea/coffee and free mini bar and free water that makes it worth the money. Be advised to bag a sun lounger early (hotel beach towels provided) as the pool areas fill up quickly but always plenty of room on the beach. Bit quieter by the White Bar pool and plenty of shaded areas for kids and the water slides are good too. Only downside was having no real safe outdoor space for the babies, so had to make little creche area ourselves and there isnt too much to do for teenagers and the night time entertainment was ok but not brilliant. Try and do an excursion or just a walk into Lara Beach to look around. would definately return as it was the classiest hotel on Lara Beach.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gina_loca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Got back from Baia Lara three days ago. It was a wonderful hotel. Top notch and still brand new and shiny. Fabulous modern rooms with great minimalistic interior design which continued throughout the hotel which seemed much preferable to some of the designs of the other five star hotels on the same road (many seemed quite crass and ghastly).

The food was good and there was something for everyone. Really loved the constant supply of lovely fresh salads, and the constant supply of ice cream! Nice range of cocktails but watch out though, they don't use measures so you could get quite a hard core drink!

The staff were really nice and friendly. Have no idea what all the reviews saying that they're horrible are about. Can't imagine them being rude and unfriendly.

Overall, great hotel with fabulous facilities. And their Turkish baths and bio sauna are absolutely heavenly. Really miss them!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Smoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

This hotel was excellent, I've been many places but this holiday and hotel has been the best. Food good, spa is excellent and if you go make sure you have a massage with a guy named "FATIA" he is the best.

You wont be disappointed with this hotel, rooms are good, pools are a wee bit on the cool side but my kids didn't seem to mind.

Im just about to book again to go in August.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kellyw1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Just back from the Baia Lara. It was a lovely hotel. Staff was very helpful. Hotel was very clean. Had problem with room as we asked for a double and got 3 single beds. Well with hubby being a big man we asked if we could change. The receptionist didnt really no what we where trying to say. So we went to see our rep who was Mustafa and he sorted it out straight away. Food was plentyful and hot. The beach is a bit stoney but nice.
Dont bother with the cocktails they dont no how to make them.
U have to go for a turkish bath. It was £20.00 and fab. We booked it with the rep.
There was not much out side the hotel to do. All in all nice hotel to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosalind06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We arrived back to the UK less than a week ago and I am already looking to book another stay at the Baia Lara Hotel.

This was our first trip to Turkey, i went with my husband and 12 year old son. We arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning, about 3am, and within 10 minutes of arrival we had been checked in and offered something to eat and drink, which we declined as we were very tired. Reception staff and porters very friendly.

I don't normally like staying in hotels , so generally opt for villas, however the Baia Lara has converted me. I would also normally avoid all inclusive hotels as my experience of this kind of package holiday in the past has been bad. However, none of this applies to the Baia Lara, i could not believe the food quality and variety of choice at this hotel, it was exceptional. The waiters were also amazing, sometimes a little too quick to clear up...if thats possible!. The bar staff were very friendly and efficient in the outside bars, they were also helping us practice our Turkish, giving us a new word to learn every day.

I could go on and on about the good things, however the last review seems to have covered everything. Everything except for the entertainment team. I have never encountered such an amazing group of people, they felt more like friends by the time we left. My son was having his first holiday without his two older brothers, however he was never lonely, Mustafa, one of the entertainments team saw to that. Keeping my son and all of us entertained all day every day!. We also enjoyed time with Alex, Kosta, Theo and Ismail (babydoll). We met up with four other families as we were all stuck in Turkey waiting for flights home due to the volcano eruption , we ended up staying for an additional week but we were all glad for the extra time. Thomas Cook arranged for us to stay in the hotel at no extra cost and no hassle, we just had to check with them each morning to see if they had us on a flight that day.

The only faults with this hotel are that the Air Con in the room was not cold enough, the outside pools were too chilly and the food was never hot. But none of this bothered us too much because the positives by far out weighed the negatives.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank belbelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Just arrived back from this hotel, only a few days ago. Although we were supposed to stay a week, we landed two weeks due to the icelandic volcano, which was stressful, although you may not think, Thomas Cook were brilliant in handling this and we did not have to move although some of there other guests did, the rep lydnsey was good, although she did not always have the nessesarry information, that was not her fault, also she had only been working a few weeks. We arrived at the hotel around 3 in the morning at the begining of our stay, check-in was prompt as there were no other guests staying at the hotel on our transfer, we had to fill in a short form with all our details and then we were given our room keys. The reception staff asked if we wanted anything to eat, although at that time of morning we didn't want to eat, it was good to have the option.

The staff then took our luggage to our rooms, 5306 and 5308( Both good rooms with good sea views), the first impressions of the rooms, were brillant, they are very modern, elegant and what you expect from a REAL 5* (Bathrobes, slippers, complementary toiletries, Flat screen TV, Sofa, Desk, tea and coffee making facilities, FREE MINIBAR and free internet). There were 4 in our party, and although the 1 room was easy big enough for all of us, unfortunately the hotel wouldn't allow it. The rooms had one single, one king and sofabed(although not made up as it wasn't required). Overall the room alone was value for money. We did hear from other guests staying at the hotel that the Family suites, were very good and had extra room and seperated rooms good for larger parties or younger families.

The Hotel consists of around 5 restaurants and a range of snack bars, The main restaurant the Baia restaurant is the free restaurant included in the All-Inclusive package, the other restaurants were an italian, fish, mexican and far east, these have a cover charge of 10€ for adults and 5€ for children, we did not visit these restaurants as we felt it unneccessary as the food served in the Baia restaurant was too a high quality and much better than expected, also the tastes of members in our party meant that it would not be possible, although we did here from one guest that the mexican was very good. The Baia Restaurant served everything imaginable, salads, soups, breads, differents fish, meats and a range of dishes every night, these were not repetitve as we expected they would be for a two week stay. The breakfast was very good with a range of cereals, fruits, yoguarts, breads, salads, eggs(omletes, fried, boiled....), pancakes, preserves(Nutella, Butter, Jams in various falvours). They did have some cooked breakfast components although these were not traditionally english as the sausages were the german frankfurters and they did not serve bacon although the staff did know what it was as one english guest did ask. The snack bars around the pool are a favourite for lunchtime, there are a range of bars including salad, sandwiches, kebabs, spitting chicken, burgers, toasties(although they call it toast) pasta with a range of sauces and chips. Also there was a desert snack bar which served WAFFLES and pancakes these are made fresh quite regularly and are delicious warm, there are a range of toppings and ice-cream is served between 2 and 5pm, (i would definitely reccomend waffles, ice-cream and chocolate sauce(which is warm).

There are a range of Bars within the Hotel, around 5 in total, the main bar (Lush lobby Bar) is the 24 hour all inclusive bar and is the only bar really situated indoors, the bar serves a range of drinks with many interntational brands free of charge such as martini and baileys as well as cocktails including pina colada's and tequila sunrises and all the soft drinks, including slush puppies and kiddies cocktails. The have coffee machines which they use to make lattes and cappacinos and esspresso's which are on average.
The other bars include the pool bar, beach bar and white bar (also a pool bar) although has table and chairs as well as beanbags. There is also appereantly a small bar in the games room.

The spa has to be one of the best in turkey if not in the world, no wonder its rated one of the best for 2010, this is brand new, like the rest of the hotel, there are around 20 treatment rooms each specific to a treatment, these will be shown to you buy one of the staff at the spa, theres also a turkish bath with is great and also FREE without a treatment but all you need is a bit of soap to lather up, also theres two saunas and a steam room and cold showers ALL FREE. The treatments are quite expensive, although during our second week ( which is the week we were stranded because of the volcano) they started to offer 40% of some treatments. Theres also a fitness room with all of the state of the art equipment, this is also FREE, the only downside to this is that it is only open from 9am which isnt too good if you want to go before breakfast.

There are around 5 pools and a range of slides (Not ajoined to the main pool, therefore no distrubtions) there is one main pool with around three pools joined together, a lagoon style pool, lanes pool and general pool. Theres also an indoor pool and jacuzzi, as well as a smaller pool outside infront of the indoor facilities, this is were we mainly sat and had the pool and area to our selves most of the time. The beach has its own jetty which is set out as a sunbathing deck, the beach also has a range of sunbeads and parosols, all free. Beach and Pool towels are Provided FREE, with the use of a towel card exchanged for towels.

The staff are very friendly and efficent, although do not cope as well under pressure, during our stay there was a big conference which made the restaurant very busy and therefore the service was slightly poorer ( ie the plates weren't taken away as quickly, baring in mind that you couldn't put your knife and fork down before) also when the volano errupted most of Thomas Cook's guests were shipped into the hotel this did make the hotel slightly more busy and not as peaceful as before although this could be due to the type of guest as some were from lower rated hotels. We were the last guests to leave turkey after the volcanic erruption and therefore the hotel had quitened down and was back to exeptional service. In my opinion the hotel is much better in quiter seasons and would not be the best in busy periods.

The location is the only poor part of the hotel, although some shops are close including a pharamcy( generally the same price as an english perscription) there isn't that much to do. the shop in the Kundu bazzar on the corner sells International phone cards and you should get them for 7TL which is around £3.50 for 50 Minutes dont get ripped of in the hotel for £5 for 20 minutes the cards do work in the phones in the hotel.

Pros
SPA
ROOMS
FOOD
STAFF
BARS
WEATHER
SERVICE
CLEANLINESS

CONS
LOCATION

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DB120163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.8 mi away
Barut Lara
Barut Lara
#1 of 234 in Antalya
3,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.5 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#15 of 234 in Antalya
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Wings Hotel
Royal Wings Hotel
#2 of 234 in Antalya
2,157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
1.5 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#18 of 234 in Antalya
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Lara Hotel

Address: Site Mevki Kemeralti Mah. Kundu Bolgesi Tesisler Cad. Kundu Turizm Yolu No:384 Lara, Muratpasa, Antalya 07000, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 234 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range: £96 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baia Lara Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baia Lara is located on the beautiful shore of the Mediterranean Sea in the Lara region. Baia Lara hotel stands out for its minimalism design and privileged high quality service…. After you saw Baia Lara, you will have only one wish on your mind – to stay in Antalya forever and to forget about the existence of rest of the world… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Baia Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing