We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT CERTAINLY HAS THE WOW FACTOR!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
Ranked #21 of 234 Hotels in Antalya
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the stunning Delphin Imperial. All in all we had a fabulous holiday, but we did have a few problems. This was our experience .........

When we arrived at the Imperial, we were overwhelmed by the luxurious decor. There are two fabulous chandeliers just outside the front door, but the huge one, at the lift area, is amazing. In fact the pictures posted on here of it, don't do it justice. When it is lit up at night, it's magical.

Our first room was on the 4th floor, at the back of the hotel, facing the road. It was immaculate. Huge bed, huge shower, mini bar which was stocked with bottled Effes beer, still and sparkling water, fanta, pepsi/diet pepsi, cartons of juice, nuts and a chocolate bar. Lovely white fluffy towels, bathrobes and slippers.
Well good start we thought - Unfortunately not! We hardly slept a wink the first night. The road traffic noise was horrendous. It is non-stop. These rooms are so close to the road and this is a problem. Don't even think double glazing would make a difference!
We went to reception in the morning first thing to let them know that we weren't happy with the room, due to the noise and eventually we spoke to a Manager. He eventually, agreed to move us, at no extra cost, to another room on the 7th floor, still at the back of the hotel, but slightly further round, towards the Delphin Palace side. But when we went to look at it, it had only two single beds. We had paid for a double room. We asked if we could have a double room and he said that we would need to come back at 2pm because the room he was going to offer us was still occupied! Went back at 2pm, and the room on the 8th floor, hadn't been cleaned. We decided to move our belongings ourselves, were not actually offered any help to do this anyway, and we could get the room cleaned later.
Being on the 8th floor certainly made a difference. The noise wasn't quite as bad. If we were going back to the Imperial, we would definitely pay for a room at the front of the hotel. Away from the traffic noise! There was also some building work directly across the road from the hotel as well.
This wasn't a good start to our holiday! It almost felt like we lost the first day. We wasted so much time and energy. Unpacking when we arrived, as I normally do and then having to pack everything again and move and then unpack!

The other problem we had was the lack of internationally branded drinks. We were hoping to be sipping on a few Bacardi's, but one Beverage Manager told us that they had "Run out". It was clear that a lot of guests had issues with the poor drinks choices and not just us. We have been to Turkey many, many times and expect good quality drinks from a 5 star establishment and not local brands. Still not sure if it was an import problem or not. The hotel obviously wasn't operating on "Summer Concept" - Could be different then.

Well that's the bad bits, now the good bits -

FOOD

The main buffet food is wonderful. We ate breakfast, lunch and usually dinner there.
There were 4 A La Cartes open out of the 8. Six of these restaurants are located inside on the ground floor and 2 are outside near the beach restaurant, which wasn't open either.
We tried the Chinese and the Italian. Service in the Italian was a bit hit and miss but was good in the Chinese. We preferred the food in the Italian. The dishes are beautifully presented and it was nice to just sit down and be served.

Breakfast choices were vast - Eggs all different ways, chefs cooking omlettes, made to order. Lots of different types of rolls and breads. Honey, on the combe - Delicious! Lots of different types of jams, yoghurts, fruits, fruit juices. Even salad and cold cuts. Muffins and doughnuts!
We ate breakfast each morning outside - Soaking up every bit of the gorgeous sun!

Lunch was fabulous too - We usually ate at the main buffet.
Salads and soups. Spaghetti made to order was yummy! Has my mouth watering even thinking about it now!
There was also a lunch takeaway, inbetween the two main pools. Donner kebabs and baked potatoes were available here. Pizza available at the pool bar too. Handy if you didn't want to go up to the main buffet restaurant.
There is a man wheeling a trolley, with rice and chicken at lunchtime - We were lying on the beach one day next to a German family - All you could hear was shouts of "Rice" "Rice" and the family next to us thought he was shouting Eis, which in German means ice cream!! Now there's an idea!!

Dinner was also fabulous in the main buffet restaurant. Lots and lots of choices. Lamb, Beef, Veal, Chicken, Fish. Beautifully prepared salads. An entire area dedicated to Baklava and one for different cheeses. Never seen a selection like it! Yum! The desserts were amazing. Chocolate profiteroles - But make sure you get in quick, they go fast! There was also a chocolate fountain. On "Turkish Night", there was a huge gateau with a red topping!
There are several dining rooms, if you like, inside. We thought this was a lovely touch and made dining cosy and more intimate. A lovely layout.


DRINKS

We mainly used the Lobby Bar in the evening. The bar itself, doesn't have a lot of seating, but there are lots of beautiful, comfortable and elegant sofas and chairs available close by. Waiters do prefer to bring you your drinks anyway, so doesn't really matter where you sit. We liked the atmosphere near the bar.
We had red wine most nights with our meal and it was lovely. I tried the rose wine, in one of the A La Cartes, and I didn't like it. Didn't try the white. Champagne was lovely too. My husband mostly drank Mojitos and they were nice too - Might have had a few of those myself!
The lack of branded drinks was an issue for us. Our drink of choice is Bacardi and we were so disappointed when the hotel didn't have it. The rum available, was horrible. As was the gin!
No bottled beers, like what we have had at other hotels, but Effes is still nice.

My husband enjoyed a night watching football in the Camelot bar - This is on the ground floor, near the hotel shops. There is food available here all day. A wee snack before going to the disco opposite.

The patisserie is also amazing. Cakes to die for, presented in lovely little dishes. We had Turkish tea every day here and sometimes a cake or two!! This is where you'll find the ice-cream!

POOL/BEACH

There are 3 outdoor pools. One is heated and was always busy, probably because of the time of year. We sat at the pool opposite the pool bar on the first day and didn't really enjoy it. We felt it was overcrowded with sunloungers and it didn't have much outlook.
We preffered to sit at the beach. The pier was being constructed and I'm sure will look amazing now! On the last day we were able to walk along it and view the hotel from there.
There is also an indoor pool, near the spa area.

SPA

We used the spa on the one day that we had cloudy weather. There are two saunas and a steam room. A lovely area with beds, for relaxing. But our favourite part was the Hammam. Had never tried this before. I'm sure on our next holiday, we'll be back to try it again. Great for sore backs! We enjoyed these free facilities and also made use of the showers on our last day as we had a late pickup from the hotel and decided not to pay extra to keep our room. The spa area is open until 8pm. Didn't try any of the treatments. There is also a hairdressers/beauty shop.

ENTERTAINMENT

We didn't get involved with any of the daytime activities. You could play darts and people were playing Boccia on the beach.
The evening entertainment was poor. Probably just the time of year, but saying that, we have had much better entertainment at other hotels, at the same time of year. So really disappointed.
There was live music near the lobby bar, but we felt it was very old fashioned and not appropriate for the age of the guests.
We only stayed to see one show, in the ballroom, where the animation team were dancing. It didn't last very long and wasn't very good.

SERVICE

On a whole, service was good. Not outstanding, as we expected it to be in a 5 star hotel. Waiters and bar staff did get to know you, but language was a huge barrier.
One of our favourites, was Hadjia, - think that's how you spell it - in the Patisserie. She was always so pleased to see us and had a huge smile her face when she did. She was lovely. Another was the lovely young girl who welcomed you at the entrance of the buffet restaurant. Do let her splash your hands with the lovely, lemon scented, hand wash. It's good for keeping those nasty mossies at bay and smells divine.

We had a lovely holiday at the Delphin Imperial. The food was amazing, decor, out of this world, chandelier heaven. But the drinks choices, poor entertainment and different levels of service let this hotel down. A very good hotel on the whole. Would we go back? Well, only if the price was right! We felt we were paying for the decor and as much as that is important to us, good quality drinks, good entertainment and consistent levels of service are more attractive in our opinion.
We still had a lovely holiday and cannot wait to return to Turkey. A place we now view as our second home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank magpie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

I am guest 18 times in all Delfin hotels and I was guest in all hotels in Lara Kundu. Delfin Imperial is the best belive me but Delfin Palace is alredy 5 stars leader in this area. I was in Imperial for New 2013 Year and it was like on the film. This time it was also wonderful and when we visit Delfin Palace we have fill like at home.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful acording your's hyman needs for fun, beacouse in the room you will be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is a beautiful hotel inside and out. We stayed in a junior suite which was modern, clean and perfect for 2 adults and 2 infants.

The buffet food was beautifully presented, fresh and varied. With a designated family area meal times were very enjoyable. We did not need to visit the gourmet restaurants as the main restaurant was so good. The culinary experience was definitely 5/5. The kitchen staff should be commended.

There was also snack food at various vending sites throughout the day all of which were excellent.

The available drinks were non-branded and of low quality.

Sadly the hotel was let down by abysmal service. There were notable exceptions including security and reception but the majority of bar staff and waiter staff were borderline rude. This detracted significantly from our enjoyment and became a more pronounced problem as the hotel got busier. It gets extremely crowded and is very popular with Germans and Russians.

The cocktail manager or maker in the lobby bar has no concept of relating to guests unless he wants to tell them about his time in Las Vegas.

There is an 'animation team' that seems to be based on Club Med's concept of GM's unfortunately they lacked personality, talent, english and manners. The only time I saw them proactive and charming was when they were trying to sell guests bingo cards.

If you are German or can speak Turkish and do not mind terrible service then you may enjoy this hotel. It certainly has excellent facilities for families. It is the first hotel I have reviewed on Tripadvisor that I would not return to - I do not like giving negative reviews. But please see other reviews as with all reviews it is subjective however many of the guest that we met shared our dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank swordfishontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed in march me, wife and two kids. Not a season but anyway had best time at all. super, will be back next year. Food was brilliant, drinks same. I already recomended to most of my friends. All you need just pay for flight and hotel. Then stay in hotel for totally free unless you want to go for trips, massages. They watching after your kids for free. Kids love to come back to play room again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grazvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is a great hotel with very good services and very nice and spacious rooms. I has a modern-retro design that some appreciate. I do not, but you can see that they spent a lot of money to get that result.
Beeing a huge hotel, thay have a huge restaurant. Because of that, you have to walk a great distance from the buffet to your table, if you are not lucky enough to find a table close by.
Food was good and drinks were even better. Plus you had 3 types of bottled beer with fridges all over the hotel, on the beach and in your minibar.
Since there are so many people is such a small space, the only quiet space you'll find is your room. Other than that, it was the noisiest hotel i have been to. We were with. 4 months old baby, and we did not find a sigle space where she could sleep without something waking her up.
Wi-fi basicly does not work. You can only use it in the lobby or if your room is close to the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adi_Pica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We’re experienced in vacationing in Turkey, always booking newly build, luxury hotels in both the Bodrum and Antalya area.
First impression at the check in desk was just bad: uninterested, even rude (just walking away and not answering questions) and it took very long.
“You lose wristband, you pay 200 euro, you lose towel card, you pay 10 euro”
The lobby and the rest of the hotel are indeed grand, but the rooms are very simple, 3 or 4 stars at best.
Given the fact that after Mardan Palace and Max Royal this was the most expensive hotel in the area, the price/quality ratio was bad.
Down the road there are hotels just as good (we’ve stayed there) for a cheaper price.

Good points: very clean, food is good (but not better than in other, cheaper hotels).
Bad point: the staff: young, inexperienced, uninterested and not talking behind your back (as we know they always do), but right in your face.

Oh yeah, the air conditioning gave off hot air, instead of cool.

Conclusion: all-in-all it’s not a bad hotel, but really no 5 stars.
Given the price and the competition we’ll never book any Delphin hotel again.

Room Tip: As for everything else. In many other hotels we’ve gotten free upgrades when the hotel was not fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 28markd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Wow!! Stunning hotel. Nice and modern, my kind of style. Hotel was super clean at all time. I hate using public toilet, but found the toilet really clean here. Went with my husband and 2 young kids, there really enjoy them self, and did not wanted to return home. Who every has negative comments about this hotel are just too bloody fussy and are too hard to please. Ignore there comment. Just came back yesterday and I'm already missing delphine. Amazing food, endless food, very fresh and a lot of varity. Some staff was not so friendly and some staff was really nice, especially Eddie the waitress, he was so sweet and friendly towards my child. Good man, always happy to serve us. Animation team kept the place lively, especially mat he mad us smile every time I sew him. He was really funny, and entertaining to watch, a right character he was. Went beginning of April, weather was still very warm, warm enough to get a nice golden tan. I was really amaze about the food and drink, there seem to be every corner you go to. I've never ate so much in my life. Outdoor pool was beautiful, really good they had a heated pool too. Would have been better if there was a heated pool for the kids too. They had cats walking around the pool and food area which was the only bad point, and they needed more entertainment. Had a turkish bath and massage, amazing spa so beautiful, good experience, there had a indoor pool for adults and kids, good for when the weather not so good. The lady from the animation team (Gozde) was really nice, she was the only one that made a effort to talk to us every evening, and try to keep us entertain. Would defiantly come back. Recommend this hotel to friends and family. Enjoyed every moment here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.5 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.6 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#18 of 234 in Antalya
2,601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delphin Palace Hotel
Delphin Palace Hotel
#22 of 234 in Antalya
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#17 of 234 in Antalya
2,443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Holiday Palace
Royal Holiday Palace
#16 of 234 in Antalya
1,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delphin BE Grand Resort
Delphin BE Grand Resort
#35 of 234 in Antalya
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara

Address: | Kemeragzi Mevkii, Lara Beach, Antalya 07110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 234 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range: £83 - £787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara - Antalya Staying at Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara Imperial actually makes you feel that you are at home just by the magnificent shore of the Mediterranean Sea, Lara Beach.From our facility which is far about 15 kms from Antalya , 10 kms from the airport, the transportation for the shopping centers and going sightseeing is pretty much easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing