We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not five star. Not recommended.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sealife Family Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sealife Family Resort
Ranked #19 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not five star. Not recommended.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

To begin with our room was described as seaview, our room faced out onto the outside bar area which is next to the road, the sea being to the right and scarcely in view at all.

The room itself was small but appeared clean and the towels and bedding were so.
The bathroom was cramped, bath/shower not suitable for individuals with mobility problems and was not properly cleaned!

Due to the hour of arrival we did sleep the first night however our room was close to the on-site nightclub which was open until around 2am, on a couple of occasions we went down to have a look at the place and found it empty but still staffed and music blasting!? Not surprising since they charge for drinks in there!

Our first breakfast sitting was like bedlam! There were many tables piled with dirty plates and cups and staff rushing around asking patrons to lift their plates to put tables runners underneath whilst other diners were stood looking around for clean tables and cutlery. Basic disorganisation and lack of good management!

Credit to the chefs, breakfast had freshly made omlettes and fried and boiled eggs. No museli or other healthy cereals. They had yogurts and cheeses and sauted sausages, not to my taste but a selection nonetheless. Lunch and dinner sittings had plenty of fresh salad, olives, cheeses and cold meats. There were next to no meat dishes, one meat dish per day at best and you wouldnt believe the indignity some people displayed in their desperation and greed!!! On one occasion a server was put to a meat dish to obviously, serve out one portion per person, only to find people reaching behind him spooning it onto their plates whilst the queue of people in front of him looked on in disbelief and this poor chef looked totally speechless! The pide breads were beautiful, as were the pea and chickpea casseroles left out in clay pots, bizarrely, little attention was payed to these but at least we didnt have to fight to get to them.

The front of house staff were exceptionally rude, there was one gentleman, young fellow who was not but i cannot recall his name. The others just didnt have a clue what they were doing, they spoke good english but treated us with obvious distain, Kupra particularly. She even went so far as to raise her voice to my travel companion when she asked if her beach towel had been handed into reception as it had fallen from the balcony..."i told you it is in your room!" ...arms outstretched, tutting and shrugging her shoulders. The towel was not in our room and was in fact later found in the hotel laundry.

Staff in the dining area were friendly but i did take offense when after asking our names and where we were from one of them asked if we wanted to meet him on the beach when he finished work at midnight. My friend and i are mid twenties and this guy looked mid to late thirties. I just found it extremely rude and totally inappropriate!

The hotel is on the outskirts of Antalya, about 20 mins bus ride to Antalya old town and the marina, which is beautiful, but means you're quite far out and the surrounding area appears to be residential apartments rather than an established tourist area.

The travel rep (who was not directly related to the hotel) tried to rob us blind when we asked if he could help us get transport to a cable water ski park in Tasigil. He had the audacity to add 20 euros per person to the days riding price, plus tried to charge us 90 euros for the shuttle there and back. What he didnt realise was that i had already spoken to the manager of Hip-notics (the cable ski) so i knew the price already and so given the reps dishonesty we got the bus. No. 49 to the motorway (4TL for the both of us), then the Manavgat Side service coach to Tasigil (15TL) for the both of us. Hip-notics picked us up from the bus stop, took us back there after a days riding and the buses were the same price back to the hotel. It took about 1hr 35 mins there, 2hours back due to traffic. Sorted. And highly recommended as a day out!! The staff at Hip-notics were helpful, polite and not sleezy in the slightest which was refreshing given the hassel we got on the beach, in Antalya town and even as i mentioned in the hotel.

The animation team staff were friendly but the entertainment at night was abismal, very childish.

The spa treatments were pricey! We did manage to chip him down a bit and to be honest the massage i had was great, the indian head massage my friend had reportedly not so good. The staff from the spa were out around the pool every day looking for business, we tried to explain that their prices were more expensive than what i pay in an Elemis salon in England but they kept banging on about the hotel being 5 star and just didnt seem to grasp that if the treatments were cheaper they would get more business and generate more income!?

All in all i would not recommend this place. It looks nice granted but theres alot more to a good hotel than plush furnishings in the reception area. It is nowhere near a five star, not even by Turkey's standards. Im sure if you want a week away in a hot climate with a nice breeze and are happy to tolerate the aforementioned then fine, but make sure you get it at a cheap price. I wont be going back there and i wouldnt recommend it. The highlights of our holiday were 1) going to Hip-notics cable ski, 2) meeting a lovely couple the day before we left (who incidentally didnt rate the place either) and 3) going home.

Room Tip: standard rooms are on the sides of the hotel and have tiny balconies. The best rooms it would appear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelruski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    313
    215
    98
    102
See reviews for
627
313
70
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Good location just across the road to the beach; easy taxi ride to old city and other places; nearby was a taxi rank that did trips to tourist sites (old ruins, waterfalls etc) - prices reasonable and can bargain to a degree; hotel clean, most staff pleasant; MAKE SURE you book (and complain/insist if you don't get) a room facing the sea NOT the side; prices reasonable; book the inclusive food package - buffet breakfast, lunch, dinner, late-night soup and free drinks from 10 am - excellent.
Has free wi-fi.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

i would rate this hotel 3 stars. my wife liked the food but was far too busy like a cattle market. was hard to find a table to eat. sat at dirty tables most of the time. plenty of salads and fresh herbs and fruit everyday, but not much red meat unless you like a greasy kebab ! staff on the main entrance kept stopping me asking why i am there ! wear the blue band all times!
pebbles and shingle beaches, no sand unless you have a two hour car journey.
very loud resort and crap kids entertainment every night-nothing for adults!
was like a city around the resort- very loud traffic 24hrs a day. they drive mad around pedestrian crossings. poor air con. keep a card in the slot all the time so the air con runs constantly! lifts are a headache. they take forever, and go to the wrong floors. its a long way up the stairs if you are on level 5! hotel was clean and room serviced every day. they wont give you water until 10 am so beware ! nice spa area and friendly staff. full of middle eastern and russian people who are sometimes rude and push in queue. the door cards need to be taken to reception every day to be scanned to let you in your room! very annoying !
alcoholic drinks are very poor! i was buying bottled beer in the local supermarket, which are cheap and honest with tourists. we booked the cable car for 126 liras, but was told on the morning it was cancelled due to not enough people! very disappointed ! if you like the sun, dont go to kemer because everyday the clouds fall over the mountains and over the beaches there! the old town area of antalya is worth a look but beware of all the shop keepers trying to sell you something! some are quite cheeky if you dont buy something from them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrswatts_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rasht
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

we have recentely been in this hotel ,the only good thing goes to breakfast buffet which was nice .being there we got vegeterian because of the vegtables that they served in every meals. no kebab no redmeat not even a dish!!!!!!!!!!!!the rooms are cramped and untidy even they did not put a toothbrush in rooms .we were all shocked seeing their poor service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mohajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We booked this hotel for 7 nights. On arrival we felt our room was a little 'worn' , our bathroom was very small and again worn, there was also no tea and coffee facilities in the room. Saying that our room was cleaned daily with clean towles supplied. The sheets were changed frequently and were of good quality. We had to pay for a room safe - at this 5 star hotel this should have been in the price. The restaurant was an issue, all the staff were very nice but when they cleared away dirty pots they didnt reset the tables - hence you were forced to sit at a table with dirty table cloths and no cutlery/napkins - I was very familair with the cutlery drawer!. Another point was that drinks in the dining room were often sparce! they ran out of wine at 9pm one evening- is this 5 star?.
The adult evening entertainment was very basic [the childrens was fine - good for families] the adult entertainment was just the childrens entertainment but with adults on stage instead!. There were too many animation staff who just danced on stage and did nothing more - pointless]. As the entertainment was around the pool the nearest bar was the pool bar. During the day they serve drinks in plastic 'glasses' [so they shuold around the pool with people walking around the pool without shoes on]. But in the evening they still served drinks in plastic 'glasses' - again this is not 5 star.
The beach was accross the road turn right and there it is. The beach bar was owned so by the hotel so was not part of the package - again this is not a 5 star service.

Overall we had a good holiday, all the staff were helpful and accomodating, the food was fine, the drinks good but there were quite afew 'niggles' that need to be addressed to make this hotel a 5 star. We feel its current rating is 4 star [only just 4]. - this is a shame because if these 'niggles' were adressed then it would achieve its true rating.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondiew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mancheter
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

I booked this after much searching for a decent starred hotel, close to the airport, with everything under one roof. Where do I start?
Hotel - The hotel isn't technically a five star, it's more like a nice premier inn. The rooms are typically 'hotel' like, small, have everything you need and are comfortable. Carpeted floors are a nice touch somewhere like Turkey, and air con that is included. Always a bonus! Hairdryer in bathroom is useful, but a bit less powered than a standard one, but it's ok. Bath with overhead shower. Room was clean, not jaded in any way and cleaners came in, made neds, changed towels, every day. You got a bottle of water each in the mini fridge each day.
Location - It's sold as being 15 mins from airport. If you go directly there, it's 25 mins, if the roads are clear. It's on a main road, but with a view of the lovely mountains. The beach is across the road, across a busy road, a rat run, so be careful. The hotel has a section of the beach. Plenty of sunbeds and of course, a lovely breeze! But, you don't get your all inclusive at the beach. Which is a shame. There are some shops and restaurants nearby for a change of scene.
Staff - The staff are good. A bellboy takes you up to your room with your luggage, explains where everything is and gives you a leaflet about the hotel services. They are all dressed smartly and all behave impeccably. The only thing that lets them down is they don't seem to have enough gumption to put their foot down when it comes to pushy guests.
Food - This was the area that let it down, for me. It is, of course, a matter of choice, but I felt the food was heavily eastern european, not Turkish especially. The main restaurant was a good size, I can see that in the height of the season though it could be tricky tog et a table, and at times, people came and sat at your table whether they were wanted or not! Breakfast was lots of cold salads, meats and cheeses, and things like wedges & boiled rice. They did have boiled eggs and they had great scotch pancakes made at the counter, although nothing to put on them apart from sugar. Plenty of bread available and fruit too. Lunch was, again, lots of salads, heavily continental, with rice, pasta, bread, spaghetti, wedges but lacking meat. Dinner was similar. Bean casseroles are nice, they're Turkish, but fish, complete with their heads, and lacking meat. They did tend to have chicken most meals, although often the only plain variety was boiled chicken. Not very appetising. BBQ nights were twice a week, but not much choice, chicken wings one night, steak the other. One night they had a kebab night, which were good, proper kebabs. To be honest, English kids would struggle my son ate mainly spaghetti or rice with potatoes and vegetables. The snack bar did serve burgers and chips at lunchtime, but they weren't great. Cakes were served from 4pm, they're nice, but the emphasis on syrup in the cakes was heavy!
Drinks were served at the pool bar in small child size plastic glasses, standard size only. Plenty of ice, not much liquid. Vodka seemed watered down. Wine was ok, but cheap. We didn't stay down during the evenings but I heard they often ran out at night.
The glasses in the restaurant were tiny. Abit bigger than shot glasses, so if you were thirsty, it had to be two and no ice!
There were two pools, both slightly too crammed with sunbeds, too close together. The pool higher up had no bar, but a water machine and a juice machine. The cheap option, especially if you didn't want to walk down the steps for coke etc. So the hotel win on this one! But there agin, it's hot, so plenty of water helps.
There is a computer room, 3 of them along with two playstation 3 machines with flat screen TV's. The guy that ran this room was rude. Very rude! It was 3 lira for 30 mins on PC and 6 lira for PS3 for 30 mins, which he timed precisely! The billiards tables were big, but again, 3 lira for 30 mins, which I thought should be part of the package.
There is a Doctor a hairdresser and a small shop. The shop staff were lovely and have a stack of English books you can take or swap for one you've already read.
There was a small seating area on the second floor with a library too, much mostly european books there.
The downside - The customers!! They push, shove, barge into you, don't have any manners & are simply rude beyond anything I've ever seen before. They don't smile, they don't say hello, or thank you, or excuse me. They push in at the bar and the bar staff allow it. This is what lets the hotel down. They need to get a grip of their clientele, to stop the problems. The food needs a basic option, maybe plain chicken, which we asked for one night, they were very helpful, told us to pre order anything we desired. I asked for plain chicken for my son, they gave him a bowl of instant mash with chicken buried inside it somewhere!! Which we gave back!! They have towels on sunbeds at the crack of dawn and the building does shade the area at times of the day so getting a good bed is tricky if you like a lie in on holiday. For me, the other people staying there spoilt my holiday, so much so that we came home two days early, and a few other english people staying there all wanted to come home too. There wasn't many english there though.
People would come to the side of the bar, demand their drinks, take them, didn't say please or thank you, and go, whilst you could stand in a queue on the right side of the bar and wait ten minutes.

They have a la carte restaurants that have to be pre booked, apparently these are rather nice, we didn't get chance to go. You get one free a la carte during your stay.

This hotel isn't 5 star, it's more like 3 star. It need tweaking really. If the staff kept to a strict one queue at the bar, if they stopped people being allowed to push and shove then things would be better. The entertainment began at 9.30, with a kids disco, then a kiddy form of adult entertainment afterwards. We didn't bother! During the day they offered water polo, water gym, games and belly dancing class, but again, you had to fight the other guests, who completely ignore not just you, but each other too, even from their own country. It is far too european for brits, in my opinion, and there isn't anything you can do about that. If you don't mind sharing your holiday with pig ignorant people, then this it'sfine. I can pretty much get on with things and ignore it, but it really got to me here, much more than anywhere else I have ever been. One flight out of seven that arrived with us last Sunday was from UK, that probably should've told me that brits are seriously outnumbered in Turkey these days.
It wasn't a bad hotel, the food was well cooked, beautifully presented and the staff polite, but pushy, miserable, rude customers spoil this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank devillishious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

There is much to do if you want to. During the day there is a lot of activities by the pool. The animation team are having yoga, waterpolo, watergymnastic ++. In the evenings you can join the animation team in a partybus, they will take you to great discos and they take you back to the hotel again in the night. Only a short taxitrip to shoppingareas from the hotel and the beach is right on the other side of the road. Food and drinks were good. The hotelrooms are not highest standard, but they are good enough.

This was a great vacation!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenne_tu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Antalya
14.3 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#11 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
13.1 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
12.5 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#16 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antalya
Ramada Plaza Antalya
#23 of 231 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sealife Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealife Family Resort

Property: Sealife Family Resort
Address: Konyaalti Sahil Seridi, Antalya 07070, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antalya
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Antalya
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#15 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#19 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#23 Family Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sealife Family Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the seafront near Antalya, the Sealife is an all-inclusive hotel in Turkey within easy reach of the Olympos National Park and many of the fascinating Greco-Roman cities which once dominated this part of the world, such as Perge. Minibuses to Antalya and Kemer depart from outside the hotel every 15 minutes, allowing you to pop into town or get to the airport with ease. The beach in front of the hotel has been awarded the Blue Flag in recognition of its cleanliness too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sealife Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sealife Family Hotel Antalya
Sealife Family Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing