We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort shame about some of the other guests”
Review of WOW Topkapi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WOW Topkapi Palace
Ranked #43 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We visited the resort in June 2013.
The hotel was nice, the food was in the main lovely apart from the awful coffee but I’ve been visiting Turkey for over 23 years and they have never been able to make a good coffee. Top tip just take the nescafe out of the room to have with your breakfast or take your own from home.
The rooms were dated but they were kept very clean, had a TV with couple of English channels, air conditioning and plenty of hot water, all you need really.
The pool facilities were great, our girls 7 & 4 loved it. The slide areas have time restrictions 10-12 2-4 that clash with the kids club so not ideal.
The entertainment was brilliant the best I have ever seen at a hotel they got this spot on super…
There were a few things that let the holiday down.
The rude Russians who felt the need to over fill their plates and then leave it. One Russian knocked my daughter off her feet by pushing past her to get in the lift first. I know it is a cultural difference but it gets very tedious after a while, if you are the type of person who has a short fuse avoid the hotel like the plague.
Some of the serving staff were unhelpful, the bar staff around the pool weren’t very friendly and the young bread oven baker was very rude. But saying that there were some lovely staff too.
The cost of goods for sale in the hotel were very expensive, everything was in Euro’s, save your pennies and take a short bus ride for about 80p to the shopping malls about 5 minutes away where you can find the same things for a ¼ of the price.
Some of the kids’ activities were not included in the price, the fun fair, the bowling, games room, art area, zorbing etc. These activities were very pricey.
The ice cream is hidden and limited so once it has gone it has gone and only available at 2.30pm.
If you are easy going this is the resort for you… If you get easily wound up give it a miss and book a UK exclusive hotel without the hidden extras and restrictions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kjc2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
There are newer reviews for WOW Topkapi Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed from the 10-20th June, hotel is very very big, beautiful beach, what spoilt our holiday was the Russian, it must have been 90% full of Russians, pushing in que's starting fights, hogging sunbeds, giving out dirty looks, been intimidating, just out right rude, one evening a drunk Russian tried chatting my wife up, putting his arm around her what we said no to... The bad bit to follow was that he walked over to my 6yr old daughter and started trying to kiss and hug her which scared her and angered me, I had to grab him and push him away, everybody saw the incident and was so shocked, his friends came running over and dragged him away and did actually apologies to us about him because they too was disgusted. Nightly entertainment was ok but mainly spoken in Russian, food below average but lets face it u could alway find something to eat never went hungry, after a lot of arguments between English and Russian guests in the main buffee restaurant Thomas cook opened a separate restaurant just for European guests :)
The best part about turkey was the heat! We have visited a lot of different country's including Cyprus and Jamaica but no where has compared to the heat in turkey.
We was stood outside one night having a cigarette and drink when the general manager approached us when he wasn't actually working and took the time to have a very lengthy conversation with us, fantastic guy who cares about his guests. All in all great hotel, good holiday beautiful place but spoilt by the Russian and we have since returning home heard that the Russians are basically taking over turkey, so we would never ever visit turkey again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marcus s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the wow topaki for a week with 2 kids 13 and 9, we had very good holiday .yes people say Russians are rude they push in queues And at the bar but you just need be firm , never really a problem for us you just have be patient the hotel staff are very friendly and serve you in turn at the bar ,fab beach and jetty to sunbathe on with big cushions to lie on on the jetee where you can watch the water sports.yes water slides only open 10-12 and 2-4 but that's plenty kids enjoy going probably get bored of them if they were open all day but they can also use the kremlin hotel next door where there's more slides.Food was good would recommend going to welcome meeting as the rep Andi was very informative on hotel and also shopping etc worth an hour to find out where to et etc, would recommend to go to European Resteraunt as very quiet and get excellent table service from waiters.local buses are great and also local pharmacy give prescription over counter for antibiotics as I had ear infection only £30 for antibiotics ear drops and spray ! Doctor was £150 just to see him.would recommend this hotel entertainment great for all ages and quiet pool was brill we were only ones In the Pool some days !!! Don't be put off this hotel has everything g p,entry of places to eat batch barvgreatbin day for burger and chips but Amazing fish Resteraunt at night just need to boom the resteraunts at night if you want something different, a few charge 5 euro pp but worth getti g waited on and a 3 course meal they keep your glasses topped up too !! Enjoy we certainly did !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

When we booked this holiday the reviews were mostly excellent, but just prior to going there we checked for helpful tips and the ratings had very much deteriorated, so we wondered what awaited us! The hotel facilities, ie pools, garden and the public buildings are quite beautiful and closely resemble the real Topkapi Palace in Istanbul. However, the horrendous, smokey, noisy mayhem in the main dining room was enough to test the stamina and appetite of even the most seasoned traveller. It puts you in mind of a cross between Gordon Ramsay's Hells Kitchen and what you imagine the kitchens of the real Topkapi Palace would be like, but 400 years ago! The dining room is vast with echoing vaulted ceiling, quite picturesque in its architecture, but drives you insane when full of people intent on getting their all-inclusive food from a buffet that is poorly laid out and therefore packs too many people into one small area. So we sat on the lovely outdoor terrace, only to be driven out by the horrendous smoke and pollution from the many huge chefs' barbeques and also the vast number of diners who chain smoke, some even when holding small children. There were queues for the various barbeques and fresh cooking, but you had to wait longer than necessary because greedy people took mountains of meat, instead of being reasonable and just taking what they could eat. We watched in amazement whilst people laid out a veritable banquet on their tables and then left about half. We were told by the rep that the hotel has 90% Russian clientelle, so we can only assume that they were the more avaricous diners. I did not notice them being any more rude or pushing in than any others, but they were very assertive. There was a giant kind of griddle where the chef 'cooked' your choice of veg and cooked fish or chicken. The sauces and spices were a good variety but the chef obviously needed better training as he incinerated my food and then proceeded to serve it up with all the burnt on grot off the rest of the griddle - my plate was a horrible black carcinaginous mess and I could not eat any of it. During the evening meal the smoke from all the cooking blew across the diners and made me feel ill and stink all night. You had to be there to understand how bad it was - but just imagine a sort of medaeval dining hall in Istanbul with no chimneys. The food on the indoor buffet was never hot, so I ate mainly salad - on the plus side, it was a great variety of salad leaves which we pay good money for in the UK. The bread table was good, deserts interesting. Fruit was plentiful but you had to get in quick before the other guests took away mountains of cherries and apricots. My favourite food was the sesame coated pretzels which you could watch the baker prepare - then watch the diners scavenge like piranas. So we ate in La Gondola restaurant, which was a nice change from the hustle and bustle, but the food was only pleasant, not amazing. The head waiter did his best to sell us wine, but why, when the free wine is pretty good anyway? Talking of drink - the drinks menu is quite short but okay. You help yourself to bottles of water. Breakfast okay - we found a 'secret' place to go and they also served food here without the barbeques - not saying where it is in case the 'others' find out, but you can contact me to ask if you are brave enough to go and stay there. The snack bar menu at the beach is limited but freshly cooked and the staff here were very nice, friendly and happy, unlike some other areas.

I read warnings about the pools before we went and I was anxious about our 3 year old grandchild but she only slipped once. The marble slabs are everywhere and they are actually very slippery because the water pools due to lack of drainage. So you have to keep your eyes peeled all the time and don't let children run - just normal poolside code of behaviour really. The same with the wave pool - its only working for short periods, but adult supervision is essential - its the same in any wave pool in the world. I would say that this is the most chilled out hotel we ever stayed at for lack of rules and regulations. I think the HASAW inspectors would have a birthday here because of the casual attitude. For some things its nice to be relaxed eg, no wrist bands and able to eat in a variety of restaurants without someone ticking off your room number, but its a worry when you walk down a path at the back of a restaurant and find an intensely hot barbecue that the staff have left to cool down - any child could have run along there - I felt the heat from a couple of feet away.

We had a duplex/family room, which is a two floor accomodation. We did not have any problem finding our way around and a porter did bring the luggage to our room, though if you arrive late evening you might want to take your own rather than wait. You get a map with information about facilities, so if you can read numbers you will find your room okay. If you look at photos these are the top two floors and have a standard double room downstairs and then go up a wooden half a spiral staircase to a twin bedded room. This was dark and dingy because of the very small window which was too high to look out of and not cleaned, so not an option. The bathrooms need updating - the one upstairs is very basic. Kettle, mugs and teabags provided. Fridges in both rooms which were refilled on a bit of an ad-hoc basis. Good sized towels, nice bed linen. All clean and fresh. Air con okay downstairs but not really adequate upstairs in the 35 degree heat of the day and fan too noisy at night. Lovely view across the whole of the pool area, but I would say that we were lucky in block 5 facing the main pools. The balcony was very nice and open but I think this only applies to the duplexes. The overall impression we got was that the decor was jaded and the rooms look okay from the outside but are dingy inside.

Entertainment - fab annimation team, always something happening. They are very professional, friendly and used their brains to entertain you. We especially liked the lovely Jayla and Ema. Great hotel if you like water aerobics and lots of pool fun. It really is very good to come here and enjoy being around the pool (which we dont do usually but we had a 3 year old with us). The kiddies disco is in an ampitheatre and they shine spotlights on the kids whilst they are dancing, so its like a cauldron and radiates heat, so be prepared to sweat if you join in. Later in the evening there was the opportunity to dance and listen to live bands and the latest chart music as well as Turkish sounds. Waiters serving drinks promptly and not expecting tips.

Ice creams serve free ice cream from 2 - 5.30pm near the quiet pool. There is also a lovely cafe/cake shop where you can get biscuits and tea, coffee etc at this time.

Beware mozzies do bite in the evenings, so do take insect repellant.

The beach is very pleasant with lots of free beach beds and hammocks and cushions. Adults can walk along the jetty and sunbath at the end to get some peace and quiet. You can get drinks from the snack bar nearby and take them on the beach. Not much to walk to as the hotel is situated near the end of Lara Beach. We did walk along to nearby hotels. Did not think much of the Kremlin facilties, but okay. You can use all the Kremlin facilities, eat there and drink there too. Their lobby is impressive though as is the size of the Kremlin's towers and other buildings - be prepared to be amazed at your first sight of the neighbouring hotels as it's like Las Vegas.

Would we come again - no, but we did enjoy some aspects of the holiday.

Room Tip: Block 5 looking across at the main restaurant - its not noisy but you can hear the evening entertain...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

My room had a leak from air cocondition on ceiling, I phoned reception 3 times, then. In eveni
G. Had to go down and tell them. As after all day it had not been fixed. The ice creams Are only free between 2 and 5 . The.room smelled of damp
, staff mAde no effort to look happy. Food was the same every day. On plus side wave pool was nice. But lots of kids stuff you had to pay for. Like corn on the cob. Hair braiding. Kids club, pop corn. The hotel shops were very expensive. The local bus charged you 2 lera to go to shop, the hotel taxi charged you 30 lera. Would not go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilaryjaneroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel June 2013. The hotel is great for kids. The only thing that lets it down is that there are too many rude people staying there. Pushing in, no order with service.
I hate having to act like an animal but that's what you need to do to get anywhere.
Its a real shame as the hotel is really nice! Plus you can use all facilities at the Kremlin hotel. To be honest, once you adjust to acting rude like everyone else you'll have a great time. We certainly did.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billybob147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

we have recently returned from a 10day holiday at wow topkapi palace and had a lovely time. the hotel overall was amazing, clean, and so big! our room was lovely and our friends even had 2 floors to their room! Most of the staff were happy and friendly and they certainly love kids. My daughter loved all the attention she got and free lollies! The only problem we had was the russains...rude and ignorant. however i didnt experience anything major you just have to be careful they dont push in the queues whilst waiting at the bar. The food hall where you get breakfast lunch and dinner was large and busy. But a few days before we were due to come home a new european restaurant opened which was smaller, more relaxed and friendlier people. Just what this hotel needed by the looks of some of the reviews i read before i went. One thing i would say aswell if you have young children is its a fight to get a highchair at meal times. I think they only had 15 so wasnt near enough to go around. The hotel entertainment was good, daytimes you had football archery aqua gym belly dancing poolgames water polo etc. And evenings theres an ampitheatre where they hosted a different show every night then you would go onto the bar where they had live music and kareoke.We also went to the nightclub one night which was small but ideal for a good boogy.The entertainment team were spot on, Nigo was our favourite! The water slides were good, open 10-12 and 2-4. And theres a free icecream parlour between 2.30-5 which was ideal after lunch. From some of the previous reviews i was so worried about going but after experiencing myself id recommend it to anyone.We had a fantastic time and would love to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pppp2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.9 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
1.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#16 of 231 in Antalya
2,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia Palace Deluxe Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Royal Holiday Palace
Royal Holiday Palace
#19 of 231 in Antalya
1,247 reviews
13.5 mi away
Rixos Downtown Antalya
Rixos Downtown Antalya
#15 of 231 in Antalya
1,060 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barut Lara
Barut Lara
#1 of 231 in Antalya
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WOW Topkapi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WOW Topkapi Palace

Address: 442 Tesisler Caddesi, Antalya 07110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Antalya
#30 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#40 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: £84 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — WOW Topkapi Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 908
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While travelling back in time to the past in the middle of historical textures, are you among those that wonder what it would mean to live inside one of the unique architectural structures? You can be sure that WOW TOPKAPI PALACE, which has been built based on the TOPKAPI PALACE in Istanbul will provide these experiences for you. Be prepared to be treated like the sultans in an 85.000 m2 area within the Kundu Village of Antalya... From the moment you open the doors of TOPKAPI PALACE, you will stay at the harem, you will dine at the Palace Kitchens and Hagia Irini, cool off at the Fountain of Ahmet the Third at Sultan Ahmet Square, sip your wine at the Judicial Tower, and taste starch pudding with rose water at the Mecidiye Mansion! Our resort is 20 km from Antalya Airport and 17 km from the center of Lara - Antalya Free Services Welcome cocktail, food & local and standard imported drinks, mini bar, safety deposit box (in rooms), fitness center, Turkish Bath, sauna, squash, pugy club (mini club), internet cafe, daytime sporting activities & night time shows, 30 minute group tennis lessons, tennis rackets, catamaran, windurfing and sailing (all require certificates), canoing, first trial dive at the swimming pool, towels, sombreros and chaise longues, hammocks and cushions, wireless internet access from the lobby and the rooms. Services Subject to a Fee: Room service (24 hours), special wine menus at the A la carte restaurants, premium alcoholic drinks, energy drinks, La Nazır Restaurant(cover fee), Mangal Park Restaurant(cover fee), La Gondola Restaurant(cover fee), doctor, nurse, massage, beauty center, hairdresser, tennis school, tennis courts lighting, mini football and basketball pitches lighting, sailing school, diving school, laundrette & dry cleaning (ironing),high speed wireless internet access from the lobby and the rooms. babysitter, telephone & fax, motorised water sports, the pavillions (specially equipped private relaxation areas on the beach), bowling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your WOW Topkapi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Topkapi Palace
Wonder World
Topkapi Palace Antalya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing