We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday”
Review of Royal Wings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Wings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 232 Hotels in Antalya
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We came back from an 8 days holiday at Royal Wings. There were good's and bad's but overall we had a great holiday. What you will read here is my point of view according to my living style and culture and may not be a general opinion.

First of all, I must feel sorry for all the future travelers that will have Neva Travel as the Turkish partner travel agency. You will probably have a late check-in because, from what it was explained to us, the agency transfers the money for your vacation to the hotel at the moment you arrive at reception (how stupid this is?!?) so you have to wait for the bank transfer to be made, as it is not a real-time transfer. Of course, nobody told us this at first, and we waited until 3 PM for a room (when everybody else already got theirs) because of "technical issues". The situation was really embarrassing, when the reception manager told us our vacation is not payed. Fortunately, our agency from Romania solved quickly the issue after we called them, but we had been resolved the issue earlier if the reception staff would let us know the real problem.

The rooms are very big, clean, big TV with lots of international channels. You have slippers in the room, but no bathrobes. Also there are two loofah sponges in the bathroom, so you won't need to bring your own. The air conditioning system is very good and cools the room very quickly. Cleaning service good, but we are used to sleep in the afternoon, after lunch, and many times the cleaning lady came after 2 PM, so we either went in the lobby and waited for her to finish, either give her the towels for changing, and hanged the "Do not disturb sign".

The pool is fabulous! Really big, warm water (due to the hot weather in August), not crowded, even if at 9 AM you won't find any free sunbed near the pool. Also, there are many reserved sunbeds, never used during the day!!

The sea is nice, enough salty to keep you floating, which is great. You can always find sunbeds at the pool, but not on the first lines. Also, for a fee (I don't know how much) there are pavilions that can be rented, and you also have service included (drinks and snacks brought by waiters to the pavilion).

The main restaurant is very big, with lots of dishes to choose from. There were themed nights (turkish, deep sea, far east, italian, international) with great representative food. There are 5 live cooking points: one with pastry, one with wok/pan-cooked food, one with hotplate/grill, one with rotisserie and one with themed food (sushi, carpaccio, ..). Also there was a buffet with live prepared desserts (tiramisu, turkish nugat, ..). Excepting the live cooking, there was also a hot and cold buffet where you could find different sort of meals, great quality. And the last but not least, the dessert buffet which was heaven on earth. Lots of different cakes and cookies and turkish traditional sweets, puddings, macarons, all looking fabulous. Also, in the morning there were all kind of jams, even fig jam and watermelon jam. I cannot complain about the food.

The waiters were overwhelmed. Really, when the restaurant is over 50% capacity, the waiters cannot be on time with tables cleaning and drinks service (all drinks are ordered to the waiter (for free of course), not self service). We tipped one of the waiters and he always reserved us the table we liked and brought us the drinks we used to order. He was very nice.

The food corners are opened only a couple of hours (12:30 - 16:30, some 13:00-15:00 - ice cream), so we didn't get to any of them as we ate the lunch in the restaurant and then went to sleep :).

We went once at the turkish tent, on the last day. It was excellent. Really nice to watch and great food.

We went only to the Turkish restaurant on the A la carte, and it was very, very good food and most of it was not served in the main restaurant.

Overall, the food is excellent, but as traditional in Turkey, it is very spicy, so beware.

The AquaPark is really, really nice. There are three or four slides for children, and about 6-7 for adults. Also there is a lazy river and a wave pool, but the wave pool is opened only 1h/day.

The FunFair - I have never seen it open. I believe it has a very, very short program.

Don't be confident on the programs written on the brochures. Most of them are wrong. Ask at the reception or go to the location you want and check the opening hours there.

The animation team was nice but nothing special. Night shows were nice. We had 3 nights of dance show, one Miss Royal Wings night, one Best Couple night, one Garden Party night and one Comedy Night.

There were some activities in the evening for the kids - sand painting and stuff - but all with a charge (!!).

Also, the Sports/Game Bar had all the games for a tax (I have been to other hotels that had billiards and air hockey and darts available for free). This was a big disappointment.

Overall it was a great and different experience, but there are improvements that can be made.

Room Tip: Sea-view is best. Beware on Side-Sea-View: choose higher floors, as on the alley below the balconys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana-Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    380
    108
    47
    36
See reviews for
1,332
372
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from 2 weeks at Royal Wings. First time in Antalya after several previous holidays to Marmaris and first time All Inclusive. This is an excellent hotel, staff all helpful and friendly. Grounds and pool area are beautifully clean and well kept. Food also excellent and varied, available all day and night if you want it. Several bars in hotel, both inside and outside - bars inside give welcome break from the heat with excellent air con.
Travelled as family of 3 with 8 year old son who loved the Kids Club - entertainment staff all good with kids and looked after them well, particularly Alina, Danial, Dasha and Ivan who were our son''s favourites. If I was to criticise anything about The Royal Wings I would say that the rooms are a little dated, although very comfortable. Pillows were not the best and carpets could also be replaced.
One of best things was availability of sun beds around the pool without having to reserve them with towels at 6 am as in other places we have stayed in. Although this is a big hotel there are surprisingly few queues for food and drink, although main restaurant is understandably busy at times. Special mention for Skatergirl who does a brilliant job handing out drinks around the pool during the day. We used the waterpark several times, which is brilliant and safe for the kids.
There are shopping malls near the hotel, with one directly opposite as good as any. We took the bus one night to Antalya, which is a big city but old town is amazing. Would recommend a taxi both ways in hindsight as bus drops you in city center miles from anywhere of interest - return taxi from Lara Beach between 40 and 50 euros.
Too many good things to mention about The Royal Wings. Didn't think spending as much as we did could possibly be value for money, but it absolutely was.
Overall loved it and will be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent 1 week at the Royal Wings and as the reviews on here were so good we were really looking forward to going. However it was the small things which didn't make it a 5star experience.
The customer service was somewhat lacking and to be honest borderline rude.
I found the staff unhelpful and not particularly bothered in accommodating any of the guests.
The food was the same every night at the buffet restaurant so I would recommend the a la carte options. Tried the Chinese, Sea food and Italian and would recommend all of them.
I agree with some of the earlier reviewers...the decor is dated and needs updating, but this may not bother other people.
The evening entertainment was poor and sometimes I thought inappropriate for the younger children, for example the Comedy night had a 12+ age recommendation!! The magic show is worth watching though.
However it was not all bad.. The pools are fantastic and space for everyone. You do need to get up early to get sun loungers around the pool. My husband and myself took it in turns to wake up at 8am to gets poolside sun loungers . If you wanted to go to the beach then there are plenty of sun loungers there. (The hotel staff put little slips of paper with a note asking you not to reserve beds before 9am but I did not see them actually taking the towels off as they claim to do). The water slides are great fun...try them all. My kids loved them and they were the highlight of the holiday for them. We gave water sports a go and the paragliding was great.
The Spa was relaxing and do recommend it.
The Turkish food tent is amazing and is defiantly worth more than 1 visit.
There is a good selection of food throughout the day so you cannot go hungry. There is something for everyone.
All in all it was a good holiday but would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SukhiP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have just stayed at the royal wings hotel Antalya . Date from 28 th July to Thursday the 7th. I would just like to say it was one of the best holidays ever. The hotel facilities and especially the staff were amazing. The animation team were unbelievable. And obviously Alex will have to come in for special mention. I attended the water gym and the 4.30 aerobics virtually every day.
He is very dynamic and funny and possibly slightly camp !
Other animation team I would like to specially mention is Soner and Mert who we're very friendly and kind.
In the dining area I would also like to make a special mention to Etam yuce and Nedret Kurtint. These guys were amazing. Friendly, enthusiastic , courteous and utterly efficient and professional. So much so we were prepared to wait even if a table wasn't ready.

I would in fact say Turkey Is the most friendly destination we have ever stayed at. The people are amazing. Thank you so much for making it one of our best holidays ever.

Kind regards the Whelan family.

Room Tip: Duplex room is excellent for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I (she is 9) visited for a weeks holiday, we were not sure what to expect but boy were we pleasantly surprised! Super complex, excellent food with so many choices, lovely staff and great evening entertainment! As the complex is so large, you never have to Que for anything but don't let the size put you off! We are hard to please, however we would definitely return again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurostarflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Royal Wings for a week over Easter. We stayed as a family of four in a duplex room with my parents staying in a double room. The rooms were great, well designed and spotlessly clean and well maintained. The duplex room worked very well for a holiday with two teenage boys and gave us all a little privacy. The two bathrooms work well too. The hotel itself is well designed and has a luxury feel. Staff cannot do enough to help and are keen to ensure you have a great time. We visited before summer season began and the outdoor restaurants were not operational, nor the sea pier. It did feel that things were being prepared for busier times which we fully understand but meant we couldn't experience all that is on offer during the summer. Nevertheless, we had a great time. We ate at late breakfast most days which offered great choice, had pancakes in the Turkish tent for lunch (try the cheese, chocolate and sugar ones if you can - all delish) and ate in the main buffet most evenings. We did eat in the Italian and Turkish speciality restaurants, paying extra for the Italian where we had a 9 course meal for 12 euros each. It was lovely and you should go. One time at one restaurant is included. Further visits is extra cost. The pools were very cold at this time of year but we did have fun at the water park. The indoor spa is great and we used the pool here and had a number of massage treatments which are highly recommended. The spa offered a number of deals at this time of year and we took advantage and came home feeling super relaxed. Would we visit again - yes, but during the summer so we could enjoy all the hotel offers.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank saw646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

"Excellent, Clean, Lots of Food and Drink. The hotel is extremely clean like shown in the brochure. The onsite Aqua Park and mini funfair were great for our kids. There is a beach bar and a beach restaraunt (all included) so you don't need to take food or drink to the beach with you. You are also provided with beach towels and pool towels so less luggage to take from the UK. Beach loungers also provided. There are bars, ice-cream bar (only open at certain times), kebab bar, donut/fruit bar (change everyday) around the pool area. There is another hut where two ladies sit and make crepes for you, pizza also available in there. Inside huge grand buffet, separate bakery/cake shop - all included. There is a night restaurant if you get hungry! all inclusive mini bar in your room. Once you get there you can relax and don't have to worry about running high bills or paying for aqua parks or food/drink on the beach etc. There is a nightclub (which we never used because of children) The rooms were very clean and towels were changed everyday. The service with the waiter depends on who you get as this is the case at any hotel, but overall very good. We have also been to the Royal Dragon in Side and found there was more of a spacious beach area and although both are good we personally prefer the Royal Dragon but that's just personal choice. Please NOTE we stayed there in October 2012

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.5 mi away
Barut Lara
Barut Lara
#1 of 232 in Antalya
3,447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Holiday Palace
Royal Holiday Palace
#17 of 232 in Antalya
1,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#15 of 232 in Antalya
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.6 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
0.4 mi away
Delphin Palace Hotel
Delphin Palace Hotel
#21 of 232 in Antalya
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Wings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Wings Hotel

Property: Royal Wings Hotel
Address: Lara, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#12 Family Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Wings Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Wings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Wings Hotel Turkey
Royal Wings Turkey
Royal Wings Antalya
Royal Wings Hotel Antalya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing