We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the Hype!”
Review of Royal Wings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Wings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 234 Hotels in Antalya
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Food excellent, something for everyone - I'm trying to work off the weight I gained! Drinks - I'm not a big drinker but they had everything and you tipped if you wanted to, not to get served next time (Americans please note - your indescriminate tipping spoils it for the rest of us - see Mexico).

Picked the resort on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. Did not go as part of a package deal. Incidentally they use the Euro in Turkey in conjunction with the Lira. First time I have NOT come back laden with leather goods and a new briefcase, as things are just too expensive now.

Resort is a short taxi drive from Antalya airport. We had booked a car rental as hotel transfers booked over the internet were looking expensive, but fortunately that fell through due to rental company mess up. Saved us about £200 as a rental car was certainly not needed for our holiday. The taxi company outside the hotel are a bit dodgy I thought. Has been commented upon in previous reviews but basically they only took us to two out of the three places we'd agreed and then tried to charge us the full price.

Lovely resort. On a seafront stretch lined by hotels, not much else apart from some shops and the odd mall. The Royal Wings has a funfair and waterpark in the front, and nice expansive rear area with interconnected pools and bridges around the back. Backs onto a beach which is where we spent most of our time. Lots of sunbeds (they won't let people reserve beds in advance), beachgames, plenty of bars (including pizza, kebeb, icecream stalls...). Loads to do.

Sea was a bit cold for my liking but kids loved it. The pool was freezing, so we used the option of the indoor pool. Spa was fine, they don't mind doing a deal if you book in bulk.

We all enjoyed the evening entertainment, but the guys did spend an inordinate amount of time dressing up as women which I pointed out to them!

In summary, this resort has it all.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank push99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,714 - 1,720 of 2,157 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2009

We booked our trip on the advice of the travel agent who had been a rep in the resort, when we arrived we were greeted with a stunningly designed lobby and layout. The following two weeks were nothing short of outstanding, the food was out of this world, the family rooms were excellently apportioned, the grounds were attractive, the beach is stunning (if man-made) and the views are great too - mountains in both sides (snow capped while we were there).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nikkimacChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Between a dozen of hotels at the Turkish Rivièra, the comments of Tripadvisor are quite positive of this hotel. Confirmation through the feedback of our Travel agency did make our decision to book The Royal Wings through Thomas Cook Belgium (Note we Belgians are quite demanding for fair quality and this mainly on food!)
The Royal Wings appeared to be an excellent choice, worth the 5***** attributed to it!
With 467 rooms the hotel is quite large, but not exaggerated. It is a nice designed building with plenty of space.
Towards the seaside a well grown and well maintained garden where swimming pools are flooding, wooden structures offering shade, food and sport (tennis courts) area, the whole absolutely well designed.
At the “street” side, the other side there is a kind of Aqua place with water games. g our stay in march 09 it was of course closed. But I believe it is an excellent idea to have at that side of the hotel, as in the summer season it must be a noisy and turbulent area. People who do not appreciate it have no nuisance for it at the garden/pool side.
During winter season you have of course access at the heated and very large circular inside fresh water swimming pool being part of “Wellness centre”. It has a small children pool and 2 Jacuzzi’s. It is free available in the “all-in formula” and you have access at the steam and Turkish bath and sauna.
It is a pity that the prices of the Wellness centre at too high and “uncertain” for guests. They start expensive, if it does not work out, there are reductions etc. In fact the rates are ok… if they would be in Turkish Lira, but they are in Euro!
The restaurants and particular the main restaurant in buffet self-service have a very large choice of excellent quality, efficient service with enough staff. It is really an asset to choose this hotel!
But even when this restaurant is closed, you can get food 24 hours a day!
The Hotel is absolutely well designed, clean, well maintained. The building well achieved! (I have seen others during years!)
The rooms offer plenty of space, functional and cosy. Satellite television, fridge filled daily, phone even in bathroom, hairdryer, all what is to be expected from a 5 star.
At different bars you can get drinks inclusive the local alcoholic (note wines are good) as much you want. The staff is not only limited “to collect empty glasses” but will look if you need an extra drink.
In fact staff is quite friendly and efficient, probably also due to the fact they are not understaffed.
However note that you are in Turkey. Germans (and Russians in summer) are the main market. So in the hotel and the whole area around they will start to speak German first. English follows and some will speak a mouthful French.

Conclusions: Top class without any doubt

Positive:
+ nice building structure, garden and pools. Excellent design of the hotel
+ maintenance: clean and technical side (note surprised by the negative comment about the airco of somebody on this forum)
+ excellent food and drinks both in choice and quantity
+ comfortable rooms
+ friendly staff

Negative:
- wellness centre rates too high
- location : in the sense that Lara, although close to Antalya and Dolmus are cheap and efficient way of transportation, is a kind of “tourist ghetto” (similar is for example Midoun at Djerba Tunisia) where you find only hotels, “shopping centres for tourists”, plenty of empty apartment buildings and incredible number of pharmacies!

But overall the Royal Wings is certainly a top choice hotel in the area!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jpver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

I am writing the following on our last day at the Royal Wings, courtesy of the free wi-fi in the lobby bar and fuelled by waiter service every time my glass nears empty.

Most critical reviews of five star Turkish Riviera hotels (i.e. on the Southern coast of Turkey centered on Antalya) written in English complain about the scarcity of fellow English-speaking guests and how the hotels are not really '5-star'. Before proceeding with my review of this excellent hotel, I wish to put those comments in context. Turkey is a huge country and the 'English' (Aegean) coast (Marmaris, Bodrum, etc.) facing the Aegean is some six to hours drive away. The Turkish Riviera is considerably more international, educated and cosmopolitan than the Aegean coast. The weather and the richness of local antiquities are sufficiently better that very few hotels close even for one night during the Winter and according to the Turkish Tourist Ministry, Antalya Airport receives more foreign visitors than all the other coastal airports combined. This is not Marmaris or Bodrum and regardless of where you are from, most visitors will not have your native tongue or for that matter your ideas of what a five star hotel should be.

I have lived on the Turkish Riviera for four years and have stayed at around twenty four and five star hotels on this coast since 1999. This is therefore a relative review comparing the Royal Wings to the standards of the other five star hotels.

Overall, this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. In many areas it has its equal or near-equal and, in some minor areas, it is bettered by one hotel or another, but as a package it has the edge on any previous hotel I have experienced.

Particular strengths:
1) Professionalism of the staff - a cut above the rest in knowledge, skills and manners
2) Gardens/pools to the beach - a stunning World-class tropical paradise
3) Children's 'fun fair' (on the opposite side of the hotel - closed Winter) - including roundabouts, swinging boat, train, trampolines, water slides, wave pool, and big wheel
4) Amazing quality and variety of food - I had nothing like it in 36 years of hotels
5) Two a la carte restaurants (in Winter) with faultless service and presentation
6) Well-stocked included mini-bar (cola, water, beer, cherry juice and others)
7) Spotlessly clean, well-maintained, spacious, comfortable and visibly luxurious.

Minor flaws:
1) No soup spoons
2) Plates for hot-courses could have been warmer
3) No cotton buds supplied with the otherwise generous toiletries
4) Only two English channels (BBC World and CNN) - Astra would have added BBC Prime
5) The live entertainment was a little down market.

I will now have my last drink from the bar before dressing for dinner (yes, there is an evening dress code).

Overall this is a top, World-class all-inclusive hotel at a bargain price. We paid £25 per night, for triple rooms for sole occupancy, via UK hotel agency hotelopia.

Tim Millea,
21-12-2008.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
23  Thank Tim_Millea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

I can't say enough good things about this hotel, from the moment we arrived it was great.
The rooms were large with plenty of space to relax in, and spotless.
The food was excellent in all the restaurants, we tried the Italian, Turkish and the buffet. there was always plenty of choice.
The staff were very attentive, although most of them don't speak very much english we didn't have trouble getting what we wanted.
We didn't use the pools, outside or inside, as the water was too cold. But the weather was brilliant.
I'm sorry can't comment of the entertainment as we didn't attend any. We weren't bothered at all by the entertainment staff while we were relaxing during the day.
If you choose this hotel you won't be dissapointed, as long as you don't expect UK 5 star like Glen Eagles.
We didn't mind the local alcohol, but didn't like their version of champange.
As for the veiws from the bedrooms, we were only in them to sleep so it didn't bother us too much, but really they weren't too bad

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

we had a fantastic week at the royal wings, choice of food was absolutely brilliant.. we've just booked another week from 28th march 2009, so if you see this, Stuart (coach driver- Yorkshire?), Margaret & Anne maybe we'll see you there.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank northwayLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We had a lovely time. Very clean, very comfortable, rooms good size, good cocktails and good food, it isnt haute cuisine and the wine is local but it was highly quaffable. Staff were great and responded very positively to being thanked (kind words) for their efforts, the entertainment looked a bit cheesy but it was good fun and there was a lot of enthusiasm. I note some people complained about the room views, you pay for the sea view.

On the down side, the pool area is slippery and the pool water was cold despite it being 29 degrees in the shade, though it was usually empty. The beach whilst clear of litter was covered in fag butts (wake up smokers?), not pleasant for kids and their bucket and spades. The Buffet restaurant was vast, noisy and frankly not nice to move around in or eat in as people barged to get their food. It was pleasant to eat outside or pay extra and eat in one of the restaurants. The all inclusive package allows you one meal in one of the restaurants. If you can negotiate a different arrangement do it. The balconies in the rooms higher up are a scare for parents of small kids. Ours is 21 months and could have crawled through the railings easily. Ironically lower down the balcony rails looked safer.
If you want to meet english speakers, dont go. This hotel is heavily marketted to other nationalities. The first days i was there, the place was full of german and dutch speakers after the changeover it was full of russians.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HolidaymakerExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.5 mi away
Barut Lara
Barut Lara
#1 of 234 in Antalya
3,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.6 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Holiday Palace
Royal Holiday Palace
#15 of 234 in Antalya
1,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#17 of 234 in Antalya
2,446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#18 of 234 in Antalya
2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Wings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Wings Hotel

Address: Lara, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#12 Family Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: £93 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Wings Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Wings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Wings Hotel Turkey
Royal Wings Turkey
Royal Wings Antalya
Royal Wings Hotel Antalya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing