We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 5th time, looking forward already to number 6!”
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 229 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great 5th time, looking forward already to number 6!”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Still cannot fault this wonderful hotel after visiting for the 5th time. The staff remembered us immediately and welcomed us with open arms, they made such a fuss of my 80yr old dad too even though it was his first visit.

It was a shame the weather was a bit inconsistent over our 2 week stay, but we did not let it spoil our holiday as there is plenty do keep you occupied indoors.

The well kept gardens are starting to look great now the flowers are out and it is a pleasure to walk around in such spacious grounds.

Our 17yr old son had a brilliant time, meeting up with friends old and new. This hotel is ideal if you have teenagers who like to mix and join in - we hardly saw our son in the whole 2 weeks, knowing that he was safe and enjoying himself made our holiday too.

We are at the moment planning visit number 6 for next Easter... I can't put my finger on what this hotel has got that draws most people back, but the number of returning guests gets bigger every year.

Sorry I have not gone into much formal detail about this hotel but if you would like any questions answering please give me a shout.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ValC1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,536
    442
    143
    27
    23
See reviews for
1,488
1,118
43
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cheam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We booked this off the back off the reviews and a tip off from a friend.

Flights with Thomas Cook - left on time, no issues on flights, meal included. No film on the short haul option so unless you luck out with getting a wide bodied aircraft that is filling in on this short flight make sure you take something for the kids to play on / read. PSP's for hire for £7.50.

Hotel - we had a residence 'room' which is more like a small apartment. Main bedroom with ensuite, twin room with own bathroom across the hall, lounge with tv and dvd player, cd stereo and kitchenette (fridge and kettle) with table and chairs. Patio doors open onto the terrace or balcony for these rooms which have their own pools (not heated).

Food - excellent. Loads of choice for all 3 meals, all really good quality. Other food around the hotel includes the patisserie which offers coffee and cakes all day from 10-6 ish, the outdoor area fr eating has pancakes, awesome burgers, pizza etc etc all cooked fresh to order. Seating is available and there is a huge grassy area to sit on and eat also.

Pools - Indoor one has a swim out bit which is really nice to see. 40 or so indoor sunbeds and plenty outdoors.

Shops - Nice chaps selling items in the shops and also on stalls in the downstairs foyer. No issues with quality and if you buy a few they'll generally chuck a few freebies in from the 50p bucket. The general 'drug store' as they call it really could make a fortune if they sold a few different items. You can buy anything from DVD's to the papers (approx 5 euros though). The outside area for shopping is predictable and dull but also a work in progress. Turks are friendly and have a good sense of humour so after a couple of trips around it became more like banter than fending them off.

Shows and Animation - Lots of good fun shows indoors (suspect they use the amphitheatre when warmer outside) and of a good length. 1 hour 9.30 to 10.30 every night, bar indoors so you can recharge your glasses. They work very hard, we'd walk past the theatre at midnight and see them all rehearsing so they do put the effort in. Not much happening on the waterpolo / volleyball front but temperatures didn't really encourage 30 mins in the outdoor pool at 11AM to be honest but would expect all that to kick off later in the year.

Spa - we did not visit but friends did. Sounded twice as expensive as Egypt last year at approx £30 for half and hour. Good set up though and they were always busy.

Gym - Fantastic, made my holiday! 3 treadmills, 2 recumbent bike, 1 upright bike, 2 cross trainers, free weights, flat bench, adjustable bench, 6 foot bar and 5 foot bar for chest press and squats/lunges. Other assorted resitance equipment. Easily enough to get you through a week or two without losing too much sharpness. Big area and television and music available. Dance studio next door, saw some yoga going on but suspect more happens later in the year. Tennis courts outside (4), mini golf is good, table tennis (2 tables) indoors and also billiards/snooker. Poker room / Card room looks like it is morphing into something new or maybe just gets set up differently for the summer? Doctor surgery on site near the gym/theatre.

Antalya - 40 mins on the bus (2 euros each), 15 mins in a cab (20 euros). I'd take the cab, the bus fills up with 30 odd sitting and about 70 standing, it's a real squeeze. Old town is beautiful and has some good shops, the rest of it is a standard town abroad.

Service - Very good indeed all around. We had 3 birthdays whilst on the holiday, the kids got balloons and they reserved us a pair of tables in the main restaurant. We also went to Akdeniz which you book and is a la carte and served by waiters, very good and the kids finished all the food also.

Beach area - clean and well organised.

Watching your football team! The on site cinema which I had forgotten to mention has 1 film a day - one showing in German with English subtitles, 1 showing in English. It also has a lot of football showing in the evenings with the Bundesliga very heavily covered plus main Premiership games. Blackpool v Arsenal, WBA v Chelsea wewre shown plus the CL Semi finals. All is listed on the board outside the door.

Bars in the hotel are good and the wine is also up to scratch.

One last thing.... on most holidays you get the scrawny local animals begging at your table for food and attention. That's not the case here! There is a dedicated cat house near the front of the hotel. It is scrupulously clean and houses approx 40 cats, each cat has its own little kennel. They are fed and watered, have flea collars, are well groomed and clean. The house is like a giant aviary and they have plenty of climbing area and toys. The kids can go in and pet the animals and the cats also have the run of the hotel outdoors. We'd often wake up to see one asleep on the chairs outside the rooms if they'd gotten back too late to the cat house and missed locking in time. My girls loved it and spent a lot of their free time with one on their lap on the terrace which stopped any bickering etc. It really was an added bonus that I really did not expect to work out that way but well done to the hotel for putting this in, it really works well.

You cannot go wrong here to be honest.

Any questions please feel free to ask.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank rooster1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Me and my family went last June, could anybody tell me the main members of the entertainment team this year? Thanks:)

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lala712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We had a fantastic holiday - made so much more enjoyable by meeting up with several members from Tripadvisor. Thank you everyone for a great time.

Flight

We booked with TC (once again) and everything went smoothly which was a relief after our experience in Feb.

Transfer/Arrival at Hotel

We decided to book a taxi rather than take the courtesy bus as we had our visas from February, but this actually proved to be a waste of time as by the time we got our luggage we didn't gain much time.
However, on arrival at the hotel, we were offered an upgrade to either a penthouse suite or a standard suite. We knew the penthouse was on the 10th floor so declined as my OH isn't too keen on high floors, but looked at a couple of suites. However, we decided to stick which what we'd booked - a 2-bed residence - and were extremely pleased we did. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool (as we had requested prior to arrival) and it worked perfectly with our older kids.

Room

As mentioned above, we had a 2-bed residence. These are fabulous and perfect for families. The first bedroom has twin beds and this is where the safe is also located. The first bathroom has a shower. Our bedroom had a large kingsize bed with en-suite bathroom - very large and spacious and overlooked the residence pool. In the lounge there was a DVD/CD player and sofa with small kitchenette. There were coffee/tea-making facilities and the mini bar was stocked with soft drinks and beer.

Hotel

I had toured this hotel last Easter, so knew what to expect and the hotel didn't disappoint. Service is extremely good - best we've had so far and the hotel is extremely clean.

Food

We thought the food in the buffet (Divan restaurant) was very good. Not as much choice as previous holidays, but there was always something wonderful to eat and we were very pleased. Maybe the choice is wider during the high season. Staff were very attentive and quick to remove dirty plates - often within seconds of finishing eating. Our second week was much busier being Easter but this did not affect the excellent service.

A la Cartes

We ate in the Turunc twice (fajitas, steaks etc.,) and the Akdeniz (12+ restaurant). Both were excellent. We also ate in the turkish (Kuyu) but weren't too keen on the food so didn't bother again. Kids not keen on seafood so didn't bother eating in that one. BBQ and Sandal was not open due to weather conditions.

Patisserie

Ice-creams and cakes were very popular, but I think they could have opened for longer. Ice-creams weren't available until 12.30pm and closed at 6pm. I'm sure the kids would love to have an ice-cream after dinner. The patisserie at the Voyage Belek was open for much longer and had more choice.

Begonville Street

This is an outside area where they served freshly cooked pizzas and burgers as well as wraps etc during the day. Very popular and of an excellent standard.

Bars

Loved the fact you could have bottled beers at this hotel and premium branded drinks with schweppes mixers. Also champagne (sparkling wine) was of a very good quality and our group drank a lot of it! The wine was also extremely good.

Sadly the only place to have a drink in the evenings is the lobby bar which has a pianist playing background music or the nightclub which opened at 10.30pm. The nightclub was good with live music on the one occasion we went in there, but would have been nice to have it open earlier for a change of scenery. Probably summer would be better as more going on outside. However, once the crowd from Tripadvisor arrived, the background music didn't seem to matter quite so much :) We used to meet up early evening at the pool bar (Meltem) and then again later in the lobby bar after dinner. Thanks everyone for a fantastic time.

Pools

Sunbeds were reserved very early around the main pools, but often empty by the residence pool, so that is where we decided to be. Peaceful and relaxing but the pool was freezing. It got a bit busier as we left, probably due to the weather warming up and more people arriving at the hotel.

Indoor pool was good and you could swim outside. However, as expected, when the weather was poor, it was difficult to get a sunbed around the pool.

Entertainment

My son joined in the clubs his first week and made a few friends but didn't bother our second week as my sister arrived with her family and we spent the time with them. Outside games room opened when the weather improved and the kids enjoyed spending time in there early evening before dinner until they'd spent their cash.

Weather

What a difference to travelling last Easter. The weather was very mixed with clouds and rain, but our last few days were glorious and we have returned with a lovely tan and lots of wonderful memories.

Summary

I am sure this hotel is fantastic in summer when all outside spaces are open. The pier wasn't set up but things were slowly opening during our stay. Watersports were available and the beach bar opened during our second week. I'm sure I've forgotten something, but in summary I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel. Happy to answer any questions.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bugalug12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gravesend
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Just returned for a weeks stay at the Barut Lara, the hotel is lovely and clean and overall we had a great holiday.

Room, we booked a standard room, but got a free upgrade to a deluxe sea facing room with large balcony which was lovely.

Food, the a la cartes, seafood, turkish and internatinal were the only ones we managed to book into during our week, we loved the unternational and seafood, the turkish was ok. We felt the buffet did not have as much choice as previous hotels we have visited in Lara Beach, although this maybe because of the season, having never visited turkey before.the beach side lunch time restaurant was lovely, we also ate at the snack bar, but found this a bit chaotic.

grounds, the hotel grounds are lovely, beautiful and very spacious, must have the biggest plot on Lara.

Beach, lots of beds, nice beach bar and toilets, were suprised to see the pier not open, other hotels had opened theirs.

pools, choice of large outdoor pools, not heated though, as stated in the brochure. indoor pool heated, but salt water, not too everyones taste.

Evenings, we went to the mini disco, which our daughter loved, then to the lobby bar, which was the only bar open in the evenings, we were lucky as we made friends with other TA menbers, but if it had not been for their great company, we would of been a bit bored. we only saw one show, turkish dance, which was good. great choice of drinks, including cocktails and international brands, Millers, Becks etc.

summary, had a good holiday, hotel spotlessly clean and spacious, let down slightly by the buffet and lack of open bars in the evenings, would i return, probably not.

Any questions please ask

Emma

Room Tip: book the a la cartes early with guest relations
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank emmasholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

My family and I (hubby, 9 year old, 2 year old and 1 year old twins!!!) have just returned from a week at the Barut Lara in Turkey and had the most amazing holiday ever. The hotel was wonderful, clean, modern, stylish but without being too formal which is just what we needed for our large family.

The staff, from reception staff to waiting staff, to maids, to the entertainment team were superb and couldn't do enough for you. We were told to ask for anything that we required to accommodate our children down to daily milk supplies, highchairs and cots in the accommodation and our every wish was granted.

The accommodation was our biggest concern as we have a large family and didn't want to be shoe horned into a tiny room, nor can we take separate twin rooms due to the ages of the children. However, the room we had was great with two good sized bedrooms, ours being ensuite and large enough to fit in two travel cots, an additional bathroom and a living/kitchen area with a fridge.

The maid service was daily so the apartment was kept clean at all times and towels replaced as often as needed. We had a ground floor apartment which went out onto two smaller, quieter pools for those wanting a more secluded and relaxing day, so we avoided this out of cpurtsey to others!

There was an indoor/outdoor heated pool for the days that were slightly cooler which was a great for the smaller children and enjoyed by the older ones, along with the sauna too.

The food was fantastic, always fresh and a lot prepared in front of you and plenty of choice. There was even a children's area in the restaurant where they had their own buffet and smaller chairs and tables for the littler kids. We tended to frequent this area as everyone there was happy with the hum drum of feeding time for the children leaving those with older kids to enjoy a more relaxed meal in the main area and allowing the parents of the younger children to rest in the knowledge that a little noise and mess was not an issue.

The complex overall was wonderful with loads of green open space, various different seating areas and champagne on tap! There are numerous play areas for the children, with the main one being 'Kids World' where the children's club is held and where all our children enjoyed hours playing with the toys, in the sand, the play parks and running around.

The entartianment team were outstanding. They worked non stop from morning til night. There were daily activities for every age group and you could be as involved as you wanted to be. They weren't pushy and seemed genuinely interested in you and your family and were always asking if there was anything missing from your holiday. The nightime entertainment was good with the shows the team put on being very good. Our 9 year old had a ball and the younger children loved the kiddies disco and 'showtime'! Our twins became a bit of an attraction in their own right and I don't think I've ever seen babies kissed so much by complete strangers (but in a lovely way!)

Overall we had a wonderful holiday and have even discussed returning to this same hotel either later in the year or next year, which is something we have never done before. The biggest comment I had about the resort and the clientel were that whilst alochol was on tap daily and there were people having a good drink, I never saw anyone falling over drunk of becoming a nuisance to other holiday makers. People made the most of the all inclusive package without abusing it which made it a pleasure for eveyone.

Well done Barut Lara, we are definately going to be returning customers :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsH159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent, england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We have just return from this hotel and what a dream of a hotel it is. All the staff are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble. The gardeners keep the grounds immaculate. The waiting staff attend your every need and always with a smile. The rooms are brilliant with white bed linen and soft white towels, even the pool towels are good. There were more germans than brits but lets face it they wouldnt go to a rubbish hotel. This is one hotel we would definately go back to.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hartykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
2.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#12 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
1.3 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#17 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#2 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#7 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Property: Barut Lara
Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing