We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still excellent (but with reservations)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
southport
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“Still excellent (but with reservations)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

This was our 4th visit to this excellent hotel and it was generally still excellent, i will not go on about all its good qualities they speak for themselves. All the positive reviews speak volumes for this hotel, in my last review i gave them an excellent report so i will concentrate on where they need to improve.
Firstly: we have been here 4 times over the last 3 years starting November 2009. This is an ultra-all inclusive hotel which amongst other things means you get some international drinks included, on our first visit you had such drinks as Lambs navy rum, Famous grouse whiskey,Southern comfort,Baileys,and many other well known British brands but unfortunately now they are not there,they still have some branded drinks but are reluctant to offer them, they are hidden away in the cupboards behind the bar, to guarantee you get the drink you want you DO have to go to the bar yourself, some repeat guests may not or like me initially are reluctant to admit this but it is unfortunately true and what you have to take into consideration is that this hotel is one of the most expensive ones to stay in in the Lara area we paid over £2500 for 2 people this time round and so you are paying for the privilege of international drinks they are NOT free and both Thomas Cook and Thompson holidays should pressurize the hotel management or not advertise international drinks in their brochures.
Secondly: although the animation team are excellent and put on some great shows and work tirelessly to entertain you, the shows in the evening are the same as they were 3 years ago and although they are very good ,once you have seen it once then after 3 years it gets repetitive.The choreographer needs to look at new themes and give us something new.
Thirdly: I have mentioned it in their recommendations form about letting MORONS in the dinning hall in the evenings inappropriately dressed but still they let themselves down by not adhering to their own rules they really do have to address this situation.Most of us ladies and gentlemen do not want to see these common morons in the dinning room in vests and shorts COME ON BARUT YOU ARE LETTING YOUR STANDARDS DROP.
We will be coming back to the Lara resort area in November but will be trying one of the other much cheaper ultra all inclusive hotels so as to truly compare the difference and i will be giving an honest review and comparison on returning.To any one thinking of booking or have already booked to come to this excellent hotel do not be put off by my report this is still a top quality hotel and although we are going to try another one in November i will be highly surprised if it matches this excellent hotel and all the excellent staff that work here but because of the cost we feel we do have to try another.
One word about shopping in the Lara and Antalya area,we have been holidaying in Turkey now for some 20 years and have always had great respect for the store owners but unfortunately we do find some now to be very rude. They are overpricing themselves and consequently people are not buying.They are asking stupid prices for fake goods and will not barter with you as they used to do i tried to barter for a very nice Fake Tommy Hillfiger jacket (this was a fleece type jacket) but they would not go below £50 so be ware.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank brilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,470
    431
    142
    27
    24
See reviews for
1,440
1,098
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotty
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

we have been to Turkey seven times now always trying a different hotel always in the Lara beech or Belek area,We booked this hotel on all the fantastic reviews and on recomendation from people that we know that have been to this hotel,but from the second we walked into the hotel we were disapointed,the hotel looked old and lacked character the the other hotel we have been to in the past.,in saying this the staff were nice ,the food was good and we did have a good holiday but it is one that we wont return to

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ging23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

This was our second visit to this wonderful hotel but the first time so early in the season. Our first visit was in June 09 and our first visit to Turkey and now we are hooked. We are a couple in our mid thirties with no children and wanted a week of sun, great food/service with a touch of luxury, once again that's exactly what we got! Room: We were upgraded on arrival to a Family room which I believe is a Junior Suite but without the extras. The rooms (only if you are really picky) are starting to show signs of wear and tear but it didn't bother us.This had a double bed and a family bathroom with a bath and walk in shower. There was then a separate living area with two sofas/sofa beds so a family with two children would be very comfortable. The rooms are very clean and modern with large fans as well as air con. The air con is not turned on at this time of year as it's only just warming up but the fans kept the room at a nicer temperature than air con anyway. Pools: We only really visited the Residence Pool which everyone can use and it's a very relaxing place to be with sunbeds nicely spaced apart which suits us. There is the Turanc bar and restaurant beside this area which again we loved and used all week. We did try the beach restaurant but it was very busy and we prefered the more relaxed residence area which I recommend for couples. Bars: We visited the lobby bar most evenings which serves a vast range of drinks and cocktails. I enjoyed the sparkling wine/champagne and also the red wine was nice. There is imported alcohol available which you need to ask for or you will get the local stuff but the bar staff will remember what you like and are very quick to refill glasses :-) The cocktails are strong but local and pre-mixed but I am sure if you know your cocktails they will mix up an imported proper cocktail. There is also a bar in the indoor arena where the evening entertainment is held. Buffett: The food was tasty which a good choice and was always fresh and piping hot. I will say that since our visit in 2009 that it was more simple and local but there was something for everyone. We loved the Turkish warm bread with lamb and spices sprinkled on top, fresh olives, salads and all the grilled lamb, beef and chicken which was well seasoned and tasty. We always found a table easily even at busy times and the fact that the hotel was full. The waiters were very friendly and eager to fill your glass. The fresh orange juice was also included. Entertainment: We went to a couple of evenings which were the hotel staff doing the shows rather than professional acts which were fine, we much preferred the professional shows at the Gloria Sereinity but it's a much larger hotel and we were visiting earlier in the season. Service: All staff were always friendly, smiling and helpful and I believe this is the main reason that this hotel is so popular. A la cartes: We much prefer the a la cartes as it's nice to have waiter service when you are on holiday. We really enjoyed the Sandal/fish restaurant which is outside and very romantic, the salmon and sea bass were great. You can visit the a la cartes as many times as you like and can book up to three days in advance so it is possible to eat in them every night apart from your first! Cakes: There is a coffee shop that we liked on our first visit but this visit the coffee wasn't as nice and the cakes were the same selection as the Buffett, this may be because it was the start of the season. Summery: Overall for what we paid this hotel is exceptional value for money and I will visit again at this time of year, we were lucky with a whole week of sunshine and also liked the free wifi around the pools and bars. I would rate this hotel as a very good 4.5 star and will return. Happy holidays!

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance with any requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tiggy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, Lancs.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

A very nice hoilday.
We had a week in a junior suite which was great. These suites are like a self contained appartment with a separate living area with a flatscreen TV wih a DVD player. There is also a TV in the bedroom area. Inclued is fresh fruit everyday and a free minibar/fridge which also replenished everyday.

The food was very good and we recommend that you visit the A La Carte resturants, especially the Sofa (Fish) resturant.

The pool was also excellent (Although a bit cold) Plenty of sunloungers (with cushions)

There is not much going on outside the hotel within resonable walking distance.

Room Tip: Junior suites are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandAinBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Having never visited Turkey before, my husband and I did not know what to expect from our Easter break at the Barut Lara. We usually holiday in the Caribbean and Mexico but decided on somewhere closer to home for a nice week in the sun. We need not have worried, every aspect of the holiday was excellent and the hotel thoroughly deserves its 5* rating.

Our room was spacious, modern and exceptionally clean, with a beautiful sea view. The minibar came in handy as did the lovely bath robes and slippers provided.

One of the reasons my husband and I chose this hotel was the choice of al la carte restaurants included in the AI package, as in general we are not a fan of buffet food, but having arrived too late on the first day to avail of any of the special restaurants, we went to the buffet restaurant for dinner. I can honestly say the food in the buffet restaurant was fabulous, hot (which is not the case in all buffet restaurants), freshly cooked and delicious. So good in fact we opted to return to the buffet restaurant later in the week for dinner instead of the al la cartes. You certainly wont be disappointed with the choice of well cooked food. The al la cartes were also excellent, with lovely menus and attentive staff. Breakfasts and lunches were also delicious, with a choice of places to go for lunch. My husband and I agreed the food was some of the best we have ever experienced on holidays.

The choice of drinks was also excellent. We enjoyed the wide range of delicious cocktails available as well as the local beer. My husband was delighted with the choice of bottled beers available including Miller and Becks. The house wine was also good.

The main strength of this hotel is the staff. They were without exception professional and helpful and we never felt an obligation to tip. In fact some staff seemed reluctant to accept tips! The entertainment team were friendly and good fun, especially Lado, Bakit and Alpha.

We also loved the fact the hotel provides care for cats. There must be 30 or 40 different cats in the hotel grounds which the staff care for and feed. We visited the cat house every afternoon to see the cats, which were obviously well looked after and glowing with health. We noticed a certificate in the lobby awarded to the hotel from PETA for their services rehoming and neutering homeless cats, which I think is admirable. It wasnt unusual to look over and see a cat snoozing on the sunbed beside you! The hotel also had two dogs which we would see being walked around the grounds a couple of times a day.

My husband and I dont have kids, though we agreed this would be a great place to take children, with waterslides and a big play park to entertain them.

In summary, this is a fabulous hotel and we had a wonderful holiday. So much so in fact, we are thinking of returning later in the year even though we usually dont visit the same hotel twice. It really will be hard to beat! If you have booked or are thinking of going, you will have an amazing time!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We have just returned from a week here and had a really good holiday which was value for money.
The room we had was a deluxe corner one on, the 7th floor with a large balcony facing pools and sea with 2 sun loungers, table and chairs The room was very clean, modern and had a large flat screen TV,dvd and sony cd/radio player, tea and coffee making, robes and slippers.The bathroom had a seperate loo and rainshower over the bath.
The hotel is All Inclusive and the food is excellent from the buffet to the other restaurants which are also on the AI deal and offer lovely menus all of which we thoroughly enjoyed.
The beach is good and very well kept and with the usual watersports on offer.
The Spa treatments are excellent and the Hamman should not be missed and a big thanks to Ema for my treatments which in 2 days sorted out all my aches which I had for months.
The only negative points are the drinks at the pool are in plastic cups and the cocktails are awfull being dispensed from ready made and not nice at all which is dissappointing and should be made to order using fresh ingredients. Also there is not a waiter service for lazy people like me who like a good pool service in a 5 star hotel ! The hotel is quite a way from shops and taxis are expensive.
On the whole this is a really nice hotel, quiet, modern, clean with friendly staff who are quick off the mark when asked for something and I would say deserves its' 5 star rating.
Nationalities are mainly Dutch,German, Belgian, a few Eastern Europeans and English and no "rowdies" thank goodness.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a sunny balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jetseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel was a pleasure to stay in. We have just come back for a week there. There is something for everyone - very clean beach and some really good pools. Even though the hotel was meant to be full, it never seemed so. The staff are very friendly yet professional, the food is excellent and very varied. There is a large buffet at all meals but then the choice of three or four other more intimate restaurants for the evening. Entertainment always on offer and nightclub for dancing afterwards. Clientele a good blend of european nationalities. Housekeeping meticulous. Grounds attractive and beautifully kept. A cat rescue centre in the grounds for those animal lovers. To be honest we had to force ourselves to leave the complex.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor sea view rooms over lobby (noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsBiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
2.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#10 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
1.4 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#16 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#2 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#6 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Property: Barut Lara
Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing