We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel but out of season”
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 230 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2008

I stayed there from sunday 23/3/2008 until 30/3/2008. well on arriving me and my girlfriend found out that we had been upgraded to a junior suite, i must say v nice double bed, with corner sofa, two balcanys, tv, dvd player (does play uk dvd's) the tv have a few english channels like bbc prime and bbc world, fridge stocked with beer coke and diet coke fizzy water, kettle, bath and shower with seperate wc. also supplied is bath foam, shower gel but these are only small bottles. the rooms has 2 air conditioning controls but we used them as heaters as it did get a bit nippy ain the night.

also as we was away from the main block it was a bit open to the elements it did rain a few times so expect wet floors if it rains.

the food is v nice, breakfast is continetal style i didnt think there was much for my liking. but you wont go hungry during the day so much to eat, but if you just like buger and chips or just a pizza and pasta try the resturant up near the beach on the left hand side open from 12.30 -1600 v nice. try the pattisarie at 2pm they have nice cakes as well.

they have a small water park near the beach and a kids club. overall excellent would go again but i have been to lara beach a few time and i did prefer the royal wings.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank peterb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,328 - 2,334 of 3,608 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2007

We stayed at the hotel during November for 2 weeks.We booked a junior suite which was worth the extra charge.Its an ideal place for a relaxing holiday.The only downside is the surrounding area which is currently subject to development although not in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.I can only reiterate previous comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff which was all excellent. You will need to diet before you go,we both put weight on the food is good and plentifull with lots of choice .If you want a truly relaxing holiday then this is the place to go for a winter break the weather was also good for that time of year.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank denand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2007

Stayed at the Lara resort in October and can highly recomend this hotel. Spotlessly clean stayed in a two bedroom appt, worth the extra money spacious huge balcony plenty of room for myself husband and 16 yr old son. Food first class and the Turkish restaurant is the best give it a try.The spa is fab had turkish bath and facial excellent. Entertainment at night was very good something for everyone, staff at the bars very helpful and excellent service. We stayed for a week and the weather was beautiful sea right on your doorstep. The only fault i could make ( and this is the only one !!!!!) is the pools are really cold during the summer they would be perfect im sure. I am a very fussy person and expect high standards but would highly recomend this hotel and definately go back. As for russians yes there were some but had no problems ,there was a good mix of nationalities including Brits who we had good nights out with.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank wiganmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

My husband, son and I have just returned from a week's holiday at the 5* Barut Lara Resort and Spa.

I can honestly say that this is a truly luxurious modern hotel with some of the best facilities I have experienced in a hotel of this standard. The boutique style bedrooms offer DVD players, CD players, dressing gowns and the complimentary mini bar is replenished daily.

When you request an orange juice, this is what you get, not the usual 'squash' that is usually provided when you ask for this. Instead of the usual bun fight attempting to get a drink, the staff come around constantly asking what you would like and bring your drink to you with nuts.

However, the hotel does not like their British guests despite the presence of 3 main British tour operators, namely, Thomas Cook, Thomson and Cosmos.

My husband and son were violently ill during our stay and we needed the doctor for our son. Despite the doctor supposedly being on site from 10.00 a.m. onwards he strolls in at 1:00 p.m. - just in time to disappear for lunch. He appears to have 2 nurses, one of which has long flowing black hair and long blood red painted talons. She speaks no English and enjoys reading newspapers. She also doesn't have a clue about when the doctor will turn up. Those older readers will understand the 'Benny Hill' type nurse scenario.

After the doctor has eaten his lunch, he deigns to see patients. He also only speaks German and more than anyone does not appear to like the British. We were charged 80 euros - note the German currency and not national Turkish Lira and this was demanded in CASH. Despite this charge being the equivalent of £55 he does not, and will not take credit cards. You get a receipt but I am almost certain that this is not in duplicate nor a record kept..........

Whilst in his surgery paying for his consultation and prescription, a German patient came in. He examined her ears in front of us, despite there being privacy screens. She was handed two prescriptions and when she got her purse out to pay, the good doctor waved her aside and instead she left a tip with the nurse.

I don't believe the problem necessarily is with the food. It appears to be of high quality, and is well presented. However, there were many flies in the restaurant and on one occasion I counted 4 flies in the uncovered potato salad.

If you have an iron constitution you will love this hotel, if you believe you may ever need a doctor, please find somwhere else to stay. Barut's mission statement on their website is ' 'The most important point of our business is the happiness of our guests....' I can assure you there was very little happiness for my family'

Stayed: October 2007
24  Thank PuffpuffSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

Holidayed at this hotel 9-16 October 2007. Stayed in a superior sea view room on the 1st floor but would have preferred a higher floor for a better view. Could not fault this hotel although would perhaps dispute it's 5* rating. The numerous pools, restaurants, bars etc. were more than enough for us. In addition, the animation team were great, especially with the children staying at the hotel.
However, for us 2 adults our relaxing break was disrupted for 4 continuous nights by guests in the room above dragging furniture across the floor throughout the whole night long, sliding the patio doors to the balcony backwards and forwards and dropping what sounded like marbles on the tiled bathroom floor.
This was reported to Reception at 4.00am, at which point we had not been to sleep at all.
We were assured that the matter had been passed to security and that the occupants had been given a warning. The following day we were contacted by Guest Relations to clarify the circumstances of our complaint and assured the matter had been resolved. However, we continued to have a problem and complained on 2 more occassions to no avail.
As a result of Guest Relations inability to resolve the matter we will NOT be returning to the Barut Lara.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank daddycoolChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We stayed at the Barut Lara Resort in October 2007 and I have to say it the best hotel we have been to in Europe by far. The weather was also fantastic at 32 degrees every day.

I am a travel agent and have been to many hotels in Turkey, this year we even stayed the first three nights in the Cornelia in Belek but this hotel beats that.

We did not have our kids with us although we are going back next July with a crowd of us and there is loads for the kids to do. There are kids clubs, teenagers clubs, a seperate pool with water slides, a big trampoline, table tennis, mini golf a huge playground and lots more.

We stayed in a junior suite and the service and cleanliness of the hotel were second to none. The rooms are gorgeous and the service and extras you get in the junior suite are well worth it although I believe the standard rooms are big as well. The staff in the Executive Lounge are excellent. We also had the chance to see the 2 bedroomed apartments and they are great, with two bathrooms and actually 3 seperate air conditioning units!!!

We managed to book the restaurants for five nights (even our last night as we had a late flight) without any problems whatsoever and the a la carte ones are fab. There is a seperate snack bar which serves real baked potatoes and they were the biggest I have seen, also a crepe place with savoury and sweet ones. Now for the best bit, the pattisserie had the most gorgeous cakes, nothing like the normal ones you get abroad and the coffees were superb too.

The bar and lounge area behind the reception is huge and the sofas and loungers are excellent. There is waiter service at the bar here and also the outdoor bars. The drinks are excellent with champagne cocktails, Smirnoff vodka and even bottles of Millers and Becks at all bars!!! (where else would you get bottles of beer, we have been to Sandals eight times and you do not even get them there).

There is an inside Ampitheatre and a seperate cinema which are great, they even set up a bar in the ampitheatre if there are any shows inside.

The courtesy room is the best I have ever seen with two showers, huge lockers, large loungers and two cupboards fully stacked with towels (although Thomas Cook have just changed the Glasgow flight times which is great for us).

This is the first review I have ever written so I must have been impressed although I must admit I was a bit wary about going in case there was anything wrong as so many of us are going next year, but now I can't wait!!!!!!

A big THANK YOU to all the staff at the Barut Lara.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank travelagent21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

This was our second time to the hotel we went the first time in July 2006. Nothing had changed, service was still excellent and so was the food! We had a Junior Suite this time (deluxe room last year) and this was great. We had special check-in with Guest Relations and were treated as VIPs! There was extras in the mini bar, maid service twice a day, fresh fruit in room daily - well worth the extra.
Weather was superb not a cloud in the sky all week. We are sure to go back again next year but won't go on a Thomas Cook plane (very cramped for my 6ft 3in husband)and seats uncomfortable!
If you go I'm sure you won't be disapponted.
Murray and Lynn Cantlay 23-30 Sept 07

Stayed: September 2007
12  Thank Dizzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.4 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
2.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#17 of 230 in Antalya
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 230 in Antalya
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#19 of 230 in Antalya
2,562 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Wings Hotel
Royal Wings Hotel
#2 of 230 in Antalya
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: £76 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing