We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 234 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our first visit to Turkey & it definitely won't be the last! This hotel was recommended to us & it didn't fail to deliver. We (my husband, myself & daughters aged 15 & 11) spent 2 weeks in the Barut Lara & really enjoyed the whole experience! We were given a one bedroomed apartment on the 3rd floor overlooking one of the hotel's smaller pools & apart from soft drinks & fresh fruit supplied each day, we were also given a bottle of champagne & chocolates on my husband's & daughter's birthday! We ate most of the time in the Divan - buffet restaurant - where the choice & quality of food was very good but we were also allowed to eat once in each of the other a la carte restaurants which you have to book in advance. We enjoyed the BBQ where you have to cook your own, the Turkish restaurant which was on the way to the beach & another which was next to the Divan where we were entertained by a very good flautist & clarinet player & a guitarist. The staff throughout the hotel were efficient, helpful & courteous & the animation team who ran the many activities, were full of energy & good fun plus rather talented when performing in the evening shows! We spent most of our time in & around the main pool where we had to turn up quite early to get a sun lounger however it was high season! When we first arrived the temperature was 39 degrees & although it took us a few days to acclimatise, we did get used to it - going indoors for lunch & sitting in the piano lounge for a couple of hours afterwards definitely helped! For the first time ever the whole family agreed that we had had a great holiday so thank you Barut Lara!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EezyIslandLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear EezyIslandLife and Family,
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you found your first stay with us comfortable and enjoyable. We will definitely share your comments with our entire staff regarding the guest service you received. We appreciate your positive thoughts towards our general facilities, dining options and the staff. Thank you so much for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for another wonderful holiday.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,786 - 1,792 of 3,688 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Best hotel we have ever stayed in, only advice I would give is that there are mosses about and you should go prepared other then that hotel food staff site everything was superb. Ok need more words, bar great beer great animation very good beach great weather excellent loved it

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greatscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear greatscot,
We would like to thank you for your stay at the Barut Lara and for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear you had such an amazing time during your stay! We cannot wait to see you again in the future!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at the Barut Lara in July. Can't praise the hotel and staff highly enough. The hotel appealed to all ages. There was lovely mix of nationalities which was great. All of the staff were friendly and helpful but we must thank you in particular to the lovely Sefika and Miray. They looked after us in the lobby bar. This hotel definitely deserves being number 1 on trip advisor.

Room Tip: We would recommend the junior suite which overlooked the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hicks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Hicks2013,
We are delighted to read you had such an amazing time during your stay at the Barut Lara. Thank you for recognising and mentiong our Sefika and Miray. We will inform them how they helped to make your stay unforgettable. We can't wait to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel from the 3rd August for 2 wks. Stayed with my husband and 3 kids (8,12,14). Emailed the hotel prior to arriving as this holiday turned out to be out honeymoon.
On arrival we were met by a lovely guest relations lady who took us to our room. We had champagne, chocolates, flowers and fruit awaiting us in a beautiful residence room. We we also told that breakfast would be delivered to our room the next morning. Really appreciate the effort the hotel went to for making our stay extra special.
We had a ground floor residence room with a lovely terrace and pool straight infront of us, stayed around the pool most days across from the pool was a lovely resturant which served breakfast lunch and evening meals, this you had to book if you wanted to eat at night. Let me say the waiters and bar staff even the chiefs that came out to serve drinks were so friendly and would have a conversation with you and kids.
Walked down to the sea most days for a couple of hours, again lovely beach and friendly service from the bar on the beach.
Cat house was lovely and they were well looked after by Ahmet who obviously cared alot about them.
Overall the hotel is amazing, my only niggle was the evening were boring! After paying over £7000 for 2 wks i expected the entertainment to be alot better. Couple of the shows were ok but it was after in the Meltam bar, their was either live music or disco!!! Both played and sang the same songs everytime. I went to lykia whos evenings was out of this world different parties excellent music faultless. If Barut to cater for families/teenagers/couples rather than 60+ then this hotel would be the best in the world, after beautiful days and lovely food the evenings are a complete letdown. The foam party was the best night out of the 2 wks. Some entertainment staff did make an effort and talk to you others would just walk past.and not even acknowledge you. Cleaners are amazing and deserve the highest mention worked really hard.
I would come back and would love to if the evenings were alittle bit more lively and appiled to all guests not just senior citizens.
2 out of our party suffered ear infections, there are chemist along the shopping malls go there! They will provide antibiotics for a fraction of the price the doctor in hotel wil charge and they speak very good english.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We knew it was going to be good from reading all the previous reviews, but were really taken aback by just how good it was. There were five of us - two adults and three teenagers and we were given an apartment overlooking one of the smaller pools on the resort. We were so lucky as being on the ground floor meant we could pop in and out of the patio doors from our room to sit by the pool or take a dip.

The cleaners were great and managed to clean even with stuff scattered everywhere and even did lovely decorative things with the bed sheets and towels.

The bar staff are all fantastic - it is table service at the bars and they manage to get round everyone at double quick speed and even remember what everyone is drinking and offer another one as soon as your glass is empty.

Wifi good - you do have to keep logging in again, but that soon becomes second nature.

The food was fantastic - the main restaurant had such a wide range there was always something for everyone (usually ended up having two plates worth as wanted to try it all!). We ate at three of the a la carte restaurants too and they were great as well - the BBQ restaurant was great fun as you choose your meat from the counter and do it yourself on a BBQ by your table. The meat was so well seasoned, it was lovely!

The evening entertainment was good too - one of the nights they have a garden party and it must take them hours to set it all up with so many tables and chairs - it looked like an outdoor wedding party with all the tablecloths ands chairs with fancy covers on them. There was a huge stage and a very good show with several different acts coming out and performing acrobatic routines and the like. Brilliant!

I could rave for hours about how good it was and I can see why so many people return year after year (sadly we can't afford a holiday like this very often, so we won't be).

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BanburyHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Having had a really bad experience staying at another hotel previously in sarigerme where our daughter was very ill, my partner finally persuaded me to lay some ghosts to rest and return to the country. After doing extensive research and reading all of the reviews on trip advisor about the Barut I thought I had found the perfect hotel and boy was I right.

We stayed at the Barut from the 1st August for two weeks and travelled as a family of three with our 7yr old daughter.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome. We had initially booked to stay in a standard room and when we went to check in we were surprised to be told that the hotel lot this would be too small for us so were giving us a free upgrade to a junior suite.
This was really appreciated , thank you.

Room

Junior suite was very spacious . It had a separate room for our daughter with a sliding door if she wanted it to be shut. The bathroom was very big and had both a walk in shower and separate bath with shower and separate toilet. This is room has got to be one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in ( we have travelled all over including the Caribbean )

Grounds
The grounds of this hotel are vast and always kept immaculately , there wasn't a day that went by without the grass being cut or gardener s dong something. It was beautiful to wander around them.

Hotel itself at the moment has 420 rooms however due to the size of the grounds and the pools you never feel squashed or over crowded. The main pool is huge and is joined by a connecting bridge and there is a shallower pool at one end which is great for less confident swimmers. There is also a small pool which has slides in which are opened at certain times. I like the fact that there was always a life guard on duty at the main pool and the one with slides and I believe the residence pool as well although. There is a golf buggy that will take you to the beach. During the first week we walked but by the second week the 45 degree heat got to us and we enjoyed this experience.

Staff

All of the staff at this hotel work exceptionally hard and nothing is too much trouble. Yes some of the staff have different levels of English but we never found this problem and somehow we always got by . All of the staff were friendly and made a fuss over our daughter. The staff are genuinely note rested in their guests and were officiant in what they done. The kids club team are great especially elsbeth and her team in the mini kids club who kept our daughter entertained. Watching our daughter acting out in the kids club show in the amphitheatre was a special moment.

One thing I will say is that if your children go to the mini disco then be prepared for the same songs every night and most of them to be in German. However by the end of it our daughter was singing in German down the microphone . Just gets a bit repetitive though .

Food

Food in the buffet restaurant is of a fairly good quality and this was my biggest worry for me when choosing hotels ( as our daughter contracted salmonella from another hotel in turkey) however I did not need to worry here. The chefs are constantly cooking and checking the food and when they see guests leaving open the lids to food they quickly respond and close them.

We also tried the BBQ restaurant where you choose your meat and cook it yourself and the tuneric which is the international. This was my favourite as the food and service were amazing.

When using the machine to book the al a cartes just remember that when yountrynto book the alkdeniz restaurant it will ask you how many children however children are only allowed if they are 12 or over . Initially when we ate at the beach restaurant for lunch we were disappointed as the service was very poor and after waiting 15 minutes to be served and after seeing other people who had come in after us get served I felt it right to have a polite word in the managers ear. This worked and we soon got served. I don't like doing this as know how hard the staff work but it was busy and the staff didnt seem to be able to cope with the demand. However this was a one off as when we returned on another coupled occasions the service was brilliant.

Sun beds

Yes you can get a subbed at any time round the grounds however it is worth noting that if you have a preferred spot then you will need to be up and out just after 8 in the morning when the pool towel bar opens and save your spot. We didnt think this happened initially but soon latched on quickly to the fact that this is no different to other all inclusive hotels. In the end I quite liked getting up and bagging a spot and watching the hotel in the piece and quiet and then slowly come to life. You would see the same people every day and in then end make conversation.

We did the thomas cook moby dick boat trip and was well worth it. A days sailing with a foam party thrown in for the children and swim stops with lunch. Made a nice change to get out and see the real turkey. W also walked to the bizarre s in Lara and supposed in sultans bizarre. We walked down in the morning which was ok but by lunch time we struggled to walk back in the 40 degree heat. You can get a taxi from the hotel which I think costs 5 euros for one way.

All in all the cleanliness of this hotel is a priority, we met some great people and had a lovely time. Now the nay other problem we have is trying to go somewhere different and finding a hotel that lives up to our experience that we had at this one. This is a luxury hotel and we would definately return again at some point.

Room Tip: We were in junior suite 2704 which was on the ground floor close to the shallow pool . Was great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were in the Barut in July for the third year in a row and once again loved every minute so much so we are booking again next year,From check in to check out they cannot do enough.Im going to start with my first negative in 3 years and it was the hotel was looking a little tired this year but that did not affect our holiday one bit.The food is first class everywhere from the snacks to the wonderful chateau Briand in the ala carte,you can eat all day so be prepared to pile on the pounds.The choice of drinks are also a big plus all good brands and no queuing its table service with brilliant staff who keep you topped up.now to the wonderful staff everyone is so friendly and attentive that nothing is too much trouble especially the animation team they work tirelessly all day to make sure you are having a great time,a big shout out for Nuri he made our holiday,we were a big group of Scottish people but we met a lot of lovely friends from all over including Belgium and Jordan hope to see them all next year.I think I'm going on a bit now but if your looking for a holiday with everything then this is it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.4 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#18 of 234 in Antalya
2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 234 in Antalya
1,022 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#17 of 234 in Antalya
2,443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Wings Hotel
Royal Wings Hotel
#2 of 234 in Antalya
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: £69 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing