We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 230 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

When I booked the hotel and noticed the décor was themed around French cinema and music, I wondered how that might work - good taste or bad? Turned out to be very good - it's clever and tasteful, the hotel is nicer than the pictures. The staff is exceptional - couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The breakfast was...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Martin,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review of our hotel. We are truly happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at the Barut Lara and found our facilities and staff interactions to your liking. We appreciate all guest feedback. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,703
    463
    147
    29
    25
See reviews for
1,605
1,172
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The first day was a nightmare, with a shock when entering the room we had booked. It looked more like a 3* hotel and the furnishing was more similar to a dorm room than a hotel. We had booked this hotel instead of others on guiding ourselves by the excellent reviews it had got on tripadvisor and booking.com...I have to say that I really do not get it why it's rated so high. Or maybe our expectations were too high, I have to admit it was the first time we were in Turkey and the previous hotel we had stayed in was a 5* in St Moritz Switzerland.
We stated our disappointment to the consierge who was very sad to hear our oppinion and asked us to give the resort a chance. The a la carte restaurants are all free for the first time you try them, so this was a good thing as we are not very push-the-tray-buffet kind of people. We tried the buffet on one evening only just to see what it was about and the food was indeed great. Also, there are a lot of things to do as the resort is huge and you could well spend one full week never doing the same thing twice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ioana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Ioana,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Barut Lara. We are glad that you found our food and extensive facilities good enough for your needs. At the same time, we are disappointed to learn that your recent stay was less than expected. We are sorry to read your comments regarding the hotel rating level. Please know that we offer a very different concept in design and hotel landscape, comparing to other hotels, but the real 5-star selection of facilities and amenities. The hotel has received a lot of recognition for achieving and maintaining the highest level of hospitality standard by the international organizations such as TUI, Thomson, Thomas Cook, Tripadvisor, HolidayCheck and many others. Our number one priority is to provide a warm and welcoming environment, and serving whatever needs our guests may have. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider us on your next visit to Antalya.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ockendon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We visited this hotel for the 5th time in September, the first time when it first opened and the 4th time in 2011 but, after our 2011 visit we thought that the food standard of quality and choice had slipped so we gave it a miss in 2012. That said we decided to give it another try this year. We have visited a good number of hotels in Lara and Belek but have always found that if we went to the Barut Lara you were assured of a very good holiday in a well run, spotlessly clean hotel, good food, fantastic entertainment staff and, this year was no exception. Reviews are always how a hotel fulfills the specific needs of the guest, couples with children will be looking for different things from an over 50 couple.

We usually travel with teenagers and have always stayed in the 2 bedroom residence. This year we were travelling as a couple so we only booked a standard room but when we got there we were given a room in the Residence - the first time we have been upgraded at any hotel in about 25 visits to this area. The 2 bedroom residence is brilliant for families with teenagers because they have their own bathroom and there is a large living area with tv and dvd. We did think that the rooms looked a little tired but they were absolutely spotless and they had all the usual toiletries. The mini bar was re-stocked every day with soft drinks and beer. The Residence has its own pool and restaurant but we never use it as we much prefer to find a spot under a tree .

The grounds of this hotel are the most spacious that we have ever been to on Lara - all the other hotels only have the width of the hotel building going down to the sea but the Barut was one of the first ones built and is the first one you come to on that strip of beach so it has so much open space that you can always find a secluded spot. We never got out until well after 11 and always had a choice of sunbeds under the trees by the slide pool, which is also near a small beach bar for drinks, toilets (also spotless) and the large pool bar.

RESTAURANT AND FOOD. As mentioned we have visited many A/I hotels on this strip and this one for the first time nearly 10 years ago and, although the food and service was still very good it had gone a little downhill - still very good but not up to the same high standard of our first few visits. They had a couple of themed nights but the food seemed nearly the same as the 'International Night' (which was 4 nights out of the 7 we were there). The food in the Delphin Palace has much more choice and is of a much higher quality. For instance, the Palace has a pasta chef on duty and you choose your ingredients and he makes your pasta while you wait. At the Barut they only had bolognaise or tomato sauce in a keep hot container and I had to complain because it was only lukewarm. No worries because in the buffet restaurant I could always find something good to eat. The wine was very good and we asked for and were given a whole bottle so we didn't have to wait for a re-fill. The cheese in the evening is sliced and laid out on trays but if you want cheese after your meal by then it has been turned over and is dry. At the Palace they have a large fridge with a chef standing besides and you point to the chees you want and he cuts it off for you. The Palace has a milk and white chocolate fountain every night whereas I didn't see one at the Barut These things may seem picky but I think I would describe the buffet in the Palace as a bit more upmarket and in keeping with a 5 star.

The service in the restaurant was very good. However, the waiters never interacted with us even though we tried to be friendly. The uniforms are a little bland and the same colour and style day in and day out. In the Palace the waiters are so smart and the uniforms are changed on a daily basis, depending on the theme night. The waiters are a lot more vibrant and interact with the guests more. The terrace at the Palace is much nicer - they have a guy playing the saxophone every night just background music but gives you a better feel when you are eating your meal.

They have a large selection of bread, rolls, jam, yogurt and fruit. They also have hot trays with sausages, scrambled egg, tomatoes etc and also chefs cooking fried eggs and omlettes. The chef making the crepes was only there a couple of times.

Lunchtime at the Barut is very good - you can visit the buffet restaurant or a restaurant overlooking the beach or the small kiosks that open at about 12 mid-day and close about 4. Here they serve pizza, jackets, crepes, fahitas, ice-cream etc. This is a nice change some days when you have had a large breakfast.

We didn't visit any alacartes as we find them a little soul-less but our previous experience was that the Barut's are better. We didn't like the Palace alacartes at all.

The international drinks at the Barut far exceeds any other hotel and you only have to ask for a specific malt whisky, tequila or Jack Daniels and they have it. I do like a Southern Comfort and this is the only A/I hotel that I have been to where they have it.

The service at the pool bar is really good and after only one night they remembered our drinks order.

Where the Barut comes out so far ahead of the Palace is the entertainment and the entertainment team. The entertainment team are visible all day long and taking charge of the various activities - darts is always so funny. The show is 9.30-10.30 and then there is live music or disco music every night at the pool bar. The entertainment team are always there dancing with guests albeit old or young or someone, like me, whose husband doesn't dance. They never slip away before the end and are always chatting to the guests. The Palace is hopeless and the entertainment and staff are mediocre at best.

You do get a lot more eastern Europeans at the Palace whereas at the Barut there are more Germans, Belgians and Dutch.

All in all we really enjoyed our holiday. The staff are all very efficient; the hotel is spotlessly clean; the food was very good; you could get a sunbed any time of the day, what more could you want.

Room Tip: If you are a family try the Residence, much more space with 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank essexworldtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear essexworldtraveller9,
Thank you so much! Taking time to write a beautiful and detailed review about your stay with us is highly appreciated. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of it, the calm and relaxing atmosphere, the spacious, clean rooms and its amenities, the spotless grounds and the pools. Thank you for appreciating our animation team's commitment and dedication. Your comparing feedback with the Delphin Palace Hotel is very helpful, since it gives us a chance and indication of where we could improve. We hope that you get to enjoy the improvements we are making this winter and decide to renew with us again next year.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We returned last week from our 6th visit to our favourite, home from home hotel. Everything was good there as usual, but there was a feeling of change. No invite to Cocktail Party, but been to them before so did not matter.

We felt the staff are a little down as not knowing what is happening while the renovation is taking place and whether they will be paid and have jobs when the hotel re-opens. All we can advise is keep all the wonderful staff as they are all a credit to the hotel. A special mention to Bakit for our games of boccia, Tan for the rifle shooting and Abdullah in the Sofa restaurant, what a funny man, we had such fun trying to say thank you in Turkish to him.

The food was very good especially the buffet when the food is cooked outside as there are a lot more choices. We went to all the a la carte's and enjoyed them all. We did laugh in the Arkdeniz as we had heard about the manager wanting people to tip the staff. We watched as people were not tipping and he moved the table further out so that people would see the box better. That did not work so he then put a candle next to it. The staff did a good job, but we did miss the old staff who were more efficient. We were not even offered coffee after the meal, such a shame.

The live music definately needs a new twist to it. Same groups who have become very boring, when it was on outside the atmosphere was much better, but putting it on in the night club was a mistake as most people will not go in.

As usual the return guests were there and it was lovely to see our friends from previous visits from Germany and Holland, also nice to make new friends.

Well hope the changes to the hotel will not be too drastic as we would hate our favourite hotel being spoilt. Looking forward to our 7th visit next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaznjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear kaznjoe,
It was our great pleasure to welcome your family again to our hotel. We deeply appreciate the time you have taken to write one more review on Tripadvisor. We strive to provide a unique and excellent experience for all of our guests. It is always important to us to know that regular guests like you are satisfied with our level of service and friendliness. Also, we deeply apologize for the incident you witnessed at the Akdeniz restaurant. Please know that we have taken your feedback very seriously and passed it on to relevant managers. Thank you again for your kind comments about our hotel, and most importantly our staff. We can't wait to see you again among our loyal guests next year.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staff here really made this place great. They fulfilled my request of a room with a view of the mountains which set the mood for the rest of the week. The room was simple but very nice and had a great large bathroom and shower. Excellent grounds and awesome water slides.

Only problem was that the buffet food would not appeal North American palates as I believe they were catering to British, German, and Russian tastes. More ethnic diverse and spicy food (Indian, SE Asian, Mexican) would be nice. The ala carte restaurants made up for that with great steaks, seafood and excellent desserts followed by drinks made with name brand alcohol (in a country with expensive booze).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kroparobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Kroparobert,
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer a review based on your Barut Lara experience. It is so nice to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us and we were able to deliver the 5-star services. We are pleased to hear that your room change request was able to be met and handled promptly and in a professional way. Please know that we have taken note of your valuable comment regarding the food variety in the main restaurant. Your feedback will be used to reconsider improvements needed. We would love to have another opportunity to host you at our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel really goes all out to make their guests happy. The staff are wonderful. The hotel is spacious and clean and lovely rooms. There are lots of restaurants ( Turkish, fish, BBQ Mediterranean + snack bars). The bars are great too with branded bottles. Pools and beach beautiful. I cannot say anything negative about this hotel. Just book it you won't be sorry. Thanks barut we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Susan,
We are pleased to read that you found your vacation with us enjoyable. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding our dedicated staff, clean and spacious rooms, pools and the dining facilities. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benfleet
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed at nearby hotels (Titanic, Sherwood Breezes, Liberty, and Delfin Palace) and I can say that this Hotel beats them all. Lovely Food and service especially Harund in the Turunc Restaurant. I will be returning!

Paul Sampson, Essex

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayerpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Paul,
We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Barut Lara. Our goal is to provide the highest level of services to encourage our guests to come back and stay with us again. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to your nex visit in the near future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
2.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#16 of 230 in Antalya
2,189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#7 of 230 in Antalya
796 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#3 of 230 in Antalya
2,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#19 of 230 in Antalya
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Property: Barut Lara
Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing