We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We chose this hotel based on other reviews. We wanted a quiet ***** resort with good food, and also comfortable rooms and WiFi.

Unfortunately there were MANY children, most under the age of 10, and they did make themselves known all around the resort.

The room was comfortable, somewhat spacious and clean. Great view of the compound and the sea.

The food was really excellent: all buffets, but also the a la carte restaurants. These are also free, but reserving is a bit of a hassle: from 09.00 until 13.00 at Customer Relations, but the line already starts at 08.30 and it takes half an hour sometimes. Also, you can only reserve for the same day or the next. We arrived on a Sunday night, so missed out on 2 nights in those restaurants.

Wines are pretty limited: "Majestic" sparkling, white, red and rosé, but most of very decent quality (only the white is 'mwah').

Great pools, but totally objectionable is that many people do the "towel reservation" thing, and then just leave. The hotel should NOT allow this, it is completely ridiculous!! Go to the Residence pool if you want quiet.

BTW: the pools are / were not heated, so the water was too cold to enjoy.

Another negative point was that the airconditioning is centrally managed, and it was too early in the season, so it was not yet switched on, even though the weather was warm. However, this seems to be the case with most of the hotels.

Three more plus points: a 24-hour cocktail bar (and with Ultra All In domestic alcoholic drinks are also free - albeit they don't really add much alcohol to the drinks), the patisserie which has excellent pies, cakes and other sweet things, and a well equipped gym.

This hotel is the first on the strip of Lara, so closest to Antalya, but it still take 45 minutes to get into town. There is a hotel shuttle, but it only goes once a day. A taxi is EUR 20 one way, but the bus (LC07) is frequent and costs only 2 Lira (EUR 0.65). It is clean and comfortable, but also busy, so prepare for a 45 minute standing room only experience.

This resort does not work with colour bracelets to identify their guests. Tip: some others do not either, for instance Titanic, so you can just walk in there and enjoy coffee, a cocktail or even a buffet ;-)

All in all a positive experience and a resort we can recommend.

Room Tip: Take a Deluxe Room with sea view, but not one 'in the middle' (for instance 1211) because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 3,750 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned having stayed a week & first experience of turkey (2adults 2 children 12 & 13). It took a couple of days to settle in but once used to it,loved it.
Stayed in junior suite ground floor pool view & loved the room (3040).
if your fussy about your hair bring your own hair drier.
Didnt realy like breakfast but not enough to put us off as plenty of food the rest of the day.
Entertainment team fantastic especially Nemo (we loved his chucky outfit)
Only gripe was our 12yr old was not allowed to join in volleyball as adults only (they took it too serious!).
You have to be an early bird to get a sun bed or reservation at the al la carte, which was a bit of a pain.Even saw an argument over beds our last day but hotel were very supportive.
5 min walk from shops which were very good.
Local bus 1 euro which was fab.
Laura market not worth the long trip as local shops much better but nice to see.
Overall fab holiday,we didnt want to come home & definately will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murdo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Murdo05,
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you found your first stay with us comfortable and enjoyable. We will definitely share your comments with our entire staff regarding the guest service you received. Thank you so much for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back in a future for another wonderful holiday.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Barut Lara is a very nice all-inclusive resort that is in the heart of a resort town. It is not in Lara, but in adjacent city. Lara is about 30 minutes away. The hotel primary caters to Germans, Dutch and English. We were told that we were the only Americans there, which is not a problem. Everyone was very nice, and most spoke English well. The staff mostly was very nice and helpful. The rooms are big and renovated. Unfortunately, their renovation was not completed when we were there, so the grounds were still not green. There was also lots of noise from the construction going on. However, they said they plan to be done with everything by May 2014. The beach was nice, but the sand was coarse and black form elements. They do not have a white-sandy beaches on this side of Turkey. So if that is what you are looking for, this is not for you. They had lots of sports-activities for adults and kids throughout the day. They also had a hamam (which was okay), 3 or 4 pools, kids' play area, clubs, shows, and lots of food. Overall, it is a very nice resort. Would come back again with kids.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice. However, if you can't sleep with noise, expect to keep your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Eugene,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback about your recent visit to the Barut Lara. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your wonderful holiday and were able to thoroughly enjoy all the hotel has to offer. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced due to construction works. We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

As a returning visitor to the hotel we were looking forward to seeing some old faces and making new friends as well as seeing the upgrade that had closed the hotel for 3 months. However old faces were sadly lacking as most of the staff and especially the entertainment team are new and lots of work was still being carried out. The upgrade was mostly to the junior suites and this time we were placed in the hotel. The room was very good with great views but we were told by "plenty" of people that their upgraded rooms were, in cases, inaccessible and incomplete. Staff who we knew were great and looked after us but the rest just didn't seem to have the same customer focus. The new animation team are quite good and they all threw themselves into keeping the guests happy.
There's a new Italian restaurant, which appears to be popular, however the queuing to book the restaurants now extends from the concierge desk to the stairs to the lower level (quite long for those who have never been before). Queuing starts any time after 8am but the desk doesn't open until 9am. They have installed some quick access computers to book your restaurants but unfortunately these were rarely on and when they were they rarely worked.
Double booking at the restaurants meant that some people were turned away when they were expecting a relaxed meal which, given that the Barut is the most expensive hotel on the strip is appalling. Having to go and get your own drinks because the waiters aren’t paying attention is also not acceptable. Also having your room cleaned when you are returning after a whole day out (up to 5pm) is crazy.
All in all it is clear that the hotel re-opened too soon. Currently they are under staffed and under pressure, systems aren’t working and a lot of the regular returning guests, including myself feel it is time to try somewhere else rather than return again……pity….sometimes the speed bumps take their toll.....this time around I'm sorry Barut but you dedlivered 3 stars rather than the 5 I'm used to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It is a great resort for the price. I paid USD277 for a double room facing pools and sea, all inclusive. I could not believe, even the alcohol is included and the quality of drinks is reasonably good.

Building and rooms are basic and minimalist. Lack of taste is evident. Workman ship in not that great. But Barut shines when it comes to service and quality of food and drinks.

Lovely beach. Huge, beautiful pools with bars scattered around the whole resort.

Daily activities keep you engaged the whole day. Night club is a great place to go after dinner. A very family like atmoshpere.

Don't miss the a la carte dinners in one of the many restaurants. You need to book your resturant (which is included in the price) at guest relations from 9:00 am to 12 noon. I would suggest you line up before the guest relations at 8:45 am. You can't do this over the phone. You have to be physically present to make these reservations. There are two touch screens on both sides of guest relations where you can make the booking yourself, but they did not work for the three days I stayed there and customers were frustrated. You could also book an la carte breakfast in the sofa resturant, which is the same breakfast as in the main Divan buffet resturant, but it is nice to having breakfast served to you on your table.

Over all it was one of the best resort experience I had.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Qamar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Qamar A,
We highly appreciate your time you have taken to write a review about your stay. Barut Lara. We are proud that we were able to satisfy you with the service you have received. Please know that all guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore your concern regarding the A la carte booking has been shared with the management team. We hope you will consider visiting us again during your next visit to Turkey.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel is the best I've ever stayed in, amazing service from the moment we arrived until we left. We ate out in the a la carte restaurants 4 times during our stay and the food was definitely of high standard, our only complaint was that a lot of things happening at the hotel was geared towards the German tourist, the films and sports. Wouldn't stop us going back! Fab hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Linda,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Barut Lara. We were happy to read that we were able to provide you with an exceptional service and exceed your highest expectations. Please know that our hotel is committed to providing all our guests with comfortable and friendly accommodations. We definitely don't treat different guests differently, or grant preferential treatment to, any individual or group on the basis of ethnicity, or national origin. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We haven't even left to come home but wanted to say how amazing this holiday has been. I came alone with my two young children and can honestly say this is the best hotel we have stayed in. Its not as grand as other 5* hotels in this area but the staff and service make this far superior! You could not wish for more attentive staff- they really do go out of their way to look after you and make your holiday special. The Turkish a la carte that we dined in tonight was made extra special by the fantastic staff. We don't want this holiday to end! The kids club has enabled me to relax, knowing that my child is not only safe but having a fabulous time with staff who really care about the children. They all work so hard to make their holiday makers happy. We will be returning...........

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear SPester,
Thank you for your stay at the Barut Lara and your time you have taken to post such an amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with your accommodations, and of your positive experience with our staff. Thank you for such inspiring words which has further encouraged our entire team to provide enhanced services to all our esteemed guests. We hope to host your family on many more occasions as you come back to Antalya and Barut Lara.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.4 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#18 of 235 in Antalya
2,685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 235 in Antalya
1,072 reviews
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Antalya
10.3 mi away
Rixos Downtown Antalya
Rixos Downtown Antalya
#15 of 235 in Antalya
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: £55 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Southall Travel, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing