We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday......just a few negatives already mentioned by other reviewers”
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 230 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday......just a few negatives already mentioned by other reviewers”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 18th - 29th July. We chose it because of the great reviews and the number of guests who choose to return every year. We found the hotel to be very lively with lots of entertainment available every day and night and it's true that the animation team work very hard and they are exceptional - a special mention to Nemo who is full of fun and all the team for encouraging guests from all age groups to join in the fun all day and enjoy dancing every night at the pool bar.
Restaurants: food was very good and varied at the divan (dont forget to take a look outside on the terrace as the chefs were also cooking some very good dishes every night) We tried 4 of the a la carte restaurants and enjoyed them all but went back for another visit to the Asian as it was so good.
I agree with a previous reviewer that service at these restaurants was inconsistent - some staff being excellent and others not. Taking plates away while other people at the table were still eating is a definite no-no. We sometimes felt rushed and attracting a waiters attention was very difficult sometimes.
The room was good with a nice comfy bed and quiet for sleeping. We were in the annex around the small pool which was nice.
We are animal - lovers so it was lovely to see the cats wandering around and we visited the cat house too - well over 40 cats all looking very well cared for - great! We also had a walk around the beautiful gardens at night and saw some very big (and very fast!) hedgehogs. There was also an owl sat on top of the owl box during the day.
A couple of negatives:
Hotel rules....what rules?? I understand that the management do not wish to have loads of petty rules spoiling guests holidays but there were notices everywhere around the pool and even in the rooms about not reserving the sun beds, this was not consistently enforced so was ignored.The better ones were reserved every morning by 7.30-8am.
Dressing for dinner: again lots of notices asking guests to dress smartly (ie no shorts or pool wear at dinner) this also was ignored every night in the divan and sometimes even in the a la carte restaurants and never challenged. This is a shame in a five star hotel - we have stayed at hotels where a person (usually a lady with a charismatic personality!) would meet guests as they came into dinner to chat and she would comment on how smart - usually the man - was dressed. The ladies usually love to dress up for dinner so no problems there. If shorts were worn she would very politely ask that longer trousers be worn the following evening - and it worked!
All in all we had a great time- especially our teenage daughter who met and spent a lot of her time with new friends of all nationalities- she would love to return next year.
As a previous reviewer said - was it a great hotel? - yes. Was it the best we have stayed in for service/food/atmosphere?-no. Would we visit again ? - we could probably be persuaded by our daughter!
If you have booked a holiday at this hotel please don't be put off by any of the negatives I have pointed out - there are so many good things here too -enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sl0traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience while staying with us at Barut LARA Hotel.

We do appreciate your positive and negative feedbacks and we continue to strive to improve our standard of service at all times.

Your comments have been shared with our team members accordingly and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With Kind regards,
CRM, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,703
    463
    147
    29
    25
See reviews for
1,605
1,172
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went on July 17th. This was our first time to this hotel. We have been many times to Turkey over the last 20 years. We found the hotel Excelent the staff were very helpful. The rooms are amazing ours was in the main hotel. The higher you are the better views. After 5 days our son and family came out boys ages were 11 and 14. They had a marvellous time. They had a family room which was excelent. The specialised restaurants were very good. The birthday package was well worth the money. You have to book up in advance though so you get a restaurant of your choice.
The beach was small pebbles shingle so we couldn't walk a long the sea edge as you just sunk in. The gardens you walk through to the beach are beautiful. You can get a lift to the beach by an extended golf cart.

Room Tip: Higher the floor and ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumpking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback on Tripadvisor. Every positive feedback motivates us more to provide an excellent service to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome. It was a pleasure for us to read your summary about your holiday. It would be great to welcome you again at Barut LARA where you can enjoy another fantastic stay.

Kind Regards,
CRM, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I'll start by saying that I have never felt the need to write a review before.

We returned yesterday from the Barut Lara Hotel. We are a family of 4 (2 kids, aged 13 and 10). We have been to lots of 5* hotels with our kids over the years (although not all inclusive): including Pine Cliffs Algarve, Sani Suites and Meridien Limassol and I can genuinely say that, although not the most ultra-luxurious, for a family holiday with the best accommodation options, customer service, animation team, excellent food and facilities (for both adults and kids), this would be very hard to beat!

For anyone considering booking, here are some tips!
(1) Turenc is a great restaurant for lunch & dinner and a quiet place to go for breakfast
(2) Sandals by the beach - lovely for lunch
(3) Book a Beach Pavilion at guest services - a MUST!
(4) If you are fussy where your sunbed is... accept that you'll need to be down to the beds by 8ish - save your energy and don't moan..... all hotels are the same!
(5) The buffet restaurant is excellent and there is plenty of choice. If you arrive and accept that you might not be able to book the a la carte restaurants for the first 2 days, you'll save yourself a lot of stress. i.e on your first day, book for day 3. All of the a la carte restaurants are great and you will never think you are in an all inclusive!
(6) Great activities to try: Bocca (Boules), air rifle shooting, aqua aerobics, squash, water sports on the beach (take the golf buggy down to save your feet!)
(7) If you are a family, make sure you book a Residence or 2 bed family suite. And if you like it quiet, request a room overlooking small pool by Turenc restaurant.
(8) Try a show.. they are of a high standard and the kids love them
(9) Go to the the Wednesday night funfare... its brilliant and there are fireworks too!
(10) Chill out on a deck chair or hammock in grounds with a cold drink

Something for everyone - We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank chaochaobyebye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Barut LARA and for your very thoughtful feedback. We are very glad to read that our service from your arrival till your departure has been pleasant. Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future to make your next visit unforgetable again.

Best Regards,
CRM, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

just arrived back from a fantastic holiday - the staff were amazing, from house keeping, to waiters, the gardeners, the bar staff and not forgetting the animation team. They all work incredibly long hours and very hard to ensure your holiday is great. Although i am not normally one to join in the activities, I couldn't miss out on water gym every morning, it was a treat!!!

After reading trip advisor comments before we went, I found booking the restaurants a breeze. We simply went to reception at 12 and managed to book into each restaurant whilst we were there. There was 8 in our party and we simply went together and did it at the same time or if on the occasion we struggled to get in together, we went to guest relations the next day who generally sorted out a restaurant for us.

During your stay book a Pavilion, we did - twice. We went for number 1 because it was nearest the bar and the WC. (although it would benefit from a safe and a mini fridge)

Some areas where the hotel could improve -

The pier and beach are a let down - they are absolutely beautiful but they do not cater for those that want to spend their day there. On my first day I could not believe my luck at getting a prime spot on the pier at 10 o'clock in the morning. The reason for this became quickly clear - the lack of facilities. No drinks anywhere to be found (apart from a bar which is quite a long walk away) Barut should take a leaf out of other hotels in the area and provide big fridges full of soft drinks and water on the entrances to the beach and the pier. It would also have been nice to have someone bringing drinks along throughout the day (like they do around the pool) I asked my children which hotel they prefer between this one and the voyage belek and Barut lost out because of this, so it does make a difference.

The sun bed situation is the same as every hotel I have ever stayed in. I wish someone could invent a way of stopping people from reserving sun loungers and then never returning to them until the afternoon. we were two families that went together and after meeting another family we had to get up very early to reserve our loungers. Between us we managed this everyday (taking it in turns and never reserving all the beds we needed); at all times there was at least two members of our party on them, unlike other beds around the pool. I must add there were always sunbeds on the beach and around the kids pool.

There are so many great things that i could say about this hotel,but after reading lots and lots of posts before visiting, I feel they would be unnecessary. If you have booked this hotel then you are in for a treat, if you are still undecided then take a risk you will have a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizardHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback on Tripadvisor. Every positive feedback motivates us more to provide an excellent service to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome. It was a pleasure for us to read your summary about your holiday. It would be great to welcome you again at Barut LARA where you can enjoy another fantastic stay.

Kind Regards,
CRM, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife, 2 sons (5+3) and I visited the Barut Lara Hotel in July 2014 for a 7 day holiday. Overall the holiday was fantastic, sunny weather every day, fantastic pools and, most importantly, an absolutely amazing kids club.

To start with the kids club, you're always nervous leaving small children in the hands of people you don't really know. Rest assured however, the staff at the kids club are amazing! Personally I can't imagine anything worse than taking care of 20+ small children (4-8 yrs) in the 35+ degree heat for 3 hours on the trot, but the staff of the kids club were so genuinely happy to play with the kids that they (and we) felt instantly comfortable.

The club has two sessions per day, 10.30 to 1 and then 14.00 to 17.30. At 20.30 they have an end of day kids disco for 30 mins or so. They run on a 2 week event cycle, so each session has something different to do. Our kids particularly enjoyed the t-shirt painting and banana boat rides!

Moving onto other elements of the stay, the rooms are nice but I would have preferred them to be a bit bigger. We had what was essentially a double room with 2 roll in beds for the kids. The hotel do offer bigger suites so this was my fault for not paying a little more, rather than a problem with the room itself. The room air conditioning is good (and essential!) - note that it doesn't work unless all the balcony doors are shut AND locked. The room also has free wifi which was easily equivalent speed to that which we have at home. As mentioned though, when booking a room this size don't expect privacy from the kids!

The food was good when you consider that they are catering for a cast of thousands. One minor gripe however is that there are very few spaces for a la carte dining, so these are hotly contested. The booking system is, frankly, rubbish so if you want to eat a la carte make sure you get up extremely early, or stay up past midnight to book for the next "slot". Given you can only book 3 days in advance, don't expect to eat a la carte in your first 3 days! Whilst we felt a little aggrieved about this at first, after going to all the restaurants we realized the buffet was just as good an option anyway!

One other point to mention about dining which we didn't know until arriving, the hotel requests that male guests wear trousers to all dinners. Whilst this policy doesn't seem to be enforced, you should make sure you bring "decent" clothes along (i.e smart shorts etc) to dine in. Many of the women quests whilst we were staying seemed to have brought every fancy dress they owned - so be warned if you don't want to look like the scruffy neighbor! :)

Finally, the other minor gripe was the sunbed "booking" which was rife despite the hotel saying that this wasn't allowed. My wife is an early riser so she was getting up at 7am to head to the pool to get some sunbeds booked, when the hotel is fully booked you should expect fierce competition for the sunbeds.

So a couple of minor gripes but, to reiterate, we had an amazing holiday and the staff at the kids club are sensational. I left the hotel feeling genuinely annoyed that I didn't have enough cash on hand to tip these people the way they deserved!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanM1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you were treated with a high service throughout the entirety of your stay. It was a real pleasure to host you.
We are looking forward to welcome you very soon.

With Kind regards,
CRM, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just returned from the Barut Lara - a family of 4 with teenage children. Lovely holiday with just the right amount of entertainment and nobody bothering you if you didn't want them to. There's lots to do but the team really know how to give you an enjoyable holiday. We tried all of the a la carte restaurants and they were all good. The buffet restaurant is good too and none of us were ill - a plus. Hot, relaxation for the duration. People complain about the distance to the beach but honestly it is a ten minute walk and there is a constant shuttle bus. The peace is lovely there as the pool is a bit crowded. Short transfer, branded alcohol, good food, beautiful grounds, nice rooms - what is there not to like?

Room Tip: Very quiet rooms near back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback on Tripadvisor. Every positive feedback motivates us more to provide an excellent service to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome. It was a pleasure for us to read your summary about your holiday. It would be great to welcome you again at Barut LARA where you can enjoy another fantastic stay.

Kind Regards,
CRM, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just got back from a ten day stay at the Barut Hotel, this is our first time in Turkey and we could not of made a better choice of hotel. Firstly the place itself is truly spectacular with one of the best private beaches we have ever seen, secondly the service in the hotel is second to none. The staff are very attentive with nothing you ask them to be too much trouble, the food was excellent with a very varied choice. The entertainment in the hotel is some of the best we have seen and again very varied. So to sum up great hotel, great food, great entertainment & yes we will be booking again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gregory family G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you were treated with a high service throughout the entirety of your stay. It was a real pleasure to host you.
We are looking forward to welcome you very soon.

With Kind regards,
CRM, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
2.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#16 of 230 in Antalya
2,192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#7 of 230 in Antalya
796 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#3 of 230 in Antalya
2,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#19 of 230 in Antalya
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Property: Barut Lara
Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing