We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had visited before and not discounted Turkey”
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 228 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wish I had visited before and not discounted Turkey”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Just returned from a two week stay with our 12 year old daughter and another couple of families. We were all sceptical of Turkey after having had a fab holiday in St Lucia and talk of very hot temps. We all agreed that the Barut was a fab option. We were upgraded to a junior suite but the standard rooms are of a high standard. Our room had plenty of room for the three of us and was beautifully presented and cleaned. Our maid was lovely and friendly making a swan from the towels which pleased my daughter. The choice of restaurants was great. Unlike other reviewers we did not enjoy the BBQ as we went on a very humid night. Loved the med and turkish restaurants but the main buffet was excellent and the various themed nights kept it from getting boring. The pattisserie was a good idea but a cappucino and cake everyday did nothing for our waistline.The entertainment was great and the animation team really seemed to care that you were enjoying yourself. All the adults loved Bekker while all the girls loved Bonas, Blondie and Leo. The Pool bar was excellent. The staff friendly and service excellent. My only minor complaint was the cocktails were very sweet and would have liked a proper cocktail list.
The watersports were good and the trip they took us on to the waterfall and caves on my birthday was good value. The guy who ran the teenage club seemed great fun and was obviously loved by the many teenagers from all over europe. Can't wait to revisit when my daughter is older and will join in. The daily pool games were hilarious but not in your face and we never felt intimidated or pressured to join in. The photos do not do this place justice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tinkerbell48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,616
    451
    144
    27
    23
See reviews for
1,541
1,143
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel with our two teenage sons for 10 nights in July 2009.

It really is an absolutely fabulous hotel both from a facilities and staff perspective. It is also only around 20 minutes from Antalya airport which was a bonus. We stayed all-inclusive and it was the 1st time that everything really was all-inclusive. Check out the 360 degree virtual tour on the hotels website as it will give excellent overview of the facilities.

http://www.baruthotels.com.tr/360/lara/en.html

Food was availbable from 06:30 until 01:00 if you wanted it. There are a number of restaurants available. Two which provide themed food nights (quality and choice was excellent) and five a la carte restuarants which are bookable up to three days in advance (including a turkish, seafood and BBQ). The a la carte restaurants were included in the all inclusive package.

The enternatinment / animation team were superb. They ensured that there were plenty of activities during the day to particpate in if you chose but they were not obtrusive if you wanted a quiet time. The Kids Club was also excellent. The evening entertainment consisted of a one hour show and band/disco until midnight. The shows were either performed by the animation team themselves or a vistiting pro-am act. The shows were extermely professional and great fun.

The hotel staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them.

We came to this hotel mainly due to feedback from tripadvisor reviews and we fully endorse everything everyone has said about it. We will definately be visiting this hotel again without doubt.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MegTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We've just came from an excellent week at Barut Lara and I decided to post an advise at the first time here because I have chosen this hotel based on other comments.
Fisrt of all, I would say that what said here about the hotel is definetively true. Eventhough it might be repetition of other reviews, I will give my comments.

Reception - We did not have to wait to check in and check out and people were frindly and spoke fairly good english.

Room - We've gotten a deluxe standard room with full sea view according to our booking. We traveled with our little daughter and a crib had already been put in the room besides a big and confortable double bed. The space was very good despite being a standard room. We had TV, DVD player, stereo, mini-bar refilled once a day, sofa, desk, etc. Very nice decoration, sometimes with sprinkled rose petals on the bed. The bathroom had shower/bath stile toiletries refilled everyday, hair-dryer. The toilet was separated from the shower/bath. we had a big guarddrobe with more than enough space for our clothes and shoes. A safe was also available. There was a big and very nice terrace from where we had a wonderful view of the sea, pools and gardens. It had a table and chairs. We were on the fifth floor and had some noise at night from the activities on the pool bar and amphi-teatre as well as the other hotel besides, but all of us could sleep well eventhough.

Food - Buffet with good variety of food. Very good fish. Always had lamb, grilled chiken and turkey as an option for lunch or dinner. Very friendly staff who brought your drinks without you asking for it, they learn what you like most on the first and second day. The deserts were fantistic, we loved the the turkish ones and we've easily transformed then into some extra kilos on our body. There were like 5 restaurants for dinner, that we could book one day before. my favorite were fish restaurant and international restaurant.

Bars - The bars had always several staffs and we never had to wait more than a minute to order our drinks.There we could find national and international brands. Our preferred bar was the one from the lobby, where we used to go after lunch for some coffee, whisky and conhaque and played card. When we got to the table the waitress used to come with our preferred drinks without we order than - a very nice treatment.

Pools - very good options for adults, teens and little ones. We used to stay by the pool for llitle kids wich was very near the big pool, so we used both most of the time. There were two inside pools with sea water. we regreted that the water was salt but used it mainly when it was middle of the day and very hot outside. Fresh towels were provided everyday.

Cleaness - it was a spotless hotel. very clean and organized.

Weather - it was warm, but very much enjoyable sunny days. We avoided to be out on the middle of the day and always used sunblockers when outside during the day. Inside the hotel we had aircondioned almost everywhere. Therefore the warm temperatures were not a problem at all.

Courtesy room- we had a late flight on the day when we checked out. After check out we could use the hotel facilities like pools, saunas, restaurant, etc and the coutesy room where we could keep our belongings, had shower before leaving the hotel. There were towels available free of charge. negative side was that the air condition did not work well, but since we did not stay long time there, it was not big problem.

Well, there is a lot more to comment about Barut Lara like beach, entertainment activities, animation, etc, but I hope that waht i wrote will help you to make your choice when going to Antalya.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheTravellerMalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Hello all, our 3rd trip in a row and in our opinion,still the best on the beach by some distance.
Some changes have been made though. The shows are now mainly done by the animation team,still with their usual amazing enthusiasm. We were there 2 weeks and only saw 2 outside shows each week.
They have also lost Khan and Elvira from the animation team,in our opinion,and a few others,the new chief animator,Osman,has some way to go to match Khan. Perhaps more time in the job will help him find his feet,Khan is a hard act to follow.
Other than that,food,staff,weather,cleanliness etc all up to the standard we have come to expect from Barut Hotels,can only hope their prices don't rise too much before next year !!!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bumboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Visited the Lara Beach in June this year.The hotel is the cleanest I have ever stayed at and all the staff are lovely and friendly.The queue to book the a la carte restaurants was never more than three people.The BBQ is a great idea,the tables are beautifully set outside overlooking the beach,you choose your own food and then cook it yourself on your own BBQ.Tried all the restaurants,they are all good.The main buffet restaurant has themed evenings,ice creams are available for everyone and cakes in the afternoon.
Tried the spa,it was amazing,but not cheap.The entertainment team are great,very friendly,by the end of the holiday they know all your names.Thanks ZaZa,Blondie,Bonus and everyone else for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthportKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I stayed here for a week and instantly I was blown away by the hotel and it's sheer grandeur. We were greeted by porters and extremely friendly check in staff who upgraded us free of charge into a family suite.

Our suite had a mini bar free of charge, which was restocked daily with alcoholic beverages, juice, fizzy drinks and water. Every morning we were given a fresh bowl of fruit which was a lovely touch. The bathrooms (2) had a shower/bath, toilet, hair-dryer, and toiletries restocked daily such as hand cream, shampoo + conditioner and shower gel. They also provided nail files, shower caps, cotton wool buds and fresh towels changed every day. Room service was extremely efficient, often coming up to 3 times a day (!) and our lady was so sweet. They gave us chocolates on the pillows everyday (we had nearly 30!) and they sprinkled rose petals too! We were on the ground floor with a wide terrace, a table and chairs and a sun lounger, which meant going to the pool it over looked was a very quick journey of less than 10 metres. The air-con was a god-send!

Food/drink; There was so much choice for food during the day and the evening it took us a good 3 or 4 days to get our portion sizes right! The buffet style restaurant was excellent - both at breakfast and in the evening. There was plenty of seating inside (air con) or outside on a very pleasant terrace overlooking the pool and the setting sun over the mountains. Each night was a different theme such as; Chinese, French, Italian, Sea food. However, there were so many dishes available that there was definitely something for everyone. The desserts were something else- the choices were never ending! My personal faves were the baskets made of chocolate with mousse inside or the baklava towers. We ate at the Turkish Restaurant during our stay which was excellent. A great drink we found was the bitter lemon, which went down a treat during the heat of the day!
At night a popular place to have a tipple was in the pool side bar where it had karaoke or dancing some nights. Another popular place was the 24 hour bar which was very classy with its terrace over looking the resort and general grandeur yet it was still very friendly and laid-back. Bowls of nuts were provided for each table and each bar, which was nice.

The pools and the beach were just great. There were 6 or so pools including baby pools and a pool with numerous slides both for children and adults, which provided hours of fun - even for those just watching. The beach was understandably very hot during the day but the private pier full of bean bags and sun loungers was an excellent place to catch a breeze to cool down. From it you could also see the mountains which were very picturesque. The sea was clear with fish to spot under the pier. There was pedalos, jet skis and numerous other activities you could partake in. At night the pier was a lovely place to relax after having eating too much at the buffet! The general landscaping, pathways, trees etc were all well kept and looked after. There were lots of cats and kittens around which everyone seemed to love! We also saw a tortoise and my dad saw some toads at night.

The staff were all so tentative to everybody’s needs! At the buffet they became familiar with us and knew our orders before we gave them. The staff were always having fun, whilst being professional, pulling practical jokes, making everyone laugh and were extremely efficient. They were constantly walking around checking everyone was okay and making general conversation which was lovely to see and be part of. We often found ourselves comparing the service at the Barut Lara to that back in England - which was a depressing thought!

Other guests- The other guests were very friendly and respectful. We had numerous conversations with a lovely Dutch couple, 2 English couples, a Scottish couple and some young Swedish boys (who spoke better English than us!) as they thought my dad looked like the Swedish comedian Lasse Aberg.

I honestly don't know where to begin with praising the Barut lara hotel as the whole experience was just superb - from the airport transfer, the rooms, the food, the staff and the general atmosphere. It was excellent. I’d go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ell_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I stayed for 4 nights with a friend. Great holiday resort.
Room was great, (but we didn't use it a lot) - we spent most of the time at the spa, the beach, and the restaurants.
I advise booking reservations the different alacart restaurants when you arrive (free - from the lobby desk).
Best restaurant is the BBQ restaurant (great experience - you bbq the meat by yourselves).
Staff are loverly (specially in the lobby bar).
Like it says on the tin - 5 star hotel, all inclusive: minibar with drinks - free, all drinks at the bars - free, restaurants free.
The only expense was the Hamam massage at the SPA (35 Euro per person) - MUST HAVE (its amazing!).
Enjoyed every moment. Gained 4 kilos in weight.

Great holiday resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UpAndUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
2.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#15 of 228 in Antalya
2,112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
1.3 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#18 of 228 in Antalya
2,375 reviews
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 228 in Antalya
734 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#2 of 228 in Antalya
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Property: Barut Lara
Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing