We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort”
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 228 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Outstanding Resort”
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed at the Lara Barut Spa Hotel on the last night of a seven night self-drive tour from Izmir to Antalya, Turkey. We chose Lara because it was easy to book on Expedia and because of its 10-15 minute proximity to the Antalya airport. [Note: Lara’s website would only take a 2-night booking, Expedia gave us the 1-night option]. It took us two tries to find the hotel entrance because the municipality is constructing a new exchange. I suppose most people staying a week arrive by shuttle bus and do not have this problem. The next morning the Upon arrival, the Lara had our reservation and greeted us warmly.

The hotel is almost entirely all-inclusive. valet parking, drinks, mini bar, dinner, breakfast, beach lounges, beach towels, in room cable connected internet, and many activities. There is a separate fee for tours, special spa treatments, and some activities that have more expensive equipment.

The staff was generally friendly and helpful without hustle. There was a warmth about them that removed any sense of stuffy, snooty, or white glove. The only non-friendly exchanges were related to getting drinks at the beach and pool. I suppose those staffers may get a bit tired of constant drink drink drink [they probably pour 500 drinks an hour].

The Lara upgraded our room to an deluxe with ocean view so we are unable to comment on the standard room. Our room was spotless clean and modern. The Bathroom was especially modern with a lovely decorator sink, smoked glass dividers, good soap, and shampoo amenities, and very soft fluffy towels. We had good night’s sleep on the comfortable king sized bed. The room did get a bit warm, but we were too tired to search for a thermostat. We heard no band or disco music. The room and bathroom definitely had enough style and amenities to just make it into the 5-Star range.
Dinner [included in the price] was an awesome buffet of salads, main courses, breads, and deserts, The food was tasty, but lacked the deep seasonings of a master Chef. The wine steward keeps you glass full with an inexpensive label grown in Izmir. Most guests arrive to the buffet between 1900 and 1930. By 2100 the dining area is fairly empty [and out of a few popular dishes]. The Lara clientele this week were definitely not late continental dinner types. Guests staying more than one night have the choice of eating in specialty ala-carte restaurants to experience different foods. Bookings have to be made that morning.

After dinner we thought to try the wellness center, but it had closed at 2000 and was unavailable. We noticed wireless in the lobby, but elected instead to plug into the outlet in the room [bring an internet cable].

Breakfast is advertised to start at 0700. We needed to leave early and found a good bit of buffet up and going at 0630. The breakfast buffet is equally as expansive as the one at dinner.


The staff spoke good English and we had no trouble understanding or being understood anywhere on the property.

If we were going back to Turkey for a beach holiday, we would definitely stay at the Lara once again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,616
    451
    144
    27
    23
See reviews for
1,541
1,143
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Just got back from 2 weeks at this hotel, great hotel very friendly staff from the reception staff, cleaners, bar staff, restaurant staff all very helpful and polite. Rooms very large and modern, all mod cons and well stocked mini bar. Pools were a good size but there was a tustle for the sun beds (like every hotel!). Indoor pool very salty, free internet usage in the lobby, daily cakes ice cream, pool side drinks be prepared to be spolit and to put on weight!
Kids club was good and kept my 8 year old occupied, as did the mini disco every night. Animation team were very friendly and did try with the shows but were a bit hit and miss, the acrobat shows were amazing though and the turkish dancers were excellent.
My only 2 minor criticisms were the food was bit repetitive over 2 weeks and some nights wasn't the best in quality, particularly the meat and the location isn't great, in the middle of nowhere, 15 mins to the nearest town, 25 mins to Antalya, but if you are happy to stay in the hotel then it's fine and there is a lot to do, water sports, cinema, etc

I am being pestered to book for next year by my family, and I have to say after staying in 5 star hotels all over Turkey for the last 15 years, this has been the best so far, you won't be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lincolngirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Wonderfull place! Food, territory, rooms, pools, beach - everything were good! Animation team was great. Staff are so nice) It was like a dream.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afinskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed here from April 27th for 2 weeks this was our second time at the barut this time my mother in law and sister in law accompanied us and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves so much so we were hopping for a ash cloud delay, i am usually ready for home by the end of the two weeks but can honestly say i could so easily have stayed here for longer and on return to England have really missed not being there my brother and sister in-law are there at present and I'm so envious,this hotel is that good it has that effect on you. We have just booked to go back in October our 3rd time in a year and can not wait to return, the only problem is it is getting expensive the tour operators reduce the price of other hotels in this area but seem to increase this ones prices, when you are out and about in Lara all the other hotels look very nice and probably are but you are spoilt so much here you just have to return again and again even the locals rate it the best in Lara, because of the price to go in October £1250 each we checked out their other hotel the Hemera in Side but the rooms did not look as nice or as large and a few other minor things made our minds up for us. You may think I'm biased and i probably am but my wife and myself have been holidaying for over 20 years now Turkey being our favorite destination ( 15 or more times now ) and now as we are getting older and prefer to be pampered we tend to go all inclusive and this is by far the best we have ever been to by a long way.When we went for the first time last November it was our 34th Wedding anniversary and we got upgraded from a standard room to a junior suite we got champagne on the day of our anniversary and a card, this year it was my birthday and i got the same treats on the day its these little touches you come to appreciate I will try and give as honest an account as i can of different aspects of this truly fabulous hotel.
Check in / Reception. is trouble free even late at night, the staff at check in speak good English and you are dealt with quickly the lobby just like the rest of the hotel is spotlessly clean. If you need help during your stay they are very helpful and as they all have name tags ( all staff in hotel do ) you know who you are talking to by the side of the check in desk is the computer room with i think either 5 or 6 computers and all are free to use, one word of warning though the key board is not configured the same as a qwerty key board and take some getting used to. Guest relations are next to the reception desk and they are very pleasant.
Rooms..... We had room 1418 and i will be E-Mailing the hotel to request the same on our return it is a very good size and gets the sun on it in the afternoon our room had a 32 inch LCD TV well stocked (free) fridge you have a choice of about 8 different pillows to choose from and the beds are very comfortable there is also a socket for you to plug your laptop into if you take one on holiday, Maids are efficient and pleasant.
Food / Drink..... Is excellent such a wide variety and selection from fresh salmon to all types of meats and all the usual fare, i used to get myself a soup bowl and make my own prawn cocktail the sweet and sour was excellent as was the kebabs, for breakfast you could have free champagne and orange i think it's called a bucks fizz i used to just stick to the free fresh orange there was porridge and all kinds of salads, honey, vegetarian food, the cakes and strawberries and cream are to die for the waiters are very efficient. there is a patisserie with about 6 types of ice cream, gateaux, cheesecakes the list goes on, you can have coffee late or cappuccino,be warned you will put on weight. there are a number of a la carte restaurants all free, you have to book the day before but is not a problem and all are very good. The drinks are very good all kinds of international drinks, efes, efes light, and efes dark, champagne proper brands of coke etc.
Lounge Bar.... the lounge has had a welcome face lift since last year and is better for it the service is excellent , waiter service and very efficient too and they are all very polite its amusing to watch the female staff rearranging the cushions to great detail so as it looks tidy at all times as it gets warmer the entertainment moves outside as do the waiters/waitresses.
Pool Animation..... The main pool is huge there is also a pool by the residence/ suits, a pool with slides and a children's pool with canopy to shade them from the sun, we had no problem getting a sun bed. the sea/ beach has a blue flag award. Now the best part, the animation team. They are excellent every one of them from the two nutters Bonus and Lado to Bakit and Arzu , Blondie the chief animator to fade who looked after the teenagers, there are too many to mention but all are excellent and we can't wait to see them again in October, they put on some excellent shows and practice until the early hours to get it right.
There are so many more excellent points about this hotel to list all i can really say is go you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank brilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

This was our third visit and its still as good as ever.The food selection might have been less than previous years but it is still very good.The A la Carte restaraunts are eccellent particularly the Turkish one.The entertainment was of a high standard and the Mongolia gymnasts were breathtaking.The team of animators worked hard to keep everyone entertained day and night Alton ? and our great friend Bakit on bochia.While there is plenty to do in the spacious grounds of the hotel there is little outside with only shopping malls to visit.The pavement leading to these was under construction whilst we were there and was rather hazerdous.Overall a wonderful holiday and we look forward to visiting again next year.
David & Kath from Southport

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Had an amazing week at this lovely hotel. Amazingly clean and well maintained with an army of employees catering to every need.
Particularly good for young families. The big residence was big enough to comfortably accomodate our 3 kids, all under 3 years old and was oned of the only resorts we found this was possible.
Food was beautiful without exception and not at all repetative, although maybe 2 weeks may become so. Desserts were a little dissapointing as no real cream due to the heat I think, but to be expected.
Pools were lovely, a bit of a struggle with sun beds being towelled up very early and not used until later - but thats usual.
Staff made the hotel for us and we will be returning next year if we can afford it!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank montygommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We have just returned from a week at the Barut Lara and it was excellent on all friends. We are all fortysomethings and if I can say all pretty well travelled and discerning. A week of rest and sun in a decent hotel with all inclusive was our request. This was our first all inclusive experience and certainly the food and drinks (wine awful throughout Turkey in my opinion so stayed clear) were all of a very good quality. Excellent animation team and could not fault anything..truly nothing at all.

We ventured out one day on a boat trip which we booked through the holiday representative. The trip was excellent BUT the coach journey to the port was awful. A word of warning. We were told 45 minutes an hour tops. The journey took two hours and 35 minutes! We left at 8am so were at least able to have a full day out at sea but be prepared for the coach journey. Everyone complained about the lack of transparency form the Thomson and Thomas Cook reps and this was our only gripe.

Would fully recommend hotel and resort for couples, families, disabled wheelchair bound elderly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casmanx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
2.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#16 of 228 in Antalya
2,113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
1.3 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#18 of 228 in Antalya
2,376 reviews
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 228 in Antalya
734 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#2 of 228 in Antalya
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Property: Barut Lara
Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing