We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but little boring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Bello Hotel Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 232 Hotels in Antalya
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent, but little boring”
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Hotel is fine - 4 stars rather than 5. Dining room is more like some public restorant or student`s menza - I didn`t like it. Food was variable but with little to choose as really tasty. My greatest disappointments are beach and entertainment. Beach is not sandy - most of it is large sand wich becomes pebbels near the sea and in the first part of the sea. It is so hot that when you go to the sea you must go with slippers and take them off in front of the sea. On the other hand pebbels in the sea hurt your feet, almost no one used jelly shoes, but it was very uncomfortable to get into and out of the sea. Water is clear and warm, but because of the hurting pebbels you can`t, for example, play volleyball in the water. Music at the beach is awful, practically no music. In the evening, hotel offers some show by the pool every evening from 21.30-23h, but after that you can only sit in the lobby and watch people around. Ancora night club which works 23-02h is a dark hole with techno music, one of the songs with brutal voice repeats 100 times `I wanna f... you now!` Sorry, I have to write this to ilustrate the atmosphere...
Around the hotel there is nothing, so you can`t walk around. Antalya town is little far - minimum 30min with dolmush. We went to the pedestrian zone with shops around 18.30h and until 20h everything was closed, people disappeared from the streets and we were happy to find dolmush station and go back to the hotel.
So, this hotel offers almoust nothing above all day food (it makes you only to eat more than you need), drinks(the only preference) and spa (if you use sauna after 38 C)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    292
    148
    71
    48
See reviews for
332
316
48
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I was a bit worried about going to Turkey having read some reviews, but i am so glad we went. The hotel was lovely very clean, i travelled with my daughter who is 7 and the two boys who are 11 and 12. When we arrived there did get the room mixed up but were helpful in moving us to a bigger room the following morning. There was loads of choice with food but be quick to get your deserts because thats the first thing that goes haha. I couldn't believe how much food people were taking all at once honeslty it made me laugh. We tried the italian resturant one night simply because we wanted a decent wine. The wine at the lounge bar is awful, beer is on flow as are the cocktails but if your like me and love cocktails dont be expecting what we have here its not that nice i was dissapointed. So it was vodka and coke for me, the weather was fantastic and we came back with great tans. Kids loved it although there wasnt't much for them to do really apart from the pool and water slide. Be warned as there isn't anyone who hardly speaks english. There was only 3 english families so it was kinda hard to make conversation. The turkish spa was great i had a turkish bath and massage its must. All in all great holiday for the family and i would defo go back :-) The night entertainment was good, but is only on for an hour after the kids club.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylin K, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Porto Bello Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time for writing a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us in order to continuously improve our hotel and service quality.
It is nice to hear that you had a good time at our hotel and you could enjoy your stay. We wish you all the best and are hoping to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Best Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We visited this hotel, and would not honestly come back again. The good things about it were definitely the food, which was excellent (paying for a la carte is well worth it), and the animation staff were excellent.
On the down side - bad start they didnt have a room for us and sent us for 1 night to a scuzzy little hotel nearby. Reception staff barely spoke English, which at one point could have been dangerous as they gave our teenage daughter totally the wrong information about bus routes/numbers.
Housekeeping was pretty bad - ie guess if you are going to get any towels or not.
Location is well away from town, and taxis are not cheap (about 60 euros return trip to Antalya town)
This is NOT 5 star, so don't think you are getting a bargain. If, however, you consider you will be at a bus 3 star hotel with a crowded pool and spa but great food and some entertainment, then you may well have a great time. For 5 star try the Sheraton, or for a lovely bourtique hotel - the Deja Vue in the old town

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexshoequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOWESTOFT
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The family and I booked this holiday 4 day's before going and on the basis of what we had read on here, so thankyou everyone for being honest.

We like many flights to Turkey arrived very early in the morning (5am) Booked through Goldtrail travel.
When I tried to book in, I was told that we could not book in until 12 midday....opps I thought this is not good, after a low key altercation with the receptionist, he took one look at our 8 and 11 year olds and thank goodness for us felt sorry for them. He then upgraded us to a junior suite and let us check in early.
Bags are carried to your rooms for you and in general all staff are very helpful and polite.

The rooms are well maintained and cleaned to a high standard. Air conditioning copes as well as expected in 40c , both our children and us mangaged to sleep very well at nights. you are given two key cards, leave one in the key area at the room and it will keep the room cool for your return.

The food in my opinion as a caterer myself is that it is varied, plentiful and well presented. Where the problem lay's is the fact that everyone seems to want to eat at the same time.
There are two area's that the hot food is served and huge que's form causing food to go cold on your plate.
So here is my solution.......go to the salad area and get yourself a selection of side salad and take back to your table.
Get your hot food and when you get to your table bingo, your all ready eat.
You will find that with such a diverse group of people staying here, and the British being under represented here, people do not see the need to que in order, after two day's we got in the habit of pushing in and soon it became the norm (must remember this for me next Tesco trip lol)
Breakfast is excellent and is not as stressful as getting your evening meal.

At the beach bar they serve waffles and ice-cream from 3 till 4
In the room next to the pool area tea and cakes is served from 4 till 6
late snacks are served in the restaurant from 11pm
Getting the attention of a waiter to get a drink was inproved hugely when I got some change and tipped 3 lira, I then became their best friends and got top ups as and when required.


The pool area is very clean and slightly tight for space. Beware, half the pool is cast into shade about 3-30 when the sun goe's behind the hotel.
When you stand with your back to the hotel with the small grass area behind you, the pool area where the slide is will hold the sun all day.....aim for the corner closest to the hotel.
The pool is 1.4 meteres deep all over, so in real terms you will need to aged 11+ to be able to stand on the bottom.

The beach can be acessed through a clean tiled tunnel from the pool area, here you will find a bar area, comfortable seating area and a huge amount of sunbeds.
The beach has no sand at all and is made up of small stones leading to large stones as you enter the water.........if you have a pair of swim shoes it causes no problem at all.....do not leave it to buy them out there, they are 10 quid a pair.

This is not a hotel with a fantastic entertainments team, they are not very organised and lack a sence of direction, however this suited us fine as we wanted a relaxing week and we got it.
Not much for kids to do at night, wifi is free,they give you a password and way you go.

All in all we very much enjoyed our stay and felt it was a bonus to stay at a hotel of this nature for only a price of 1,300 for all four of us including flights on an IA board basis

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVEPATTERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylin K, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Porto Bello Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time for writing a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us in order to continuously improve our hotel and service quality.
It is nice to hear that you had a good time at our hotel and you could enjoy your stay. We wish you all the best and are hoping to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Best Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We arrived at the hotel in the very early hours of the morning, and there were plenty of staff there to help us with luggage (all 15 of us) and check in was quick and simple.
We had a family room which had 2 single beds and a double bed which was huge and very comfortable. Air con took a while to get going but once it was on it was fine. We had a view of the sea, pool and mountains which was nice.

We were up early on the first morning to get sun loungers round the pool as I had read several reviews that it would be heaving - to our surprise there were very few people up and out! For the rest of the week we got up as and when and all 15 managed to get sun beds together!

There are daily pool games which were very entertaining for those watching and there was no pressure by the staff to get people to join in!

Hotel shop was rather expensive and priced in euors, but there are a few shops about 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

The food at the buffet was really nice the only thing that let it down were the massive queues at tea time (the resturant didn't open until 7). People would get their starters, main and pudding for their entire party in 1 go, holding everyone else up - and not forgetting those that just push in when they want which riled up a few people. On our first evening meal we were all seperated, but the resturant manager offered to reserve us a few tables each evening so we could all sit together - which he did!
I would recommend leaving eating until about 8pm, it was a bit quieter by then!

Ice cream was available between 3pm and 4pm but to get it you have tp go to the beach. For those who had theirs bought back were presented with melted ice-cream in soggy cones so i would recommend eating it on the beach!

The beach was really nice but shoes were a bonus as its not sand but pebbles and little stones which made getting out of the sea a task (although very funny). Water sports are available for a fee, the hotel even set up a kids banana boat ride which they all loved!

Evening entertainment was ok, most nights it was dancers and gymnasts. There was a huge screen in the nightclub where they showed all of the world cup games.

Most of the staff were polite and helpful although one of the receptionists was constantly rude to people and made little effort to help.
We checked out at 12pm and were told we were able to use the bar, resturant etc until 5pm and no alcohol was allowed at all, only soft drinks. After 5pm we could pay for drinks that we wanted (we went to the local shops and stocked up on snacks and drinks). However, we walked down to the beach with the children (aged 8 mths - 12 years) to get them ice cream only to be told we weren't allowed any because we were wearing the white wristbands! Luckily the kids still had their coloured bands on, so we sent the older ones to get the ice cream!

The kids loved the holiday, they spent all day in the pools (there is a childrens pool with slide) and liked the evening entertainment, especially the mini disco every night at 8.30. There was face painting, water sports, sand painting etc and there is a small park tucked away round the side of the hotel with swings, slide and climbing frame.

There isn't much around outside of the hotel but taxis are available from the front of the hotel and there is a bus stop right outside.

Although the hotel is on a main road its not really an issue, the only traffic noise we heard was a few lorries beeping their horns.

The weather was fantastic all week. I had a look at the 5 day forcast before we left which said we were due rain. It never came! It did get a bit cloudy in the late afternoon a couple of times but the temperature was in the high 30s and early 40s all week.

For a relaxing holiday I would definietly go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolPrincess15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylin K, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Porto Bello Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time for writing a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us in order to continuously improve our hotel and service quality.
It is nice to hear that you had a good time at our hotel and you could enjoy your stay. We wish you all the best and are hoping to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Best Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Porto Bello Hotel - This hotel is not for the English. Other than the entertainment crew rarely does anyone speak or even understand any English. This makes communication of any sort difficult at the best of times. The hotel itself seems to cater greatly for Dutch and Russian guests. So much so that the hotel send every staff member to learn Russian. We were told that this was because the Russian’s tip so well. We tipped regular and often but felt that as we were all-inclusive more of an effort could have been made by the bar staff particularly to make you feel more welcome. You do not want to tip when you do not get even a smile.


Food – Would recommend both the Italian and fish nights at the Al a Carte restaurant. Both were amazing and prove excellent value for money. The buffet though is a complete let down. The food is heated up daily so whatever is left over is supplied the following day. More than one person we had met had been ill as a result of eating in the buffet. Also the hotel makes no effort to organise its guests at dinner. Irrespective of language barriers, every guest are aware of what a queue is right? WRONG. The hotel does nothing about this and it seems that everyone gets frustrated. The Mangal pool restaurant is much better as the food is cooked fresh.


Drinks – very good. The local beer is Efes and is nice. Cocktails are lethal – just what you expect! Again the service that comes with the drinks could be better. If you decide to go to the Nightclub – a few cocktails need to be drunk first ;0)


Entertainment – the team do a really good job to get everyone involved. There are daily activities and everyone is catered for. You can see why this hotel is so popular with families albeit that some of the parents of said children just let them run crazy. You will see that even the hotel staff become frustrated with this.


Your last day – If you have a late flight you will be asked to vacate your rooms by 12noon. This is not a problem however when you check out you will be provided with a white arm band. This band only permits you to eat is the buffet for breakfast and lunch but not in the evening. Also you cannot order any drinks after 5pm. We found that this was a problem as our flight was not until midnight. You will be charged 20 Euros each to eat in the buffet. COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY. You wouldn’t think on the drinks front that the hotel would mind as you can only order soft drinks anyway.


A few positive points to end with…you do not get charged for using the safe provided in your room. The rooms are cleaned nicely and regularly. The minibar is stocked every day. Pool towels are provided for you.


Overall experience 5/20 – the language barrier become irritating and the attitude of some staff let the whole hotel down. Had we of been greeted with smiles as opposed to mass confusion and misunderstanding then we would have marked higher. We came away feeling that while the hotel offers good value for money we would of willingly paid more had we of known the experience that we received.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willamena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Very modern hotel, which not only caters to tourists but to conferences and events as well. It’s located at the very end of Konyaalti beach on the western edge of Antalya yet still only a cheap bus ride away from the Old Town area.
It features 2 pools (indoors, outdoors) and a pebble beach with a nice bar. There’s a restaurant right by the main pool where you can have lunch a la carte plus a bigger buffet restaurant like you’d expect to find in an all-inclusive hotel. The food served is a mix of Turkish and international dishes but getting drinks is a hassle because the waiters do their best to avoid taking orders.
The rooms are well appointed and modern but small. This wasn’t a big issue for a couple like us but a family with kids would certainly have cause to complain. There’s a balcony but it’s standing-room only, there are no chairs on it, they just wouldn’t fit. All rooms are said to have sea view but they don’t really face the water, they’re sideways to it. On the plus side, all décor and fittings are contemporary (i.e. LCD TV); and toiletries and mini-bar drinks (up to a daily limit) are provided free of charge.
There’s some entertainment but it’s really poor compared to other hotels I’ve been to, the only exception being the pianist on the lobby (3 nights a week). Free wi-fi internet access is provided but the signal is very weak and unreliable so you really struggle to find a spot with decent signal.
Above all the biggest problem in this hotel was the staff’s practically non-existent knowledge of English (shouldn’t this be a must in the tourism industry?). While understandable and expected from waiters and bell-boys, the problem extended to the receptionists so it was really a battle to make them understand when the safe box wouldn’t work in our room. In the end we gave up trying to communicate with them because not even our best “baby English” would get the point across.
So no complaints on the standard of the facilities (see the photos I’m attaching) but the service is not very good. I can’t really complain because so far this has been our cheapest (proper) 5-star all-inclusive holiday anywhere but if you’re paying “normal” prices then you’ll probably be annoyed by the problems I describe above.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexicanote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
5.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antalya
Ramada Plaza Antalya
#29 of 232 in Antalya
1,369 reviews
5.8 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 232 in Antalya
850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Antalya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Club Hotel Falcon
Club Hotel Falcon
#28 of 232 in Antalya
418 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lara Family Club
Lara Family Club
#12 of 232 in Antalya
672 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rixos Downtown Antalya
Rixos Downtown Antalya
#14 of 232 in Antalya
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bello Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bello Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Porto Bello Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: Akdeniz Bulvari, 1 Sokak | Konyaalti Beach, Antalya 7050, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Antalya
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#18 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#23 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#29 Family Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Bello Hotel Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Bello Hotel is located at the Konyaalti Beach which is one of the longest stretch of beaches in the Mediterranean region,at the skirts of the "Beydaglari" Mountains, and only 8 km. away from the city center, a very popular area of Antalya. The comfortable rooms that are decorated with utmost care have both Sea and Mountain View. There are 8 Senior Suites, 28 Junior Suites, 28 Family rooms, 3 Handicapped rooms and 279 Standard rooms totaling up to 346 rooms. There are two pools, indoor and outdoor. The indoor pool is heated; the outdoor pool is 1500 sqm, and the indoor pool is 100 sqm. The Chaise Lounges, umbrellas and towels are free of charge. In the Children's Club, special programs are provided for children between the ages of 05 - 12. The beach has pebbly characteristics, and is connected to the hotel by a special tube passageway. The beach is 150 m long and 50 m wide. Palm Restaurant (main), A'la Carte Restauranta, Beach Bar, Sailor Bar, Cafe Porto, Vitamin Bar and Disco. Live music, 2 illuminated Tennis Courts, Beach Volleyball, Table Tennis are available. A unique experience to relax and regerate... The Porto Bello Spa Center welcomes you with variety of relaxing and revitalizing treatments, such as aqua gym, hydrotherapy, balneo, peeling, skin care and local slimming, sauna, massage and Turkish bath... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Bello Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bello Hotel Antalya
Porto Bello Hotel Resort And Spa
Porto Bello Antalya
Porto Bello Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing