We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Your Own "Summer House" in Antalya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marmara Antalya
Ranked #39 of 235 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I usually do not prefer "impersonal", "mass-production", "all-inclusive", "eat-till-you-drop" kinda holidays in "larger-than-life" hotels. My concept of holiday is spent in tranquil, small, boutique hotels with a certain character, (if at all possible) "history". But, we found such a hot deal (the rates were almost 1/3rd of the avarage prices in peak holiday season) that we could not miss it.

Actually, I was pleasently surprised in The Marmara, Antalya. Ok, its an old hotel. Its 4 stars. The interior is nowhere near sleek, contemporary or luxury. But, they had given it such a twist that our spacious room felt like our own "Summer House" in Antalya's coast line. There was something particularly tranquil about these cool rooms. They had managed to create this alluring, laid-back atmosphere with the help of easy-going colors, simple yet comfortable furnitures, smart and sensitively-lit spaces and various other fun design tricks. I guess, for the first time in my life, I prefered the soothing atmosphere of a hotel room more than taking advantage of the sea. (We had spend as much time in our room as in the beach. Especially enjoyed reading or playing computer games by the wooden console table near the deck-like windows. The panaromic view of the Mediterranian Sea was unforgettable).

Other than atmospheric rooms;
- the breakfast had a wide variety and fair food.
- the pool area was generally noisy with small kids (and their screams could be clearly heard all the way from our room on the 9th floor). But we didn't mind much...
- The beach part (actually its not a "beach" beach with sand and everything. Its a bunch of rocks from where you ladder down yourself to the warm Mediterranian waters) is a bit far but that's ok.
- The sea is clean and majestic.
- The clientele is mixed; ranging from Italians to Arabs. Everybody got alone so well and enjoyed the twist of faith that brought us all together in one place :)

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Taslardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are gratefull for your important feedback concerning your most recent stay at The Marmara Antalya.
Your suggestions help us to understand what we are doing right and how we can do better.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our hotel.
Best regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights recently and really enjoyed it. The free Wi - Fi access was much appreciated and our Room on the 10th floor had a great view over the pool area as well as the sea. I really enjoyed being able to use my iPad on the bench in front of the open window (charging it at the same time thanks to the power point in the bench). It was a real treat watching the world unfold while attending to personal business. This is a funky and unique place and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank James_Melbourne02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Valued guest,

We thank you very much for your excellent and detailed feedback which already shared with The Marmara Antalya team. It is always rewarding to read such a comment. We will continue to pass on our passion for Excellence to our guests.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back to show you the improvements about the points you have shared with us.
Kind regards,

Sincerely,
Mehmet Agah Öcal
The Marmara Antalya
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

ok..so there isnt a lot of parking if you have your own car and the reception area has no seating...if you have to wait to check in. .but the rest of the place is just fun. access to the sea is as creative as it gets. an elevator down and then the long tunnel to the waterfront. we were there when it wasnt appropriate to have a meal during the day...but the hotel still functioned well. no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timothy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Valued guest,

We thank you very much for your excellent and detailed feedback which already shared with The Marmara Antalya team. It is always rewarding to read such a comment. We will continue to pass on our passion for Excellence to our guests.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back to show you the improvements about the points you have shared with us.
Kind regards,

Sincerely,
Mehmet Agah Öcal
The Marmara Antalya
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stay in August, 2012 in Marmara and impression rather positive of this hotel. The staff is available, the place is clean and quiet, the sea is magnificent and the beach pleasant. However, it is necessary to underline the fact that the food is rather fat and that in half board it is necessary to be rich to buy itself drinks. Only fly in the ointment of our trip !! We have relaxed in spa and forget the high prices

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your helpful feedback concerning your experience at The Hotel Marmara. Your suggestions help us to understand what we are doing right and how we can do beter. We truly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to The Hotel Marmara.

Best regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Having looked at serveral reviews before going on my holiday I had mixed feelings about the Marmara. On arrival from the airport first impressions of hotel resembled a big tall building block. But once inside this changed.

The good:

Large swimming pool and good spa facilities
Buffet breakfast was good although after eating it everyday it can get a little repetitive.
Underground tunnel that leads to the sea with surrounding cliffs, good spot to relax and dive into the sea.
Good location always can find a taxi and safe area to walk at night.
Some bars are walking distance and few shops on Lara road.
Close to Terra city which is Antalyas largest mall, similar to Westfield in London. Good spot to have lunch in the food court also has good variety of restaurants. 5 min taxi drive
The rooms are large, walls are pink and give an art deco feel. It didn't bother me.
Bathroom have a separate toilet and bath with two sinks, hot water was fine.
Rooms were turned down everyday.
Concierge service is professional, includes hotel pickup and drop off for day tours
Can exchange Money and hotel gives an good rate.

The bad:

Drinks at the bar are expensive 24 lira for an cocktail.
Not all staff can speak English so sometimes can be a language barrier.
Nightlife at hotel bar was dead.
Walls are thin.



Overall: hotel is good, with an different style of decor. Either you love it or hate it. It's not an five star resort, more of an 4 star city hotel with a sea. It's not the ritz neither an Hilton. But much nicer than other hotels. It's clean and having stayed at other hotels around the world I had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jm12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much taking your time and share your thoughts with us. I hope we will have one more chance to accommodate you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
The Marmara Antalya
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed here for a week with my gf. Got an upgrade for the revolving loft rooms, which is in a 3 story building next to the pool, behind the main building. A bit disorienting with 3 different elevators and reception on level 7, the ground floor with restaurant on level 6. The good parts about this hotel for me was a big, airy area where a decent breakfast was served. The hotel is on a cliff in Lara, with an elevator in the garden that takes you several stories down into the cliff and a 60m long tunnel that brings you to the ocean sunbathing and bathing area. Got a bar, toilets and sunbeds private for the hotel at the ocean, that was nice. Turns into a cool outdoor DJ-spot at night, but with less than 5 people out.. The revolving loft room was cool, but the toilet solution calls for a tight relationship with your travelling partner. The downsides: The prices are high (24TL for a drink). Service when ordering food in the hotel area is slooow - took over an hour to get my lunch, plus they mixed my order even tho I pointed it clearly out to the waiter, no discount.. (Fast enough at the sea bar). Cleanliness in the rooms - we had some long black hairs on the floor for our entire stay, we are both blond. Most of the male staff are staring at my gf which is blond - This is expected on the streets, but not in a self-claimed 5-star hotel. Very few of the staff is actually smiling - most are robotic in their behaviour. This hotel is recommended for sun&sea, but dont expect a 5-star establishment.

Room Tip: Revolving loft rooms are cool with a bathtub in the room, nice make-up-area for the gf, great view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BravoFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are gratefull for your important feedback concerning your most recent stay at The Marmara Antalya.
Your suggestions help us to understand what we are doing right and how we can do better.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our hotel.
Best regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Every thing in this hotel were great, room, facilities, food (breakfast and dinner), room service and location. The staff are so helpful and polite, the only issue with this hotel that the beach is not a sand beach so you so difficult to swim.

I recommend it for every one.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Ahmed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Valued guest,

We thank you very much for your excellent and detailed feedback which already shared with The Marmara Antalya team. It is always rewarding to read such a comment. We will continue to pass on our passion for Excellence to our guests.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back to show you the improvements about the points you have shared with us.
Kind regards,

Sincerely,
Mehmet Agah Öcal
The Marmara Antalya
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Antalya
0.9 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 235 in Antalya
1,072 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rixos Downtown Antalya
Rixos Downtown Antalya
#15 of 235 in Antalya
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Su
Hotel Su
#33 of 235 in Antalya
1,487 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antalya
Ramada Plaza Antalya
#29 of 235 in Antalya
1,514 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#30 of 235 in Antalya
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Antalya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Antalya

Address: Eski Lara Yolu No. 136 Sirinyali, Antalya 07160, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antalya
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#29 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#34 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#39 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: £30 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Antalya 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dynamic, surprising, pure, extraordinary product: The Marmara Antalya. Simple lines, crazy colors, comfort, dynamism, aesthetics, leisureness, technology, flavor, broad spaces, shared spaces, quiet corners, endless scenery of the Mediterranean are all united at The Marmara Antalya. Decorated by French architect, Christian Allart and mentioned by pioneers magazines in the sector such as; ‘Marie Claire Maison’, Maison Francaise’ ‘Home Art’, ‘Cosmo Girl’, ‘Harpers Bazaar’ from its opening day, The Marmara Antalya with its unique architecture and ‘HIP design’ aims to surprise the guests by going beyond what is accustomed and offers a refreshing alternative to Antalya with its quality. The hotel also accepts pets.The only pet friendly Hotel in the city Center of Antalya... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Marmara Antalya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Antalya Hotel Antalya
Marmara Hotel Antalya
Antalya Marmara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing