We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting retro hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marmara Antalya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marmara Antalya
Ranked #33 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting retro hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

A very unusual hotel on the Mediterranean Sea. The hotel looks like a big cement block with small windows. The lobby is on the seventh floor (street level). Dining is on the sixth floor (pool level).
I was on the 20th floor overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with snow capped mountains in the background. The landscaping in the back of the hotel was outstanding. To get to the beach (which was really not a beach, but a very rocky coastline), you had to take an elevator down from the sixth floor level to the first floor level. This elevator was in a separate building close to the sea. The view along the rocky shore was spectacular, but there is no way I would go into the rough sea there. It just seemed too dangerous.
The rooms were outstanding, but odd. The ceilings were concrete. The bedroom walls were pink sponge painted, with striped painted walls outside the bathrooms. You will see the rest of the colors in the attached photos. All in all, the room was wonderful with the exception of the noise from the outside. Cars and motorcycles were drag racing and the sounds of women having sex on lower floors could easily be heard if the windows were opened. Those noises interrupted an otherwise nice stay in the hotel.
The sixth floor dining room was beautiful with decent food. Free internet was available.
If it were not for the noise, which many complained about, I would have given this hotel five stars.
For some strange reason, I could not add my pictures, sorry about that).

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Mediterranean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valued guest,

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at The Marmara Antalya.

Sincerely,

Mehmet Agah ÖCAL
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    255
    108
    40
    35
See reviews for
135
277
51
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We've selected this hotel based on our experience of Marmara Istanbul but it was a killing fault.
The first moment we entered the hotel we got totally shocked and disappointed.
The service was not so bad, and the stuff had a agreeable manners, but the decoration was terrible.
especially the useless uncomfortable chair, the strange lighting, the strange mood of decoration, exaggerated usage of colors in walls and cheap decoration made me feel we're staying in a kindergarten :(
we tried to don't stay too much and go out as much as we could.

to summarize i can say:

+ Advantages:
* the hammam and jacuzzi
* the cleaned environment

- Disadvantages
* the decoration
* the mechanical and not working air conditioner (i got cold after this trip and i was sick for 5 days)
* the uncomfortable ground material
* the thin walls which we couldn't sleep calm because of the noise of neighbors
* the bathroom was very uncomfortable
* the safebox was on the ground and we had to sit on the ground to use it

anyway, i wish this nightmare dont repeat again in my life

Room Tip: Never choose a street view room, because it would be more terrible than ours!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandreTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review about your most recent stay with us. I am very sorry to read about your disappointments. We are always thankful for constructive feedback as we learn from it in a quest to become better, and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss some of your comments further.

I hope you will offer us a chance to gain back your confidence in our staff, service and product. Please contact me at aocal@themarmarahotels.com

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Last year, I spent a wonderful time at this hotel and I though it was worth sharing thank you letter I sent to the GM.

I would like to thank you and your hotel staff for the warm welcome, professional and kind treatment during our stay in the Marmara Hotel.

Please extend my thank you to the whole team for making our stay in Antalya an unforgettable one.

For your Reception for their personal attention (upon or departure at 1.00 am Gokay had arranged 2 breakfast bags!), Beach Bartenders for their willingness to keep us cool under the sun (ALWAYS with a smile) and the bellboy for his attention everytime we went out for a walk (he even stopped the car to give us bottles of water!)

I would like to point out the delicious and varied breakfast each morning and the superb level of service at the restaurant which was outstanding. Again, the staff always ready with a natural and warming smile in the morning.

The Marmara hotel is in the perfect location for famlies and business people travelling to Antalya and this is a huge added value to me when describing your hotel to clients, friends, colleagues and family.

Your rooms are perfectly arranged with all the features both business and leisure guests are looking for when travelling and which nowadays is a must or is taken for granted. What really remains in ones memories when thinking back is the perfect arrangement of every single item and minute attention to detail. Cleanliness in our room was tremendous and the service provided by the house maids exemplary.

The hotel speaks for it self thanks to its location, rooms, private beach, swimming pool, sauna, bar, etc but as my fiancé has said: “is it possible to improve hotel features?”: maybe; “is it possible to get better staff?”: impossible, they are already the best.

Worldhotels counts with many extraordinary hotels within their chain but yours is just that little bit more special.
Yamila

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are quite/streetview rooms are a bit noisy as the bar in front has life concerts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamila2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valued guest,

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at The Marmara Antalya.

Sincerely,

Mehmet Agah ÖCAL
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is an amazing hotel with amazing food, a beach, pretty gardens, Turkish baths and a steam room. The swimming pool was freezing cold, I learned that the hard way. I would recommend it and I don't agree with the other reviews

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valued guest,

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at The Marmara Antalya.

Sincerely,

Mehmet Agah ÖCAL
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I really could not understand what's so special about this hotel. There is no hotel lobby. Foods are avarage . No indoor swimming pool. There is no beach(You can access to sea via elevator) No good bar. Hotel concept is really poor. As hotel holds good image in Turkey you expect a better place. I wouldn't definetly go there again. Hotel is expensive but not worth it.You can find lots of good hotel with much more less money in Antalya.

Room Tip: At least try to get a room on rotating small building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YazarGezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review about your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied % 100 with your last stay in our hotel and I hope you will offer us a chance to gain back your confidence in our staff, service and product. Please contact me at aocal@themarmarahotels.com
You can be sure that we will take necessary action for the issues you mentioned...

Kind regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The thing that has characterized my stay is the inability to control the temperature of one's room... It is 16C outside but a sauna inside! When i rang reception to say that my AC wasn't working, they said "the temperature of the building is centrally controlled, and during the winter, the central control setting is on heating - we are not able to cool the building". Well, it's really hot in the building - can you change the setting? "Oh no, that cannot be done, the whole winter season. But we will open your windows for you fully". Thanks for the hot, noisy night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review about your most recent stay with us. I am very sorry to read about your disappointments. We are always thankful for constructive feedback as we learn from it in a quest to become better, and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss some of your comments further.

I am so sorry about your complain related with central aircondition system but we need to use this system for the best guest yearly satisfaction.

I hope you will offer us a chance to gain back your confidence in our staff, service and product. Please contact me at aocal@themarmarahotels.com

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Nice hotel... but not a 5 star.

All the stuff you have read in all the previous reviews are all true.

Pros:
1.) Nice staff - although not everyone speaks English.
2.) Great food.
3.) Good location.

Cons:
1.) You can hear the music from across the street going on into the wee hours of the night.
2.) Drinks are extremely expensive.
3.) The rooms are a little incomplete. The ceiling isn't finished off neatly... its rather off-putting.
4.) Bathrooms not too great. I hated the shower curtain. You can't help but wonder who else was in that shower when the curtain touches you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review about your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied % 100 with your last stay in our hotel and I hope you will offer us a chance to gain back your confidence in our staff, service and product. Please contact me at aocal@themarmarahotels.com
You can be sure that we will take necessary action for the issues you mentioned...

Kind regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
2.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antalya
Ramada Plaza Antalya
#23 of 231 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Antalya
4.0 mi away
Rixos Downtown Antalya
Rixos Downtown Antalya
#12 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Falcon
Club Hotel Falcon
#40 of 231 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
7.5 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Antalya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Antalya

Property: The Marmara Antalya
Address: Eski Lara Yolu No. 136 Sirinyali, Antalya 07160, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antalya
#21 Best Value Hotel in Antalya
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#25 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#33 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#34 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Antalya 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dynamic, surprising, pure, extraordinary product: The Marmara Antalya. Simple lines, crazy colors, comfort, dynamism, aesthetics, leisureness, technology, flavor, broad spaces, shared spaces, quiet corners, endless scenery of the Mediterranean are all united at The Marmara Antalya. Decorated by French architect, Christian Allart and mentioned by pioneers magazines in the sector such as; ‘Marie Claire Maison’, Maison Francaise’ ‘Home Art’, ‘Cosmo Girl’, ‘Harpers Bazaar’ from its opening day, The Marmara Antalya with its unique architecture and ‘HIP design’ aims to surprise the guests by going beyond what is accustomed and offers a refreshing alternative to Antalya with its quality. The hotel also accepts pets.The only pet friendly Hotel in the city Center of Antalya... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and LoveHolidays so you can book your The Marmara Antalya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Antalya Hotel Antalya
Marmara Hotel Antalya
Antalya Marmara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing