We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marmara Antalya
Ranked #38 of 234 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We have just returned from Marmara last night and overall we were pleased with this chain five star hotel.
If you want to relax and be pampered this is good choice. In terms of service, generally it was good and we had nothing to complain however do not expect the staff to speak English.
We were halfboard and enjoyed the food very much. Do not miss the deserts but the drinks are very expensive! You are not allowed to bring in any food/drinks from outside but there is a little shop just opposite where you can buy your drinks and hide in your bag!
The rooms do look as if they are not finished with bear concrete ceiling and not enough storage space. There is a round building in the garden, next to the pool which rotates and if you are booked in there, you will have different view everytime. Been told it does a full turn every 4 hours.
To get to the beach, you need to use a lift in the middle of the garden behind the round building!

Do not forget to bring your trainers as there is are good facilities which are free. The Turkish bath, spa, sona are free of charge.
There are many adventure trips that you can buy directly from the hotel or tour operators.
Aqa park is only 15minutes walk from the hotel but we recommend that you go to Aqa Land which is about 20 minute taxi drive but offers a lot more.

Overall the service is great and we would recommend this hotel.

Read the review and the details by "tsura1" as it is very exact and useful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mparsaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2009

OK so I have just returned from the Marmara yesterday and I would say to sum up all the mixed reviews, it really depends what you are looking for.

If you're looking for a fairly cheap, beachy holiday staying in a standard hotel - the Marmara is not for you.

If you want relaxation, contemporary, can afford to pay a little more than expected on drinks and food and you don't necessary want a beach, Marmara is for you.

Personally I loved it and will be going back next year with family. I could go on forever but below are some of the good and the bad points alongside some tips for when you're out there.

*GOOD*
- Contemporary, boutique design hotel, exactly like the pictures on website - they don't lie!
- Great location, a short drive from Lara beach, 2 major shopping centres, 20 minutes from airport, the old town and set amongst great restaurants and pubs locally.
- Breakfast buffet choice was reasonable, pretty standard, from fried to cereals, cheeses, fruits and salads. I was BB so can't comment on dinner buffet.
- Food generally in the hotel was lovely, not a huge choice but service was quick - didn't wait more than 15 minutes in any order, although it may have been a little expensive for how much you actually got - between TL12 - TL19 per dish (approx. £5-£8).
- Even though they advertise the hotel as 'Beach & Resort' there isn't actually a beach! It is a cliffside location and the sunloungers are located about 4-5ft above sea level.
- The grounds, gardens and 'beachfront' is absolutely georgeous and normally I like beach holidays but I was quite content here.
- The hotel has built 3 diving boards off the cliffs into the water which is great for scubadiving or just going for swim. A review below mentioned this was slightly dangerous, but many people of all ages use the well gripped steps that go into the water freely.
- Weather was very hot at this time of year, no less than 30C everyday, with just one day of rain. Unfortunately it is set to get worse...
- FREE internet access 24 hours a day

*BAD*
- Hardly anyone in Turkey speaks English and even the hotel staff struggle and for a 5*, this is quite shocking.
- Although the waiters and waitresses are fantastic, reception staff don't believe is 'customer before task' - I waited upto 10 minutes sometimes to get someone to acknowledge me at front desk and then when I did, I was told to wait once she finished what she was doing!
- I was not a fan of those horrible ceilings, nearly every person I got to know on my stay agreed - apparently the hotel is quite stubborn and refuses to do anything about it as they put it down to the 'contemporary design' of the hotel.
- Shower room isn't great, no natural lighting, quite dull.
- Drink prices are shockingly high, £35 for a standard bottle of wine, beer £6, coke £4, malibu and coke £10!!! I suggest try the local restaurants pubs instead.
- Taxi prices seemed quite high, for a 20 minute journey I was charged £12!! Beware and use the buses 'Dolmus' instead.
- Hotel is generally poorly signposted and there is no welcome or introduction book that tells you where breakfast is located or where the fitness reception desk is located etc. You need to ask or prepared to get lost!

*TIPS*
1.Don't bring in food & drink from outside - it will be confiscated upon entrance. You can always hide it, like bottle of water especially and you can only consume food from outside in your room.

2. Use the Dolmus bus - walk out of hotel and turn left, walk straight up until you see Starbucks on your right and opp. that you will see the bus stop to get you into town - get off after you go under 2 bridges and 3 sets of traffic lights..or simply ask the driver - they are very helpful. The old town is called 'Kaleici' and all of the buses stops are shown at the front of the bus - just look out for Kaleici. On the way back look out for the number 14 bus which stops at 'Dedeman', again tell the driver and you'll arrive back at the Starbucks. A single journey is TL1.50 - very cheap, and quite comfortable.

3. Definitely check out the Kaleici - loads of bargains and great stuff to be found! Migros is a huge shopping centre and Deepos is a brand outlet - for me Deepos was quite expensive event though it's promoted as a discounted outlet centre.

4. If you turn right and walk for about 100 yards, across the road you'll find a great Saturday market selling anything from clothes, ceramics and food - one to check out again.

5. Definitely use the sauna and spa room downstairs on level 5 of the hotel, absolute heaven and it's free! :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tara Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

A friend and I came for a girly get-a-way for one week in August!

What was required was some rest and relaxation with good food to boot!
Check in was smooth as it should be at 3am. Once we entered our room my face dropped! Ok so it was clean thats where it ends! Staring at a concrete breeze blocks night after night is not really my idea of rest and relaxation. Neither is the fact that my new summer wardrobe was mostly on the floor and my underwear in a basket on display to all and sundry! (No drawers or decent wardrobe facilities).

Every single morning approx 5am i was woken by what sounded like people dragging furniture around - the walls are so thin u can hear everything!

The TV no english channels - GREAT!

2 nights in a row at about midnight a member of staff strolled into our room (still not sure what he was doing but our complaints at least got us free wine which at 45 YTL a bottle was kinda nice).

I had daily rows with various member of staff regarding my bringing water into the hotel! What was painful was that over the road the water was the equivalent of 50p. This hotel its roughly £2.50! They are well aware in 38 degrees we need to keep drinking so why am i paying well over the odds for something that comes out of a tap?
Still i dont appreciate being argued with while im sitting by a pool. (customer is always right) You look around u and everyone is hiding food and drink purchased outside???/
Still i managed to have a good old barney and wrangle 25% off all food and beverages which they back dated to the start of our stay!

Buffet was a daily occurence which was cool but why no Turkish food in Turkey?
And whats with all the stray cats while u are trying to eat - slightly irritating!

The "beach" was one of my fave things, i partuclarly love the man made sheer cliff face with diving board which ends up in the most turbulent water i have ever seen.... how no one has died is beyond me..... there is a sheer drop with no warning signs (an accident just waiting to happen)!

Anyways if you fancy a week of weather that is as hot as hell and being ripped off this is the place! The pool is super nice tho just a shame by midday it resembled a butlins holiday camp!

The rotating hotel is rather special.... all i can fathom is WHY????

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boogie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

This hotel is quirky to say the least, but it does grow on you, the weather and Antalya area allows you to forgive a lot.

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 12 nights with our two teenage daughters in two rooms.
Both rooms had very good views over Antalya city the mountains and the sea.
Rooms are kitted out with a large flat screen tv which has loads of channels to watch, the room has probably the best air conditioning I have ever had in an hotel. It had setting from Arctic wind conditions down to very quiet level which is ideal for use at night.

Here’s the first quirky aspect – in the room, when you look up you notice the bed room ceiling does not exist. What you see is bare concrete just like a car park roof, all the rooms are like this and it is a feature of the hotel design, it looks cheap and unfinished to me.
There are no draws or wardrobe to hold your clothes, there is however a rail to hang half a dozen items and a shelf running the length of two windows. Other than leaving your clothes in the case or on the floor the shelf is the only option.
The toilet leads on from the bathroom and is separate, but share the same door. I will leave you to imagine how this works, a bit weird!
You get a wooden chair to sit on in the room which is best described as garden furniture and ended up being used as a clothes horse. No balcony just two windows can prove difficult to dry wet towels and swimming costumes, however the hotel supply towels at the pool and in the gym.

On the 6th floor, which is actually a ground floor, is a large room where meals are served at the same time people can access the internet on hotel computers or play on the pool table. There’s a bed to lie on and a wall you can write graffiti on or bizarrely ride one of two swings suspended from the ceiling, (which is finished). This room is kitted out with more uncomfortable garden furniture has one good feature it is air conditioned.

This room however leads out onto the pool area and gardens, to the cliff edge and sea with stunning views, but don’t get too close to the edge there’s no barrier. The pool is fantastic and the gardens are manicured to a very high standard. At night the whole area becomes beautifully lit up with carefully placed lamps.
On one side of the pool there is a round building on a central column. Bizarrely this building rotates continuously very slowly. The good thing about this building is there are loungers and comfortable chairs around the column, which offers shelter from the sun, a great place for a sleep and you don’t know what you will be facing when you wake up.

In the corner of the gardens there is a lift which takes you down to a tunnel a little scary the first time which leads out to a man made jetty which is decked out with sun beds, diving platforms and steps into the sea. There’s also a hotel run bar and diving school, but a notice clearly states you swim at your own risk.

Under the strange room on floor 6 is an excellent gym Turkish sauna. Scandinavian sauna, steam room, lounge area showers and locker rooms
.
The hotel facilities are spotless and every thing is in full working order.
The hotel staff are very helpful smart and polite.

Food and drinks seem very expensive at the Mamara.
This was a hot topic between all the guests when we were there.
I don’t mind paying the extra if the presentation, ambiance and service are felt to be special.

The service is ok; the quality of the food and drink is ok, but nothing special

If they finish the bedrooms. Create comfortable lounge areas. Improve the presentation of the food and drinks then raised the level of service this would be a very relaxing hotel The Mamara is supposed to be a 5 star hotel. It is not in my opinion no where near

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtakGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Great get away location, yet close to all the local sights. I visited other hotels in the area and by far this was the best choice in Antalya. Lovely Med water and breathtaking mountain view in full range. The rooms/suites has very tastefull modern decor and are well kept and are very clean. Very classy staff...provided great service while not becoming too imposing. I really enjoyed the Turkish bath and GYM facilities. Everything was as advertised on the website and more. Thank you Marmara for a wonderful 8 day experience...I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wstenhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I was generally unimpressed with Antalya and even more so with the Marmara Antalya. This was one of the most expensive places I stayed on my trip through Turkey and definitely the worst value for the money. For the same amount I stayed in an all-inclusive 8 room boutique near Oludeniz and had an awesome experience. The hotel is cold and uninviting, the staff is always busy and not helpful at all when I asked for directions or assistance, the pool was like bathwater, and the beach is just a cliff. The breakfast buffet was included and was decent, but that is about the only thing this place has going for it. The pool waitstaff is lazy and I actually had to go get myself a drink even though there seemed to be several waitstaff wandering aimlessly at all times.

I never got this from any of the reviews I read so I'll state it in this one - Antalya is a big beach town which reminded me of South Beach but without any good clubs, culture, or an actual easy to access beach. Antalya is a city of almost 1 million and don't even try to drive your rental car here - it is insane. There are much better parts of Turkey to go visit - skip Antalya and especially this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggie9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Website looked great, decided to take a chance on it. Regretted it for 3 straight days.

Having stayed at a Club Mediterranean when in my 30's (Cancun), this place reminds me very much of the Club Med,but without the free drinks and agreeable crowd. Rooms are all concrete and tile, extremely spartan decor, with vinyl covered daybed with no back serving as the couch, and a lawn chair serving as the only chair. We upgraded to the rotating tower after seeing our room in the high rise, but not much better. In fact, one loses the private toilet room if you upgrade. Broken and wrong length vertical blinds, tangled cords, wooden crates used for TV stand, very cheap stuff. Windows have some sort of screen built into the glass, so view is impaired. Shower floor sloped the wrong direction, away from the drain, so always had 1/2" of water in it. No dresser or clothes storage, and closet area merely has a sheet hanging in front of the hanger rod.

Staff at the check-in desk do not understand english (no surprise, we are in Turkey after all), but communicating was extremely difficult. I asked for manager, but he was "in a meeting". I don't blame him. I am sure he has heard the complaints before. Directions to Old Town were unintelligible.

Now to the restaurant. The food at this hotel is far from acceptable. It is not turkish, nor is it tasty. And the same thing every night. Charge for dinner is 30 TKL, not so bad if interesting choices, but not worth it for what is offered. The dining room is furnished in plastic (chairs and tables), with hardscape floors and ceiling, so an accompanying high noise level. Wait staff are very quick to remove anything on the table so one must guard things while someone in your party goes for another course. Smoking at virtually every outdoor table, and conversation impossible at inside tables. Drinks are pricey, small and very slow to arrive. Keep your eye on your glass or it will disappear too. At least at Club Med the drinks were free. Even water costs extra here.

I have to admit the swimming pool, and the swimming off the rocks below the cliff, are lovely. This is probably this hotel's only redeeming feature. No beach for kids however.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larsdela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.9 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 234 in Antalya
1,043 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rixos Downtown Antalya
Rixos Downtown Antalya
#13 of 234 in Antalya
1,110 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Antalya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Falcon
Club Hotel Falcon
#29 of 234 in Antalya
466 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Su
Hotel Su
#32 of 234 in Antalya
1,468 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antalya
Ramada Plaza Antalya
#28 of 234 in Antalya
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Antalya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Antalya

Address: Eski Lara Yolu No. 136 Sirinyali, Antalya 07160, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antalya
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#29 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#34 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#37 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: £27 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Antalya 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dynamic, surprising, pure, extraordinary product: The Marmara Antalya. Simple lines, crazy colors, comfort, dynamism, aesthetics, leisureness, technology, flavor, broad spaces, shared spaces, quiet corners, endless scenery of the Mediterranean are all united at The Marmara Antalya. Decorated by French architect, Christian Allart and mentioned by pioneers magazines in the sector such as; ‘Marie Claire Maison’, Maison Francaise’ ‘Home Art’, ‘Cosmo Girl’, ‘Harpers Bazaar’ from its opening day, The Marmara Antalya with its unique architecture and ‘HIP design’ aims to surprise the guests by going beyond what is accustomed and offers a refreshing alternative to Antalya with its quality. The hotel also accepts pets.The only pet friendly Hotel in the city Center of Antalya... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Antalya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Antalya Hotel Antalya
Marmara Hotel Antalya
Antalya Marmara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing