We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kervansaray Hotel Kundu
Ranked #59 of 234 Hotels in Antalya
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a lovely holiday in Lara Beach. The hotel is not far from the airport about 20 min. On arrival we were invited first to have something to eat before check in, although we arrived at midnight. The hotel is located on the beach and there are plenty of lounges.
The food was very good with plenty of options, lots of salads, types of cheese and very good deserts. Also they had lots of fruits which were very tasty. We enjoyed the barbecue and the theme nights. There is the main restaurant where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner. We haven't tried the snack bars as it was too much for us but I could see that there were options to choose.
We tried the Turkish and Fish a la carte which I would recommend.


The drinks were acceptable. Beer was great as it was Efes. The rest of the drinks were fine, just need to find what you like from their selection.n
Entertainment was good with some of the nights excellent. Don't miss the Turkish night bot food and entertainment.
We tried the spa which was very good and I would recommend it.
You need to use the lifts as the stairs are only for emergency. Sometimes it can get busy at peak times and you may need to wait for couple of minutes, but not what it was exaggerated in other reviews.

Internet it's only in the lobby and their route get crashed quite often and you need to wait to be restarted. However you don't really go on holiday to surf the net!

Most prices are in euro or Turkish lira but really they accept any currency you have.

Our Thompson rep Mustafa was great and very helpful with information.
We wanted to book the trip to visit Antalya by night but it was so popular that there no tickets available during our stay. However it's quite easy to get by public transport which is cheap only 2 Turkish lira/person outside of the hotel.
People are friendly and they give indications even with limited English.
We also booked the trip to Kekova and Mira which is very nice to do if you are interested to historical places and great views along the way. The rep for the trip Feray was absolutely amazing and our day was perfect.

To summarise we had a pleasant as we were expecting to be worse based on some of the reviews. If you are picky you will always find things to complain about. I believe it's a good value for money.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Eliza_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Hotel Kundu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Eliza,
Dear valued guest,

Thanks sincerely for choosing Kervansaray Kundu and sharing your constructive opinions with other holidaymakers.
Your opinions matter us very much.

Hopefully, we welcome you again as soon as possible at our resort. and provide you the best holiday memories.

Kind and warm regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

It was great the only thing was we got the photos great photos btw but my father payed £200 for a DVD with all the photos on it plus 35 photos in a album and a poster but when we got home I looked to see all the photos and they gave us a empty disc but besides that it was great the flumes were opened 7 hours the wave pool was opened 4.00-4.30 pools 24 7 sea next to beach bar but there was a lot of men age anywhere from 20-75 chating up young girls and older women young girls age 9-18 older women age 60-90 just because they want into Britain Turkish people can't get into Britain unless they are maryed to Someone from Britain

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erinxx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Hotel Kundu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Erinx,

Primarily, we'd like to thank you very much for choosing Kervansaray and giving us a feedback about your holiday experience with us.

Your overall satisfaction about the hotel quality and service points pleased us very much.

We'll evaluate all the points you underlined in your review and check again our Photographer Service which has an independent Management from the hotel.
Many thanks again for informing us.

With the wishes of welcoming you again with the best vacation memories.

Kind regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here 1st-8th October 2013. We booked the holiday through Thomspon on the last minute, we didn't pay any extra for double room but upon arrival we were given a double room on the 8th floor with such a beautiful sea-view.
However the air conditioning didn't seem to be working at all in the room and neither in the whole hotel, we complained at the reception the following morning about this and they sent someone who couldn't speak any English to have a look which is what he did, left without giving any signs that he'd be back and came back with a ladder after half an hour, took the fan out, washed it in our shower tub and put it back showing us that it was working. It wasn't working at all and I believe that this was due to the fact that the air conditioning wasn't working in the whole hotel! However, it wasn't very hot during the night so we managed to sleep ok, but once the sun was up in the morning the room was heating so bad that we could barely stay in..
Then the water in the shower was hot and cold all the time, we couldn't have a decent shower during our stay and sometimes there was no water at all for at least 10-15 minutes, a few times we had to wait with the shampoo on for 15 minutes for the water! This was a really bad problem for a hotel that claims itself a 5*. All the time when we didn't have water we rang the reception and we were told that it was due to some technical problems and we'll have to wait for the water to be back..whenever.. They were really rude at the reception and they didn't speak English at all, looked like that was the case with everyone in the hotel, they speak German, Russian and Turkish, but no English..
The room cleaner didn't actually bother to do his job, he was just replacing the toilet papers and the towels, but he never cleaned the toilet or the room once.
The Gym was very hot, no air conditioning so it was almost impossible to do any workout, the machines were so old and with broken pieces, very dissapointed by the gym. We preferred to play tennis or basketball outside than to boil in that gym with antique broken equipment!
The food was ok for someone who doesn't like meat too much, a lot of plain salads rather than mixed salads and no food presentation whatsoever.. Just bowls of cabbage, tomatoes, cucumbers, parsley, mint etc and you just mixed them yourself. They rarely had fish (and when they did it was mostly mackerel, one night they did a nice grilled sea-bass) and the chicken was not great cooked, not much choice of meats neither. The desserts were ok, we liked the baklavas, but no presentation for deserts neither.
The wine was not bad and neither the beer, they also had a great selection of herbal teas which were all nice.
The a la carte restaurants are just fine, although the service is extremely slow! we went to the Turkish restaurant one night and this is the only restaurant that's outside and it started to rain quite bad that night. It looked as if the roof was covered but as soon as it started raining the water poured through that roof cover over all of us, in the plates and everywhere. They brought some big umbrellas from the outside and we managed to finish our dinner while being freezing cold and still soaking.
We also tried the Italian restaurant which was ok as it was inside the hotel, but the service too slow! There is also a Fish Restaurant inside the hotel which we didn't actually try.
The animation team was the worst of all, they were not doing absolutely anything, I didn't actually know they even existed until our 4th day there when we had to ask for a ball to play basketball. The amphiteatre for the shows is located outside so it's not covered. There were a few windy chilly nights and there was no show due to the weather! In one week they only had 2 shows outside, the Turkish folklore was really good. You'd expect to have an inside show theatre in a hotel like this, as the weather is not always good..It's either too hot in the summer and windy&chilly at the beginning and the end of the season..
There is a disco on the beach (which during the day is the beach bar) and they only use it in the summer time, however they do have a disco inside which is basically a un-used and un-furnished room with a sofa, a dirty bar and as tables they use the plastic pool tables!! We went there one night out of curiosity and we ended up leaving after 5 minutes, the flashing lights are way too flashing and they'd make everyone dizzy and the sound is terribly bad and loud, we could actually hear it from the 8th floor of the hotel! Horrible place, it's not a nightclub as it's advertised, it's an absolute damp!
There is also a Piano bar with an actual piano that nobody is using. Very crowded little place with no music or air conditioning.
The wi-fi is only free 30 minutes every day in the lobby and you have to pay 15 euros for the week to have it the room.
Late checkout was 60 Euros up to 6PM and 80 EUROS up to 8pm, but we totally refused to pay this for a room with no air conditioning and hot&cold water. So we checked out at 12, left the luggage in the luggae store-room and we were advised that if we needed to have a shower to go to the spa! Oh my God, what a spa, the dirtiest place I've ever seen, the changing rooms were so small and wet and dirty and so were the showers, I can't imagine how people still go to that sauna and even for massages in that place!
Finally, the best things about the holiday were the view that we had from our room, the beach which is quite long and beautiful and the sea as we managed to swin in there a few times. The hotel is one of the worst ones I've been, no offence, but I tend to believe that it's more designed for Russian&Turkish and for a lower class of tourists.. I hope Thomson will take this hotel out of their list next year as it's not up to Thomson's standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruxandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Hotel Kundu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Ruxandra,

Primarily, thank you for choosing and reviewing Kervansaray.
Kervansaray Hotels are always in search of providing a service guaranteed in the agreements completing it with their guest oriented management approach. All of the guests special requests and suggestions matter us very much for assuring usual Kervansaray quality.

Please be sure that like all of the guest feedbacks, your review has already been presented to the Management's attention and it's going to be checked and evaluated in detail.

If you give us the honour of welcoming you again, we assure to present you good holiday opportunities.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I'm not a snob but this hotel is only a 3 star at best on our arrival we were given a twin room when we booked a double and when we complained we where told to lump it also the staffs attitude is terrible here are a few things which let this hotel down.
1. Service is not very good.
2. You do not get the room you have booked.
3. Rooms not cleaned to a good standard one day it wasn't cleaned at all.
4. Rooms very basic.
5. Spa dirty and very noisy .
6. Food basic in all restaurants.

Good Points.
1. Beach very good.
2. Pool area and water slides ok.
3. Gardens good.
4. Water sports good but expensive.

Overall as I have said this is not a 5 star hotel but you can have a nice holiday but for the same money there is genuine 5 star hotels along the same beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilwrigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Hotel Kundu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Wilwrigh,

First of all, we'd like to thank you for choosing Kervansaray and giving us a feedback concerning your holiday experience in our hotel.

Your opinions matter us very much, because as Kervansaray Hotels we're always in search of improoving our usual service quality with your contributions .

All of your comments are examined in detail and our Management Team and definitely our team does their best for improving the mentioned sections if it's necessary.
Hopefully, we can have the chance of welcoming you again with better holiday memories.


Kindest regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked through Thomson at the last minute, and had a quiet peaceful time. We found the staff through out the week to be friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and a good size, although showings signs of being well used. I have read the other reviewers and apart from agreeing with them on the condition of the room furniture, I have to disagree with some of there other findings, we must have been lucky. No noisy kids, round the pool was clean. It was just what myself and wife needed a quiet relaxing time. The Thomsom Rep Mustafa was very helpful, one of the better reps that I have met.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefEng100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Hotel Kundu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear our precious guest,

Primarily thank you so much for sharing your positive holiday experiences with us. We're happy to see your overall satisfaction with the hotel quality and staff.

We hope to welcome you in the near future again...

Best regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our 5th trip to Turkey & this was by a long way the worst experience we have had. We traveled with Thomson following previous good experiences. To be ensure you believe this is a balanced review I will list the positives first; The view from the south facing rooms over the sea was sensational from the upper floors, we were on 7 & could see for miles. The Pool is lovely & sectioned into various areas according to your preference, its a shame all the water slides are not in use, but those that were provided a decent thrill. The wave pool is great, but the waves are only on for 1/2 hr a day, at 4pm. The Pool area is fairly clean & there are plenty of sunbeds & no early morning scrum, tired looking pool towels are provided & you can change them as often as you like. Lastly the showers are good, powerfull, easily controlled.

Unfortunately that is all the good I can recall, on the downside this hotel is not clean, I recall a previous reviewer describing the rooms as 'tired', they are not, they are grubby. We stayed for 11 nights & our balcony was not cleaned once. Top surfaces in the bathroom were cleaned daily, but anything not easily reached was neglected, one shelf under the sink was again not touched for the entire time we were there. The water in the bathroom has a nasty yellow tinge to it & a faint smell which is not pleasant. The air conditioning in the rooms is ineffective when the sun comes up, but does work when you don't need it at night. The minibar / fridge is useless & turns off when the key-card is removed from its slot. the corridors leading to the rooms are again dirty, why they are carpeted escapes me, but as you can imagine they smell as well. The reception area is clean, although from the outside your hopes fade as you approach the entrance, it is really badly designed & uninviting, & grubby! Once inside there is a lighting scheme that annoyingly changes colour every few minutes, cosmetic dressing that does not hide anything. Check-in was fairly painless although the chap who tried to give us a brief run down did not speak particularly good english & rushed through a few basics before handing us a tatty photocopied sheet of meal & bar times, with basic map of the complex. We were quite willing to carry our own cases to our room but they insisted the bellhop would do it, we waited nearly 20 minutes, & apart from showing us how to use the safe, I'm not sure why he was stood there expecting a tip.

Time for dinner, we dressed smartly, casual but smart, & made for the lift. 20 minutes later we & another couple chose the 'staff only' staircase. There are 6 lifts, 1 of which did not work all the time we were there, others were in & out periodically, the 20 minute wait was not an exception, there are not enough lifts for the number of guests, particularly at peak times, meal times etc. i mentioned earlier we 'dressed' for dinner, most of the brits did, unfortunately nobody else did. As we entered the canteen (I cannot bring myself to describe it as a restaurant), the wall of noise hit us, the heat hit us, the scrum around the buffet was less than dignified & finding a table, a clean one, was challenging, but we finally got seated, unfortunately next to a family with 3 rowdy children. We were offered drinks fairly quickly by a tired looking waiter & when we asked for water we were shown a half used plastic bottle on the table & 2 warm glasses were produced, the drinks we ordered finally turned up half way through our starter. The food itself is poor, it is not hot unless you wait in the endless queues for the BBQ, & if you don't like chicken forget it! The daytime snack bars are no better, although I would recommend the turkish pancakes & the waffles. If you like ice cream, be on your toes, they are only available from 11-12.00 & 3-4pm.

The alcohol, apart from the beer, is absolutely dreadful, the measures are generous but all have a similar taste, & unfortunately the mixers are are just as bad. The bars are not adequately staffed which results in long queues although Idris at the beach bar & the young lad in the piano bar do make an effort to keep everybody happy.

The staff generally are surly & uncommunicative, perhaps the fact that we were polite, courteous brits probably didn't help, rude & arrogant turks & eastern europeans seemed to be treated better. the staff lacked focus & really didnt seem to give a damn about anything, in previous hotels I am used to seeing staff continually clearing up & keeping the place presentable. There were what appeared to be number of supervisors walking around doing not alot, nobody really cared!

Previous reviews mentioned the wonderful animation team, ... really?, they sat around all day doing nothing apart from play with their phones, at night they shouted 'disco time' or 'show time' & then left us with some half cocked amateurish offering.

Lastly there was no-where to escape to, Lara beach or Kundu has been described as the las Vegas of Turkey, I cant make out whether its not finished or derelict, there is nothing there apart from the hotels & a scattering of shops.

I would like to thank my fellow brits, Alan & Lynne, Rhianne & Jonathon, Craig & Lynn, & Craig & Rosie for making this holiday bearable, without them I would have flown home early.

Pay a little more, go minimum 5 star, & go anywhere but here.

Room Tip: Upper floor sea view is must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bicesterian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Hotel Kundu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear our precious guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinions about our hotel. .
Your opinions matter us and give us to check again our service points and their routine operation.
Despite some of your fixations seem hard to be observed in our resort, please be sure that all the points you underlined are going to be taken in consideration.

We hope to welcome you again and provide you better holiday memories.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We go away at least 3 times per year,have travelled the world but have never stayed in such an awful hotel before. The food was plentiful but always cold, the dining room noise was off the scale with screaming babies/children and the most dreadful music, if you managed to get a seat outside you got smoke blown at you from all angles.
Some of the guests where very rude, especially a deligation of about 40 men with the Democratic party who literally took over so it was very difficult to find a seat in the dining room and piano bar, they invaded your space if one of the other delegated sat near by so you were forced to move. The beds where the most uncomfortable I haver slept on, and children where allowed to run round unsupervised in all area's screaming and crying, getting in the way of people with food or drinks, there was no where to get away from them. There are poor contingency plans if the weather is bad, we had a really badTurkish night in a howling wind and gale, we got wet, the food was cold, we were freezing, the roof was leaking so even our food got wet - disaster.(we had asked at reception 3 times if the night was going ahead as it should have been cancelled earlier in the day) Everybody then had to cram into the Piano bar with again the screaming children, no seats and difficulty getting a drink.
On the plus side the bar and waiting on staff where excellent (Chef and Rep where very pompous) Room and all all public areas where very clean (carpets and furniture looked a bit sad and past their best) Wonderful swimming pools and abundant pool towels. So thank heavens for some of the staff for lightening our awful holiday, its the first time ever I have been glad to get home!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Hotel Kundu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Ruth,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinions about our hotel on this web site .
As Kervansaray Hotels, we’re always open to every kind of opinion and suggestion for improving our service quality. Many thanks again for giving us to check again our service points and their routine operation.
As a seasonal hotel and on September which is accepted as a Summer month of Antalya, the rainy weather is hardly expected and predicted advance.We're sorry that you found our outlets bad-organized in case of adverse weather conditions. By reason of the fact that the most of hotel service points are qualified as outdoor, the hotel can have difficulty in providing an indoor service.We'd like to apologize you again, if we bother you.

In addition to those, we'll gladly take over and examine all of the points you underlined again.

We hope to welcome you again and provide you better holiday memories.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
4.7 mi away
Kervansaray Lara Hotel
Kervansaray Lara Hotel
#187 of 234 in Antalya
1,445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Lara
Ramada Resort Lara
#27 of 234 in Antalya
1,838 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lara Family Club
Lara Family Club
#23 of 234 in Antalya
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
1.3 mi away
Venezia Palace Deluxe Resort Hotel
13.8 mi away
Sealife Family Resort
Sealife Family Resort
#15 of 234 in Antalya
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kervansaray Hotel Kundu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kervansaray Hotel Kundu

Address: Kundu Mevkii Antalya Merkez | Lara Beach, Antalya 07230, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Antalya
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#37 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#48 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: £51 - £854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kervansaray Hotel Kundu 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short drive taking only 14 km from Antalya city centre, facing Lara Beach, this beach-front hotel impresses with its unique pool landscape, large garden and numerous facilities.Spend a family, a couple or friends holiday to remember at Kervansaray Kundu Hotel. While you treat yourself to a professional massage at the wellness centre, your children can have fun in the kids pool, which features a large water slide. Younger guests will also appreciate the all-day animation program and mini-disco.Guests looking for a more active stay at Kervansaray can try out various watersports, including canoeing, diving and parasailing. Work out in the fitness room or enjoy a swim in the indoor pool. Tennis enthusiasts can make use of the on-site court.You can also treat yourself with private pavilion service situated on the unique jetty area.Every summer, Kervansaray Kundu is home to a number of dance groups, magicians and other artists. Listen to live music while sipping a drink in the piano bar, open 24 hours per day. All-inclusive offers also include drinks at the pool bar, beach bar and disco bar.Each of the guest rooms includes a balcony, some of which overlook the water. Enjoy a rest in the comfort of your modern and spacious room and enjoy your meal with the glamorous variety of the open buffet or in a thematic A la carte restaurant, so make your night more special... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kervansaray Hotel Kundu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kundu Kervansaray Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing