We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful”
Review of Karyatit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karyatit Hotel
Ranked #99 of 228 Hotels in Antalya
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

You get what you pay for, but just be careful.

The hotel rooms are very very small. The quality of the rooms arent that good. We were given 1 sheet, with holes and brown stains, and two throw style blankets with other peoples hair on them. I picked out blonde hairs and brown hairs on my face, and both of us have black hair. Found used condom packets, which was nice. Toilet seat was broken and moved when u used it. The water pressure is bad, but you do get hot water after you wait and let it run for a while. But be warned, 2 settings, very hot or just about bearably warm.

Thing is though, i can put up with all this, but i guarantee you wont get any sleep in this hotel. Starting from about 7-8pm, you will get loud music and traditional singing, and i mean LOUD. It will not stop till about 3am, or even 5am some nights. It was impossible to sleep, booming through any crack in the rooms. With a combination of extremely hard matress and pillows, it makes for a really bad night. we couldn't wait to leave.

the problem is the hotel is across from a series of clubs which host football matches on their tvs too, and we had a galatasary match invovled loud loud shouting and chanting all night with drunk fans, gathering on streets outside.

staff are ok, villie is the best. a really nice guy and so helpful, the rest just dont seem bothered. We were talking and joking one night and got told to keep the noise down. This was at the same time the music clubs were blasting out their noise causing us not to sleep. So i don't understand the logic there really.

beware, cleaning ladies forget to lock rooms when they have done with yours. We returned to find out room unlocked twice.

You pay extra for everything, air con, internet and even to use the toilets downstairs. You dont even get a signal in the upper levels even when you pay for the wifi, but ofcourse they dont care.

overall, we couldnt wait to get home and have a good nights sleep.

If you want basically a bed and a toilet, and don't care for anything else, this is for you. If you want comfort and politeness and just a good nights rest with safety for your things, I would not recommend this place. I really don't understand how people can give this place a good review. Its just not at all a comfortble place to be

Room Tip: you want a tip, just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hasan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    22
    11
    4
    14
See reviews for
7
30
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wells
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

went there for a week NOV 2012 (, bailed out after four days. Why - not impressed I had to MAKE UP THE BED WHEN i ARRIVED!! The sheets were clean though stained and had holes in them. Towels still not changed by day 4 nor sheets or bin emptied I found that unacceptable considering paper cannot go down the loo. The shower flooded water onto the tiles which were slippy and dangerous underfoot.
Not the hotels fault about the noise, a club down the road played loud music until very late every night, The room was dirty and a wardrobe door hanging off on one side.
The good points were plenty of hot water and nice staff, I can't comment on the cleaning staff cos we never got the room serviced.

Room Tip: find another hotel, we moved to Dogru round the corner, cant rate it highly enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naema1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antalya hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the Karyatit in Kalechi in May/June 2011. This was our second visit to Antalya. The hotel was fine, rooms were a bit basic, but ok. We were half board, didn't really attend breakfast, and your evening meal was what was made for the Family that owned the hotel, and this was served to guest also. It was very nice, didn't always know what you were getting, but wasn't disappointed once with the evening meals. The staff were very friendly, and couldn't be more courteous to you. Ur, the reception guy, was very kind, and always had a bug hi there and hello for you, no matter what time of day. The night staff were also very helpful, and the bar was always open for as long as you wanted to stay up and drink. ON the whole, a very nice stay. The hotel itself could do with a bit of an upgrade, the showers, rooms etc.. I would recommend this hotel, and would definately return to it should we go back to Antalya in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cha-Cha-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seinäjoki, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Hotel Karyatit is located near by a beautiful large park, where you can see Toros mountains over the see, drink tee and listen to the birds singing. Hotel room was a "paradise"! Why? There was air-conditioner... outside +37 degrees. Thanks for the good-humored staff, hard-working cleaning-ladys and especially for the owner-family! We have enjoyed to spend a week in Karyatit. It was our HOME!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raili N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingene, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This year we were for the fifth time in the 'Karyatit’.
Last year we were lucky that we had a superior room,
but this time they were already fully booked when booking and we got a standard room on the third floor. This is a bit on the small side,
but is nice renovated and is sufficient for basic comfort.
There is a very good and quiet aircon. The TV in the room has only Turkish channels.
In the common area there is a large flat where the mainly Dutch clients, can watch BVN.
In the room there is also a fridge. Also wifi available (€2.00/day).
The staff and the hotel owners Fatma and Yasser do everything to make guests as desired. And that's no exaggeration.
It remains a pity that the traditional Belgian tour operators do not offer this charming family hotel anymore as a package-holiday.
Not everybody likes the huge 4/5 star all-in hotels miles away from the lovely old town ‘Kaleiçi’.
We hope to go back to Karyatit in 2013 !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dany_de-from_bruges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2012

You get what you pay for really. Nice picturesque hotel from the outside especially the breakfast/pool area, but the bedrooms very standard. Staff very polite and helpful at all times no complaints there at all. Room was cleaned every time we wanted it cleaned. We did have a few problems with our fridge in room not working properly, but this was replaced when we spoke up, we had bed sheets with holes in, the entry door to the bathroom was jammed so was a mission to get into the bathroom most days. Overall we had a spacious bathroom with shower, no major complaints. Food was okay, down side for me was having more or less same thing for breakfast everyday. Dinner was interesting yet very basic. Desserts was fruits almost everyday so not very adventurous with their desserts. With some of these downsides I still enjoyed my time at the hotel, friendly staff, room cleaned, nice main course dinner, nice location I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor room if you have a baby or kids as there's no lift you have to climb the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess2012_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Overall: Generally the hotel is a lovely, quaint place to stay. The staff are very reserved, but polite. It's very peaceful, and music (not loud) plays in the pool area all day, and changes to more romantic/classics during dinner time (6pm and onwards.) The location is ideal inside the old village, and 10-15 minutes walk from all the major historical sites etc. There are some negatives, but they're so minor that they don't affect your holiday here.

The room: The room we stayed in (2 person) was small, but after the first day you don't notice it and they're quite cosy. That said we didn't see other rooms. Everything in Kaleici is on the small side though - it's an old town and all the buildings reflect that traditional style, sash windows etc. Our sheets were clean, we had lots of storage space. The mini fridge didn't cool well though, but like I said, this didn't affect our holiday. The bathroom wasn't 5* luxury but it was functional, clean and just fine, two towels each. We had six plug entries. People are saying their rooms weren't cleaned, however, for your room to be cleaned you have to leave your key at reception when you go out. We had a small TV and my boyfriend started fiddling with the antenna when it gave him a small electric shock - that said we didnt use the TV anyway.

Outdoor: The outdoor is great - masses of flowers and greenery drapes from the walls etc. The pool is lovely, with a quaint bridge, and a fountain sprays from it in the evenings. It's open from 10am-6pm when tables are set around the lit up pool for those who want to have dinner at the hotel, romantic with candles etc.

Breakfast: The breakfast buffet is just fine and tasty. Bagels, white or brown bread, cucumber, tomato, salami/ham, 3 types of cheese, egg omlette, watermelon, olives, strawberry jam, Turkish rose jam, honey, butter obviously etc etc..Then you have variations, (usually Turkish) like different pastries with different stuffings, Madeira typed cake...etc. The coffee is tasty. They don't change the basis of the breakfast but it's universal and caters for everyone so it has to be there. There IS a member of staff who asks if you want freshly squeezed orange juice, that's true, and you do have to pay for it even though he doesn't mention it. But it's written on the wall outside - it costs 5 Turkish Lira. There are cats wondering around (maybe two or three) but this is Turkey. They're not dirty shabby cats and the don't come too close anyway so they didn't bother us.

Extras: The dinners here are quite expensive for the budget we had. Instead we found Turkish bistros with real Turkish food (you know you're in the right place when they can't speak English at all,) and a big meal with a drink cost us around 10 TL (around £3) instead of around 70TL in the hotel... For internet you have to pay extra, 2 euros per day, and you have to buy out a whole week, but the connection is very good and fast.

Had a very good time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoveToTravel500182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Guleryuz
#154 of 228 in Antalya
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ninova Boutique Hotel
Ninova Boutique Hotel
#52 of 228 in Antalya
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Kayalar Hotel
Grand Kayalar Hotel
#110 of 228 in Antalya
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Life Otel
Life Otel
#81 of 228 in Antalya
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kivrak Hotel
Kivrak Hotel
#128 of 228 in Antalya
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argos
Argos
#86 of 228 in Antalya
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karyatit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karyatit Hotel

Property: Karyatit Hotel
Address: Kilicarslan Mah. Kadi Pasa Sok. No:7 Yatlimani (Kaleici), Muratpasa, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 228 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karyatit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Karyatit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karyatit Hotel Antalya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing