We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and cosy”
Review of Atelya Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atelya Art Hotel
Ranked #88 of 230 Hotels in Antalya
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Traditional and cosy”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We've visited this property during our trip to the old city. By the time you get in you feel like going back 200 years like all these restorated traditional mansions or inns in the old town. We stayed overnight because it was suitably situated in the heart of the pubs and restaurants. However it was not noisy..or I guess we were very drunk ! Anyway, we enjoined the place although we left very early in the morning and we couldn't enjoy the pool which was hidden do nicely that didn't destroy this old fashioned atmosphere. The price was affordable for such a stay; 160 Turkish lira meaning around 60€

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at a dreadful hotel in Istanbul (don't usually whine). We were therefore absolutely delighted when we arrived at this gorgeous old restored Ottoman home. The staff are very friendly. They don't speak a lot of English but we found them really helpful and kind. We stayed in one of the rooms in the alley next to the hotel. It was furnished in traditional furniture with lovely turkish rugs scattered all around. Bathroom was very clean and newish. Buffet breakfast was more than adequate. It is so central and you can explore the Marina and town by foot. Lots of restaurants, cafés, pubs etc all around. Highly recommended to experience the real Turkey. Lovely place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank phantomrose101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A boutique hotel in old Ottoman mansions. This place is comfortable, and has a lot of character. The room is up high wooden steps. The woodwork throughout is old and well kept, nice view out the window, the rooms and bath are clean and well-kept. The sheets are sun-dried. There's a good breakfast. The proprietor and staff are friendly and professional. The clientele are interesting people. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We rarely give less than three stars, but this hotel just is not worth a visit. I'm not sure how the reviews can be so all over the place because we found nothing to recommend. The stairs up to our room were treacherous. The room had absolutely no amenities, and by that I mean our suitcases had to be on the floor and there wasn't a semblance of a hook or shelf in the bathroom to put or hang anything. As to breakfast...forget it! We stayed at six different hotels during our 2-1/2 week stay in Turkey and this didn't even warrant the name 'breakfast' in comparison. (And yes, we stayed in three other small, local hotels besides two newer hotels.) Definitely to be skipped, IMHO.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank los_companeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Let me start with saying this hotel is absolutely beautiful! With all the decorations, you really feel the history and age of this building.

Pros:
Perfect location! You're in beautiful old Kaleici and you're only a few minutes walk to the water!

The hotel itself is awesome! Large, comfy room, with high ceilings, uneven floor and stairs which felt as if they might break under your weight (yes, I put this under pros because it shows how old this building is and how much history goes with it!) and interesting art everywhere. Go hang out at the bar/pool at night. It surprised me that no one was ever out there during the 2 nights we stayed. The pool changes colors and the drinks aren't too pricey. The bartender (not sure of his name) is really nice.

Cons:
The service was...interesting. When we first arrived no one was at reception and we finally caught the attention of the man tending the pool. We told him we had a reservation. He didn't say anything and a girl who we learned usually sits at reception was just standing and looking at us. The look they gave us was as if we had walked into a random person's house and said "Hey, we're going to stay here!" Finally a man sunbathing on a chair gets up and checks us in. He hands our key to the girl who then hands it to the pool man who takes our luggage upstairs, shows us the remote for the air conditioner then leaves. After the warm, friendly welcome we received at our previous hotel (Hideaway Hotel in Kas), we were a bit perplexed. The next morning when we went for breakfast, I noticed the girl from reception who had said nothing the day before offer a little girl some candy for Bayram. Then, two older women came in and she talked lively with them and offered them candy as well. However, when my fiance and I walked right past her as we left the hotel, she again just stared, no smile, no candy offering, nothing.

They didn't provide us with shampoo or conditioner, only 2 boxes of hand soap (though upon opening one I discovered it was empty.) Also, no matter which direction you turned the shower, it would either have an average temperature or be scalding or freezing. It seemed to decide when it would become these temperatures and you couldn't do much about it. It was a bit miserable.

We stayed in the main building and our room faced a somewhat busy alley. Cars and motorcycles were constantly driving past and you could hear every sound from cars, people and cats, who I believe have decided that this particular alley is their favorite place to either kill each other or to do...something else because several times a day you would hear the piercing howl of a cat. Super annoying.

Breakfast is pretty meager, or at least compared to the large layout we had at Hideaway. Olives, bread, cheese, meat, corn flakes.

Room Tip: We stayed in 206 of the main building. It did not have a good view and was situated facing a somewha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheslikeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We did not get to see all parts of this hotel or other rooms so I can only write about the room we had in the main part of this hotel. It was very small, as was the bathroom. It did have a tiny balcony which helped but not really enough to make the room experience comfortable. I am not sure why this place is called an Art Hotel. The owner's art is, indeed, displayed, but the rest of the decorations are downright shabby. The breakfast was very average. The hotel staff we dealt with did not speak much English so we didn't get any help with what to see and do. The hotel is located well and there is a place to park a car. I think I would pay a little more to be more comfortable in Antalya.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3doglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very nice refurbished Anatolian houses, with wooden floors and very nice atmosphere. The swimming pool is small but a fantastic refreshment on a hot summer's day. Decent food and very kind hotel owner. The hotel has a private parking place which is very useful in this part of town. We enjoyed our 2 nights stay with our 3 kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.2 mi away
Minyon Hotel
Minyon Hotel
#62 of 230 in Antalya
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tekeli Konaklari
Tekeli Konaklari
#70 of 230 in Antalya
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eski Masal Hotel
Eski Masal Hotel
#58 of 230 in Antalya
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Urcu Hotel
Urcu Hotel
#55 of 230 in Antalya
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metur
Hotel Metur
#61 of 230 in Antalya
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kont Pansiyon
Kont Pansiyon
#167 of 230 in Antalya
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atelya Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atelya Art Hotel

Property: Atelya Art Hotel
Address: Barbaros Mah. Civelek Sok. No:21 Yatlimani , Muratpasa, Antalya, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 230 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Atelya Art Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atelya Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing