We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samira Resort
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We are a young couple who have just returned from a week long stay at the Samira De Luxe, we stayed in the new hotel Block A... couldn't fault the room, very clean, powerful shower, always hot water, cleaners were lovely, fresh towels every day, reception staff esp. Fatima were lovely and were very helpful... breakfast was simple but nice... bread rolls, cheese and salad and a few cereals, drinks were at an extra charge... however, the air conditioning and the fridge within the room were at no extra charge

Staff were very friendly but i have to say very pushy about trying to make us attend Turkish night (as usual), even the manager... it's not our thing being forced to get up and dance, the waitors became very irritating and when we didn't go, the waitors weren't so friendly with us from then on but we've experienced this before elsewhere to be honest

The road in front of the hotel that some people mentioned is completed now and not too busy or hard to cross at all this time of year but we were slightly out of season (mid June), no need to mention the hill (although it is the reason why i didn't award the hotel 5/5)... after the first attempt of walking back from town you will be getting the taxi back :P (only around £4 each time, or if you're going around the time of the bus it is free but this is limiting as it is only 4 times a day)

Generally, this town is so much nicer than anywhere we've stayed in Turkey before, much less hassle-y and although it is chilled out there are still lively bars that stay open literally until sunrise (Mojito's :P) The harbour is very picturesque and there are some awesome ancient sites nearby (Patara, Xanthos, Letoon, Kekova and Myra) and we actually found it to be cheaper than other larger resorts we have stayed in in Turkey... would recommend the place and the hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justcallmejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    135
    70
    23
    20
See reviews for
126
224
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We have just come back from a lovely 2 week stay at the Samira Deluxe, our second time here. The rooms are lovely and clean the staff are very friendly. The only negative i have is, i mentioned it was my birthday and the bar staff said they would get a cake for me, i just shrugged my shoulders as i thought they didn't mean it. The Sunday before we left they did indeed bring out a cake and fire works and sang happy birthday, i thought this was really nice of them and myself and my partner bought the bar staff a drink to say thank you. When we got our final bill on our departure day, they had charged us 80 TL for the cake and fireworks, i said we didn't ask for this they offered, they just shrugged their shoulders and said nothing. ~I have heard of other people being caught like this there, they make out they are doing you a favour and then charge you for it. BE CAREFUL.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

On arrival (2am) we had a friendly greeting and got shown to our room, which was clean and adequate. The next day we decided to check out the pool/bar area, we had a very warm welcome by Josef and the rest of the staff, this was the level of service throughout our stay. The rooms were cleaned everyday and if we had any problems, they would be resolved helpfully and promptly, the only issues we had were; a softer pillow needed and where to turn the main hot water tap on! You can either pay for food and drink or add it to your bill at the end of the holiday.
The pool area and bar was immaculate, with a decent size pool, darts, 2 pool tables and some cool beanbags to chill on with an Efes and there was always plenty of staff available to help. The food was of a good standard and had a good range of drinks and cocktails. We decided to book to the Turkish Night, which is held every Thursday, theres a good choice of different turkish food to try and the entertainment was a belly dancer, who got us all up dancing and a group of traditional Turkish dancers, well worth doing.
We stayed for 10 nights, but could've easily stayed longer, this hotel might only be rated as a 3 star, but the service is definatley 5 star, would recommend this hotel for outstanding service, cleanliness and value!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed for 1 week in June 12. We had booked an apartment, but on arrival we were disappointed to find that not only was it was rather old & dated, but as it was at the back of the property the only outlook was onto a scruffy road. Feeling a bit let down, we asked reception if there was a better apartment; none were available, but we were offered a switch to a hotel room and were very glad we took this up. The hotel room was much more modern, with a nice shower room, fridge, good air-con and a good sized balcony. We were lucky enough to end up with a view over the town to the bay, but as with the apartments, some hotel rooms had no view at all.

All of the staff were extremely helpful, and definitely one of the hotel's biggest selling points. The pool was also lovely, but the surrounding pool area felt a bit cramped - the sunloungers were plentiful, but too close together for our liking.

The pool bar serves decent food & we ate lunch there several times, but preferred to spend the evenings in Kalkan. We found the music from the pool bar a bit intrusive during the day, & there was also a wide screen TV which was used for showing football etc, which we could have lived without. We didn't notice much noise from the pool bar in the evenings though.

The walk into Kalkan takes about 15 mins, is steep (leave your high heels at home) & does involve crossing a dual carriage way. This isn't a busy road (especially in the evenings) by UK standards, but you do have to briefly walk along the hard shoulder, & you need to keep your wits about you, particularly as some local drivers drive the wrong way along the road at this point as a short cut! We didn't attempt to walk back up the hill, there is a taxi rank towards the bottom of the hill and it only cost 12TL.

Kalkan itself is really attractive, with a nice atmosphere, plenty of good restaurants to choose from and various shops to look around as well. Everywhere is hilly though, so not recommended for anyone with walking difficulties.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan - UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have just returned from 10 nights at the Samira Deluxe and it was brilliant. The hotel staff were excellent, very friendly and never stop working. The bar/restaurant staff work such long hours but you never hear them complaining or moaning. We stayed in the Hotel block A, the room was very modern and clean. Towels and bed linen are changed every 3 days and the room also had aircon. The bathroom was also very modern and clean and a very good power shower which was nice! We had fantastic views overlooking the sea from the balcony. We also had a fridge in the room which was handy for storing water/juice which we bought from the shop just down the road.

The breakfast was a traditional Turkish breakfast which was sufficient, they do offer Full English Breakfast at an extra cost but we didn't see the need. We often ate dinner and evening meal at the Hotel. Wide choice of food on the menu and service was speedy and not at all costly. Charges from the Bar/Restaurant can be put on the room bill which was handy.

I can't remember the lady's name on Reception but she was very helpful. Our rep hadn't turned up to greet us so she phoned and got it sorted and also phoned the transfer company to arrange transfer times when we were leaving. She was always happy to help with any problems or questions you had.

I have to agree with the other reviews about the steep hill but we didn't find this a problem. We would often walk into town down the hill and then catch the free shuttle bus back which is at various times during the day/evening. This drops off and picks up from the Migros shop half way down the hill. The shuttle bus was very much appreciated after having a fantastic meal in town and unable to walk any further due to being too full!

Kalkan itself is lovely, lovely little shops and plenty fantastic restaurants to choose from in the evening. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return tomorrow given the chance!

Room Tip: High floor over looking sea to appreciate the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naughtyjellybabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks in June 2012.

Regretably can't add much to the other reviews, the views are stunning, the management and staff go out of their way to help. the place is spotlessly clean.

I agree that the music is irritatingly loud at times though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank disc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We've recently returned from the Samira deluxe and wow what a place. We arrived in the early hours due to the flight times and the 2 hour transfer but we were swiftly shown our apartment and were able to get some sleep. The apartments are very roomy, the bedroom has twin beds (nice firm mattresses) with wardrobe and dressing table. The shower room has a very powerful shower and again with plenty of room. The lounge/diner area has 2 large sofas (which would be 2 extra beds if needed) a dining table and the kitchen has a full size fridge/freezer gas and electric cooker and everything you'd need if you were to do any cooking. We just did breakfast.
The balcony looked out directly onto the adjacent apartment building but does not deter from the fabulous views you have from both sides (down to the sea/up to the mountain. We spent many hours out on the balcony enjoying the views, chatting with fellow guests and and enjoying the Effes dark - yum.
The pool area is just lovely, there were always plenty on sun loungers and not far to stroll to the bar and restaurant. We ate at the snack bar a couple of afternoons and the food was really nice.The pool was pretty cool but very refreshing.
I need to tell everyone about the excellent staff, from management (Oz) the maids/reception/bar & restaurant guys - each and everyone of them was just so genuinely friendly, helpful and they all without exception do a fabulous job. I even cried saying good-bye to them!!
Finally regarding the hotel - I don't think the hill down to town can be underestimated. I know different reviews say different things but anyone going needs to be prepared. The benefit of this locaton is definately the amazing views.
Now on to Kalkan - this is an excellent resort with not one McDonalds or crappy takeaway in sight. There is one main road down to town with shops and restaurants all the way down to the harbour. You don't get hastled like in many other Turkish resorts, everyone is really friendly.
There is a bus station just over the main road from the hotel where you can get a dolmus (bus) to many lovely places for just 5 TL each.
The tour companies have lots of trips but it's worth taking a look round town as there's lots of agencies selling the same ones (sometimes cheaper, especially if you book a few together, you'll probably get a discount). We went with Unlimited, they were brilliant. Trip No1 was a boat trip around Kekova (sunken city) with a few stops around to snorkel/swim/explore. The highlight for me was the stop at an island (I think it was called Simena??) If you make it up to the top the views are outstanding and on the way down you can get home made ice cream :-).
There are a few supermarkets on the main road, the first one looks the biggest but don't be fooled it's not. The biggest and best is Yali, they have lots of choice and cheaper than the rest.
Everyone must try the amazing turkish food, every restaurant is wonderful. Out tip would be to try the ones further up the hill as we felt they were slightly better than the ones further down.
Our 3 top choices would be:
Cafe Ev
Pisces
Chillies
Each one would get 10 out of 10 for the amazing food, service & view (separate reviews for individual restaurants).
Everyone should go to Kalkan and definately stay at Samira Deluxe.
Many many thanks to all the staff - We'll be back
Love and sunshine x

Room Tip: The apartments at the front and higher up give great views but the higher and side apartments give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JamboSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#26 of 39 in Kalkan
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#6 of 39 in Kalkan
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Property: Samira Resort
Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samira Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing