We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another fantastic holiday”
Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samira Resort
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Samira Resort. We booked self catering apartment There was an issue with overbooking but we were taken to a apartment block of 4, with a pool this is where we stayed for the whole fortnight. It was about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, but the manager offer us a lift whenever we wanted.The staff were very helpful and friendly, popping in to make sure we were ok. We used the hotel for breakfast the first morning and which was complimentary. We also went to the Turkish evening which was fantastic. We will definitely go back again. Kalkan is a beautiful resort and Samira Resort is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynChedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

I really am compelled to comment here ... Some of the reviews here are just downright WRONG and RUDE and completely unnecessary! I booked this hotel for 2 weeks for my boyfriend and myself, from the 7th September. Upon arrival at the airport we were informed by a rep from Thomas Cook that the Deluxe had over booked but that we would be put up in another hotel, inconvenient yes, but not the end of the world! We stayed at the Kalube hotel for 2 nights and were picked up on the Monday morning by a transfer to the Samira. Upon arrival there, we were checked in with pleasure, taken to our room (801 in A block) and it was lovely, OK the shower was small but you shower in 5 mins, what's the problem!? The balcony overlooking the harbour was wonderful and peaceful. Onto the next morning for breakfast, it's a Turkish breakfast, they're actually catering US, the breakfast was perfectly fine, OK it got a bid tedious, but what doesn't after 2 weeks? I certainly didn't want for anything else. The staff both during the morning and evening were brilliant, fun and friendly, certainly not rude or intrusive. The lunch menu was great, good variety at reasonable prices, yes, slightly more expensive than restaurants in the town but you get that everywhere with hotels. The walk to/from the town was steep, but don't book it if you don't want a walk, it's highlight all over the place that it's in the hills! There are 2 ways to come and go and one isn't as steep, a small hill then flat ground, clearly people didn't discover it. Unfortunately, I cannot comment on the Turkish night or the BBQ evening as we had plans, but by all accounts it was fun and lively and worth £20, come on, you're on holiday! Where in the UK can you dine out for less that £40 per couple??? This place is lovely, the staff very friendly and accommodating. My boyfriend and I very rarely go back to the same place twice as it's a big ol' world out there, but were are already planning to go back next June. For those negative reviews out there, stay in the UK and order your steak and chips at your local, this clearly isn't the place for you! For those others that want a great place to stay in a wonderful town, then book with no delay!

Room Tip: The higher the better and try and get a visit to Le Sera Turkish Bath, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a great place to stay if the management can sort out the continual overbooking nightmare. You cannot go on blaming a system. The problem stems from poor in house management. I believe that three people process bookings (the two sons and the eldest son’s wife).There are some great staff that are getting fed up of customers being treated badly at the start of their holiday and they are left to pick up the pieces.
We have stayed at the Samira Deluxe now (called Samira Resort) many times over the last few years, spending thousands of pounds. We have stayed at the apartments and then even five weeks in one of the villas last year (2012) after booking directly with the owners.
We arrived again at the Samira Resort at 16:10 on the Friday 6th September, having been told prior to travelling that there were possible issues yet again with overbooking. There were similar issues at this time last year (2012) – I even read this on Trip Advisor. The first thing we were told that they had indeed an overbooking problem and that they would like us to spend the next three nights in a villa until Monday 9th Sept. We were put in a car and transported to what was described as a villa - this was a one bedroom antiquated apartment at best but called Villa Manzara by the reception staff.
Inside we found the accommodation that was dated and probably seldom used. Having been shown the bedroom that was dark and smelt damp, my wife felt the bedding on the twin beds - it was wet. We were advised to take the sheets and put them on the terrace in the sun to dry then put them back on. We refused to stay here and asked to see the management. The hotel management asked us to stay here for one night, on the condition we would have our hotel room on Saturday at 12.00 (we agreed reluctantly).
There were other guests that Saturday all complaining of the overbooking situation but more importantly being shunted here there and everywhere into different hotels/accommodation. A rep with a major tour operator was also fed up of the situation that was progressing into a bigger problem. While we were talking in the reception area another guest came in to demand the room he had booked and it be ready by 2pm as he was promised or else ‘there would be trouble’.
We did get into our hotel room and un-pack by 2pm and proceeded to go to the bar for a drink and something to eat. This is when the guest who had come into reception came over to ask about our situation.
We enjoyed the few hours of sun before going back to our hotel room to get showered and changed to go out for our evening meal. We were then given a letter instructing us to vacate / leave the room and hotel by 6pm that day quoting “Disturbing and distressing other guests staying in the hotel on numerous occasions since your arrival in the property” AS A RESULT, YOU MUST VACATE YOUR ROOM AND LEAVE THE HOTEL GROUNDS BY 18:00 ON 07/09/2013.
We were not even allowed to enter the reception to order a Taxi to take us to alternative accommodation should we find somewhere.
We had done nothing wrong and where asked to vacate the hotel. After the way we were treated we would not have stayed but effectively we were evicted for NO reason.

You cannot say ignore the negative comments on this website as these are the distressing times that guests have endured through the wilful neglect of the management of this establishment.
A note to those guests that have stayed here and have had a good holiday as we have done many times before spare a thought for those who have booked and paid for this accommodation in good faith only to be let down due to the failures of the management booking situation and have had to stay in poor lower standard of accommodation elsewhere in the resort. The management here do not care about guests only the profit they make. A stark warning to anyone considering a holiday at the Samira Resort!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Be thankful you get the accommodation you booked and paid for due to overbooking problems for the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grandad12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have just spent a lovely week at this hotel and I don't get the mixed reviews scenario. Maybe some people just want things to moan about. I cannot speak for the apartments because I stayed in one of the hotel rooms but it was spotless, cleaned every day, cool and had excellent aircon. I believe the hotel rooms date from 2010 so this is probably why. The location is great because it is far enough away from town not to be disturbed by the imam wailing at 5.30 or the stray dogs barking. The pool area is fabulous and the views are stunning. Breakfast is totally adequate. It is simple Turkish breakfast but the coffee and juice is ok and the bread is fresh and good.The staff are NOT lazy or surly. For seven months of the year, ie April to October they work 16 hour days with no day off and they work hard. Treat them nicely and they will be courteous to you. Do not mistake the fact that their English is poor for surliness. It is not badly meant. The shuttle bus ran at the appointed hours every day without fail and it is only a five walk from the drop point into town. They cannot drive further in because the taxis won't agree to it. If you don't want to walk back get a taxi. It's four quid for God's sake! You are getting a brilliant deal here and not paying five star prices so don't be too demanding and go with the flow. Fatima on reception (also works from 7 till 7 every day and always smiling) is really nice and helpful and her English is good.
Kalkan itself is lovely and there is loads to see and do if you want to. I recommend a boat trip out to the various bays, a trip to one of the beach clubs, a trip to the Saklikent Gorge and out to the sunken city. The pretty town of Kas is half an hour by bus and costs two quid. The coastal ride on the bus is stunning. So go, enjoy and just go with the flow!

Room Tip: Get a lower room in the hotel. New rooms and lower levels are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alysonclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Booked this hotel for my parents so this is their words (we were in a different accommodation although visited and viewed the rooms). Was a little nervous when a few poor reviews came through.
I need not have worried at all. B&B option was the right thing to do, the rooms were clean and modern if a little small, didn't get a sea view as requested but offered a higher floor but wasn't required. Rooms cleaned to a good standard daily. Typical Turkish breakfast but adequate and for a small charge 10tl you could order a full English.
The grounds were well maintained and nipping clean, staff seemed friendly when we visited, no they didn't speak English but then again I can't speak Turkish, they knew what they needed too and always efficient. Reception lady on hand 24/7 if needed.
Would certainly recommend from what I saw and what my parents told me. It's not 5* caribean luxury but certainly better than other Turkish hotels of the same rate that I have experienced.
Ps my parents are late 60s, no issues with the hill other than a little puffing and panting, if you don't want to be up a hill then simply book another resort, it's all hills in Kalkan.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Antbuc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

brilliant 2 weeks at the samira resort hotel,and yes i have been three times before and never had a single problem.(some people seem to go on holiday to look for things to complain about.e.g hotel is on top of a steep hill,bar staff don't speak english) a little bit of research might sort the hill problem out.try speaking turkish after all you're in turkey.
A big thank you to Fatimah & oz and all the bar staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pete374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Upon arrival at Samira Resort my sister and I were told that our apartment was unavailable due to plumbing problems. We were then taken to a below B grade hotel about 5 minutes away by car which on inspection of our room we refused to stay at. We returned to the Samira Resort to voice our disappointment, we were then taken to a nearby villa, which was in need of desperate maintenance work. We were dropped there without being told how long we would be there because they had no idea how long it would take to fix the plumbing problem. After 2 nights we were told we would be moved to our apartment however we were informed the next day that we would stay an additional night in the villa. Upon waking on the 3rd day we discovered that there was no water, we reported this to the staff and were told that there was no water in Kalkan however this did not seem to affect our neighbour at the villa who was watering his garden with a hose!!! We asked if it was possible to have a shower at the Samira only to be told no, there are no rooms available. When we eventually got our supposed Deluxe Apartment, which we originally paid for, it was a very small room with 2 single beds. Terrible breakfast, shocking service, worst experience.

Room Tip: No tip, I don't think it's possible to get what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Noeline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#5 of 40 in Kalkan
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#23 of 40 in Kalkan
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#8 of 40 in Kalkan
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: £26 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samira Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing