We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“turkish paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moonstone House
Ranked #7 of 26 Kalkan B&B and Inns
Altmünster
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“turkish paradise”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

on our hike on the lycian way we stayed at moonstone house for one night. judith and tim really know what tired hikers need: hot shower, cold beer, comfortable bed, homemade healthy food and advices for the route. although we came without notice, they welcomed us like old friends, pampered us with coffee and cake, excellent meals, spotless clean facilities and most of all: warmhearted attitude. these hosts treat their guests as they would like to be treated themselves. highly recommandable!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Moonstone and our only regret was not being able to stay any longer! Tim and Judy were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. We wanted to do a day walk on the Lycian way and Tim drove us to the next village for a 10km walk. Waiting back at the house (which is just off the route) was a refreshing beer!

Excellent healthy home cooked food was had in the evening accompanied with stimulating conversation. Lots of friendly cats and dogs, we definately plan to come back when we are next in Kalkan. Highly recommended.

Simon & Jo

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonChaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barchi, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Just a few 100 meters away from the Lycian way, a perfect place to stay for one or more nights. Great bed, nice warm shower, excellent food and perfect hosts! It was too cold outside to go for a swim, but the pool in front of the house with a beautiful view, must be very nice to relaxe in after a days walking. Good luck with everything! Emile & Mirjam

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I rarely write a review unless a place stands out and this one does. Although we were only there for some 24 hours as we hiked the Lycian way, that was long enough to say this is a top place with very nice people running it.

Tim and Judy are great hosts and full of tips that add something extra to a stay.
Tim's hand-drawn maps are pretty good as well. Somebody used one to help us navigate to the B&B after the Lycian Way markers completely vanished and we wondering round in circles.

The food is very good and breakfast included the biggest selection of preserves I have ever been offered.

Moonstone House offers great views from the balconies, comfort and a place to relax. We are detouring next year to have another night.

Room Tip: Think they were all similar, well appointed, warm, with balconies featuring great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2011

It is our lovely hotel on the Likian Way in Turkay. We were in October, 2010 with a group of 6 persons and in October 2011 there will be 20 persons. We wait meeting with owners, wonderful mountais and our favourite dog Logan.
Group of tourists from Ukraine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soa2007_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney; Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is the best accommodation I have stayed at in all my travels around Turkey. Firstly the location is high in a very quiet valley in the mountains above Kalkan. The prayer calls from the town mosque at Saribelen, and the local shepherd calling his animals are the few man-made sounds you will hear. The hosts are a very friendly and knowledgeable couple, Tim and Judith, who have made this bed and breakfast accommodation very special. I'll start with describing the breakfast. Fresh orange juice at breakfast is something I rarely see, except in 5 star hotels where it is an extra charge normally. Here it was supplied as part of the breakfast. Eggs come from their property and the bread is fresh every morning. There are a selection of cheeses, olives, jams, cold meats and tomatoes. Fresh tea or coffee is supplied as well. Tim will also cook an evening meal with notice, and we enjoyed his cooking for 3 out of our 4 night stay. He has a good supply of books to read on the local area, and a very good map. We made this our base while visiting local attractions in the region. Having your own transport is an advantage, although people also trek here, because the Lycian Way passes close by their place.
Their swimming pool is also great to enjoy after a day of sightseeing. If you enjoy a relaxing environment then this place is for you.
They also have a good website giving details of how to get there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Tim and Judy run an excellent guest house in the small town of Saribelen, above the Tourist town of Kalkan. It is located just 100 yards from the Lycian way, the popular hiking route between Fethiye and Antalya. The house was built in 2007 and is in excellent condition, with 4 clean and spacious rooms. The hotel is perched on a hill, and has beautiful views down to the Mediterranean below.

Tim is an outstanding cook and does the evening meal for $13/person, which is usually a 5 course feast with soup, salad, fresh bread, an entree with meat (rather unusual in these small villages), and dessert. Breakfast is likewise sumptuous.

The rates are extremely reasonable ($55/night for a double room, plus $13/person for the evening meal).

One caveat to this review - if you are allergic to animals, this is probably not the place for you. While virtually all Turkish village houses have pets, Tim and Judy allow three cats in the house, which could be a problem for those with allergies.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hguaddimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiminTurkey, Owner at Moonstone House, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thank you for your very complimentary review. Just one point of clarification; although two of the cats are usually allowed into the house, they are never allowed into guest bedrooms. If a guest does have an allergy to cats we will keep tall cats out of the house for the duration of their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Mahal
Hotel Villa Mahal
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone House

Property: Moonstone House
Address: Ambarlar Arasi Mevki Saribelen Koyu, Kalkan 07963 , Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Moonstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing