We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A value for money Kepab Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corner Restaurant - CLOSED

Corner Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A value for money Kepab Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

A typical turkish grill - simple menu, quality ingredients, well cooked.
A cafe rather than a restaurant, attentive staff and one cannot argue about value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry-Woodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    18
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOW CALLED KALKAN KEBAB!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

To our suprise the Corner Restaurant has now become the Kalkan Kebab! This was the place we visited most on our recent holiday in June. Excellent value for money, not a bad meal in many visits. Seemed to be a good mix of locals and holidaymakers. Service was sometime slow but who's in a hurry? Free nibbles inlcuded ballon bread and dips and a large mixed salad (a meal in its self!) Samples of our food included chicken kebabs, chicken casserole, and on 1 occasion just wraps. All served hot and freshly cooked. No desserts, complimentary coffee offered also. No complaints from us and no "add ons" on the bill! Will be returning in September for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank topdogmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thanks but no thanks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

A party of 8, we were sat and our orders taken quickly and the food arrived within a reasonable time. However, the food was not very good, main complaint was that the meat was dry and the overwhelming taste of lemon?. We took home a large "doggy bag" which the dogs did enjoy.
Ended up across the road at Chillies for a wrap which was delicious.
Was put off by staff male and female smoking inside the serving area. Very downmarket and not particularly clean. The tooth brush and paste was an unusual gift!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dont go rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We ate here this week. The name has changed to Kalkan Kebab and there are new owners. The food was ok but they loaded the bill and attempted to rip us off. It was very simple arithmetic so it was done on purpose. If you go ( but dont ) check your bill

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mully_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,026 reviews
1,138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,796 helpful votes
“Now called 'Kalkan kebap' & very good!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just down from Hunkar, Corner restaurant has remodelled itself as a Turkish grill place & renamed as above. Hunkar is a real big earner restaurant with traditional Turkish food at a great price, so I'm not surprised somebody else hasn't copied the business model.... Until now.
Full of Brits & locals, the place was very busy & really warm welcome from the owner.
Had the recommended mixed grill platter for two for 50 YTL. A 'eye popping' platter of really tasty, well cooked meats, with grilled vegetables & bulgar wheat.
Total bill with beers came to just over £20, which is seriously good value. Not as good as Hunkar in my opinion, but this place will be rammed all year round. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner Restaurant also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing