We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bliss!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kalkan Retreat

View from the swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the swimming pool
View from the terrace out to Mouse and Snake Islands View from the roof terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
View from the swimming pool
View from the terrace out to Mouse and Snake Islands
View from the roof terrace
Another view from the roof terrace with traditional Turkish seating area
View as you walk out on to the roof terrace
A lovely spot for sunset drinks on the roof terrace
View from the pool - railings erected in 2016 to afford more privacy
View of the villa from the road
Lazy lunch or dining under the stars in the shaded dining area
There is plenty of shaded seating and both gas and traditional barbecues
The 'front' door entrance
Modern well equipped kitchen
Living Area
View from the master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bedroom 4 - on the ground floor
Bedroom 3
TV and Games Room - perfect place for the children to escape from the sun
Table tennis at the back of the property
Lemons growing for your gin and tonic
The very helpful maintenance team
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kalkan, Turkish Mediterranean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Muhammad2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bliss!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Kalkan Retreat is an impeccable villa. It offered us comfort and great views during our stay as well as being extremely spacious, with everything you could need for a relaxing holiday in Turkey. The infinity pool overlooked the clear blue waters of the Mediterranean and helped us to cool down during the heat of the day. There were many seating areas to choose from; from the poolside to the roof terrace, and the balconies to the garden, all were perfect, peaceful spots to relax in the sun.
The villa was in a perfect location, with shops, restaurants and the beach not too close and not too faraway. The Korsan maintenance team was also very helpful..the staff were always attending to our needs, always with smiles on their faces. They not only cleaned the pool and villa but they also helped us around the local area and helped us find some beautiful areas to visit. Korsan Ltd owns a restaurant as well, which delivered delicious traditional food directly to the villa.
I would like to say my stay was beyond my expectations! It was so much more amazing than the pictures shown on the website. Definitely a must visit holiday villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the decor and the many choice of seating areas
Liked least: Pool privacy was not great. Very close to the road and neighbours.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmackim
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Haven”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a fabulous villa and great resort. On arriving at the villa (4 adults, 3 children, 1 baby) we were overwhelmed by what a fantastic haven we'd found. The villa is bright and spacious with pleasant furnishings. The pool is just the right size, with an incredible view. The outside terrace has plenty of shaded areas and the ping pong table a great added bonus! The playroom was ideally located in the basement for a welcome break from the midday sun and the roof terrace perfect for dinner under the stars. The location of the villa is just far enough away from the town, but at the same time not too isolated. Kalkan town itself is quaint and very pretty. Great shopping and mouth watering restaurants where we found the locals friendly and welcoming. The beach club was a short walk away downhill where we were surprised to find plenty of water sports and a comfy chill out area for the kids. Would we return? Yes, definitely. Pauline had thought of everything from a welcome pack of food on arrival to mosquito plugs during our stay. Oh, and Enes the taxi firm and the Korsan maintenance team were superb too. Would recommend to anyone - thanks Pauline!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki T
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous accommodation in picturesque town”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a wonderful week we had travelling with 2 older teenagers and one tween. The Villa is perfectly equipped for all holiday needs. The roof terrace was popular early morning and late evening.The management team are very efficient also. The ping pong table was well utilised as was the pool. An early morning dip in the ocean from the free beach in Kalamar Bay was an added bonus-easier to walk back up the steep incline than down strangely!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalkan583
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful villa in a perfect location”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Kalkan Retreat is a beautiful villa in a perfect location, it exceeded our expectations in both quality and location. All four bedrooms were a good size all with en suites bathrooms, there is a superb infinity pool to cool down in and plenty of shady area if the heat becomes to much during the day. The pool and villa is maintained by a very friendly and efficient maintenance team. There is a water cooler which was a nice touch.
There is a new roof top area which has magical views out to sea and snake island. This new area is complete with a very comfortable seating area, a small kitchen area and an additional toilet.
The villa is in a quieter part of Kalkan but its only a 10/15 minute walk down hill into the town. Kalkan town and harbour area has an upmarket feel with lots of restaurants and shops.
We went to Salt and Pepper to celebrate my birthday and was looked after very well by the Turkish waiters, they gave us a free bottle of bubbly, a desert lit with candles, sparklers and fireworks at the entrance door where everybody's sang happy birthday. We all enjoyed an amazing fillet steak, which was cooked and served to a very high standard-Perfect. We would recommend a taxi back to the villa as it is a steep hill back, the taxi fare worked out to be £4.00.
The local bars, particularly cafe vita were popular amongst our group, especially for the excellent English breakfast they serve. Also the Wednesday night BBQ is definitely something we recommend.
We stumbled on a area which is to the right of the beach club, the sea is turquoise and the area is totally unspoilt. The staff are more than happy to arrange transport back to the villa as it is a very steep hill back.
Pauline the owner was very helpful prior to our holiday advising us about the villa and area. She arranged for our transfers and there was a welcome pack on our arrival. She also arranged for Korsan Mez one of the local restaurants to supply and cook a BBQ for us on our first evening there, we felt very spoilt and would highly recommend this.
Finally our memories will stay even more special as our daughters boyfriend proposed to her at Kalkan harbour, she said yes! Perfect end to a perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect villa
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect break”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a magical week at the Kalkan Retreat. The weather was unexpectedly beautiful and the villa was so spacious, comfortable and with endless places to sit in peace to read or look out at the spectacular views - including a vast new rooftop terrace complete with sofas looking out to sea. We went with our three young children who fell in love with the villa immediately. As it was April we'd asked for the pool to be heated for us and it was the perfect temperature so the girls spend almost all day in the pool. Only a 15 minute walk downhill to the town, the villa is in the perfect location away from everything but close enough to the shops and restaurants too. Definitely a perfect place to unwind.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LYN0018
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellant villa beautiful place”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Kalkan Retreat is everything you would want from a holiday villa.
Spacious, very well equipped and provides shady areas should the weather be too hot, a superb pool to cool down.
The maintenance/cleaning staff are always available should you need them and the mid week changing of linen etc. is very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside area excellant, and enjoyed the large infinity pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa itself and the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing