We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SilverbackScotland
Scotland

Rural idyll from a bygone age

Review of Owlsland
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2014
Owlsland is all that it says on it’s website, a delightful step back into times long gone by in modern Europe, set in a secluded, very simple farming community with sheep and goats grazing all around and a menagerie of friendly dogs and cats
We had a very attractive, comfortable double bedded room in an old farm building 100M from the main house, with constant hot water and other facilities.
We enjoyed Errol’s home cooking in the evenings whilst Pauline provided a very warm welcome and delicious breakfasts, and was more than ready to answer any questions and give information and advice about local matters.
For the less active a stroll in to the village, followed by a circuit, stopping for an ice cream at one of the two simple shops and later an omelette at the café opposite the mosque, is a 7km totally flat walk.
Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £312
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £312
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £170
  • StayForLong
    £148
  • Priceline
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
    £84
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £110
  • Agoda.com
    £88
  • Hotels.com
    £110
Beachfront
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    £167
  • StayForLong
    £185
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    £170
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £156
  • Hotels.com
    £161
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive
£114
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    £109
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £84
  • ZenHotels.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
    £84
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kalkan
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
38
1
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
38
1
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Owlsland B and B is a 150-year-old farmhouse nestled in a rich and verdant valley in the tiny Turkish rural village of Bezirgan. As well as charming farm animals and comfort, it boasts fantastic food from owner chef Erol and the wit of his Scottish wife Pauline.

We only visited Kalkan (20 minutes away) once to use an ATM. Instead we happily explored the quaint Bezirgan village of small grain farms and orchards where the chooks roam free, forded the wild stream up Saklikeant Gorge where we survived the waitress/cook/whatever with Turkey’s dirtiest hands (noticed way too late) and explored fascinating ruins at Xanthos and Patara. All within an easy drive of Owlsland. A nearby village has several trout farm/restaurants for a well priced lunch or dinner.

When booking through email Pauline was quick to respond and provide the necessary information. Later when the Turkish government made visa changes, she made sure I knew about them. I didn’t .

Dinner was simply more delicious the longer we stayed. Or so it seemed. At first I was surprised by communal breakfast and dinner tables but I quickly grew to enjoy the catch ups. Breakfasts on the front terrace in the stunning cottage garden was awesome.

There are 3 rooms in a well restored farmhouse. We had the upstairs room which was spacious and comfortable. I wish we’d had more than our three nights there.

Room tip: Upstairs room was spacious and lovely.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have travelled a lot and this is certainly one of the most memorable and hospitable places in all our travels. Pauline and Errol the most wonderful hosts and the food simply scrumptious.

The house has been lovingly restored, you feel like you are in another time. The verandah in the moonlight a dream.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is the place to stay if you want to experience what life must be like in rural Turkey (with the added comforts of en-suite bathrooms and running hot water!). The guest rooms are in a converted village house surrounded by grape vines, fig trees and the orchard. Erol's elderly Mum lives next door and there are various neighbours coming and going to work the fields.
Erol and Pauline are great hosts, making sure you are comfortable and helping with tips about the area, walking directions and local gossip. The village itself is well worth an explore.
As others have said, Erol is a great cook which is probably just as well because eating in is really the only option - it's a good 20 minute drive down the mountain to Kalkan if you want a wider choice of food. Having said that, the full-board option is not particularly cheap. We certainly found better value on our travels.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank papa-rupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just spent a wonderful week at Owlsland, Bezirgan, in the mountains above Kalkan. For anyone wanting a holiday away from the tourist areas this is ideal. The owners, Erol and Pauline, made us feel very welcome and comfortable, always happy to suggest places to visit and tell us about the area - this was our first visit to Turkey so this was very helpful for us. The breakfasts and evening meals were delicious (I requested the recipes) Turkish food is so appetizing and tasty. We chose to eat our evening meal there, if there are other guests it is good fun meeting people you may not ordinarily meet.
The accomodation is lovely, very clean, plenty space and a balcony to chill out on, from where you can watch the goat kids getting up to lots of mischief! The village of Bezirgan is interesting to walk around and the people friendly. The scenery is amazing and you can walk from the house up to the Lycian way path. It is about a 20 minute spectacular drive to Kalkan where there are plenty shops etc, a harbour and a pebbly beach with a safe area to swim.
All in all a great introduction to a fascinating country, can't wait to return for more.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stopped here for garden lunch while hiking Lycian Way; Turkish chef and his lovely English wife made a perfect meal in idyllic setting. Couldn't stay in pension but if ever I am back, will do so...it is unique and charming. Don't miss if you are in area.

Room tip: Didn't stay overnight as had to move on...reluctantly.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews