We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dionysia”
Review of Hotel Dionysia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dionysia
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

fabulous small hotel, stayed for 2 weeks with partner, the rooms are small, but really clean and cleaned everyday. towels are provided by the pool, breakfast it turkish buffet style, the hotel is situated in a lovely small street but the view is fantastic of kalkan. the owners ahmed and kate are always pleased to help in anyway, we totally enjoyed our holiday and would most certainally go back

Room Tip: we stayed lower ground, quiet and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kizzie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Hotel has an excellent location and some amazing views if you pay for the sea view. All areas of the hotel were as clean and tidy as could be, the pool area included.

The staff are friendly and very attentive although we did experience some trouble as a same sex couple when we arrived (the classic double/twin room situation). I put this down to it being 3am and us not being greeted by the owners although it did put a bit of an awkward downer on the arrival and made us feel a little alienated, something nobody wants to feel and our agents assured us we would not experience (I should note that we did not experience any other issues in Kalkan of this kind and I would still reccomend the resort).

The breakfast was good, high quality and perfect for hot weather. The rooftop restaurant can boast some amazing views however I didn't think the menu had much to offer and the cocktails were expensive and sadly poor in quality compared to the other restaurants and bars of Kalkan (there are so many and many also have great views).

You could get snacks / drinks at the poolside too but on the whole everything in the hotel was quite expensive compared to a few minutes walk into the town or even just around the corner, in particular bottled water which you can pick up from the local store at a quarter of the hotel cost. It was quite annoying to be asked not to bring anything in from outside when the price differences were so clear, again especially water in such temperatures. I understand their need to make money and Kalkan is not the typical 'cheap' Turkish resort but people still have a budget and expect to pay little for the basics.

some have said the rooms were small but I think they are plenty, Spotless and functional, tradidional in style the bed was comfy and the shower worked. The only drawback for me was that I paid for a sea view and the balcony was barely big enough to stand on so it was disappointing that the view couldn't be enjoyed.

Overall a great hotel and very clean, Like Kalkan, it attracts lovely guests too. The staff were attentive and the location is spot on. Just be sure your agent is clear on what your booking to avoid any cultural difference / awkwardness and don't be afraid to keep that bottle of water on you wherever you bought it!

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth the extra, asking for high floor is also a good idea for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just got back from our 2 wk holiday at this hotel the whole place was spotless and everyone so friendly lovely pool and view of the harbour from our balcony rooms cleaned every day we found the area a bit hilly but the hotel situated in a good position and the moonlight terrace restaurant view was amazing and the food excellent would firmly recommend it to anyone

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank penny492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our first visit to Kalkan and we enjoyed every moment. The Hotel Dionysia is very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The pool area is well stocked with sunbeds and umbrellas. The roof terrace restaurant on the top of the Dionysia hotel was excellent (location and food). It is a very short walk to the harbour, but the climb back takes ages, stop off at one of the many bars for a drink, try the street bar under the Paprika restaurant, excellent 'homemade' lemonade. The choice of restaurants are endless and we didn't have one bad meal. Isos, Hans, Kaya, Limos Paprika to name but a few. We will be returning next year, so much still to see and do.

Room Tip: The rooms without a balcony are bigger and the free air con is a real bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MavisMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in one of the lovely Diana apartments here at the Dionysia in Kalkan - & boy, what a find! From the super, friendly staff to the beautiful & clean apartment and hotel facilities to the wonderful view from the rooftop restaurant - we had a super time! the apartment was large and well equipped - just remember your corkscrew and hair dryer! The apartment was cool and had a patio area to sit on and towel airer rack, as we were on the ground floor, it was cleaned daily and fresh towels halfway during our stay, it was great and could easily accomodate three/ four people if you are close friends! It's far enough from the town centre to be quiet at night - very romantic for dinner on the rooftop - near enough to be a quick 10 min walk to the centre and restaurants/ beach area - save your legs & use the shortcut across the school playground to go on the flat! Kate, Ahmed and their team are very friendly and helpful, and will do all they can to help you enjoy your stay and sort out any problems/ difficulties with a professional service to rival any 5* hotel - not to mention the barbeque night - when the dancing has to be seen to be believed!!& as for Kalkan it's simply beautiful & captivating! The winding streets that let you discover another beatiful view or gorgeous boutique or welcoming restaurant or watering hole to be welcomed into by smiling & friendly Turkish faces! I can't say thank-you enough to the Dionysia staff, Kalkan & it's people fpor sharing this gem with us - we can't wait to return soon!

Room Tip: The apartments are lovely on the groundfloor, with lovely plants surrounding the patio area giving s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Valencia205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent 2 weeks in the main hotel. The Bad - We arrived at 4am and were shown to our room by a silent night doorman. After a long journey it was a horrible shock finding ourselves in what we thought was the basement. We hunted for the kettle and fridge, a cold bottle of water even, but the rooms dont have them. There are signs asking you not to bring in food and water. The bathroom was tiny. The next morning we asked to be moved but the manager said he couldnt offer us anything else. We resigned ourselves to making the best of things. Unbeknown to us we actually had a good room on the shady side. Throughtout our stay the WIFI was intermittent and the air con stopped working from 5 for a couple of hours, making it unbearably hot when you are trying to get ready. It was impossible to use the shower without sticking to the s/curtain or flooding the floor unless you just sat under the running tap. The pool - lovely pool but sunbeds too close together - at times I felt I was in a double bed with a stranger. People also "reserved" the better positioned beds until they felt like appearing. The hotel provide towels but these arnt washed - simply hung up to dry and folded up for the next person.
The Good - the bar staff including Hadji, Hassan, apologies I dont know the names of the others. Mohammet's breakfasts - he was very funny and always smiling. The pool bar food - delicious and great value. The Roof Terrace restaurant - we had the best meal of whole two weeks there with great views. The location - easy to reach everything but just far enough to be quiet and peaceful. The Tuesday barbeque - great food and lots of laughs with the bar staff.
All the other guests were lovely. If you need more than a room and a bed then book the Diana Villa or Apartments.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs_raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Travel on my own to Kalkan and first time I have used this hotel. Loved it ideal for me as a single traveller. So close to town, lovely breakfast, Ahmet and Kate are very friendly has everything you need with the added bonus of having a towel provided at the pool.
The only fault I can find is the shower which is very small and leaks and the curtain sticks to you but apart from that I loved it and would definitely go again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank huskielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.1 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#6 of 40 in Kalkan
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#10 of 40 in Kalkan
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#12 of 40 in Kalkan
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 40 in Kalkan
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dionysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dionysia

Address: Cumhuriyet Caddesi No:5 | Nilüfer sokak, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#19 Family Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: £22 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Dionysia 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dionysia is located in the quiet area of the village in streets where the buildings are draped with bougainvillea and hibiscus flowers. All rooms have their own shower and toilet, balcony and are equipped with air conditioning, fans and telephones. The maids ensure that the rooms are scrupulously clean, and they make you feel welcome by adding some very special touches to your room Continental breakfast is served in the dining area, and the hotel has a poolside bar area - in the shade of olive trees - where the helpful staff can serve you with refreshments and a selection of hot or cold snack meals throughout the day. The family run hotel has a very clean, well maintained, swimming pool and plenty of sun loungers and parasols surrounding the pool area. In the evening you can sit back and relax with a drink at the roof top Moonlight Bar situated at the top of the hotel - to enjoy the wonderful views of Kalkan Harbour, the shooting stars and the moon rising over the mountains along the Turquoise Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Dionysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysia Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing