We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Turkish Cooking”
Review of Alibaba Gozleme

Alibaba Gozleme
Ranked #140 of 198 Restaurants in Kalkan
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Waitstaff
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Traditional Turkish Cooking”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This review is for Alibaba's just below the roundabout in Kalkan, next to the baklava shop and almost opposite the taxi rank! I had to make that clear as there is another one above the roundabout.
It's a really traditional place with no frills, just good food.
You have to choose from the hot plate where there are several different dishes. However, they are quite happy to do other things if you give them time. The children wanted cheese omelette and chips and that came freshly cooked with two squeezy bottles of mayo and ketchup.
The choices range from soups, to stuffed courgettes, stuffed aubergine, spinach, watercress, chicken, liver, Imam, meatballs and lots more. Recently the stuffed aubergine was delicious; stuffed with mince and layered with cheese and herbs. They also have freshly made salads and moussaka and other pasta based dishes including the pasta "rice". However, you never really know until you've arrived and had a good look. Making a decision is the hardest thing.
Some of the other restaurants in Kalkan have become very European in their cooking, with starters, mains and desserts and this may be what some people want, but we prefer the more traditional way of several choices. The choices change every day or so and they have good raki and we had complimentary apple tea. When we wanted baklava, they just went next door and got some from there; really delicious.
I think it's always a good sign when you see locals eating at a restaurant and this is what happens here. The waiters are friendly and helpful and it's a great place to be. We've never had a poor meal yet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koritsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good. But Pricey to eat from kitchen”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Food was great but it was our first and second nights and looking back with later experience we would have questioned the charges for side dishes. Which is a shame as it stopped us going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,067 reviews
1,170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,807 helpful votes
“A Kalkan institution!”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I've been going here for years & always good. On the left hand side,on the way down from the taxi rank, underneath Pisces, this is a simple restaurant where the locals eat, which is always a good sign. Everything from delicious lentil or chicken soup, to a hot counter were you can choose an array of typical Turkish dishes, like Moussaka or a Chicken casserole. They also do grilled food to order.
Really good value for money at this simple place & it seems to be open 24 hours, as I've never seen it closed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good basic turkish food”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

First night in Kalkan tired from travelling stopped there for some dinner. Choice of two soups Spicy lentil very tasty and chicken also very tasty. Then you choose what you want from the hot mezze Spinach, Moussaka, rice, cheese pies etc good choice of about 10 dishes. Staff very kind and helpful, they let us try Raki with cherry juice excellent. Wine very reasonable!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hathor06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fast Food - Good Food”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Just the place to stop for a very inexpensive bite to eat. Nothing fancy. There are about 10 different choices to make up your main and three soups.
We chose a garlicky aubergine dish, spinach, Moussaka, a nice bit of beef stew and rice.
We showed our selection to our waiter and we were eating it two minutes later.
Most importantly, they served us the portions we asked for.
We went to Aubergine last night and were both so full when we went home, we swore we were only.going to have a light meal tonight. Price - 40TL.

Incidentally, Aubergine were every bit as good as most of Trip Advisers led us to believe.

At both venues, the staff were soooo friendly and helpful and we left feeling well content.

Kevin and Mary Pring
.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prings4859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alibaba Gozleme also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Alibaba Gozleme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing