We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa in the amazing Kalkan!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Sonbahar

Pool Terrace With Breath Taking Sea-Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool Terrace With Breath Taking Sea-Views
Mountain Back Drop Open Plan Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Pool Terrace With Breath Taking Sea-Views
Mountain Back Drop
Open Plan Lounge
Open plan kitchen
Kitchen and dining
En-Suite Bedroom with King size Bed.
Access To Balcony
View from double balcony
Third Roof -Top Bedroom With Two Singles.
One Of The En-Suite Bathrooms
Seating for sunset views
Rooftop backdrop Mountain views
Villa Sonbahar
Looking out from the veranda
Kalkan harbor
Al-Fresco dining outside.
Villa Sonbahar
Boat trip to Snake and Mouse Islands
Treat at The Trout Farm (Islamlar)
Sea View From Roof Terrace
Kalkan Pebble Beach
Kalkan Market
Kaputas Beach !0 Minutes    Drive From Villa Sonbahar
Beautiful Summer Colours
Kalkan Harbour
The Old Mosque At The Harbour
Fethiye Market
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kalkan, Turkish Mediterranean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
holidayfu...
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in the amazing Kalkan!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent two weeks at Sonbahar and really enjoyed our stay. The villa itself is lovely and the air con meant we were always very comfortable. Great pool and was clean and a welcome relief from the heat! There are nice touches to the villa that make it homely and lots of DVDs and cooking spices etc. The third rooftop bedroom was sadly not ideal for us as it has sloped roof which made it too difficult to use. Our children opted to share bedroom two instead but bear this in mind if you really need three bedrooms. We had a few drinks at the nearby Samira hotel but other than this the villa is not near anything else. The views are stunning but the steep hill meant that we used taxis every day. Cost was £3.30 so we thought this was reasonable but of course it adds up over two weeks. Kalkan itself is stunning and we are returning next year but staying nearer town. Would recommend the Sonbahar if you like beautiful views and peace and quiet, and are happy to drive or taxi. Thank you for fab holiday and credit to Define tours and Sharon and Rambo who were very helpful and gave us great service.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
Thank for your lovely comments on your stay at our villa.
Without a doubt the location of the villa is what gives the stunning views and peace and tranquillity.
The twin roof room is one of our future projects to improve the height. But has been ideal and used by previous guests happily.We are happy that you loved Kalkan and will be returning again and would be happy to welcome you again anytime.
G&R
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments,its true photos don't do villa sonbahar justice and the breathtaking views,which you wake upto.We are pleased you had a lovely time and would love to welcome you again to our home.
G&R
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Diana E
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We returned to Kalkan after 14 years expecting lots of changes ,but despite lots of villas being built on the hillsides it had retained it's magic
Although surrounded by other villas when we walked into Sonbahar we immediately loved it , it was like entering someone's home , not a holiday rental. Outside the pool and pretty gardens are well maintained and the view from here is stunning . .Neighbours either side are residents , very quiet and non intrusive ,but very friendly and helpful.
The interior of the villa is very well equipped with everything thought of to make your holiday run smoothly , including a welcome pack and a water station. Marble staircase leads to the bedrooms ,which have comfy beds and lots of storage. The views from the bedroom terraces are wonderful !.
There is a BBQ but we preferred to eat out at night ,enjoying the walk to the town (15mins ). and sampling the food from the many restaurants available. Our favourite was Korsan Meze ,a bit more pricey but well worth the extra .
The atmosphere in kalkan at night is magical ...very bustling ...lovely food smells .. good shops to browse ..We did not experience much hassle from people touting business and found everyone very friendly .
Altogether a great holiday !! .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
We are very happy that you had a fabulous time going back after so many years and that you had a wonderful experience staying in our villa.
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our home.
we would be more than happy welcoming you again.
G&R
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWhitney
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect location for an early summer getaway”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My friend and I stayed at Villa Sonbahar in early May 2014, we wanted a chilled out getaway in the sun and that's exactly what we got - unfortunately minus the sun on a few days.

The villa is beautiful, very clean and spacious and has a well equipped kitchen - which is a rarity in self catering these days. The two main bedrooms were of a good size - slightly lacking in bedding but we coped. The bedroom in the loft is only suitably for kids or dwarves being that it's in the eaves of the roof and has restricted headspace. Every room has magnificent views especially the top floor roof terrace.

The pool was cleaned by magic every morning, and if there was the slightest chance of rain the soft coverings for all the sunbeds were magically placed under the shelter.

Sharon met us on the second day to check we were ok and if we needed anything - she have us lots of local knowledge on where to eat (Hunkar and Mussaka are musts) and some places to visit in the car.

Location wise the villa is located on the hill - where most of the villas are - so the walk into town takes 15mins all down hill. We didn't brave the uphill walk back, opting for a taxi (£5) instead. The hills are steep enough to put off two reasonably fit mid 30yr olds! We ended up driving into town most nights as parking was so easy.

You could probably get away without a hire car, but it was good for getting shopping and back up the hill each night. We asked to pick the car up at the airport and were surprised with the offer of being driven back to Kalkan - very much appreciated after our early start.

All in all it was a very nice holiday, easy to book and I would happily return to this villa and Kalkan in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments glad you had a fabulous time.
Nothing is too much for our guests happy to help in anyway.
Better luck with the sunshine next time though.
G&R
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
Glad we could help and make your first family holiday experience a wonderful one staying at Villa Sonbahar.
Looks like you made the most of your time.Love to welcome you and your family again. Many thanks for your lovely comments.
G&R
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kalkan, Turkey
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of Gul,the cleanliness of the villa, the beautiful location,and despite my previous comment re commercial overkill, the friendliness of restaurant staff and shop sales staff
Liked least: Walking the gauntlet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments,we are very pleased that you had a wonderful time in our villa and that you enjoyed the wonderful views. We look forward to welcoming you again in our Villa and to Kalkan.(G&R)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kiernanir...
Barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from our stay at Sonbahar. Had an amazing time in this fully equipped and comfortable villa. We woke each morning to a blue sky and a breathtaking view of the bay.Every early morning the pool was maintained, so by the time we got up it was ready for use. The villa contains everything you require to have a comfortable stay. Tracy welcomes you on your arrival, is always available if needed but is never intrusive. Kalkan!! what a place, full of beautiful restaurants serving excellent food and the people were so friendly.Cannot recommend this place enough and we hope to return in the not too distant future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to a breathtaking view
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2013
Thank so much for your wonderful comments.We are happy that you had a lovely time in our villa and enjoyed every aspect of it found everything satisfactory.We would be more than happy to welcome you again.(G&R)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing