We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of yesil ev Restaurant - Cafe & Bistro - CLOSED

yesil ev Restaurant - Cafe & Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were staying in a penthouse apartment quite close to the Yesil Ev restaurant and after shopping in the supermarket across the road decided to go in for a late breakfast. It was enormous, I had an english breakfast, which I normally dont do, and my husband had a turkish breakfast they were both delicious, on our last day we decided to have breakfast here before our flight home, the staff are very friendly and freshly cooked, would recommend this restaurant without a doubt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MSimpson43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a bad experience here. It's a nice looking bright place, and the food we had was fine. They were too busy having fun to provide an adequate level of service, though. Why put the wine out of reach if you are never going to return to offer to poor some?! There was more effort put into demonstrating an appearance of rushing to meet the needs of demanding customers than to anticipating the predictable needs of diners. For long periods the main guy (Mehmet?) wandered around looking pleased with himself. He is clearly providing something that a lot people like, after all.
We thought we'd have a cheese plate and another glass of red. We waited to try and get some service, but whenever they appeared they seemed so busy. The other waiter had a knack of actually running about.
Eventually we decided we would get up and walk out and only pay if he noticed us. This was after waiting to be noticed, and then after having asked him for the bill. We are law-abiding sorts!
He noticed us. "Oh!" (No apology.) when I was alone with him for PINning in the back I said he needed to look after all his guests. He said he was busy (no apology, again). What can you do?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank htta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
403 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“It must have been a bad night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Turning left from the Regency Hotel, we alighted on Yesil Ev. It looked pleasant enough from the outside, with a variety of eating and drinking areas. As we were led to our table, we noticed a large table occupied by a mixture of English and Turkish people who totally dominated the rest of the evening and to the expense of other guests. The service was incredibly amateurish and even when their failings were pointed out - wine bucket five feet away but forgotten, plates forgotten, etc. - the reaction was a pathetic "oh, we're busy" when clearly they weren't. The food was utterly average, too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fab place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

great place and staff the cocktails were amazing and they couldn't do enough for you fantastic will book here on our return to turkey

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Have been walking past this restaurant over the last 2 weeks and decided to try it for our last night. I so wish we had been in sooner. We were warmly greeted and we asked for a pre dinner drink. I had a delicious cold Belini and hubby had a mojito which was genuinely the best we have tasted. I had a sneaky sip. The service was excellent, the food was fresh and delicious with generous portions. Well done and thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sancal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed yesil ev Restaurant - Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing