We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Kelebek”
Review of Kelebek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kelebek Hotel
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2008

We relaxed the moment that we arrived at the Kelebek. The delightful family( who are not intrusive but always available to try and meet your needs) do all they can to help you make the most of your holiday. The room we had was simple but immaculate and the bathroom was small but modern (powerful shower). You have a turkisk breakfast on the roof terrace with a fantastic view down to the sea. We would recomend the barbecue evening which was very sociable with wonderful food all made at the hotel.
The pool was inviting and the bar prices fair . Lunches - delicious.
You will have gathered by reading this, that we intend to return to the kelebek.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank meg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2008

Just back from a fortnight at the Kelebek Hotel in late June early July, and our opinion of it is definitely in contrast to most other reviews on the site.
Kalkan is a very beautiful place but very hilly, so only for the fit and healthy! This is particularly true if you're staying at the Kelebek, which is up a further steep hill from the town, and truly quite a torturous journey from the harbour! It felt like a mountain climb at times, particularly in the 40degree heat of the afternoons! Even in the evenings, after having a meal and a few drinks in the old town, the very thought of the uphill struggle back to the hotel put a dampener on things.
The hotel is family run, and they claim this is your "second home" which is of course true if you're still living with your parents and they watch every move you make! At breakfast for example (which did offer a reasonable selection of choice, but some meat on occassion would have been welcomed!) we always felt they were judging us on how many slices of bread, or pieces of fruit we took! My partner was very disappointed too that fruit juice was never on offer, as he likes his breakfast orange juice.
You're also not allowed to take any food or drinks to your room(basic small room but good standard of cleanliness), unless they've been bought at the hotel, so this means that you're paying double the price eg for bottles of water, than you would in the supermarkets.
My partner and I usually like to have snacks like crisps, biscuits, cans of juice etc in our room, but this was not allowed, as we refused to pay inflated hotel prices for these, and were forbidden from bringing these in from the local supermarkets.
There is also a slight pressure put on you to attend for the arranged weekly barbecue at the hotel, which was nice enough, but expensive in comparison to the one held in another local hotel which provided the same type of food, but with added entertainment of belly dancers and fire eaters thrown in, which certainly beat our rationed skewers of meat and the owner dragging everybody up to dance very badly to turkish music!
In summary we generally enjoyed our holiday, and met some wonderful people there, particularly the other guests at the hotel, but we felt that the enforced intimacy of the Kelebek was quite restrictive.
We would return to Kalkan but probably never to the Kelebek.

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank honestguvnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Just returned from another fabulous 2 weeks at the Kelebck in Kalkan, still can't fault it. Were made to feel at home from the monent we arrived to to monent we left. The food was as good as ever and you would be very hard pressed to find a more hospitable hotel in the area .The major works carried out on the hotel since are last visit make it even more comfortable and the views over the harbour are fantastic now the rooms have large patio doors , you can lie on the bed and see right out across the town. It wa sthat good we are in the process of booking to go back again at the begining of september

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ntjsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel and we both had a wonderful stay. The hotel is family run, and they were not only wonderful people, but they did a magnificent job of making our stay an enjoyable one. We ate at the hotel quite a few times and every meal, especially the bbq, was exellent, each meal explained fully should you ask about it. The location means that if you have problems walking then it probably not be an ideal place to stay because Kalkan town is built on a hill (not exactly the hotels fault)

I can honestly say in many years of travelling all over the world this hotel is the friendliest i have ever stayed in. The rooms were cleaned every day, the views over Kalkan bay on the breakfast rooftop terrace all made this into a great holiday choice.

I really was worried that writing such a glowing reference might make the chances of availability limited next year when we will most definately be going back, but I will share this with you all as long as you buy me a drink in the bar when you get there, because believe me you will want to !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveisfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We are three ladies (over a certain age but do not act it) who have travelled to different parts of Turkey over many years (we love it) Passed through Kalkan a couple of years ago and smiled and said we must go back for a longer stay. Got to the Kelebeck because advised the hotel we booked in October was not open. No problem always ready for an adventure. (This is the first time booked through travel agent usually go direct)

From the minute we got there 7.00am to when we left we were treated wonderfully. Nothing too much trouble ready with any information required. Food was the best. (Lots of interesting eating places in Kalkan staffed by very attentive staff) stayed in to eat a couple of times at lunch time and evening ( slow roast Lamb ) the best in the world.

Rooms very comfortable and immaculate. You could not do better at a 3 star.

Steep roads to master but just take your time and a taxi if needed.

We cannot wait to go back again in May 2009 cannot recommend enough. The whole area is great and the people are loveley.GO TO THE KELEBECK AND HAVE A GREAT TIME.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broadval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

I stayed here with my Mum in September 2007. We had a horrendous start to our holiday when we arrived at the airport to find our travel company had gone bust mid flight. That'll teach us to book through Teletext Holidays! Luckily, the rest of the holiday went very smoothly.

Kalkan is a wonderful place to holiday, if you like guaranteed sunshine, great food and beautiful views. It's built on steep slopes which descend all the way to the harbour. The majority of shops and restaurants are built around the lower part of the town - and hotels and villas generally spread out higher up the hill.

The Kelebek is a short walk uphill from the main taxi rank - it only took about 5 minutes although it IS steep - I am fit, but my feet slid backwards out of my flipflops...! But it's not that far if you're happy to walk. And it burnt off some of the lovely meals we had in town!

It's a simple, family run hotel with a great roof terrace on which you can breakfast. Lovely views of Meis (Mouse?) Island. Simple Turkish breakfast which I very much miss when back at home out of the sunshine - tomatoes, feta, watermelon, olives, boiled eggs and bread - yum. The rooms are simply decorated. It was perfect for what we wanted.

There's a great bar by the swimming pool where we watched the sunset from - and returned to after meals out, for a nightcap.

The staff are just lovely and we felt very comfortable with them and had lots of good chats. The food in Kalkan is outstanding (especially the Olive Tree) but a couple of times we ate supper at the hotel and it was great. The mother does all the cooking and it was lovely traditional Turkish fare - not a burger or plate of chips in sight (hurrah!)

http://www.butterflyholidays.co.uk/

And all for £8/night - ridiculously cheap and worth every penny - I would have paid double. There's not a hint of minimalism or shiny sharp corners, it's just a lovely homely family run hotel.

PS There is a great market just outside the hotel's front door... on a Thursday I think... fantastic for souvenirs, turkish delight, pashminas, embroidered bedlinen... etc...

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lexiloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2007

Stayed at the Kelebek in October2007. The weather was great, the hotel was great and so were the family who run it. A simply furnished hotel but very clean and well located......a fairly steep walk up from the harbour, but we needed the exercise! Kalkan is beautiful and I cannot understand how anyone would dislike it ...unless you like lots of entertainment in the karaoke / english / irish / scottish bar style. Loads of good reaturants to choose from.....try it you wont be sorry!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank chalkywhite26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.9 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#6 of 40 in Kalkan
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 40 in Kalkan
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#22 of 40 in Kalkan
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#10 of 40 in Kalkan
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Hotel

Address: Mentese Mah.kalkan 4, Kalkan, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: £22 - £575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelebek Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kelebek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing