We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ancient history, shocking civilization but no maintenance”

Xanthos - Lycian Antique City
Book In Advance
More Info
US$291.19*
and up
Private Trekking Tour
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Xanthos was the capital city of the Lycian Federation and its greatest city for most of Lycian history.
Turkey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ancient history, shocking civilization but no maintenance”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It is amazing to observe the civil life of history. But I was very sad with the bad maintenance of the site.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Maliparmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    125
    47
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Fascinating place - a real glimpse into the past”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We visited Xanthos on a jeep safari day trip from Kalkan. It is rather strange to just drive into an area just awash with old ruins - from 8th century BC (or earlier) to the Romans - and beyond. We spent a while wandering around, but the experience was made much richer and more memorable when a young man offered to guide us around. It bought the place alive: from the lion's pens in the amphitheatre to the children's swimming pool 50 metres away - it all started to make a bit more sense. We gave him a tip - about 10 lire I think and he seemed quite happy.
I'd definitely recommend using a guide to make the most of this historic site.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank clarecheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Roman Ruins”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

You can walk round without anyone bothering you. It is a very interesting place.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
313 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

xantos is the best lycian site ,beautiful roman mosaics

Helpful?
2 Thank nomad4838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“MONUMENTAL WRECK”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is the second UNICEF World Heritage Centre that I've visited and found it disappointing. We made our own way to Xanthos by public transport and this wasn't easy, with few signs showing how to get up to the ruins. The ruins are just a pile of rubble, rather badly kept, with hardly anything to guide the visitor around. We found a very friendly boy who seemed helpful until we offered him a little cash and then he insisted on much much more. If you go to Xanthos with a guided party you will probably enjoy it more.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank redsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xanthos - Lycian Antique City also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Xanthos - Lycian Antique City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing