We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Regency, Kalkan”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalkan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalkan Regency Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Have just returned from a fantastic week at this amazing hotel. Weather pretty poor for 3 days but didn't seem to matter! The Regency is beautiful, fantastic setting, great staff who are always smiling, efficient and would go out of their way to help you. The food is stunning, probably the best hotel food we have tasted anywhere in the world and of a top London restaurant quality. The rooms were simply but tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean as was the whole of the hotel including gardens. A wedding was held at the hotel the same week we were there (Becky and Gib, hope you are enjoying your honeymoon!) and it was great to be a part of this (although we were not guests) the hotel and the couple somehow made everyone feel including in this. The hotel was beautifully decorated for this and I would certainly recommend it for weddings. The setting was ideal with only a 10 minute stroll into Kalkan. Will definitely return to The Regency next year but probably in June (weather may be better!) Interestingly, my husband never wants to visit the same place twice but would have no hesitation in returning to The Regency. Indeed, many of the other guests we spoke to had been before, some as many times as 16!!!! Highly recommended. To everyone at The Regency, all our love and Best Wishes, keep up the good work and see you next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loujack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

Our first time to the Regency and certainly not the last, it is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed at, we were lucky enough to stay in the penthouse pool room for one week in September and it is absolutely amazing. Can only repeat what other reviews have said in that the family are lovely, the food is wonderful, all the staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms just perfect. Would highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse pool room its well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savannaNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I agree with much of what has been said by previous reviewers, lovely family, great food and we loved the bar which made for a very sociable holiday. The Gulet cruise as mentioned was wonderful and so nice not to be crammed in with loud music blaring. You are definitely in a minority if you are in your 40's though, the hotel seems to have been taken over by a more elderly clientele, not that this prevents any enjoyment as most were young at heart. We also loved the complimentary Turkish bath and made full use of the spa.

However, we were very disappointed with our room which was very small and basic with a tiny balcony barely big enough to fit a table and 2 dining chairs, we didn't use it once, the cute family of cats got more use out of it than we did. The shower was temperamental often being boiling hot then freezing cold and the fridge was barely functional. Our dressing gowns had no belts, we were only provided with one beer glass and our bed sheets had holes in them. We did mention our problems to Zal, the rep, but though sympathetic to our disappointment, the response was more of surprise as most people are happy with the rooms and return year after year. We did look round some other rooms on changeover day and it became clear we had a very basic room so room for improvement here. We were in room 111 which is at the back of the property and interconnects with the room next door, the walls are very thin and we could hear the people talking next door. The view on the website of the room shows a balcony that has a grassy area with 2 deckchairs, this is clearly misleading and Exclusive Escapes have not provided a satisfactory answer for this yet, merely repeating the fact that many people return and book again immediately on returning home - they probably had the superior rooms!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katckam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We did not stay at the Regency.. Went there for lunch on a very very bad stormy, wet day!!! And WOW what a welcome. We had lunch " undercover" by the pool bar.. Cooked as we watched..... And it was superb. The chefs and waiters were just marvellous. Five star quality and service. THANKYOU XXXX

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Kalkan Regency September 2011

What can we say about the Kalkan Regency except truly amazing. From arriving at the hotel on 17th September to leaving on the 1st October, we were made to feel like VIPs.

Masood and Nuri, the owners of the hotel and their sons Dolonay and Askinay, were all exceptional in their own amazing ways, along with Jan, a Cousin and Zal who is the Exclusive Escapes Representative.

We celebrated our 24th wedding anniversary during our stay at the Regency. Not only did we receive a bottle of wine, but Masood baked us the most amazing cake, which was brought to our table amid dimmed lights and sparklers. They also arranged, at the request of my husband, 24 beautiful white Roses which they brought to the table during our meal.

The food is fantastic, we ate most lunch times at the pool bar. On each occasion we promised ourselves that we would have one meal to share. Of course this never happened. Dolonay explained each lunchtime "special", which was indeed special. This is Turkish cuisine at its best. Masood's Friday curry is to die for, along with the Chef's amazing dishes. At breakfast, there is everything you need, fruit, cereal, yogurt, hot potatoes, mushrooms and tomatoes, and Chef is at hand to cook your eggs in any style you want, even down to menemen which was delicious. The chef then brought your eggs direct to your table. Everything is cooked from scratch and most of the ingredients are produced from the family farm, which you are welcome to visit.

On occasions, we dined at the rooftop restaurant for our evening meal. Again, the food was fantastic. The amazing view over Kalkan town just puts the icing on the cake. Whilst we were there, we enjoyed some great theme nights, Barbecue, (extremely boozy and great fun), Jazz night and we even had the thrill of an Italian Diva who was visiting Kalkan. The Regency were involved in the organising of her trip. She sang on the Regency Gully to the whole of Kalkan. Two days later, she came to the hotel where she sang to us whilst we ate Italian food, from her own chef. Nuri presented her with flowers and gave a touching speech and introduced us all to the Diva as his family. This visit was as a result of Kalkan being twinned with a small town in Italy.

During the Monday fish evening we had sea bass cooked in a shell of salt. The encased sea bass was brought to the table by the chef. Quite an exceptional sight. The lights were dimmed and the salt casing set on fire then wheeled out by the chef. Chef then cracked the shell, then proceeded to fillet the fish at the table, to the extent of getting every bone out with tweezers. Delicious.

The gully cruise is not to be missed. This boat belongs to the Regency Hotel and the experience is much as you would expect from the Regency. If you have ever been on a boat cruise in Turkey, this is nothing like the crammed trips you normally get. There were 8 couples on our trip. The boat was fantastic, with bean bags, hammocks and every comfort you could imagine. We were welcomed with a glass of champagne and again the food at lunch was something quite special with a choice of wine or fruit juice. The crew were so helpful, but not in an intrusive way. My husband, who is blind, needed help getting in and out of the water, rather than pushing and pulling, as has happened in the past, they explained where each handle was so he was able to get out of the water himself with only a few helpful directions.

Much of our enjoyment was made by a lovely bunch of diverse people, some of whom visit the Regency year after year. I must say, the people we met were much like us and enjoyed their wine to the point where the hotel ran out of Angora. A new stock arriving the next day !!

The hotel is set in really beautiful, well maintained gardens. They even have their own orchard. The large pool is exceptionally clean, surrounded by wooden sun lounges with mattresses. Fresh towels are provided for the guests.

Kalkan itself is a beautiful town and well worth some exploration. The Merkez Cafe (which is a street cafe), is a must, where we were greeted like long lost friends. When ordering food there, you have to be prepared to wait a little longer as each meal is prepared and cooked freshly. Its worth spending a couple of hours there to watch the hustle and bustle of people going by.

There is another added bonus of staying at the Regency. Just around the corner, five minute walk away is a small Coiffure and Barbers, called Jasmine. David, my husband, visited daily for his shave and back massage. This took over half an hour and on most occasions, David fell asleep. Mehmet, the owner, then sat down, waited until David woke up and continued his massage. I had a lovely manicure, which included a full massage of my hands and arms.

This is our fourth visit to Kalkan, but our first to the Regency. Already we have booked for next year. We cannot give a better recommendation than that.

This is our second posting to Trip Advisor. Our first one was about five years ago, where we stayed at the "hotel from hell". You cannot get more opposite than the Kalkan Regency, which is as close to heaven as you will get on this earth.

Karen & David

Room Tip: Our advice is to phone Exclusive Escapes rather than booking on the internet as the expertise on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ykcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was our second time at the Regency and it is still a perfect place to stay.
The rooms are not large but have everything you need, they are extremely clean and the beds really comfy. We had a second floor room with a view across the bay.
It is a shame that the lights from the new road spoil what is otherwise a beautiful view across the bay as you sit at the bar sipping a nightcap.
The staff are friendly and polite.
We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snippetthewhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is a wonderful hotel, my husband was unsure about visiting Turkey, but thought it was great. It has the most amazing view over the harbour and from the bar, which is very buzzy the view at night is wonderful. We were able to sit out every night till late as it was so warm. The restaurants are great in the town 15 min walk away. Our favourite was Kalamaki, the Turkish food is brilliant, so tasty. Gullet trip great too. Nearly everyone in the hotel had been before, the only thing I would say is you might feel a little out of place if you are under 45!!

Room Tip: We had Ophicious which was private, but quite a bit of noise from staff as they obviouly took breaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sleepingbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.5 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#5 of 40 in Kalkan
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Mahal
Hotel Villa Mahal
#7 of 40 in Kalkan
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#6 of 40 in Kalkan
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#11 of 40 in Kalkan
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalkan Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalkan Regency Hotel

Address: Kalkan Mah. Gonca Sok. No:2/6, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#3 Family Hotel in Kalkan
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency family are continually seeking to improve the already wonderful experience of staying at this fine hotel, and an incredible transformation has taken place over the past three years. The adjacent land has been acquired and the Kalkan Regency has now literally doubled the size of its grounds whilst only increasing the total number of rooms by five!The stunning pool has been improved even further with terraces and lawns extending out into the landscape and steps leading down to the new wild gardens with hammocks and shady spaces scattered throughout. These in turn lead onto the newly planted orchard. At the same time only eight new, entirely private, suites have been created. Each features a private pool, decking (some with additional garden) and has a contemporary minimalist design with feature walls of glass looking directly out to sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalkan Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing