We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a cheap hotel for a reason.”
Review of Lizo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lizo Hotel
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
ESSEX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a cheap hotel for a reason.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a cheap hotel for a reason.

Saying this it ok to sleep in and use as a base.. Breakfast is a joke to say it's a Turkish breakfast is a insult to a Turkish breakfast

The rooms are not just basic but in need on a good overall, everything is the cheapest you can buy . The wetroom (if you can call it a room) is so small anyone that is not stick thin will have trouble moving around in it, to use the loo your feet are in the shower tray.

The main problem is the manager/owner Ali his customer service stop if you are not spending in his hotel. His rude and arrogant a bit of a Del boy always trying to sell you a watch or something. He will try to rob you at any given chance,keep a good record of bar bill and pay it every day. On day one he tried to con us out of £40 for our room ,beers and over stuff was added to our bar bill that we never had! In the end we only slept there and used the hotel a cross the road. This sent Ali even-more into a spiral of ruddiness, IF WE COULD HAVE GOT A REFUND FROM THIS PERSON WE WOULD HAVE LEFT THE HOTEL !

Maybe spend a little more for one of the better hotel as Kalkan is a wonderful place tp visit..

To sum-up a cheap and cheerful hotel in need of maintenance but clean if you shop at Lidi you will find it just fine, but keep a eye on your bill!!!

All the guy is missing is a clowns out-fit and a red nose.

Room Tip: Watch your bill pay each day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew_Essex2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizoHotel, Manager at Lizo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We felt once again compelled to respond to this review, especially as it is the same reviewer as the review dated 12 Sept '13. In fact due to the slanderous nature of the review, trip advisor have previously removed it 3 times but this particular individual is so determined to make these false accusations that he has posted it for a 4th time and so here is our response.

We receive guests with a wide range of personalities and tastes and try to cater to all but this guest was difficult & unfriendly from the start. He came to breakfast only once, asking for 'eggs & bacon'. As outlined on our website and in all brochures we serve a traditional Turkish breakfast which consists of tomatoes, cucumber, melon, cheese, bread, jams, pastry or cakes, & tea or coffee, and of course extras are available if desired for a reasonable cost.

This guest actually had a room with a larger bathroom so we are confused about the comments on the bathroom, if they had a problem then we could have tried to resolve the issue there and then. We do have a small amount of rooms with wet room style bathrooms, these are a very traditional style of Turkish bathroom commonly used by most turkish families today.

The blatant lies and personal remarks about Ali are not only unkind but also completely untrue. Ali used to sell watches and do repairs for guests in previous years- as did many hotels. But despite many requests he stopped selling watches last year (if the customer had been to the bar once in 14 days he would have known this). Regarding the £40 this was a booking received via laterooms.com and instead of paying by card in euros the customer chose to pay by cash in £- the rate was different and he just couldn't grasp it despite careful and repeated explanation.

We do encourage all customers to pay their bills daily but this customer insisted on paying at the end. If there was an issue with the bill why was it not mentioned at the time. It wasn't even a large bill- only a few waters & cokes taken from the pool bar, we still have a record of this.

If this customer had requested a refund we would have given it. We respect that all are entitled to their opinions about our home, but outright lies are hurtful and dishonest to others reading the reviews. This guest intimidated other guests and caused a general bad feeling in the hotel. We ask that you judge us for yourselves and not by this guests deceitful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    30
    11
    19
    7
See reviews for
26
142
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Me and my husband have been to Kalkan for the last few years and have always stayed in the bigger hotels. This year we decided on the Lizo as it had such great reviews. When we arrived Ali the owner showed us to our room ,which to be honest I wasn't that impressed. But on closer inspection found the room basic but cleaned to a very high standard. Could not fault anything in this hotel.Ali and his wife Sarah are wonderful hosts and make you feel a home,. Food we ate was excellent , brekki was also good . There's also a lovely pool . And the location is perfect . Thanks to you all. Hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoptiludrop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recently returned from a 10 day holiday there, this is my fifth time at Lizo and I love it. The food is amazing, the hosts Sarah and Ali are really welcoming and friendly, and they will also recommend good restaurants in town and day trips. The view is amazing and is a 10 minute walk from town - it is up hill on the way back but worth it for the lovely views. The room is cleaned every day which is great. The pool is lovely and it is a short walk/taxi to some great beach clubs - we went to Yali which you can walk to, but there are others which are nearby and free as well. Kalkan is a great little place would definitely recommend staying at Lizo. There are lots of steps so probably not great for children.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Leonards on sea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Had a fantastic time in Kalkan! Ali and Sarah were lovely, welcoming and great fun. Hotel was really good value and the pool was lovely and exceptionally clean. Breakfast (especially the local jam and honey) was amazing - just a shame I only made it once during my stay (a few late nights to blame!). No doubt I would definitely stay there again. Great views from the rooftop restaurant and the food was home cooked and delicious. Can't praise Ali and Sarah enough and will be back for sure. You should ignore any negative reviews about Lizo - it's FAB!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghislaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathrow UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Can't praise the Lizo enough. This was our first time to Turkey and we will be back next year. Sarah and Ali are brilliant hosts. Yes this is a more basic hotel but that is what you are paying for. The rooms are clean and tidy and the housekeeping is excellent. The stairs are steep and a little hard to negotiate but all part of the charm ,most of the people that were staying when we were there had been back time and time again, so that speaks volumes. The pool is small but very adequate for a cooling dip to get out of the heat. The terrace has plenty of loungers and shades.The food was very good, eat there most nights.The terrace has a lovely breeze and fantastic views.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After reading all the reviews of this hotel, I think the negative one's are unfair and unjustified. This is not an expensive hotel and I got what I paid for, if I wanted a bigger bathroom, fancy tiles, taps and curtains, then I would of paid a lot more for it. Housekeeping visited the room daily, and the rooms were clean and tidy. I love the honesty book for the beer, water and icecream (saves having to climb the stairs to the bar). I ate in the hotel for the meze night and the food was delicious!! Sarah and Ali are so lovely, they make this hotel! All the people that stay in this hotel are all like minded people, this is a really friendly hotel! The views from the bar are brilliant, a lovely view whilst having a nightcap! Sarah and Ali don't treat you like a guest, they treat you like a friend! Would I stay here again......Absolutely! I can't wait!

Room Tip: The bar does close at midnight, which wasn't a problem for me, because I was in it most nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jiggyjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from a fantastic two weeks in stunning Kalkan :-) This was our fifth visit to Kalkan - yes - we've fallen in love with the place!

Previous visits were at the Samira hotel (in the town centre - not "Gardens" or "Resort"). Samira was spoiled for us by the introduction of "entertainment", so we decided to vote with our feet and look elsewhere... So very glad we did!

Lizo is a lovely hotel, run by a very friendly family (Sarah, Ali and Mehmet Ay). Yes, it's small. Yes, it's basic (reminded me of the sort of places I used to stay in on holidays to Greece 30 years ago - and that's no bad thing). But, it's clean (fresh towels daily, fresh bed linen every two or three days) and extremely charming.

The terraces afford a spectacular view over Kalkan - what an idyllic way to start the day; a fine Turkish breakfast (tomatoes, cucumber, olives, cheese, wonderful fresh bread and preserves). Other fare was also on offer (for a reasonable extra charge) the yoghurt and honey was stunning! We were usually the first to arrive at the communal breakfast table, so had the company of Mehmet (Ali's dad and founder of Lizo). However, we were soon joined by other residents - the craic was great (Dawn - I'll never look at chocolate in the same way again....).

Lizo's rooftop restaurant was also magnificent at night. We ate dinner there twice - Mehmet certainly knows how to cook ... the Sea Bass was sublime (not to mention the other traditional fare that formed the "Meze").

Please don't expect five stars (and bear in mind the cost of your room), but if you're looking for simple, traditional accommodation run by a very friendly family, then you need look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GDF_Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dionysia
Hotel Dionysia
#18 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasha Apart-Hotel
Pasha Apart-Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kalkan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevgi Hotel
Sevgi Hotel
#29 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelebek Hotel
Kelebek Hotel
#15 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizo Hotel

Property: Lizo Hotel
Address: Milli Egemenlik Cad. Kalamar Yolu No:57, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizo is owned and run by the Ay family. It has cozy atmosphere and we try to make you feel at home and relaxed. Lizo restaurant is famous for its traditional home cooked foods. Outstanding views across Kalkan bay and mountains. Small adequate swimming pool with sunbeds. This hotel is not recommended for children. Safe boxes available. Air conditioning available in all rooms. Board is Bed & Breakfast. 25 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lizo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizo Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing