We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lizo Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lizo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lizo Hotel
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lizo Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have been going to Kalkan for a few years and this is always our first stop to eat. Ali and Sarah are so welcoming and make you feel like special customers. The food is excellent - freshly prepared and they can adapt all dishes to suit your taste. The view is stunning, the beer is cold, and the food is good value for money. In fact it is much cheaper than the places in the centre of Kalkan - it is worth climbing the hill for. Already looking forward to going back in 2014.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angella37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    30
    11
    19
    7
See reviews for
26
142
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

An overall great stay. Great food, great room, great hosts, great location..excellent value for money.. Will be returning. The rooms are cleaned daily to an exceptional standard. Ali and Sarah are very welcoming and a good help for planning days out (a boat trip is a must ask them for details) The hotel has a very friendly atmosphere at all times. The view from the terrace is outstanding and the Efes is always cold. 5-10 minute walk down to the heart of Kalkan. Can't wait to go again and will stay at Hotel Lizo.. Thanks for a lovely holiday guys..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

It was a good stay, overall. Don't expect the hotel to be on par with Hilton or Ritz, it's neither - it's a cozy little hotel with a very casual atmosphere. There's a restaurant up on the terrace, a nice one, yet do not rate it against five-star establishments downtown. Breakfast is free and I rank it high enough for a free meal; for a fancier one just take a 10-minute walk down the hill (oh, yeah, there's a small hill there, be sure you can climb it :-). The rooms are clean, the hosts are cheerful and helpful, there's a safe deposit box for an additional price.

Room Tip: Pick one with a small balcony, great to have some fresh air and not rely on A/C. However, if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsl4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a cheap hotel for a reason.

Saying this it ok to sleep in and use as a base.. Breakfast is a joke to say it's a Turkish breakfast is a insult to a Turkish breakfast

The rooms are not just basic but in need on a good overall, everything is the cheapest you can buy . The wetroom (if you can call it a room) is so small anyone that is not stick thin will have trouble moving around in it, to use the loo your feet are in the shower tray.

The main problem is the manager/owner Ali his customer service stop if you are not spending in his hotel. His rude and arrogant a bit of a Del boy always trying to sell you a watch or something. He will try to rob you at any given chance,keep a good record of bar bill and pay it every day. On day one he tried to con us out of £40 for our room ,beers and over stuff was added to our bar bill that we never had! In the end we only slept there and used the hotel a cross the road. This sent Ali even-more into a spiral of ruddiness, IF WE COULD HAVE GOT A REFUND FROM THIS PERSON WE WOULD HAVE LEFT THE HOTEL !

Maybe spend a little more for one of the better hotel as Kalkan is a wonderful place tp visit..

To sum-up a cheap and cheerful hotel in need of maintenance but clean if you shop at Lidi you will find it just fine, but keep a eye on your bill!!!

All the guy is missing is a clowns out-fit and a red nose.

Room Tip: Watch your bill pay each day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew_Essex2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizoHotel, Manager at Lizo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We felt once again compelled to respond to this review, especially as it is the same reviewer as the review dated 12 Sept '13. In fact due to the slanderous nature of the review, trip advisor have previously removed it 3 times but this particular individual is so determined to make these false accusations that he has posted it for a 4th time and so here is our response.

We receive guests with a wide range of personalities and tastes and try to cater to all but this guest was difficult & unfriendly from the start. He came to breakfast only once, asking for 'eggs & bacon'. As outlined on our website and in all brochures we serve a traditional Turkish breakfast which consists of tomatoes, cucumber, melon, cheese, bread, jams, pastry or cakes, & tea or coffee, and of course extras are available if desired for a reasonable cost.

This guest actually had a room with a larger bathroom so we are confused about the comments on the bathroom, if they had a problem then we could have tried to resolve the issue there and then. We do have a small amount of rooms with wet room style bathrooms, these are a very traditional style of Turkish bathroom commonly used by most turkish families today.

The blatant lies and personal remarks about Ali are not only unkind but also completely untrue. Ali used to sell watches and do repairs for guests in previous years- as did many hotels. But despite many requests he stopped selling watches last year (if the customer had been to the bar once in 14 days he would have known this). Regarding the £40 this was a booking received via laterooms.com and instead of paying by card in euros the customer chose to pay by cash in £- the rate was different and he just couldn't grasp it despite careful and repeated explanation.

We do encourage all customers to pay their bills daily but this customer insisted on paying at the end. If there was an issue with the bill why was it not mentioned at the time. It wasn't even a large bill- only a few waters & cokes taken from the pool bar, we still have a record of this.

If this customer had requested a refund we would have given it. We respect that all are entitled to their opinions about our home, but outright lies are hurtful and dishonest to others reading the reviews. This guest intimidated other guests and caused a general bad feeling in the hotel. We ask that you judge us for yourselves and not by this guests deceitful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Me and my husband have been to Kalkan for the last few years and have always stayed in the bigger hotels. This year we decided on the Lizo as it had such great reviews. When we arrived Ali the owner showed us to our room ,which to be honest I wasn't that impressed. But on closer inspection found the room basic but cleaned to a very high standard. Could not fault anything in this hotel.Ali and his wife Sarah are wonderful hosts and make you feel a home,. Food we ate was excellent , brekki was also good . There's also a lovely pool . And the location is perfect . Thanks to you all. Hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoptiludrop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recently returned from a 10 day holiday there, this is my fifth time at Lizo and I love it. The food is amazing, the hosts Sarah and Ali are really welcoming and friendly, and they will also recommend good restaurants in town and day trips. The view is amazing and is a 10 minute walk from town - it is up hill on the way back but worth it for the lovely views. The room is cleaned every day which is great. The pool is lovely and it is a short walk/taxi to some great beach clubs - we went to Yali which you can walk to, but there are others which are nearby and free as well. Kalkan is a great little place would definitely recommend staying at Lizo. There are lots of steps so probably not great for children.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Leonards on sea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Had a fantastic time in Kalkan! Ali and Sarah were lovely, welcoming and great fun. Hotel was really good value and the pool was lovely and exceptionally clean. Breakfast (especially the local jam and honey) was amazing - just a shame I only made it once during my stay (a few late nights to blame!). No doubt I would definitely stay there again. Great views from the rooftop restaurant and the food was home cooked and delicious. Can't praise Ali and Sarah enough and will be back for sure. You should ignore any negative reviews about Lizo - it's FAB!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghislaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dionysia
Hotel Dionysia
#15 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kalkan Suites
Kalkan Suites
#23 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pasha Apart-Hotel
Pasha Apart-Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kalkan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#9 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizo Hotel

Property: Lizo Hotel
Address: Milli Egemenlik Cad. Kalamar Yolu No:57, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizo is owned and run by the Ay family. It has cozy atmosphere and we try to make you feel at home and relaxed. Lizo restaurant is famous for its traditional home cooked foods. Outstanding views across Kalkan bay and mountains. Small adequate swimming pool with sunbeds. This hotel is not recommended for children. Safe boxes available. Air conditioning available in all rooms. Board is Bed & Breakfast. 25 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lizo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizo Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing