We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth upgrading to a suite room”
Review of Kalamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalamar Hotel
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We spent two weeks at the Kalamar hotel in early July and had an enjoyable holiday The best piece of advice I can offer is to upgrade your room-we had a spacious suite with its own garden and a breathtaking sea view. I looked into one of the standard rooms and it was extremely small.
This hotel would not be suitable for anyone with walking difficulties, I counted 101 steps from our room (on bottom level) to the breakfast terrace!
Kalkan itself is lovely but definitely an 'English' resort. We thoroughly enjoyed the food at Isis and Escudo.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Terrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Arrived at this hotel and was surprised to find that although I booked a double/twin with balcony/terrace, the terrace was a shared one with four other rooms. If we had wanted to upgrade to a room with our own balcony, it would have cost another £15 per night. The room itself was tidy, if very small.

The hotel itself is about a 25 minute mooch into the town (a few tough hills to be mindful of). Probably one of the best locations in Kalkan though and a taxi in costs about 16tl (about £5). The hotel has a beach club attached to it and runs a shuttle back every afternoon on the hour which we found a great relief. The climb back up is not for the unfit!!

The staff in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful as were the beach club staff.

Overall, would stay here again if we came back to Kalkan.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a sea view unless you like to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sam_on_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week in July. The Kalamar was fantastic, clean, air conditioned, lovely breakfast with spectacular views etc. We only used the beach club once but it was great. The staff were lovely, although we had a faulty door and it wasn't really sorted for 4 days, which was a huge hassle. I felt they could have been more proactive about this.
The hotel is VERY quiet and if you're looking for a busy, entertainment hotel, this is not for you. However, we used it as a fantastic base to explore beautiful Kalkan and the wonderful beaches, gorges and landscape of Turkey. We would return!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank murphs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Kalamar Bay Hotel is situated a few minutes from the Town of Kalkan, the town can be a bit noisy at night so this hotel is ideal for those wanting to relax, the views are spectacular, the beach club on the waterfront is well worth a visit, restaurants and bars are walking distance.

If you want to get a way and switch off, this is an ideal place, there is plenty of life in the town of Kalkan if you fancy a night out.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a 10 night stay at the Kalamar. Even though we were placed in a standard room instead of the suite room that we booked, it was quite spacious with a lovely view. The balcony was shared but as we were in the bottom tier it was quiet.

There are a lot of steps which were quite hard in the basking heat, but this did not spoil anything. The hotel is spotless and the rooms are cleaned thoroughly by the friendly housekeeping team.

We did go into town on the free shuttle and returned by taxi which is 16TL (4.50 'ish)

There was a lovely local restaurant /bar called The House located on the side street.

The beach bar was brilliant and the waiters would do anything for you and the food in the beach restaurant was very reasonable.

We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you find steps difficult I would ask for a room near the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FroggirlSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have been to many countries and hotels in recent years and can honestly say this was one of the best.

It starts with the greeting and support getting to the room, the view was every bit as good as these pictures. We had a duplex suite and it was worth it.

The staff were excellent at the hotel and the beach club and all were hard working and friendly. We felt looked after in an unobtrusive way.

Many people in the resort were returners and especially the hotel. Its because its beautiful.

its about £4.00 return to get taxi home from town after dinner, we used the free shuttle to town and the Beach Club, the other options are walking but you will need to fit!!

The restaurants in town are very good quality, and you can eat well for modest sums.

Altogether one of the best holidays I have ever had and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: The standard romms are not generous but you do not spend much time in your room. I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmailFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Having read a few of the other reviews I can wholeheartedly agree with every word. We have visited Kalkan twice in succession now and are going back this year and I never usually visit the same place twice! Serkan the hotel manager is so welcoming and helpful in every way which is reassuring and makes for an excellent stay at the Kalamar Bay Hotel. The beach club is great, free of charge for beds etc. for residents and you get a ride back up at the end of the day which saves walking up the hill when you're worn out enjoying yourself! The views from the hotel are magical and stay with you for the rest of the year till you can return to see the turquoise blue waters once again and the mountains are magnificent looming in the background. I would write for hours but all I can say is you must visit this hotel and certainly Kalkan (but don't tell too many people) as although the shops and restaurants are bustling in the evening it is still a relatively unspoiled holiday destination - just love it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FifiFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.2 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#5 of 40 in Kalkan
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 40 in Kalkan
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#9 of 40 in Kalkan
440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Mahal
Hotel Villa Mahal
#8 of 40 in Kalkan
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamar Hotel

Address: Kalamar Bay, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: £28 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalamar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high above Kalamar Bay and overlooking the water, this hotel features a pool and a beach club with a restaurant and terrace. The Kalamar offers modern rooms with views of the water and the white-washed houses of the fishing village. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a minibar and private bathroom. Kalamar's restaurant overlooks the bay and serves a selection of international meals and snacks. It is possible to eat indoors, or out on the terrace with its bright bougainvilleas. Guests can relax on the lounge chairs by the outdoor swimming pool or arrange a diving or snorkeling excursion at the 24-hour front desk. Kalamar Hotel offer free parking and is a 30-minute drive from Kaş. Fethiye is a 1.5-hour drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kalamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalamar Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing