We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a holiday hotel - it is Turkey's answer to Travelodge”
Review of Sevgi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sevgi Hotel
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This is not a holiday hotel - it is Turkey's answer to Travelodge”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have just returned from having spent a really enjoyable holiday in Kalkan with my husband and two daughters. Unfortunately, the only blip was our hotel, the Sevgi. Having read reports on Tripadvisor , some of which said the hotel was basic I went ahead and booked as we don’t mind basic where the room is concerned. The rooms were fine. They were cleaned every day, towels and bedding were replaced, (we managed to avert our eyes from the mould in the shower) so one of the points I have awarded is for this.
The problem for us was the lack of any sort of holiday atmosphere. The family who ran the hotel were polite enough but spent their days sitting around the shabby reception area playing computer games and watching Turkish TV. The bar, which looked so pretty on the pictures was never open, in fact it was about an inch thick in dust. The pool area was always deserted, which I suppose would suit some people, but we like a place with atmosphere- this place had none.
On our fifth day we got chatting to the owner of another hotel whilst drinking in the bar there and he offered us his villa for the rest of our stay in Kalkan. We returned to the Sevgi and asked for an early checkout, not knowing if this were possible but were delighted when the young man on reception told us this would be fine and that we could check out next morning. We arrived in reception the following morning with our cases packed to be told by the girl there that it was not possible and that the young man had not understood what we were asking. We were really annoyed but realising there was nothing we could do about it we returned to our rooms and unpacked.
To be fair to the Sevgi they did make a little bit more of an effort with us after this. The young man was made to apologise to us and on our final day they let us keep our rooms until 7pm when the taxi came to pick us up- for this they get another point!
We tried not to let our stay at the Sevgi spoil our holiday. It didn’t and we have got lots of happy memories of our time in Kalkan and will certainly return. Only next time it will be to stay in one of the lovely hotels, whose bars and pools the welcoming staff were happy for us to use.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raggy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    22
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here for just one night as passing through on a self-drive holiday. A little gem of a place - not a 5 star hotel, but so warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. This is a family run place, and we were made to feel so welcome by everyone, they even shared some home-cooked food they were having themselves as we came back from dinner in town, made effort to converse but at the same time ensured privacy and wanted to make sure we relax and have holiday, they spoke excellent English and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed as a couple, I saw there were families with children but we didnt hear any noise throughout the night, it was very peaceful in our rooms.

Pool area was lovely, with a nice bar in the corner and beautiful bougainvillea adding lots of colour. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was quite simply million dollar views, again nothing too much trouble. Rooms were very clean and fresh looking, lovely little balcony again with ocean views - tiny but lovely. A walk into the main seafront restaurant area is just 5 mins, very steep but not a problem for us.

I wish we had longer to stay here, don't expect 5 star hotel kind of accom, but this is a very lovely place made even nicer by the family running it.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with glimpses of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a small family run hotel & we were made to feel very welcome, we stayed here for one night on our return from Antalya to our villa. The pool is excellent, very clean & warm with a lovely bar area. The views from the roof terrace were spectacular, you have breakfast up here which is simple but excellent, make sure you have an omelette!!! The beds are very comfy, the showers very hot with plenty of water, it is ideally situated to walk down into Kalkan

Room Tip: Some rooms just have double beds in, but other have a double & a single. The have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyBrighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We used the Sevgi as a base before going to our villa. Great location, terrific views, friendly staff, clean but basic rooms. I thought the pricing was good value and would definitely recommend it. The views from the terrace were excellent. The pool was a good size for a family hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Its a small family run hotel and they make sure you feel welcome! Very clean and fresh towels and bedding everyday! Make sure you have Erdi's omelette for breakfast while enjoying waking up to view on the roof top!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YSerdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in July and when first arrived it appeared to be a nice family run hotel ( not sure hotel really) , the staff were helpful but language was a problem . We went for a drink at the pool and asked for vodka and tonic , he then disappeared for 10 mins and then arrived back with bottle vodka In supermarket bag. Next morning we went to breakfast (very basic) the view was stunning , we had to ask for some orange juice as no cold drinks (we got charged for this at end of holiday) I felt juice should be included as some people don t drink tea/coffee. The hotel was very good location close to town and rooms ,although basic , were clean. The pool area was lovely and we were lucky to have it all to ourselves. I think this hotel (with a few changes and additions) could be fantastic.
I would stay here again , but my daughter would love to be able to get ice creams/lollipops , so please start selling them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Paul-Sasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crayford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

we just got back from 10 nights at the Sevgi. although it is a basic hotel, it was a great stay. Amazing views from our room, rooftop terrace for breakfast, huge pool with sun all the way up to 7pm!! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and definately made you feel comfortable. It is very close to the town and you need the walk up the hill back to the hotel to walk off all the food you eat!
will definately be recommending this hotel for further visits.

Room Tip: rooms at the front for fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd_Cakemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Hotel
Kelebek Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kalkan
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Papermoon Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dionysia
Hotel Dionysia
#17 of 39 in Kalkan
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasha Apart-Hotel
Pasha Apart-Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kalkan
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevgi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevgi Hotel

Property: Sevgi Hotel
Address: Mentese Mah. Gul Sok. No 20, Kalkan, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Sevgi Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Sevgi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing