We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring”
Review of Sevgi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sevgi Hotel
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We only stayed one night in a family room as our flight landed at 2pm. Cheap for one night and with good reviews for what we needed. We were greeted when we arrived and help given with carrying our bags up to our room. Although the room was basic and traditional, it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The view from our room was of rooftops, like much of Kalkan, but from the Breakfast terrace you have a beautiful view across Kalkan bay. Breakfast was plenty and traditional, served by friendly staff who were very helpful. The family run hotel was very welcoming and they were happy for us to use the pool after checkout until our villa was available. The pool area was brilliant. Our children (9 & 6) stayed in there all morning happily playing. The friendly staff were happy to serve us with drinks and even suggested places to eat in the evening. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out to the bay. amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    22
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Sevgi was a delightful little pansiyon that was conveniently located near the center of Kalkan. The breakfast view is even better than it is in the pictures, and the staff was nice. The room was small and simple, but it had a nice balcony. The bathroom was clean, albeit on the smaller side. To be honest, you shouldn't be spending much time in the room anyway, because there is so much to do in town!

In terms of value, it was a great choice. We had a great experience for little more than a hostel would cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griffin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in the Sevgi Hotel for 1 night at the end of our 2week holiday in Kalkan as we had to leave our Villa in the morning and our flight was not until the early hours of the following morning. What a brilliant little place! It was ONLY £37 a night for b& b. having read some of the previous reviews, I really don't understand what people expect at that price. The staff were so wonderful, friendly and welcoming. Yes the room was basic, but it was clean and air conditioned. Unfortunately, we didn't have the chance to sample breakfast which I'm sure would have been lovely. It is very unfair to judge this lovely little family run hotel against a 5 star standard, that is not what they are offering and believe me you would pay a whole lot more in the larger hotels. But if you are looking for a very cheap, clean and friendly hotel you won't go wrong. If you are at all reasonable in your expectations you will not be disappointed. I would not hesitate to recommend it as a lovely (basic) little hotel in Kalkan. A brilliant choice if you are on a budget or for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlvinaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have just returned from having spent a really enjoyable holiday in Kalkan with my husband and two daughters. Unfortunately, the only blip was our hotel, the Sevgi. Having read reports on Tripadvisor , some of which said the hotel was basic I went ahead and booked as we don’t mind basic where the room is concerned. The rooms were fine. They were cleaned every day, towels and bedding were replaced, (we managed to avert our eyes from the mould in the shower) so one of the points I have awarded is for this.
The problem for us was the lack of any sort of holiday atmosphere. The family who ran the hotel were polite enough but spent their days sitting around the shabby reception area playing computer games and watching Turkish TV. The bar, which looked so pretty on the pictures was never open, in fact it was about an inch thick in dust. The pool area was always deserted, which I suppose would suit some people, but we like a place with atmosphere- this place had none.
On our fifth day we got chatting to the owner of another hotel whilst drinking in the bar there and he offered us his villa for the rest of our stay in Kalkan. We returned to the Sevgi and asked for an early checkout, not knowing if this were possible but were delighted when the young man on reception told us this would be fine and that we could check out next morning. We arrived in reception the following morning with our cases packed to be told by the girl there that it was not possible and that the young man had not understood what we were asking. We were really annoyed but realising there was nothing we could do about it we returned to our rooms and unpacked.
To be fair to the Sevgi they did make a little bit more of an effort with us after this. The young man was made to apologise to us and on our final day they let us keep our rooms until 7pm when the taxi came to pick us up- for this they get another point!
We tried not to let our stay at the Sevgi spoil our holiday. It didn’t and we have got lots of happy memories of our time in Kalkan and will certainly return. Only next time it will be to stay in one of the lovely hotels, whose bars and pools the welcoming staff were happy for us to use.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raggy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here for just one night as passing through on a self-drive holiday. A little gem of a place - not a 5 star hotel, but so warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. This is a family run place, and we were made to feel so welcome by everyone, they even shared some home-cooked food they were having themselves as we came back from dinner in town, made effort to converse but at the same time ensured privacy and wanted to make sure we relax and have holiday, they spoke excellent English and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed as a couple, I saw there were families with children but we didnt hear any noise throughout the night, it was very peaceful in our rooms.

Pool area was lovely, with a nice bar in the corner and beautiful bougainvillea adding lots of colour. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was quite simply million dollar views, again nothing too much trouble. Rooms were very clean and fresh looking, lovely little balcony again with ocean views - tiny but lovely. A walk into the main seafront restaurant area is just 5 mins, very steep but not a problem for us.

I wish we had longer to stay here, don't expect 5 star hotel kind of accom, but this is a very lovely place made even nicer by the family running it.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with glimpses of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a small family run hotel & we were made to feel very welcome, we stayed here for one night on our return from Antalya to our villa. The pool is excellent, very clean & warm with a lovely bar area. The views from the roof terrace were spectacular, you have breakfast up here which is simple but excellent, make sure you have an omelette!!! The beds are very comfy, the showers very hot with plenty of water, it is ideally situated to walk down into Kalkan

Room Tip: Some rooms just have double beds in, but other have a double & a single. The have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyBrighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We used the Sevgi as a base before going to our villa. Great location, terrific views, friendly staff, clean but basic rooms. I thought the pricing was good value and would definitely recommend it. The views from the terrace were excellent. The pool was a good size for a family hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dionysia
Hotel Dionysia
#18 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Papermoon Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Hotel
Kelebek Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lizo Hotel
Lizo Hotel
#22 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalkan Suites
Kalkan Suites
#23 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevgi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevgi Hotel

Property: Sevgi Hotel
Address: Mentese Mah. Gul Sok. No 20, Kalkan, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Sevgi Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Sevgi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing